Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New to tropical fish

Options
  • 21-04-2013 12:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭

Hi all

Over the last few nights I have set up my tank its a 120L one and yesterday I started putting fish into it, I started off safe and got 8 guppy's, 2 plecos and 4 paradise fish, the plan is to try build up my fish collection over time so my main question would be what other fish could be introduced with what I have at the moment

Also water treatment/additives would I need, I am a novice at this so all and any help would be much appreciated

Cheers
    Danny

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I hate to say it, but your probably going to lose a lot of those fish as your tank is uncycled. Give the shop you got them from a ring and ask if you can return them until you've cycled your tank.

Cycling (there's a sticky about it at the top of the page) is the process of growing bacteria which eat the ammonia which is produced by fish waste. Until these bacteria are established there is nothing to remove the ammonia and it will poison the fish. Some people cycle with one or two small, hardy fish but really the best thing to do is to cycle without fish using pure ammonia drops or fish food. The process usually takes 4-6 weeks and 50% of the water in the tank should be changed weekly.

Other than that, welcome! Getting your tank set up and cycled is the trickiest bit, after that it's all pretty straight forward, and well worth the wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Tropheus