Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone having trouble in knocknacarra?

• 21-04-2013 1:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭

Hi I was just wondering was anybody having any problems in knocknacarra or see anything happening like bus stops being smashed or people being robbed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I saw a discarded confectionery wrapper on the side of the road.
    A sure sign of lax moral and social values.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Fergalmcc1. You posted a similar thread here a while back asking about vigilantism.

If I remember correctly the thread descended into nonsense and had to be closed.

If you've got something you want to say; say it out right, and open a topic for discussion. Otherwise I feel that this thread is going to go the same way and end up being locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭feargalmcc1

Fergalmcc1. You posted a similar thread here a while back asking about vigilantism.

If I remember correctly the thread descended into nonsense and had to be closed.

If you've got something you want to say; say it out right, and open a topic for discussion. Otherwise I feel that this thread is going to go the same way and end up being locked.

I'm just asking people what their view of knocknacarra is these days because knocknacarra is getting worse

• Registered Users Posts: 12,159 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

IBTL, I reckon you should set up a 'vigilate' group here and now, The Peoples Front of Knocknacarra has a catchy ring to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Cleahaigh

I'm just asking people what their view of knocknacarra is these days because knocknacarra is getting worse

You live there? What makes you think it's getting worse?

Appears to have settled down a bit if anything, not that there was much going on the first place bar the bus shelter on the Cappagh Road getting vandalised repeatedly.

Cleahaigh wrote: »

Appears to have settled down a bit if anything, not that there was much going on the first place bar the bus shelter on the Cappagh Road getting vandalised repeatedly.
    . I know a lot of guards but there's so much going on there's a lot more than bus stop I got attacked awhile ago and people are mugging people for their phones and stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm sure Knockers isn't trouble free but tbh it seems to be pretty good considering its size.
    Wherever you get teens you get groups of teens, and wherever you get that you get eejits showing off by putting others down in various ways.
    Have you yourself been robbed OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

. I know a lot of guards but there's so much going on there's a lot more than bus stop I got attacked awhile ago and people are mugging people for their phones and stuff

Where did you get attacked? What time of the day was it?

Where is this "mugging for phones and stuff" taking place? How many incidences of "mugging" have taken place?

I've lived in Knocknacarra for years but haven't heard of any vandalism other than the bus stop incident.

Has anyone else from Knocknacarra, other than feargalmcc, heard of any vandalism or thuggery there, or is feargalmcc the only one out there who knows of these "muggings and stuff"?

Feel free to PM me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Well I know my estate near the church has had some trouble over the last two years. There's been a lot of complaints so the Gardai tend to patrol fairly regularly. I think what triggered that was one of the bushes of a back garden was set alight by some teenagers from an alleyway. I've seen other various antisocial things as well. Groups drinking in dark laneways, littering (cans/bottles everywhere), doing damage to the estate etc. I have heard of people getting there phone's taken also but don't know anyone personally.

So I do think feargalmcc1 has some basis in his complaints at least from what I've seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Anima wrote: »
    Well I know my estate near the church has had some trouble over the last two years. There's been a lot of complaints so the Gardai tend to patrol fairly regularly. I think what triggered that was one of the bushes of a back garden was set alight by some teenagers from an alleyway. I've seen other various antisocial things as well. Groups drinking in dark laneways, littering (cans/bottles everywhere), doing damage to the estate etc. I have heard of people getting there phone's taken also but don't know anyone personally.

So I do think feargalmcc1 has some basis in his complaints at least from what I've seen!

I'd imagine littering, vandalism and teenagers drinking happen in every single town in the country, they're hardly stand out points in terms of giving the place a bad name.

I only moved to Galway last Summer but live near Knocknacarra and find myself in the place regularly enough, I've walked around at night plenty of times and never had a single bad experience, in fact I've had significantly more bad experiences in Eyre Square & the City Centre in the middle of the day when it comes to drunks and anti social behaviour so not sure why Knocknacarra keeps being singled out on here

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

I've lived in the Knocknacarra area for years (Clybaun to be precise) and I've never encountered any real anti social behaviour (unless you count the odd group of rowdy teenagers yelling from car windows).

It's quite a peaceful neighbourhood in my opinion

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

I have heard that it is has one of the lowest gardai to citizen ratio in the country. It was safe as houses when I lived there in the late 90's to early 00's.

I also hear it's called K Town now by the yoofs :pac: That is definitely gangsta.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Some asshat teenagers burned down one of the playgrounds a few Halloweens back. And a few of the bus stops were smashed. That's about the height of it though.

I've never had any issues personally with anyone or not felt save with my kid with me. In fact it's probably the nicest place I've lived in Galway.

OP, this seems to be personal for you considering it's all you've posted about in this forum. What do you hope to achieve by posting repeatedly on the same subject? And please don't say, "To find out if others are having trouble." Because I'll go all toddler on you and keep saying WHY? until you get to the root of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

IBTL, I reckon you should set up a 'vigilate' group here and now, The Peoples Front of Knocknacarra has a catchy ring to it.

Don't be crazy man. The Knocknacarra People's Front is way better...

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭chickencurry02

no trouble why exactly do you ask. there is one ass in a tracksuit alright with a bulldog type dog who is a waster. He seems to drink in public and likes to intimidate people with his dog but sure ya will always have one muppet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Zzippy wrote: »
    Don't be crazy man. The Knocknacarra People's Front is way better...
    Splitters!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I'm from Limerick so I find it amusing that people think of Knocknacarra as a bad spot :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

amiable wrote: »
    I'm from Limerick so I find it amusing that people think of Knocknacarra as a bad spot :)

its not people its one person

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

amiable wrote: »

Thinly veiled "I iz from da hood, innit bruv" comment.

deccurley wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "I iz from da hood, innit bruv" comment.

No

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I remember a few years ago being at my then girlfriends mothers house on a Sunday in broad daylight and a couple of gentlemen went into the neighbors back garden and began to steal their home heating oil.

Irelands rough street punks are adorable. We should get the 'hard' types in Ireland and make a reality tv show in which they have to live in a bad area in a random large city in a less socialist country.

There is a lot more than behind what ye've seen trust me

no trouble why exactly do you ask. there is one ass in a tracksuit alright with a bulldog type dog who is a waster. He seems to drink in public and likes to intimidate people with his dog but sure ya will always have one muppet.

I know exactly who he is

• Registered Users Posts: 12,159 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I know exactly who he is
    Im sure if you gave him a 'mongs batin' he would be grand after. :rolleyes:

Hahahaha

Cleahaigh wrote: »

A lot of thing you just don't hear or see them

If Knocknacarra is being classed by some as a troublesome area what parts of Galway would be classed as ''better''?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

684_467.jpg

Thanks Christ it's a ring pull. I've forgotten me can opener. :(

There is a lot more than behind what ye've seen trust me
    A lot of thing you just don't hear or see them

fergalmcc1. You are being so unbelievably vague with your comments here. I feel like you have a story to tell, but are shying away from it, in lieu of casual chat.

I've asked before that if you have something to say, say it outright.

Saying 'I'm just asking people what their view of knocknacarra is these days because knocknacarra is getting worse' without elaborating or explaining what you mean is not good enough.

Please give other posters something to think about, and comment on with their own two cents as opposed to throwing out generalisations and two dimensional statements.