Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Aston Villa Match Thread 22/04/2013. ko 8pm Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

That was some sexual first touch play there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

FFS. Want to keep a clean sheet tonight!

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Come on Villa....

...the stage is set for a herioc come back!:o

#clutchingatstraws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

AdamD wrote: »
    No, I'm making a valid point, watch the replays..

No, I'm making a joke, watch all the ****s I don't give fall from the sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Giggs could play til he's 50. Incredible.

The first half v spurs back in september he did look 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

ninja900 wrote: »
    FFS. Want to keep a clean sheet tonight!

So did Mrs.Crinklewood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

JPA wrote: »
    Won't be a popular opinion in here but I'm tired of commentators saying that the signing of RVP was some kind of masterstroke.
    The leagues top scorer, player of the year and one of the best strikers in Europe .
    A world class player but the most no brained signing ever.

It was a masterstroke in actually getting the player. Arsenal and Wenger did not want to sell him. Ultimately RVP had the club over a barrel by not signing a contract and United offered £24m for him which was big money for a player who had just completed his first injury free season in half a decade and was knocking on 30.

I think Ferguson is on record as saying it was the toughest negotiation he was ever involved in.

Not a masterstroke in discovering the player and that but a masterstroke in actually getting him signed up.

The mad thing is; only City, United and Juventus were actually in for him if rumour is to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Thanks to those posting gifs, I'm watching this on BBC R5...
    I imagine this is you now....

radio.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

@piersmorgan Remember, Arsenal fans, 'unsackable' Arsene Wenger sold Van Pursestrings to Utd so they could win the League. Dwell on that come Sunday.

Bitter much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

So,whats the half time entertainment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Right lads. Get the cup of tea made and change the pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Mrs Crinklewood

OOHHHHHHHHH

3rd goal...

8672177351_3afce4404b_o.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Man City 10

Well done United ye deserved it fair and square
    But at the end of the day we are better ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Mrs C is expecting you by the sounds of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

cson wrote: »
    It was a masterstroke in actually getting the player. Arsenal and Wenger did not want to sell him. Ultimately RVP had the club over a barrel by not signing a contract and United offered £24m for him which was big money for a player who had just completed his first injury free season in half a decade and was knocking on 30.

I think Ferguson is on record as saying it was the toughest negotiation he was ever involved in.

Not a masterstroke in discovering the player and that but a masterstroke in actually getting him signed up.

The mad thing is; only City, United and Juventus were actually in for him if rumour is to be believed.

A player worth over 20 million, one year left on his contract, United wanted him and he only wanted United.
    I'm not really impressed but obviously it worked out rather well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Swear all 3 goals so far have been slightly offside
    Youre entitled to opinion dude just I think you are clutching at straws.

Just OTT reaction. Embrace the quality is what I say.

OTT reaction? Did you even read the post? I'm not clutching at any straws, offside/onside whatever United win the league, I'm just making a point as 3 offside goals in 1 game is a bit shocking and it hasn't been mentioned here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Guard of honour... GUARD OF BLOODY HONOUR????????????????????????
    #VanPursestrings

I would say he's losing it, but to lose it one must have had it to begin with :D

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Be surprised if we got 15m for him.

Anyway, Giggs starting again. He really is beginning to turn my stomach.

Rooney's passing has been ****e in the game but that one for RVP's goal was out of this world. Just the perfect hang time to allow RVP to run onto it. What happened after that was sensational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

OTT reaction? Did you even read the post? I'm not clutching at any straws, offside/onside whatever United win the league, I'm just making a point as 3 offside goals in 1 game is a bit shocking and it hasn't been mentioned here.

So I'm watching the halftime replays, only the 3rd could be considered offside and even then I think he's just on.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    So I'm watching the halftime replays, only the 3rd could be considered offside and even then I think he's just on.

20:20 vision...had to do it...:o

I would say he's losing it, but to lose it one must have had it to begin with :D

and he's cracked
    @piersmorgan Van Pursestrings was offside for all 3 goals. Just to complete the mental disintegration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,580 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    The 1st was a deadcert, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

evilkagawa: As walk in to change room, Persie grab Kagawa. "What you think of my goals Shinji?" I say "solly no speeky engrish!" SMUG FACED SON OF BITCH"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Thread cleaned up. Please behave.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Damn, just saw that about Reading v QPR, should be some game on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

wonder would many arsenal players/staff be happy for rvp during a guard of honour. i assume his mates would be happy for him at least

• Registered Users Posts: 3,707 ✭✭✭CR 7

Can't argue with that logic.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Damn, just saw that about Reading v QPR, should be some game on Sunday.
    0-0 draw...boring as hell and they both go down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭batistuta9

cson wrote: »

not really, the Arsenal board would have sold him as sure as night follows day, statement or no statement, Wenger most likely didn't want him to leave.

Also it's hardy a masterstroke of any sort when RVP released the statement & Man U were they only club he was looking to join - he refused City

The negotiation was hard as Wenger wanted as much as possible from them, not that he couldn't get him. Fergie even saying something like wenger being able to be a good poker player in Govan :pac:

Nasri's recent comments on being sold for money would seem to back up the fact that it's the board & not Wenger, that are the reason for them being sold. Instead of taking the hit & letting them leave for free the year after. Remember that summer Wenger's comments about not being a big club if you sell both Fabregas & Nasri - a subtle comment aimed at the board from Wenger, it appears

they sold one of them (Fabregas) but i believe Wenger wanted to kept the other, no matter the cost of them going for free after but the board had other ideas as the transfer deadline approached

After selling them Silvestre, Wenger owed us one anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

El Ahmadi on for N'Zog.

Not sure what Lamberts plan is here: maybe shut up shop and try and only lose 3-0?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Van Persie a defender? :D

Another genuinely decent attribute of Robins, good at defending set pieces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

So Man Und, take the weekend off to celebrate!

Scoring hat-tricks and goal-line clearances. The complete package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Usually the better team comes out on top.

Wow, some sense
    Piers Morgan ‏@piersmorgan Look at Ferguson - the fire/hunger still burns through every one of his blood red facial veins. I want a manager like that at Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

We want 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

All 3 goals offside and only the third one shown by Sky...I suppose they thought only United fans were still tuned in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,580 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Evra should be off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

3-1 please. Have that and van persie to score first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Dont mind him hes just a tad bit of a cabáiste.

Great save.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Feck sake, 25 minutes without a goal now :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Just look at Ferguson still giving them a bollocking 3-0 up :)... 27 years of pure and utter class and determination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Can see Villa scoring cause we seem to be relaxing now which is a shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Man City 10

Is that why ye lost against us, yeah?
    We beat ye fair and square like in a real game
    While your game on December was won by a flukey free kick :P

Is that why ye lost against us, yeah?
    We beat ye fair and square like in a real game
    While your game on December was won by a flukey free kick :P