Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potting on/ The next step

• 23-04-2013 11:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭

Hey!

This is my first time to grow anything, so i'm pretty clueless!

I'm just wondering what type of compost I should use when potting on? I have some Tomato plants which I think are ready to be taken from the seed module trays. Their about 1/1.5 inches tall now and have additional leaves (apart from the two they started off with (Not sure what you call them!)) and there up about 3 weeks or so now.

I also have some Rocket and Basil. I planted the Rocket last week and its all up and looking healthy. The Basil is older (In the same module tray as the tomatoes). I'm not sure what i'm to do with them next. How long do I leave them in the modules for once its up? Is it to early to plant the Rocket out now? If I plant it out this week say, do I need to cover it with a fleece? The garden is south facing with a 4 or 5 foot wall sheltering it to the North and East. Iv read that Basil doesn't do so well outdoors in Ireland. I was planning on planting it in a walk-in tunnel like this http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/7201998/Trail/searchtext%3EGREEN+HOUSE.htm when I get it. Will it be OK to pot it on now and plant it in this after a few weeks?

Sorry for all the questions!

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Just potter on my toms this morning 3 inch pots filled with the contents of a aldi grow bag.Pot up the basil in the same way it will do fine in the plastic green house.