Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

[CoD Ghosts] General News and Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

I'm sure the cloud will come into play in some way to save the day.

What cloud is this then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Hate hardcore :/

LOVE HARDCORE

Love it love it love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

gcgirl wrote: »
    LOVE HARDCORE

Love it love it love it

How you doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Im liking the idea of Extinction, Nice to see something different

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

x43r0 wrote: »
    It's not very fair when you're shooting at the enemy and a team mate wanders in front of you resulting in you team-killing him and losing your streak and possibly getting kicked or a team mate running in front of your sentry gun or a team mate knifing you

Absolute bullsh1t

Stop playing with lemons;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I think IW do hardcore better in that if u kill your teammate they live and you die although I hate the spawn delay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

JamboMac wrote: »
    Stop playing with lemons;)

Your face is a lemon

Just got a text from gamestop, yeah the shly lads have my number. Heres a list of all the stores opening for the midnight launch.

http://www.gamestop.ie/codghostsmidnight

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

lkionm wrote: »
    Your face is a lemon
    No your a towel.

I cannot express how happy I am that the era of Camp Op's 2 is over. This surely has to be regarded as the COD by a country mile.

Do people find when your on faster broadband you do better than people on slower speeds. I do find it funny if I ping a server in Paris or Germany it's faster than server in Britain.

I always found that it depends on whoever is the host, his connection, & his location. A lot of the time it doesn't matter generally though, the game works fine for everyone equally.

Granted, there is times when it's clearly obvious. The killcam is evidence. I could be spraying away only to see in the killcam to be like a statue. That's when its time to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Im liking the idea of Extinction, Nice to see something different

Different? Aliens instead of zombies as far as I can tell.

Bo2 is such a connection based game, I had to port forward to keep the performance at its max.

People with low performance connections (warriors) can perform good aswell as its very forgiving compared to Mw3. Its people with mediocre connections who get destroyed frequently.

** FYI in options you can change your settings to search for games based on quality of connection. **

This game has seen a lot of hostbooting, with people even as going as far to try and hostboot/ipflood pubs. :/

I don't usually have any problem playing people in the UK or in the netherlands, germany, or the nordics. The french or spanish hosts in my experience are the worst to play against, the network infrastructure there must be horrible.

Im actually looking forward to ghosts due to the fact it has dedicated servers and will punish people with poor connections.

Is it only dedicated servers for Xbox or do playstation get it 2.

It says here dedicated servers for all platforms, if you watched the launch it looked like something out of the matrix the amount of computing power that has been put behind the game.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2013-10-08-call-of-duty-ghosts-dedicated-servers-confirmed-for-all-platforms

One thing I have heard bandied about is cross platform gaming. So Xbox playing PS, if so it would be a huuuge development. Probably only based on squads mode though?

It says here dedicated servers for all platforms, if you watched the launch it looked like something out of the matrix the amount of computing power that has been put behind the game.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2013-10-08-call-of-duty-ghosts-dedicated-servers-confirmed-for-all-platforms

One thing I have heard bandied about is cross platform gaming. So Xbox playing PS, if so it would be a huuuge development. Probably only based on squads mode though?

That would be cool but with Xbox being able modify things it could be head wrecking for the first couple of months. But this could ps4 and Xbox one more so since they are very similar platforms, only a couple more days to go or however long amazon take.

When amazon released GTA 5 a load of people got their copies early, they tried to go on GTA online and got their consoles locked. I think this was on Xbox only. But would fear the same would happen for ghosts.

I think its in amazons best interests to get it to you early, seeing as you pre ordered and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Domination is back the way it was before Blops2 and there is no ping bars at all so you can't tell what your connection is like

I liked the break in Bo2, it was too easy to spawn trap in earlier versions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I liked the break in Bo2, it was too easy to spawn trap in earlier versions

Whatever about the break but a time limit was a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Stream here if anyone wants to watch some multiplayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I hated the time limit, wrecked Dom for me. If they want to keep the break then first time to 100 points generates the break and side switch, but lose the time limit.

It was to ensure more action in the game but I do think that spawns should be reversed at 100 points at least.

gamestop must be taking the piss, 65 quid for the standard edition? pfffft. If I do pick this up it'll be in tesco

Amazon not gonna get it to me early status changed from not yet dispatched to pre-ordered but delivery estimate hasn't changed. I'd say it's Americans who usually get it early.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Chef-1st

Yeah Krudler, it will be cheaper in Tesco. Always about €45 every year. Thing with Gamestop is, if you know you are buying a new console this year, and want COD Ghosts on next gen, they will trade in your game for €15. On next gen it's €70. So you're paying a premium of €80 to have the game now, and transfer straight over to your new console. I'm not sure if Tesco are doing the same trade-in deal.

Jambo, don't buy online! I learned my lesson with MW2, was waiting 2 or 3 days after release date on my order.

According to Ali A, there is a max of 18 on the Xbox One confirmed. Maybe there limiting it for current gen so as game content can be supported by current gen consoles.

Xbox one is in 720p and PS4 is in 1080p

I heard the PS4 is running COD @ 900p, not full HD 1080p. Xbone is 720p alright.

Chef-1st wrote: »
    Jambo, don't buy online! I learned my lesson with MW2, was waiting 2 or 3 days after release date on my order.

Don't mind waiting 4 days coz it's the hardened edition and saving 20 quid on the best price I could find which was Smyths at 100, I got it for 80. Us poor students need to save every penny, never got a cod on release day.

Wonder if they sold the single player and multiplayer separately would the single player sell, coz I didn't complete the last one.

"Every little helps".
    Sure no one plays single player these days. All about the online gaming.

^ lol true. I haven't done the single player since World at War.

I'm still a bit pished at Sony for jumping on the xbox live bandwagon charging customers to play online on PS4.
    Anyway, there are too many negatives cropping up lately with the new consoles. I'm holding out until they cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Anyone know of any stores selling this early in or around Dublin/Kildare?

No compet settings built in even though they were promised at the reveal, infinity wards developers are a joke, screw the storyline about some rabid dog, its all about the MMO FPS baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

i preordered ghosts from videogamesplus.ca a few weeks ago and saw it was being shipped on the 5th. i checked tonight on the ghosts page, it says the product is in stock on the 19th of november? yet amazon is still shipping on the 5th...i hope i receive it forthe 29th now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

Lots of gameplay over here, don't know if I'm gonna get smacked for this... :o

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheAhrensburgAlex/videos

My two cents? Ghosts confirmed a sound whoring fest.

Amplify perk seems really OP. Description of the perk in game:

"Louder enemy footsteps making them easier to detect. Allows you to hear Dead Silence players"

Yup, you read it right. This is bull****. A perk that has no counter and is this strong is ridiculous (BO1 Ghost and MW3 Assassin/Sitrep Pro come to mind, probably a few others you could throw in there!). You think they'd learn from MW3 and at least make Dead Silence work? Nope. The perk does cost 3 points though (not making it any less imbalanced imo), out of a total of 8 perk points . Here's the description for Dead Silence in Ghosts' perk menu:

"Move silently making you harder to detect. Players with Amplify can still hear your footsteps"

Other BS perks I can think of off the top of my head are Wiretap (utilise all sat coms in the game that are active, enemy and allies, wtf!?), old school ghost/assassin is back in full form (off the grid). Ping seems really good too, but I don't think it will be used as pretty much everyone is gonna be using off the grid. Also, MW2 Marathon is back, infinite sprint, that seems a bit too much, extreme condition had it right me thinks

From what I can see, every gun pretty much seems feasible/usable and very good, unlike in some games where there is 1 or 2 guns for each gun type that were head and shoulders above the rest. All guns kill quick and have very manageable recoil. VEPR SMG is so like the AK74u from BO1, the Bizon is pretty much the PP90M1 :cool: CBJ-MS looks identical to the MP7 from what I've seen, can't wait to see soom footage of it!

Some guns have built in features, such as the Honey Badger having a built in silencer (that you can't unequip), the ARX-160 has a built in laser, CBJ-MS has built in FMJ. Probably more but that's all I know from the top of my head

The incentive to use specialist is pretty high in this game (who doesn't love specialist anyway!), as the perk system is limiting in ways for certain roles. If you ran quickdraw, Assassin and Stalker in MW3, it's not doable outside of using specialist as each of those equivalent perks cost 3 pts each in ghosts, impossible for an 8pt perk system. Will be interesting to see how it pans out.

As far as specialist bonus goes, I would love to know if it gives you all of the perks :eek: From what I believe, you just pick another 3 perks for your bonus, thus allowing you to have up to maybe 9-10 perks with your bonus.

KEM strike is a 25pt streak much like the nuke from MW2, no longer 25 gun kills like in MW3. Attachments is also a perk now costing 3 pts, so if you were a fan of using 2 attachments on your gun, like myself, be ready to give up 3 perk pts :o

The oracle kill streak has a vsat-ish effect, highlights enemies in the map a bright colour for you to see (even through buildings etc) off the grid counters this though. Seems retarded

One thing to note, chain saw LMG looks imbalanced as feck, it's like having a death machine, literally. This gun will probably be patched ASAP, looks ridiculous

Doesn't matter. I'm still going to buy it. Any new COD has to be better than Lag-Ops 2.
    That game raged me so much I did something I have never done in my life - snapped the disc in half.
    That was back in Feb. Months later my mate gave me his disc to play, and after one evening, the rage built up inside me again and gave it back to him. Possibly the best COD and the worst COD ever. That game is so broke with lag, hit detection and p2p matchmaking it's unreal. There is only somany bullsh't deaths a man can take.

Hi, my name is Chef, and I've been rage-free for 8 months now. Sunshine, rainbows, cute kittens and fluffy bunnies.

Chef-1st wrote: »
    Doesn't matter. I'm still going to buy it. Any new COD has to be better than Lag-Ops 2.
    That game raged me so much I did something I have never done in my life - snapped the disc in half.
    That was back in Feb. Months later my mate gave me his disc to play, and after one evening, the rage built up inside me again and gave it back to him. Possibly the best COD and the worst COD ever. That game is so broke with lag, hit detection and p2p matchmaking it's unreal. There is only somany bullsh't deaths a man can take.

Hi, my name is Chef, and I've been rage-free for 8 months now. Sunshine, rainbows, cute kittens and fluffy bunnies.

i never had a problem with black ops 2. maybe it was your internet connection? in my opinion, black ops 2 is by far the greatest call of duty to date. ive played each of them with like 50 hours gametime each. each to their own i guess..

not happy about attachments being a perk. i usually use red dot and a supressor :(

I'm very happy about the SMG's getting a bump. Not one of the SMG's in BO'2 could shoot straight apart from maybe the Peacekeeper, but I never got the first map pack. How retarded is that? I have to spend another 15e so I can have the best SMG in the game?

Also, the KAP & the 3 round burst pistol were better at close range. Slap a silencer on an SMG and it's pretty much useless. There have been plenty of times where I would be shooting directly at someone close range only for them to kill me instantly with an AR or LMG. What was the point?

It was another reason why this game promoted camping. In World at War everyone claimed to hate the MP4 but at least everyone run and gunned. It was really entertaining. Same with MW3 and the MP7.

I don't want the SMG's to out way everything, just saying they should be equal with the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I thought the SMGs in BO2 were pretty awesome. Although it's been a while since I've played, perhaps my memory is fuzzy...

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Randall Floyd

Does anyone know if Flakjacket/blast shield actually works in this game, it was practically useless in MW3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Specialist is ****.

Maps are huge which is crap because there is no GW.

C4's are annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Randall Floyd

Kells... wrote: »
    Specialist is ****.

Maps are huge which is crap because there is no GW.

C4's are annoying.

Are we talking Battlefield 3 on the 360 huge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Are we talking Battlefield 3 on the 360 huge?

Not as big but bigger than normal COD games.
    Doesn't really suit 6v6 which is probably the main reason there's no ground war on it to give people more of a push to buy the xbox one version

Hey Guys,

Thunder just put up a vid on youtube regarding COD Ghosts. First vid I've seen with an unbiased first impressions of the game. He's been playing the past few days. Lots of info in there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5BCb0H_u2s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

so you cant lock on to aircrafts? Bloody hell. Wow

Headshot wrote: »

What, like even with Stingers? well fuck that noise.

was about to post the same lol. that is shocking! lock on launchers were my secondary gun on eveything except a sniper class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

MarkY91 wrote: »
    was about to post the same lol. that is shocking! lock on launchers were my secondary gun on eveything except a sniper class

I take so much joy in taking down choppers in ops 1.

when i hear a chopper inbound, i immediatly switch to the launcher to take it down. its going to be pretty tough to get an accurate hit :mad: