Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

garda deauville

• 26-04-2013 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

Hi lads, thinking of getting an ex garda deauville at auction for a commuter/ Sunday driver, not worried bout license or restricted before the world and his missus start that debate again, just looking for opinions on the bikes in general, and should an ex garda bike be a problem? Abuse, services that kinda thing. Cheers lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭Wossack

I'd be keeping ex garda bikes at bargepole distance, personally.. abused aint the word :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Where's the auction OP? And as Wossack said I'd stay well clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

The worst one on dungdeal will be better than the best ex garda one.Dont do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

Surely they would be well maintained with regards to cleaning, servicing, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭carefull now!

Thanks for the opinions lads, any reason behind them, personal experience ect? Or just goin on intuition? Its Wilsons Faith+1

they're run into the ground, else I think they'd still be in service. Money very tight with the gards too, so wouldnt inspire confidence that they're economical to keep going... else they still would be..!

also retrofitted with alot of extra stuff straight off, so not only guaranteed to be high mileage, but every mile has been ran with the weight of like 3 people on em. Expect shocks to be knackered, and possibly even the subframe. Imagine what theyve done with the wiring too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

, not worried bout license or restricted before the world and his missus start that debate again,

Now I'm curious. Does that mean you have a full license and we don't need to go into that, or does that mean that your one of those people who think its fine to drive a bike without a valid license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Soundman

Now I'm curious. Does that mean you have a full license and we don't need to go into that, or does that mean that your one of those people who think its fine to drive a bike without a valid license?

That did peak my interest too I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Quebec Delta Mike

Steer clear of ex-Garda bikes unless you have been assured by a Garda who actually drove the bike you want. Some bikes have been used down country and have had an easier life, low miles etc. But generally city bikes have been hammered, some literally!
    The points made before about poor servicing intervals etc are valid alright. To my knowledge, Honda Ireland, do the servicing, for the Deauvilles and Pans (are there any of them left?), so you could sneak a look up in Ballymount...:rolleyes:.
    Now, ex-Army bikes are completely different. Very low miles (for the year), very well maintained and cared for, but there are exceptions of course.
    About two years ago, the Cavalry (Presidential Escort) got rid of their '88-'89 650 Deauvilles, to the trade. They all had around 10-20k miles, were immaculate and were sold for around €3000 each only. A friend bought one, knew the rider who was in charge of the bike, and got a beautiful low mileage machine, and it's still like new to this day. They can be easily spotted as they were pale blue in colour.

QDM.

I'm fully licensed bout 5 years now lads, not acting the maggot, the reason I put that in the op is that I looked up other posts first and they all seemed to come back to the restriction issue!

I remember the state of the bikes the Gards had when I did the bikesafe course, you couldn't pay me to take one. Falling apart at the seams and only fit to be scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

MargeS wrote: »
    Surely they would be well maintained with regards to cleaning, servicing, etc?

They are maintained, but a lot have had multiple riders who aren't too worried about something they don't own. Also minor incidents may not be reported, so damage may not be repaired quickly.
    I'm fully licensed bout 5 years now lads, not acting the maggot, the reason I put that in the op is that I looked up other posts first and they all seemed to come back to the restriction issue!

It would have been easier and quicker to type "I have a full licence" instead of
    not worried bout license or restricted before the world and his missus start that debate again,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭johnnydeep

whys that anybodys business but his

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Wossack wrote: »
    they're run into the ground, else I think they'd still be in service. Money very tight with the gards too, so wouldnt inspire confidence that they're economical to keep going... else they still would be..!

also retrofitted with alot of extra stuff straight off, so not only guaranteed to be high mileage, but every mile has been ran with the weight of like 3 people on em. Expect shocks to be knackered, and possibly even the subframe. Imagine what theyve done with the wiring too...

Well I see them being booked in and propperly and fully serviced in Extreme 45 and also in NDM on a regular basis.

Friend of mine is in the Traffic Corp.

Well serviced and fully logged worksheets too when in for servicing.No expense spared and no cutting corners either.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭osheen

+1 on this i know a few and they bring them in when anything goes or feels off.
    My friend certainly wouldnt risk his life just because he didnt report a defect.

and when it becomes uneconomical to repair em - guess where they wind up? :)

as I say, I personally wouldnt go near em, but best of luck if either of ye do..!

think a bit of distinction needs to be made between current, in service, active garda bikes, and these ex ones being auctioned...

these are tired 70/80k+ bikes, being sold as being end of life to garda service

ps, its not my intention to slag off ndm / extreme45 / redzone - so not sure why you're reaching in that direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm sorry I never bought one of their old Honda CB750's ~ cracking bikes and mates who bought them got years of service from them.

I've had mates who bought Garda Pan's too, never a bother from them.

Its rare you see a Garda bike being trashed.

Does the army still auction their vehicles?. (I'd heard that stopped years ago).

I'm sorry I never bought one of their old Honda CB750's ~ cracking bikes and mates who bought them got years of service from them.

I've had mates who bought Garda Pan's too, never a bother from them.

Its rare you see a Garda bike being trashed.

Does the army still auction their vehicles?. (I'd heard that stopped years ago).

There used to be a bike dealer in Wicklow who was big into harleys and chopper style bikes.

Every few months he would get in a container full of old "Chips" style ex police bikes from around the USA.

That was many years ago now,dont know if hes still selling bikes??

:pac::pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

as far as i know they are not allowed to sell off something that is known to be defective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

johnnydeep wrote: »
    whys that anybodys business but his

Ahh, I know where this goes. I should keep to myself and not be a rat. I could go into the numerous problems this attitude creates and highlight the specific socio-economic groups that hold dear to these values. But I don't see the point, you wouldn't bother to actually listen.

Probably because of the amount of lads on permits. Its understandable, cops are cracking down on it now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Its understandable, cops are cracking down on it now.

Helped by the high horse brigades on public forums interrogating lads for no other reason than to make themselves feel superior.

Jog on sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭johnnydeep

Ahh, I know where this goes. I should keep to myself and not be a rat. I could go into the numerous problems this attitude creates and highlight the specific socio-economic groups that hold dear to these values. But I don't see the point, you wouldn't bother to actually listen.

Probably because of the amount of lads on permits. Its understandable, cops are cracking down on it now.

this says it all

i didnt make it to the auction in the end.
    picked up my new bike from dundalk instead
    nice little xj 650 cruising home on the m1.
    did any1 check the auctions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭phillo

did any1 check the auctions?

I was there. All the Garda bikes went for between €700 and €850. There was also two brand new Jonway 50cc Scooters, that went for €500 each and a 100cc Yamaha scrambler went for €350. I can't remember what the two quads went for.

In addition to the motorbikes, roughly 120 push bikes were also up for grabs. They were in various conditions: rusted, buckled wheels, some were battered, some were in great nick. They went for between €5 and about €600 roughly, I can't recall the highest paid for a push bike.

There is another Garda auction on in about two months time.

Good to know a price range if I ever head out to another one, Did you pick up anything yourself phillo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭phillo

I didn't pick anything up, I was just doing some ground work and getting a feel of what goes on at an auction. I was late getting there and I missed the viewing earlier that day, I just plain forgot that it was on, my father reminded me of it at the last minute.

A friend of mine was looking for a folding push bike, when I seen one come up on the auction screen I was going mad that I had missed the viewing because I did not know what condition it was in, it went for €20. She was raging when I told her about it, if you search for one on the trade ads they are going for €100/€150 second hand.

It's worth noting that if the winning bid is below €1000, the auction fees are 15%. If its above €1000, the fee is 10%.

So with that in mind, a bid of €800 on a Garda Deauville will set you back €880 in total. The two scooters that I previously mentioned went for €500 and the VRT had to be paid also. AFAIK, the VRT on a 50cc scooter is €100, so all in it works out at €675, still a bargain compared to the shop price of €1600, if you like Chinese scooters. Don't get caught out with all the added extras.

My advice at an auction is get in early, assess all the lots your interested in, set a price your willing to pay while factoring in the extras e.g VRT, auction fees, cost of repairs or missing parts. Finally, stick with the price you have set and don't get carried away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,307 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

paddy147 wrote: »
    Well I see them being booked in and propperly and fully serviced in Extreme 45 and also in NDM on a regular basis.

Friend of mine is in the Traffic Corp.

Well serviced and fully logged worksheets too when in for servicing.No expense spared and no cutting corners either.:)
    Is that still the case Paddy?
    I know a guy who does the garda bicycles. He was telling me that they used to drop a load of them in and get everything done. Now they drop a couple in and it's minimal. New tyre on that one, new brake pads on that, chain on the next etc. Before they'd be pretty much stripped and rebuilt! Cost cutting in the force. Not sure if it has reached the motorcycles yet, but some of the cars they drive are shítboxes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

If the car's, motorbikes or bikes they are using are that bad then they should not drive or ride them as if they have a crash or take someone out it is the drivers/riders responsibility to make sure the equipment is safe and up to safety standards.
    Just like it is anyone elses responsibility to make sure the vehicle they are in charge of is up to standards.

For example if a truck or bus driver is driving their vehicle and it has faults that should be checked on a daily basis and haven't been fixed then it's the drivers fault and can be punished.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Is that still the case Paddy?
    I know a guy who does the garda bicycles. He was telling me that they used to drop a load of them in and get everything done. Now they drop a couple in and it's minimal. New tyre on that one, new brake pads on that, chain on the next etc. Before they'd be pretty much stripped and rebuilt! Cost cutting in the force. Not sure if it has reached the motorcycles yet, but some of the cars they drive are shítboxes!

It is...full servicing and everything is fully checked over/documented on the garda bikes and anything that needs replacing is replaced by Xtreme.:)