Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

knacker drinking.

• 27-04-2013 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

So drinking outside or knacker drinking (as its called) lots of us done it, When growing up, but who called it knacker drinking, and why?
    I sure had some great times out knacker drinking in the past,
    With the bees and birds and all that.
    Your thoughts please.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Axe Rake

Hope you get banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Have also heard it called Gattin and Bush Wacking, good auld craic but a bit sad when you look back on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

it was called bush drinking in my day

sitting in a field surrounded by cow shtie in the drizzle, fun times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Have also heard it called Gattin and Bush Wacking, good auld craic but a bit sad when you look back on it.

no sadder than spending a fortune in a bar would rather go back to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,737 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

its called knacker drinking because knackers do it a lot.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Omar187 wrote: »
    but who called it knacker drinking, and why?

Your thoughts please.

Its named after knackers, who tend to drink outside.

Also, hope you get banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Omar187

Axe Rake wrote: »
    Hope you get banned.

Why? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 45,395 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Bushing in Galway

anhedonia wrote: »

Some nasty people in here.

Omar187 wrote: »
    Why? :confused:

your not upper-class enough for them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Oh the irony :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭dmc17

It's because you tend to be knackered(exhausted) after 12 cans ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Hope you get banned.

Bit harsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Adhamh

It's a seasonal thing.

In winter, we drink around kitchen tables; this is termed 'middle class drinking'.

In summertime, we have a late outdoors lunch, or what is also referred to as a 'picnic au dutch'.

beano345 wrote: »
    your not upper-class enough for them

bingo, theres a stench of poverty off this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Hope you get banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

please, some respect

it's "member of the travelling community" drinking

please, some respect

it's "member of the travelling community" drinking

How come.?
    I'm not/never was a member of the travelling community,
    And i went knacker drinking when growing up.

bingo, theres a stench of poverty off this thread.

hey hard times sunshine....enjoy your spritzer!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Knacker drinking..Those were the days :D

Legally buying and drinking alcohol just doesn't have the same thrill :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

Did it when I was a bit younger. I actually really enjoyed it, there's something of a deeper personal bond formed in an abandoned house in the dark with your best friends in comparison to a dank pub. We had good laughs, good scares about imaginary Gardaí, and left that scene with nice memories of going through dark fields on the way with the delusion that we were big-time law breakers.

jazz101 wrote: »
    Did it when I was a bit younger. I actually really enjoyed it, there's something of a deeper personal bond formed in an abandoned house in the dark with your best friends in comparison to a dank pub. We had good laughs, good scares about imaginary Gardaí, and left that scene with nice memories of going through dark fields on the way with the delusion that we were big-time law breakers.

did it in toronto before i left! in a park on lake ontario,couldnt have asked for a better night,rainbows over the lake ,red sky,were'nt throwing abuse to passers-by or acting unruly,well cheaper than a bar and what a view!

jazz101 wrote: »
    there's something of a deeper personal bond formed in an abandoned house in the dark with your best friends

Did you have to eat the biscuit ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    Knacker drinking..Those were the days :D

Legally buying and drinking alcohol just doesn't have the same thrill :pac:

You drank in the pub called The Field yes? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I didnt actually know what it meant until I read this thread. I always presumed it was drinking cans in a field until late at night. Cant say I have ever done it, my only drinking was/is in a pub. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

Surprisingly patronizing for someone whose recent posts are focused on that famously highbrow dichotomy of drugs and condoms.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,329 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hope you get banned.

Ban? My arse!

It's called knacker drinking. That's why the thread is called knacker drinking. He's not referring to the travelling community, he's referring to the activity. Nor, just to be clear, is he referring to the drinking of a member of the travelling community. Because around here, you never know sometimes.

If he called it Barge Drinking would you want the same ban?

And yes, did it, but it's not proper knacker drinking unless it's warm, cider and you had to get an adult to buy it for you.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Knacker drinking(nothing to do with Travellers) has been going on since the early 80s mostly in working class areas.

When I was growing up I do remember teenagers of those days going down the fields to drink, we used to call them ciderheads as they were off their heads all nights on cider. They drank Bulmers before it became mainstream. Like a modern equivalent Lindens Vilage or Dutch Gold.

Somefolk in here think there sh*t don't stink.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Bushing or bush lushing when I was a lad (nothing to do with bushes despite the name, wouldn't want to offend anyone)