Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What is the best way to make a friend?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Mariasofia wrote: »
    If you're into that kinda thing;))))
    If??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

ArtSmart wrote: »
    If??

Was talking bout Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Surely http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056901245/1#p ost83631175

Just turn up and lurk a bit..... It'll be just like boards, but in real life.

I've heard the mods bring the actual ban sticks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭QBE

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    I would like to have a friend, someone to talk to and hang around with. I don't know how to go about this though. Anyone have any suggestions? I have looked into different clubs to join but im not good at anything especially sports. How do you make a friend?

join the plumbing forum. there all about making friends. im enemy no 1, cos I am not a friend maker. other than that. best of luck in your search.

however, I am married with 3 sons, after me ma + da died I lost me best friends. But my 3 sons and wife are my friends now. hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

How old are you Tom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Do a course. Join a walking club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Socialise, (but not in the pub nightclub scene). Be nice. Care about the people you are with. People will want to be your friend.

Just be yourself. If people like you then you have made new friends .... If people don't get back to me for step 2;)

tom. do you really need a friend? sometimes its more hazel. the best friendship you will ever have. is your parents and your own wife and children.

its company you may be looking for and mixing it up with friendship. you will know a good friend when you find one. you have one in your parents. you just dont realised it yet.

so its company you need . get down the gym or join a sports team. you will find company there for socialising ect and hopefilly a friend. like what you have got already. but don't realise it.

choose your friends wisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I would like to have a friend, someone to talk to and hang around with. I don't know how to go about this though. Anyone have any suggestions? I have looked into different clubs to join but im not good at anything especially sports. How do you make a friend?

Ok Tom, normally I wouldn't bother with your threads in AH as tbh they would be far more suited in the Personal Issues forum, but you want to know how to make friends? Here's how-

(This is a copy and paste of a text I sent to a mate of mine earlier, edited to remove names)

Ok so I just left the apartment with <my son> (we were heading down to the park) and yknow the way I live down by the river and people are taking their own lives jumping off the bridge? Well I was walking and seen this guy and I knew what he was thinking so I walked over kinda like I knew him and held out my hand to shake his, and luckily enough I had taken him by surprise, caught him off guard, so he instinctively held out his hand to shake mine, which he wouldn't have done if I'd been all cagey and shìt, yknow? So I was talking to him anyway like and he was telling me his name was <name removed> and he just wanted to jump in the river, he was homeless and he didn't have anyone, and we chatted for a while anyway and he was talking to <my son> (I know this is gonna sound awful but I wanted him to realise for himself that he could make people smile, that people DO care about him, and that he still cared about people), so we chatted for a bit anyway and I told him I knew some people that'd help him, brought him to the Garda station and the lads in <name removed> they're amazing, honestly, they took him to the hospital and one of them after called me to tell me they'd arranged hostel accommodation for him and that he was sorted and stuff...

(my friend asked did he mind going to the Garda station, to which I replied with this next text)

By that stage we were like the best of friends kinda thing and I'd made him feel like I really and truly didn't want him to give up, I gave him my card like and told him he could call me any time, let me know how he's getting on, yknow? He was in good form and we were laughing and joking and he was "giving me advice" about how to look after <my son> and stuff, yknow, I made it like I was hanging on his every word kinda thing and even if only for that few minutes it was enough to take his mind off taking his own life, yknow, he felt like he had something to give, that somebody valued his opinion, yknow? Same with my other homeless friend <name removed>, I met him the other day and really all they want is to know somebody gives a shìt, yknow? It didn't take a whole lot out of my day to make somebody feel like somebody was interested in them and that somebody actually genuinely did care about them...

It's that easy Tom, you want to make friends, just walk up to the nearest person that looks like they too could do with a friend, and go from there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

drop the hand

My kinda friend ;)

He does that too I mean

if you are really down and need someone to talk to at any stage call this number Samaritans Call 1890 200 091 (ROI)

however always talk and get it off your chest . you will find a real friend in time

drop the hand

Damn! Why didn't I think of that! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

No idea mate. I never really have anything to say IRL so I rarely start conversations (unless I have something I need to talk about) and I can't keep my interest in others. I do know how to converse and read people well, but anything else like acting like a real friend (buying presents, being empathetic when they're down/emotional etc.) is just...

I think I'm doomed to a solitary lifestyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Czarcasm wrote: »
    It's that easy Tom, you want to make friends, just walk up to the nearest person that looks like they too could do with a friend, and go from there!

It's not that easy. Some don't have the traits for just "walking up to people and taking it from there".

If you care about other people, they will appreciate it.

I've seen some people on here, (not the OP), who talk about being unable to find a friend, and it is so obvious that they are self obsessed - consider no one but themselves.
    Compassion for others is the key.

the lad probably is lacking self-esteem and confidence and social skills. I bet he is a really nice kid from good stock.

he just needs to build up his confidence. no better way than joining a club of his intrests. depression can be very dangerous , please encourage the lad.

[URL="javascript:void(0)"]
    [/URL]

I would like to have a friend, someone to talk to and hang around with. I don't know how to go about this though. Anyone have any suggestions

Just be yourself. Mistakes and all. Leave your baggage, out in the hall.

Just do what you gotta do. And sometimes... someone will notice you....

Rather than live for other people or to impress other people.... try just being happy with yourself for awhile.... and see how that works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

It's not that easy. Some don't have the traits for just "walking up to people and taking it from there".

I've seen some people on here, (not the OP), who talk about being unable to find a friend, and it is so obvious that they are self obsessed - consider no one but themselves.

This got me thinking. I reckon joining / helping out with a charity may be a great way to start. There seems to be a fair amount of young people involved with the simon community, concern etc. This may be a great way to get to know some people and you may feel good from helping others too. Just an idea OP.

Stewart I know what you're saying, and I've posted here before about my chronic shyness and my issues with being socially awkward, but there are times when I'll hide that part of me in order to help somebody else. This was one of those times. There are no traits necessary, just a pair of eyeballs and compassion as you say for others.

I only make it look easy from years of practice. I'd be lying if I said it gets easier with practice, because every person you meet, and every situation, is different. But you have to bury that down and put yourself out there if you truly actually want to make friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Rather than live for other people or to impress other people.... try just being happy with yourself for awhile.... and see how that works out.

Like this you mean????

you need to know peoples real circumstances. been nervous and lacking confidence. May require counselling. if these symptoms are part of your reason for not been able to interact and make friends. it may lead to bigger things. than the need to make a friend.

when I was younger I had loads of friends. but I enjoyed my own company. everyone differs.

QBE wrote: »
    you need to know peoples real circumstances. been nervous and lacking confidence. May require counselling. if these symptoms are part of your reason for not been able to interact and make friends. it may lead to bigger things. than the need to make a friend.

when I was younger I had loads of friends. but I enjoyed my own company. everyone differs.

Genuine question QBE but how would you suggest getting to know a person's real circumstances unless you befriend them first and then listen to them and let them talk? That's how you get to know a person, by offering to be their friend in the first place and then letting them tell you about themselves.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Genuine question QBE but how would you suggest getting to know a person's real circumstances unless you befriend them first and then listen to them and let them talk? That's how you get to know a person, by offering to be their friend in the first place and then letting them tell you about themselves.

not everybody's Interpersonal skills are the same for more reasons than one. What's the norm of making friends for you and I . May just mean our social skills are better and others .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

How about finding the enemy of your enemy?

Mark . I could not have put it better myself. Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Allan Blandford

Tom remember Marty, he escaped from the compound years ago, he and other escapees can help you, they are your true friends, they will help you remember who you really are :

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmarkrathbun.wordpress.com%2F&ei=1uN8Ud7hIOeR7Aa33IGQDA&usg=AFQjCNElnRvkz8HeWTsFHp03cVUvCffUgw&bvm=bv.45645796,d.ZGU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

If you're not in a relationship op, you could try online dating. Also, isn't there some sort of boards meet-ups? Anyway the internet in general would be a good place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭bacon n eggs

Tom sounds like he has been knocked down few times, thinking he would be terrible at acting when he hasn't tried it to me means he doesn't think he would be good at anything he might try. No confidence or self esteem. When you think like that every task even talking to a stranger is such a big deal so would walk away and be alone rather than speak. The longer it goes on the harder it becomes.

You need to bite the bullet Tom. Get a dog, take it on walks, join walkers groups, will get you out and also be in groups with others. Will be difficult to start but needs to be taken to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

The best way to make friends is to do things with them - think of school, college, work. MeetUp.com has a group for every interest you can think of. Go because of your interest, not to make friends or you'll come across as just needy. You must be interested in something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

Take a minute to write down your interests. Is there anything that you'd really love to do. Is there anything you'd love to try out but never had the guts.

At this point, just try to bite the bullet and go for it. Sure, you might feel awkward at the start. But, it'll get better. Always smile and be polite.

Be cool about it. People can smell desperation a mile off from people trying to make friends. They are people who you'll click with or not click with. Whatever way it goes, it was meant to be. Don't get disheartened.

Don't get too worried either, when you join things, of the already formed cliques. This is always something I find hard to deal with myself. Just be friendly and happy in your own skin. Don't rush things. They'll take their time. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Take a minute to write down your interests. Is there anything that you'd really love to do. Is there anything you'd love to try out but never had the guts.

At this point, just try to bite the bullet and go for it. Sure, you might feel awkward at the start. But, it'll get better. Always smile and be polite.

Be cool about it. People can smell desperation a mile off from people trying to make friends. They are people who you'll click with or not click with. Whatever way it goes, it was meant to be. Don't get disheartened.

Don't get too worried either, when you join things, of the already formed cliques. This is always something I find hard to deal with myself. Just be friendly and happy in your own skin. Don't rush things. They'll take their time. :)

Thanks for replying. I must make an effort i know that. i just have no skills and im pretty much useless at every single thing you could imagine, i sometimes think i have some kind of disorder that prevents me from having any type of coordination to do any kind of sports or physical activities what so ever. But ill have to do something otherwise i don't what im going to do. Thanks again.

Tom have you actually spoken to your family or your GP about any of this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Jack Lumber

Do you have a job? College?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

putty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

You sound like you're very low on the old confidence. Something which I myself struggle with from time to time. So I know where you are coming from.

The best way that I have found to make friends is to do something where everyone is in the same boat, a new course where no one knows each other. Or something in that vein.

I know you say that you are useless at everything, I don't believe that's true for a second but just pick something that you are interested in and then go and do something, photography course, cooking class, writing class, something, even if you think you are useless you will become less useless because you will be learning as you go along.

Finally be yourself, remember that you are decent person, and be your own friend, don't tell yourself that you are useless at everything, you teach people how to treat you, if you treat yourself badly then they will too. You sound like a nice fella to me, I find it's often those who think poorly of themselves are often the gems, the most interesting to have a conversation with, the kindest, and those who think that they are all that are the biggest bores you could ever meet.

Everyone has their strong suits and their not so storing suits, I am badly coordinated and can't dance to save my life, I suck at a lot of girlie things simply because I have zero interest in them, so that gets me down sometimes, but I am good at a lot of stuff, that girls usually aren't so that's one of my strong suits. You should find yours, and despite what you may think, you do have some :).

Best of luck with everything and if you feel like you need someone to talk to then go and get a bit of counselling, it can be very helpful in ways you can't possibly imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

You sounded much more confident in Top Gun. Re-focus, think about how good you were. You haven't lost it, it's in your genes, dig deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Stop telling yourself that you're useless. That won't help.

Also, friends won't come to you out of nowhere. You have to make an effort too. If you want something, go get it.

You should probably stop asking After Hours for advice too, but if you do, answer some of the serious questions asked and you might get some answers yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭lanyard

Set a goal for yourself and work towards it. There is nothing better for yourself then achievement. Start this running program (everyone can run): http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Better yet join a sports club. For the non sporty thing you could try a night class, join a political party or join a dating site and go on dates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 honey83

Get out more and don't be afraid to be yourself. I've learned over the years that it isn't the quantity of friends you have but the quality of the friendship. I don't pretend to be someone I'm not. They know I'm wild a loud from the first time they meet me. However,ask me how I feel when I'm divorced and in the dating game again, seems scary! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Be sociable, listen to people, have the craic.

Don't be sneaky and two faced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Go to the person's profile whom you would like to befriend

Click on "Befriend _______"

When the box appears saying "Are you sure you want to add _______ to your contacts?", click yes.

Done.