Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A thought for Ireland

• 29-04-2013 2:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

A friend linked me to this today - must say, I found it to be a very articulate laying out of some of the problems we face in this country today. If we can still produce people like this young fella, with a bit of resistance in them as he displays, we might not be in as much trouble for the future as I thought we were. My hat goes off to him!

Obviously the most important issues to him are home, turf and water. If you were to do such a video, what would be your three issues in terms of a "thought for Ireland"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

What does Sideshow Bob know about Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Em, it's a good video and all, but I think he's joking - says so in the comments :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The guy is a stupid, beardy gimp. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

What makes you think that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You must a free-stater, enemy of Ireland. We're coming to get ya.
    Go raibh Maith agat. Doo di doo di doo di doo

Spot the "Free-Stater" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Poorly executed satire by the captain

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    What makes you think that?

It's fairly self explanatory, that stupid beard of his makes him look like a gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Only good thing about this is the thrilling first few seconds where it reminds one of some of the great Nationwide pieces.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 zVk

Hair grows out of face. Face grows hair on face. Modern human cut hair on face. But hair still grow on face. Not strange. But normal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Another rising? GPO here we come again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

according to this palm tree,i'm an enemy of Ireland apparently.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    according to this palm tree,i'm an enemy of Ireland apparently.

Why? Are you a member of FG? If so, I'd agree with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

A friend linked me to this today - must say, I found it to be a very articulate laying out of some of the problems we face in this country today. If we can still produce people like this young fella, with a bit of resistance in them as he displays, we might not be in as much trouble for the future as I thought we were. My hat goes off to him!

Obviously the most important issues to him are home, turf and water. If you were to do such a video, what would be your three issues in terms of a "thought for Ireland"?
    OP you know he's joking, right?
    zVk wrote: »
    Hair grows out of face. Face grows hair on face. Modern human cut hair on face. But hair still grow on face. Not strange. But normal.
    Ooga boga

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Why? Are you a member of FG? If so, I'd agree with him

I'd class myself as a "free-stater" though i'm not linked with any political party.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I'd class myself as a "free-stater" though i'm not linked with any political party.
    You're obviously an enemy of Ireland then. Captain ginger nuts says so.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    OP you know he's joking, right?

I don't think so? Where does it say he's joking?

Seventh quote below the video.
    The funniest thing is that some people think I'm being serious! ha ha : )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

He's a member of some republican party group or other. He used to hand out easter lilies on shopstreet in Galway eery year and talk the year off you about whatever flavour of the month was was passionate about that week.

Nice lad all the same and clearly taking the piss in the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Can't get sound so no point in looking at the link.

That's one of the lads from the occupy movement and all the other sit ins that followed after. Nice guy in fairness to him.

Seaneh wrote: »
    He's a member of some republican party group or other. He used to hand out easter lilies on shopstreet in Galway eery year and talk the year off you about whatever flavour of the month was was passionate about that week.

I really didn't think he was, although I didn't read the comments. How odd - the things he raises seem like reasonable concerns and feelings to have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

He's obviously joking and he got a laugh out of me.

Maybe I'm just too old to understand humour these days. Where is the punchline? I don't get it I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Troublemakers like this should be rounded up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Hmm, is he on Boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Maybe I'm just too old to understand humour these days. Where is the punchline? I don't get it I'm afraid

And where are the good points that you claimed he made?

What we learned from the video:

1. He cuts turf
    2. He drinks water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Seaneh wrote: »

So he likes the smell of politics and the taste of power, but he doesn't quite know how to go about getting it. Like myself as a young lad - with the ladies.

Slieve Aughty area is nice - I'll give him that.

I'm probably as old as yourself.

You really can't see how he's taking the piss? It's not a knock knock joke ftloj (for the love of jaysus!).

kraggy wrote: »
    And where are the good points that you claimed he made?

What we learned from the video:

1. He cuts turf
    2. He drinks water

But at that time he was cutting wood...but there was turf cut!

I'm probably as old as yourself.

You really can't see how he's taking the piss? It's not a knock knock joke ftloj (for the love of jaysus!).

But that doesn't make any sense. It's been said here that he is of radical leanings - where exactly was he talking the piss, and who out of?

Dude (can I call you dude?), humour can't be explained to someone. You either get it or you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

You must a free-stater, enemy of Ireland. We're coming to get ya.
    Go raibh Maith agat. Doo di doo di doo di doo

This has nearly killed me, I've been heat pissing myself since I read it. I think it's the doo di doo bit. Well done woollyredhat, well done, you win.

Also your man has a serious head of hair and a serious beard.

Someone finally explained it to me - very good prank it must be said!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Liam Mac an Bhaird

Comrades its time for a new Ireland. Stop being such FREE STATERS!

How can you not see that I was doing an old Alan Patrige on it?

My hair is brown its not red!

Your a dick!

All enemies of Ireland wil be dealt with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Comrades its time for a new Ireland. Stop being such FREE STATERS!
    Enda has a five point plan, you have a five foot beard!

Enda wins, free flouride for everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭Dartz

I think the first 30 seconds of this video sums up the state of the nation much better

We don't see the bankers jump off with their golden parachutes, but everything else is spot on.

Ohhhhmy goddddd hahahahathe hair swish at 1.50!!! :pac:

"The goalposts are like a free stater, and I'm aiming directly at a free stater, or an enemy of Ireland, whatever you want to call them. That's how I score my frees"

my sides hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

tdv123 wrote: »
    Another rising? GPO here we come again.
    Yeah, like the first attempt was a raging success. Next time it won't be the GPO, it'll be outsourced to DHL.

(What's the point of all that hair? Is it supposed to make him look more Irish?

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

bnt wrote: »
    Yeah, like the first attempt was a raging success. Next time it won't be the GPO, it'll be outsourced to DHL.

(What's the point of all that hair? Is it supposed to make him look more Irish?

What's the point of your hairstyle? Are you trying to express a nationality through your haircut, or do you just like to wear your hair that way?

Must be a FGer or a Free Stater!

Its a protest until we get a united Ireland!

Must be a FGer or a Free Stater!

Free staters cant grow as much hair as me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

All enemies of Ireland wil be dealt with!
    By the hair bear bunch.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Ohhhhmy goddddd hahahahathe hair swish at 1.50!!! :pac:

"The goalposts are like a free stater, and I'm aiming directly at a free stater, or an enemy of Ireland, whatever you want to call them. That's how I score my frees"

my sides hurt

L'oreal, because the unflouridated water is worth it :D