Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Back Pages

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Aug 31

7.38 miles 51:29(6:55p)

Sep 1

18.4 miles 1:58:20(6:29p)
    did a 4 mile w/up then the plan was a 13 marathon paced miles. Hit out at a nice but comfortable pace on an out and back course and was averaging 5:49 at the 6.5 mile turn around. As soon as I tured I was facing a tough wind and the pace dropped. 6:18 for the next mile and it didnt get any better thant that with most miles after that in the 6:20s. Ended up with 13.1 miles in 1:20:00. The effort was there but the wind was very unforgiving today.

Mon 2

6.47 miles 47:04(7:17p) Tired from yesterdays effort.
    40mins core/strength

Tue 3

6.47 miles 45:38(7:01p) Still tired
    30mins core/strength

Wed 4
    6.46 45:00(6:58p)

Thu 5

3.34 w/up 24:31(7:21p)
    7x1k off 90sec avg recovery 3:10, 3:09, 3:09, 3:08, 3:10, 3:11, 3:07
    1.5 miles c/dn 11:52(7:55p)

Fri 6

5.37 miles 40:33(7:33p)
    30 mins stretching/core/strength

Sat 7

Charlestown 10k 1st 32:32
    2.2 mile w/up 17:36(8:01p) 3.26 c/dn26:07(8:00p)

So after a very tough week where I really struggled to even get out to run at all I rescued it late on with a good k session on Thursday and a good race on Saturday. January 2010 is the last time I ran as fast as this.
    I had good company till halfway, John Mannion who beat me the last 2 times we met, was a handful and at times I thought hed gap me. Just before the 5k marker I pushed on a little and very soon had a considerable gap which I increased to the finish for a winning margin of 1:38.
    Split the race fairly evenly 16:13 16:19.
    I have to admit Im delighted with this race as I felt strong all the way to the finish and was only 36 seconds off my pb set in 2006.

Sun 8

17.25 miles 2:04:33(7:11p) easy long run today after race last night. Started very slowly and eased into it,felt good and really enjoyed it.

Mon 9

6.46 miles 47:25(7:20p)
    45 min stretching/core/strength

Tue 10

7.57 miles 54:05(7:08p)
    45 min stretching/core/strength

Wed 11

3.33 mi w/up 23:39(7:06p)

5x 1k 3:04,3:03,3:04,3:06,3:06. 94 sec avg recoveries

1.45 mi c/dn 10:43(7:23p)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Didn't realise you'd won the race when I met you. Congrats. You're going to run some time in Dublin.

Tell Paddy O'T there's going to be a reckoning in Dublin! It was great running with him. We left all the runners we encountered for dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Well done on the win and nice to meet you today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Wow- one hell of a run today congrats on the win!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Seen the result from the half. Great win and great time. Well done you're simmering nicely for Dublin :)

Thu 12

4.39 miles 32:25(7:23p)
    30 mins core/strength

Fri 13

4.39 32:45(7:28p)

Sat 14

Athlone Flatline Half Marathon 71:39(5:28p) 1st

I was surprised and delighted to get the win in this race. It was a big and well organised affair and while 71:39 is a good time for me its not a time Id be expecting to win a race of this stature. The race was an example of good organisation and for 20 euros was unbelievable value. Its rare if not unheard of for there to be nothing to complain about, because lets face it even average runners are world class complainers, but this race was perfect in its organisation.
    As for my race I had company in John Mannion until 5 miles(27:00) but was solo there after. I tried hard to maintain the pace but had leaked 30 secs by 10 miles (54:30) and after that it was just a matter of concentrating and finishing off the job over the last 5k(17:09).
    I thought before this race that I should be able to run sub 71 and despite feeling good and strong I just couldn't manage any more than a 10 second improvement on The Rock and Roll Half which was a tougher course. Maybe the last 8 miles on my lonesome effected my pace. Anyway Im happy with the win a very generous prize and a great day out for me and 24 of my team mates at Mayo AC, 12 of whom set pbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Athlone Flatline Half Marathon 71:39(5:28p) 1st

I was surprised and delighted to get the win in this race. It was a big and well organised affair and while 71:39 is a good time for me its not a time Id be expecting to win a race of this stature.

I heard a few of the faster lads called up a day or two before the race to enter but were told it was full. They would have to register through the normal proceedure in future!!

What was in the big box they gave you in the presentation?

menoscemo wrote: »
    I heard a few of the faster lads called up a day or two before the race to enter but were told it was full. They would have to register through the normal proceedure in future!!

Ya I heard that too.I know many races will give late entries to better runners as a way of raising the profile, I suppose. At 20 euros tho going through the normal proceedure isnt a big deal. I presume Maria Mc entered the usual way and if its good enough for her it should be good enough for everyone.
    Was nice to meet you Meno, that box contained a clock which will be handy as We have just bought a house!

menoscemo wrote: »

you are a nosy bastard meno. A Garda wouldn't ask him that question ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Well done JB theres a sub 2:30 for the taking on october 28th.

Sun 15

6.5 easy recovery run

Mon 16

6.46 miles didn't time
    30min stretching/core/strength

Tue 17

12.4 miles inc 2x 3mi 17:42 17:39 these were into a strong wind.
    45 mins stretching/core/strength

Wed 18

6.45 miles 46:03
    25 mins strength/core

Thu 19

4.43mi w/up 32:23(7:18p)
    2x 4mi 22:15(5:33p) 22:35(5:38p) 5 min jog recovery
    2mi c/dn

Fri 20

5.23 miles 40:01(7:39p)

Sat 21

23.32 miles 2:43:28(7:01p)

Sun 22

10.13 miles around stephens green.
    won 2 tickets to the game which Igave to gf and uncle.,made the journey to Dublin. Watched it in The Auld Triangle but alas no jingle jangle for Mayo. More same old same old and another good opportunity spurned. All the talk about tatics dodgy refs and marque rorwards is meaningless when you throw goals into your own net. Better team won but Mayo had the opportunity to be that team. As Kevin Kline understated exclaimed in A Fish Called Wanda "disappointed"!

Mon 23

8.3 miles @ 7min mile pace

Tue 24

5.36 miles 40:52(7:38p) hungover

Wed 25

6.45 miles 46:39(7:14p)

having a bad week after 2 days on the beer after match. Not feeling motivated or inspired at all.Bad timing and I needto get back on track immediately.

Watched it in The Auld Triangle but alas no jingle jangle for Mayo. More same old same old and another good opportunity spurned.

ha no way, that's our local for GAA matches. I was in briefly Sunday evening, what time did you leave?

TRR wrote: »
    ha no way, that's our local for GAA matches. I was in briefly Sunday evening, what time did you leave?
    about 0.0001 seconds after the final whistle!!

Sep 26

14.38 miles 89:04(6:11p)

inc 6 miles 33:22(5:33p) 4 miles 22:52(5:43p) with 7 min recovery

Happy enough with this session. Had intended doing 4 x 2 mi at hmp but felt good after a slowish first mile and extended it to six miles. The 4 miles was exactly 2:30 mp and felt comfortable. Back on the rails I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

about 0.0001 seconds after the final whistle!!

a PB?

Very disappointing performance alright. 63 years...:rolleyes:

Fri 27

6.45 miles 46:16(7:11p)

Sat 28

AM: 11.3 miles 1:21:22(7:10p)
    30 mins core

PM: 4.87 miles32:04(6:35p) inc 2miles 10:54(5:27p)
    30 mins weights

Sun 29

23.06 miles 2:37:48(6:51p)
    14.4 miles @ 7:11 pace on a hilly route.
    6 miles 35:16(5:53p) 6:00, 5:56,5:54,5:51,5:47,5:48
    2.65 miles@ 7:12 pace
    The first 14.4 miles of this run were very stop start with "stomach" issues. Legs were heavy too but I felt fairly good despite this. I was hoping to run 5:40 for 6 to 8 miles but I couldnt hit that pace witout digging very deep so I decided to play it safe and just coast and leave it at 6 miles of faster stuff. Im not very confidant of going sub 2:30 in 4 weeks time but feel I should be in pb territory at least.

Mon 30

6.45 miles 48:10(7:28p)
    45mins stretching/core/strength

So September done and dusted and its hard to believe how fast this year has gone by. Seems a good summer speeds up time. Looking back over the log it was a good month running wise. Despite quite a few life distractions I ran 302 miles, 2 good races for 2 wins, plenty of strength work, 2x 23 milers 2 x 18 milers and 5 good sessions. I didn't miss a day and have only missed 4 days since June 23 and those days were because of an injury sustained in National Half.
    If this all sounds a bit self congratulatory I don't mean it to be, I went through the training looking deliberately for positives because its been a bit of a grind lately. Sometimes we need to remind ourselves of how much effort we do put in and not spend so much time reading Krustys log that it makes us feel like a fat arse!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

not spend so much time reading Krustys log that it makes us feel like a fat arse!
    Jaysus.... Coming from a successful international ultra-runner, targeting sub 2:30, that leads me to one conclusion... I'm doing something drastically wrong.. :)

oct 1

3.35 mi w/up 25:16(7:33p)
    6x1k 3:11,3:11,3:09,3:10,3:10,3:13 90sec rec
    1.97 mi c/dn 15:04(7:40p)

Oct 2

6.44miles 45:12(7:01p)

Oct 3

14.42 miles 1:28 19
    inc 5x2miles 11:01,10:42,10:53,11:03,11:15 recoveries .33 mi 2:30-2:45

40 mins stretching/core/strength

Oct 4

5.37 miles 40:04(7:29p) very tired from yesterdays session

Oct 5

4.37 miles 31:59(7:19)
    very easy day, race tomorrow and still feelinf tired from Thursdays session

Oct 6

Breaffy 10k 34:41 3rd

3.3 mi w/up 24:33(7:26p) 1.46 mi/cdn 12:30(8:35p)

bit of a disaster today. Didnt feel good warming up. very tired, very flat and multiple bathroom visits meant I wasnt up for this race at all. I lost contact with front 2 after 1k and struggled to halfway in 16:37. Lost it mentally then and even stopped and walked back in opposite direction briefly (about 10 secs) before I copped myself on and got back on track. The second 5k was a funeral march 17:54, a physical and mental struggle to rival any ultra race or marathon Ive done. Have to put this behind me quickly, I probably shouldnt have ran as the warning signs were there since the session on Thursday when I feel I may have pushed too hard. Some easy relaxed running this week to see if I can get some freshness back. A big confidance blow but I know the fitness is there to run a good marathon and hopefully this is just a blip.

Oct 7

5.37 miles 38:18(7:10p(

Oct 8

5.37 miles 36:24(6:47p)

Oct 9

15.64 miles 1:36:58(6:12p)

1.4 mi w/up 4 miles 22:28( .66 jog )2x 1 mile 5:14 80 sec jog, 1.3 miles steady, 4 miles 22:18 1.4 c/dn

Oct 10

4.36 miles 31:28(7:13p)
    45 mins strength/core/stretching

Oct 11

3.11 miles 23:44(7:38p)

Oct 12

Sligo IT 5k 15:29 3rd

3 mile w/up21:22(7:07p) 1.7 mile c/dn 14:04(8:10p)

After last weeks racing disaster I felt I needed to exorcise the ghost before heading into marathon taper mode. This was a better effort and overall Im happy with how I ran. I was in the lead group of 4 until 1k to go when David Harper effortlessly floated away. This is an 18 year old lad from Westport who is bound for great things. Earlier this year he pushed Paul Robinsion all the way in a mile race and he has a 3:44 1500pb. He claimed 5k was too long for him but from my vantage point it didn't look that way. Always inspiring to see real talent up close even in its present raw form. Davids coach Dermot McDermot was 2nd 7 seconds ahead of me. For me this race felt comfortably hard but I didn't have the gear to really challenge for the first 2 places at the business end.I felt very strong and I was fresh afterwards which bodes well for the "main Thing" (copywrite RK 2013).
    A fantastic race, well organised and only 12 euros was great value.

Oct 13

22.12 miles 2:22:17(6:26p)
    inc 12 miles @ 5:57p

This was the last important run before the taper and it went well. While the 12 mile marathon pace segment didn't reach 5:40 per mile I was happy to stay relaxed and let it flow. With the race from yesterday still in the legs I felt there was no point going too deep into the well 2 weeks before the target race. Felt strong and lively and will try to hold that feeling over the next 14 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I was in the lead group of 4 until 1k to go when David Harper effortlessly floated away. This is an 18 year old lad from Westport who is bound for great things. Earlier this year he pushed Paul Robinsion all the way in a mile race and he has a 3:44 1500pb. He claimed 5k was too long for him but from my vantage point it didn't look that way. Always inspiring to see real talent up close even in its present raw form. Davids coach Dermot McDermot was 2nd 7 seconds ahead of me. For me this race felt comfortably hard but I didn't have the gear to really challenge for the first 2 places at the business end.I felt very strong and I was fresh afterwards which bodes well for the "main Thing" (copywrite RK 2013).
    A fantastic race, well organised and only 12 euros was great value.

Great to see him back and funny enough was only reading an interview with him earlier in the week

http://jumpingthegun.ie/blog/2013/10/11/david-harpers-road-to-recovery-fit-and-ag-rith

ecoli wrote: »
    Great to see him back and funny enough was only reading an interview with him earlier in the week

http://jumpingthegun.ie/blog/2013/10/11/david-harpers-road-to-recovery-fit-and-ag-rith
    Great to see him back for sure and in good form after just 7 weeks training. That's talent for you. I wasn't aware of his problems till I read that article on Friday night but I had missed him off the scene.One of many fantastic young Mayo athletes who are each capable of great things in the near future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Great to see him back for sure and in good form after just 7 weeks training. That's talent for you. I wasn't aware of his problems till I read that article on Friday night but I had missed him off the scene.One of many fantastic young Mayo athletes who are each capable of great things in the near future.

Just a pity the GAA team can't match the athletes:D