Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever or do you drink drive?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

I did it before and won't do it again as it is scummy
    The day of having a few and driving home is gone. I'm glad for that, cars today are very powerful and traffic is at an all time high. It can only be a good thing keeping drunk people off the road.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Madam_X wrote: »
    Wouldn't drunk, and doubt I'd be a danger after two pints but would be too afraid of getting caught and being over the limit.
    This. Very early on in my driving life(20 odd years back), I had two pints and drove about 10 miles back to where I was staying. Felt fine, but knew I had drink on me kinda thing. At one point I went to overtake another car and floored it. Barely got back in, missing an oncoming car as I did so. That and the cleaning bill for the seat put the wind up me and never again have I driven with even a pint on board. Another time, around the same age I drove after some interesting tobacco... I was probably the safest I've ever been, given 10 miles per hour felt like I'd just hit the Millennium Falcon's hyperdrive.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Stopped at a hotel in Monaghan on the way to Witnness one year, left the car in the car park (with the plan of sleeping in it) and we went into the hotel disco.
    After the disco we headed to the car but the bouncers saw us and told us we couldn't stay here and had to leave. I was well over the limit and knew it, I kept saying I couldn't drive but with everyone telling me to move (friends included) I finally gave in and drove.
    Really really stupid of me and I almost caused an accident pulling out of the car park onto the main road, that was the scariest part, I was sober enough to know what I was doing, but the alcohol really impaired my ability to make rational decisions whilst driving. I drove about 500 yards to where I could pull in and spent the night there. I swore I would never do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

did one night after a party at home. me and a buddy got all the empties together, and planned to dispose of 'em before the old folks came back. drivin down a country lane, ( we lived out the back of beyonds ), in the old mark two escort van, we met a white donkey standin there. now this was at 4am, still dark, he lookin at us, we at him, surreal shít. at that moment, i knew i'd never drink and drive again!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sitec wrote: »
    The day of having a few and driving home is gone.
    It's amazing how things change in society. I remember my dad telling me how him and a mate were on the piss back in the early 1950's. Went back blotto to their car only to find it frosted up. My dads mate said no problem and proceeded to hop on the bonnet and pee on the windscreen to clear said frost. Right at this time a Guard wanders by with a "ahh jaysus lads ye're mortified, you drive home slow and be careful".

Like you said though things have changed, back then traffic was much much lower and damn near non existent at that time of night and cars were far less powerful. Your average shopping trolley runabout type car nowadays has the bhp of some sports cars back then and your sporty hatchback could seriously embarrass some big name sports cars of the past. Precious few cars today can't get to a 100mph and pretty easily too, back in the day it was a rare enough car that could.

Regardless, driving a car in any other state but ice cold sober is a really stupid idea.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I never did and never will and those who do it are scummy
    Hope this thread doesn't get "LOCKED", see what I did there ;)

Oh yeh ha ha ha ha.

Your fuuuuuuuuunnnnneeeeeeeyyyy:p

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

Nice try, Gardaí
    I'm not driving very long and am still fairly nervous but I'd never dream of drink driving.

I've seen my cousin end up on life support after heavily drinking and attempting to drive home. He hasn't learned his lesson and continues to do so, the only way hell learn is if he ends up in an early grave because of his utter stupidity.

Girl I know in college regurly does it and sees absolutly nothing wrong with it. I've completly distanced myself from her and she's been warned about the danger shes putting on herself and the public. She thinks she's sober and gets behind the wheel. what's worse is her friends get in the car with her and she could have been in the horrors an hour before she gets in the car. Pure stupidity on her part and her idiot friends for getting in the car with her.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

During the 80's the whole family would go down to Granny's house every Sunday, dad would have had 2/3 cans of beer and maybe 2/3 whiskeys, then drive home. It wasn't even a case of breaking the law, if we were stopped at a Garda checkpoint (very regular occurrence close to the border during the troubles) he wasn't doing anything wrong. Different times.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Went into a pub in England after work in the 80s, very pissed pair in the corner at 6 o clock at night. Older one gets up to go, knocks over two tables and collides with the door frame, younger lad gets up and says 'here Dad, I'll help you to the car'. We got the landlord involved and took the car keys off him.

Myself, used to have a drive out to somewhere nice like Buxton on a Sunday, read the Sunday paper, have a sandwich and drink a couple of pints. Nowadays, would love to do the same, substituting Ballyknockan or Kilteel, would probably be OK but don't want to find out I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭hon pa

I never drink drive, because I think it is a scummy thing to do as you could seriously injure or kill someone. I think the blase attitude towards it in this country is absolutely astounding. I know many people, who will, at the drop of a hat, get into the car after 5 or 7 pints and drive home. It has even come to the extent that our very own politicians have even suggest being allowed to drink drive if you live in a certain location, how absurd is this? We must be the laughing stock of the world.

Do you or have you ever drink-driven?

I spent the last summer living in Canada and you'd be surprised how casual some people over there are about the subject, it seems to be much more of a taboo in Ireland to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I do it, even though it is a scummy thing
    I've driven the morning after when i probably shouldn't have

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I have done, both on motorbikes and in cars, but never would again. Completely stupid thing to do and I always regretted it afterwards. Haven't done so now in a number of years.

The strange thing is that a lot of people won't drive after 4 pints but they will after 14!!! In my case the 'bulletproof jacket' comes on after 6 or 7 so if I'm going out for the night it's either soft drinks or the car stays at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Nice try, Gardaí
    Have driven hungover a few times, but would have at least had a full night sleep and cold shower to wake me up.

Closest I've come to driving after drink is having a single lunchtime pint on a colleague's last day and driving home that evening. Well out of my system, but just tired me out more than anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Amronoc

I havent had a cúnt all night drinkstable!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Amronoc

Wheres the Atari Ginuar option?????????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

No, but if I was ever caught drink driving, that would be the least of my worries.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Is it illegal to drink whilst driving if you are not over the legal limit? Just something that has come up in conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Used to work from 5am so technically probably, but very rarely drove on more than a mouthful of beer. Just not worth the risk both of an accident and getting caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Is it illegal to drink whilst driving if you are not over the legal limit? Just something that has come up in conversation.

I even heard that a front seat passenger can't drink. In some USA states its illegal to have opened alcohol in the car. No idea if there's a law on it here.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

jobeenfitz wrote: »

think it's the same legally as drinking an open can walking down Grafton st, a open liquor in public or something

• Registered Users Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I do it, even though it is a scummy thing
    I did it once when i was 23, crashed into a ditch and the first car that came behind me was the cops who brought me off to the station.

I got a 2 year ban and got back after a year.

I learnt my lesson and wouldn't do it again.

I also saw the other side of it a few years later when a drunk driver crashed into my brother at high speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I was once accused of drink driving, when I was clearly just waiting for a mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Occasionally. But only with a couple of pints on board. If you spend a couple of hours drinking that your body would have metabolized at least one pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Never on the same day as drinking. Ive driven the day after when i probably would have still failed the test though

• Registered Users Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Nice try, Gardaí
    Never have, never will.
    Short of an accute medical emergency, I cannot see any acceptable excuse for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Nice try, Gardaí
    I haven't* and I judge people fairly harshly who do.

I did have a single longneck before in work and rode home on my motorbike 4 hours later after McDonalds and a game of poker.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I haven't* and I judge people fairly harshly who do.

I did have a single longneck before in work and rode home on my motorbike 4 hours later after McDonalds and a game of poker.

Scum!!!

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I'm a real lightweight, so I don't think I'd trust myself after even one drink. One night I was sick and exhausted, I drove home from work and I really shouldn't have, I was in a daze. So I definitely wouldn't drive after even one drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Nice try, Gardaí
    Uriel. wrote: »
    Scum!!!

:p

I should point out, the long neck was on the bottle of GoldSchlager, still one bottle though, so safe as.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭blue note

Nice try, Gardaí
    I haven't and would judge those that do with varying degrees of contempt depending on how drunk they are when they drive (and where and when they do it). If someone is boarderline and decides to drive home, it's probably not something they should do, but I can't understand people getting so high and mighty about it. Most people after 1 pint are probably less dangerous than those that speed, that drive a car when very tired or when drive a car and constantly change CDs, take things in and out of the glove box, eat, drink, etc. On the other hand, someone having 4 pints and driving home is simply not ok and someone being truly hammered and driving deserves jail time.