Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions for a 21 year old male..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

There's a lot that corners worse than a Yaris, not to say the Yaris is on fire but they're well settled for what they are.
    Compare it to the equivalent Corsa or Polo and they're much nicer.

The Panda may be better again mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

In all fairness OP, in your position I would not spent that much money on what is essentially your first car.

As far as I can tell, you would like a car that is somewhat nicer to drive than the average "mommy car", hence the Coupe' you initially linked.

From this standpoint, I would say you'll basically hate the likes of a little runaround. What I would do is look for a 1k banger in relatively decent condition (there are lots around, which have the low price tag just because they're not Toyotas or VWs) that will carry you back and forth from College. In the meantime you'll accumulate NCB, get a full license and, in 1-2 years time you can get something nicer and be able to insure it without selling an arm, a leg, a kidney and a testicle.

Just my 2 cents, eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Seat Leon Newer, Bigger and less money than the Yaris.

I have to say for a first car its a lot of money, I drove a fiat Uno for a couple of years in my early 20s and loved it. It cost me less than €1000, I could fill it for €30 and drive around Dublin and Wicklow for two weeks before having to fill it up again. I drove the wheels off it without a care, I actually wish I could have kept it!

Like above, this is a proper cool little car.
    I'd throw on a nice set of wheels and drop it but that's just me. :D

1.0l €1000
    no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    In all fairness OP, in your position I would not spent that much money on what is essentially your first car.

As far as I can tell, you would like a car that is somewhat nicer to drive than the average "mommy car", hence the Coupe' you initially linked.

From this standpoint, I would say you'll basically hate the likes of a little runaround. What I would do is look for a 1k banger in relatively decent condition (there are lots around, which have the low price tag just because they're not Toyotas or VWs) that will carry you back and forth from College. In the meantime you'll accumulate NCB, get a full license and, in 1-2 years time you can get something nicer and be able to insure it without selling an arm, a leg, a kidney and a testicle.

Just my 2 cents, eh...

The way I look at it.. Let's say I spend €1500 on a car, another €1500 on insurance, and then tax and whatever else needs doing. Then I come along in 1 - 2 years time to look at a new car and I can't shift it or have to sell it for pennies because it's so old at that stage.

Why not spend an extra 2k so I can have something that I can sell relatively easily in a year or two.

Does that make any sense?

Seat Leon Newer, Bigger and less money than the Yaris.

I have to say for a first car its a lot of money, I drove a fiat Uno for a couple of years in my early 20s and loved it. It cost me less than €1000, I could fill it for €30 and drive around Dublin and Wicklow for two weeks before having to fill it up again. I drove the wheels off it without a care, I actually wish I could have kept it!

Very nice car, but based in Dublin.. I am in me arse driving all the way to Dublin :pac:

Danger781 wrote: »
    The way I look at it.. Let's say I spend €1500 on a car, another €1500 on insurance, and then tax and whatever else needs doing. Then I come along in 1 - 2 years time to look at a new car and I can't shift it or have to sell it for pennies because it's so old at that stage.

Why not spend an extra 2k so I can have something that I can sell relatively easily in a year or two.

Very nice car, but based in Dublin.. I am in me arse driving all the way to Dublin :pac:

Just showing you what's avaialble;)

If you spend €4K on a car now that is nearly 10 years old, its not going to be worth feck all in 2 or 3 years time regardless of the make or model. Seriously take a look at the bangernomics thread, pick up something cheap with a small engine and save your money for something more substantial in a couple of years time.

Nope, none!
    If you spend €1000 on a good clean car you'll probably sell it to close to that again, if you spend €3000/€4000 on a car, you could end up selling it for the same as the cheaper car.
    As long as the car is looked after, €750-€1000 is probably the least you'll have to sell it for, of course for a quick sale you could put it for less but there's no need if there's no rush.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Nope, none!
    If you spend €1000 on a good clean car you'll probably sell it to close to that again, if you spend €3000/€4000 on a car, you could end up selling it for the same as the cheaper car.
    As long as the car is looked after, €750-€1000 is probably the least you'll have to sell it for, of course for a quick sale you could put it for less but there's no need if there's no rush.

Dead right.:cool:

Damn it.. Back to square one so :(

Buy the Cuore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

What exactly have you driven that takes a corner worse than a Yaris? Even that cheap-ass Panda I listed above is more fun.

A Ford Ka. One of the scariest experiences I have ever had was the first time I tried to take a moderately gentle bend in a Ka at 35mph...

Buy the Cuore.

No tax. No NCT. Based in Wexford.

No thank you. :P

Meh, your loss. :p

Aim for something similar though. Basic, well planted and easy to maintain. IF you want to limit your losses, that's the way to go. They're not gonna drop any further.

Wroth mentioning that tax is nothing on the above and NCT would probably be nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I'd buy a Supra.

Wait, what was the question?

Zero :D

It's in part due to the peculiarity of the Irish second hand cars market; most people think that the moment a car turns 10 years old, it immediately and irreparably falls apart. It can very well happen that you buy something that is 8-9 years old for 3k, and it will sell for 800-1000 in two years time.

If you get a 1.000 Euro car that is not completely knackered, is maximum a 1.4 liters and keep it reasonably well (which also means investing a bit in maintenance and upkeep...), you'll probably resell it for 800.

The main issue is that car ownership is, by definition, a sorely losing business. The money you pay for tax and insurance is simply written off - call it a cost to afford the luxury that is a car.
    Maintenance costs, that's 50/50 - of course is money that you won't make back but, if you sell the car, having garage invoices for oil changes, NCT tune ups and the likes will probably allow you to sell the car for a marginally higher price.
    Finally, the depreciation - as a general rule, the more you spend for a car, the more you lose when reselling it...unless, of course, we're talking classics :)

So I've been trawling through DoneDeal looking for a car that is sub 1500, NCT'd, and based in Cork.. Didn't like much of anything I found :o

Found this..
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4916420
    2000 Yaris, 170k miles, €1600

Friend found this but it's in Kerry
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4814652
    1999 Almera, 85k miles, NCT 01/14, €950

Are there any specific reasons why you only seem to be looking for Japanese / Korean cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Are there any specific reasons why you only seem to be looking for Japanese / Korean cars?

Generic non specific blandness reliability quality everyone has one blah blah blah blah blah would be my guess

Buy the Almera, we can be pals!

Nope no reason other than pure coincidence.

I'm browsing through the entire list of cars that fit the criteria and opening the ads where the cars looks appealing.

I do dislike french cars for whatever reason..

Worth around €700 I'd say, suspension looks a bit dodgy and th body work looks rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Worth around €700 I'd say, suspension looks a bit dodgy and th body work looks rough.

The car does look rough but the suspension looks grand to me. That's the way unlowered Cvics sit in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Ryu Hayabusa

BMW 318ci m sport

The women will be dripping moisture

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The car does look rough but the suspension looks grand to me. That's the way unlowered Cvics sit in my experience.

I thought it looked lob sided, no?

Thanks for the feedback lads.. Going to try and get a mechanic to take a look at it for me..

Hopefully knock down the price too :)

What about a Focus?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4804434

That's what I'm driving at the moment (first car, also). Nice looking car, very comfortable to sit in for extended periods and popular enough to make it relatively anonymous and not draw attention to itself (unless that's what you're looking for, of course).

Popular, too, so sourcing parts, etc. should you be unlucky wouldn't be overly difficult, either, and it's cheap and cheerful so if you bang it off a wall or such you won't lose sleep.

Unrelated, but when I was looking for my first car I'd a pain in my bollocks looking at cars and seeing that every single car I was interested in was on the extreme west of the country :mad: (I'm in Drogheda). You should be spoiled for choice! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭krank

Ibiza's are great fun but not trouble free and there may be issues with parts depending on how old it is.

What about a Fiesta or a Clio?

Right lads I'm going to look at the civic in a few days with a mechanic friend of mine.. But I'm on my provisional what am I going to do about test driving it?

Would it be alright to bring it to a car park? Or even around the estate?

What should I make sure the car comes with? In terms of service history and what not..

Anything else to look out for?

I'd actually like a focus.. Would be one of my top choices if I could get a decent one with a good NCT :-)

Get your mechanic to test drive it, he'll spot anything wrong with it.

I thought it looked lob sided, no?
    No I think there is a slight slope where it's parked, I could be wrong though, anyway im sure the op's mechanic will spot if there is anything wrong with the suspension on inspection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Right lads I'm going to look at the civic in a few days with a mechanic friend of mine.. But I'm on my provisional what am I going to do about test driving it?

Just going to say that if you get the civic you are looking at 2k plus for insurance. My 21yr old brother is paying 1.8k for his own policy with a full licence for 2 years and 1yrs NCD.

Looks rough alright, bodywork and wheels particularly, I would suspect it had been driven hard for most of its life, I wouldn't bother with it.

Just going to say that if you get the civic you are looking at 2k plus for insurance. My 21yr old brother is paying 1.8k for his own policy with a full licence for 2 years and 1yrs NCD.

Isn't your brothers car a jap import though? For some reason or another insurance companies charge far more for insurance on a jap import Civic over it's Irish/Uk counterpart.

Got a quote of 1.8k off Liberty.. :-)

He's having the hole ripped off him, seriously needs to shop around.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Isn't your brothers car a jap import though? For some reason or another insurance companies charge far more for insurance on a jap import Civic over it's Irish/Uk counterpart.

It is bur when he was checking insurance prices it was the same whether it was or not.

@Cian, he called pretty much everywhere and that was the best price fully comp from aviva at the time.

It is bur when he was checking insurance prices it was the same whether it was or not.

@Cian, he called pretty much everywhere and that was the best price fully comp from aviva at the time.

Are all of his mod's declared?
    That'll drive it right up.

Are all of his mod's declared?
    That'll drive it right up.

Nope. He's taking some out now anyway such as the camber as he got pulled for it.

Civic got sold before I had a chance to view it.. Balls to that anyway :-\ Back to square one so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Hey there,

Still on my provisional at the moment but I'm hoping to have my full in the coming weeks so I'm in the market for a car.

Spotted this on DoneDeal and thought it seemed like a fair price
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4624061

Am I aiming too high considering I learned on my Dad's 2003 Punto?

Feedback / Comments on the car, or what you think I should be looking for are greatly appreciated.

call all the brokers and companies you can, youd be surprised . I had a 2.5TD 4x4 when I was 18, no ncb for 1650 fully comp

at 22 I had my 3.0TD 4x4 and 3.5 735i insured for 1900 fully comp combined, age isnt a huge factor if you keep ringing around, having no ncb hurts but some brokers might give you a decent quote.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4989819

Seems a bit pricy for a '98

Its not exactly a standard 15 year old car to be fair.

Its also very unlikely you would get insured on something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

call all the brokers and companies you can, youd be surprised . I had a 2.5TD 4x4 when I was 18, no ncb for 1650 fully comp

at 22 I had my 3.0TD 4x4 and 3.5 735i insured for 1900 fully comp combined, age isnt a huge factor if you keep ringing around, having no ncb hurts but some brokers might give you a decent quote.

Are you on a farm policy by any chance? FBD give decent discounts if you have a farm on the same account. Good price you got there either way.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4992224

1999 Yaris - €1500 - NCT 04/14

Seems ideal, albeit a bit on the pricy side.

The VZR is very fairly priced, insurance would be high though, probably the best car you've posted.

Getting a quote should be interesting once I get home.. I'm expecting it to hit €2k :o

Id be expecting more along the lines of "come back to us when you are 25/30/*insert whatever arbitrary age they use nowadays*"...

djimi wrote: »
    Id be expecting more along the lines of "come back to us when you are 25/30/*insert whatever arbitrary age they use nowadays*"...

My buddy has one though.. He's younger than I am.. But he has had his full license for a while now :rolleyes: