Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The footpath extension at millstreet

• 01-05-2013 11:24am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23

The genius' at city council have done it again ! they have extended the width of the footpath on the end of the bridge before you turn right down nuns island now when you are coming up beside garda station or turning left after nuns island there's only enough room for one car at front of the junction this is crazy and causing so many problems already I was 15 mins trying to get from back of nuns island to Dominick street THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED IN MY LIFE TIME DRIVING GALWAY CITY

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭irisheddie85

mr.correct wrote: »
    The genius' at city council have done it again ! they have extended the width of the footpath on the end of the bridge before you turn right down nuns island now when you are coming up beside garda station or turning left after nuns island there's only enough room for one car at front of the junction this is crazy and causing so many problems already I was 15 mins trying to get from back of nuns island to Dominick street THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED IN MY LIFE TIME DRIVING GALWAY CITY

actually I think it was a good move. it stops people driving straight out of Mill Street on to Bridge Street without looking and has stopped taxis blocking up the junction performing illegal u-turns before trying to join the taxi rank. It also slows everyone down a bit making it a lot safer for pedestrians crossing the junction

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield

My understanding is that the Council are moving the entire taxi rank to one side of the street/bridge and there will be zero parking on the other side.

It makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

actually I think it was a good move. it stops people driving straight out of Mill Street on to Bridge Street without looking and has stopped taxis blocking up the junction performing illegal u-turns before trying to join the taxi rank. It also slows everyone down a bit making it a lot safer for pedestrians crossing the junction

i disagree.

it was done because the Taxis do not obey the current rules of the road.
    So to stop them all the rest of us have to pay.

there was an existing yield sign there so i disagree that people where not slowing down and looking for traffic coming from dominick street.

This same logic of not enforcing the law against taxi drivers is evident with the gate on flood st. which can be closed on the whim whenever the gaurds wish blocking access to middle st and austine st for residents.

Again this was done because taxi drivers crawl thru cross street. simple enforcement and making them move along could have stopped this but no, lets pass the problem onto someone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I've travelled that route and the existing footpath is now noticeably sloped.
    Have the Council informed the citizenry why these 'improvements' occurred?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

252029.jpg

These are the plans for the area. A couple of locals met went to the corpo yesterday to discuss them. This is what we understood from the meeting.

The paths are being widened to facilitate pedestrians. This includes ramps at Lombard Street and Cross Street to aid people crossing the road.

There is a painted on the road roundabout going on the road at the Cross Street/Bridge Street/Lombard Street/Mainguard Street junction. It is basically formalising what people have been doing there for years, and giving drivers a better understanding as to who has right of way at the junction.

The parking spaces outside the Bridge Mills are being slanted.

The Stop line on Mill Street is being brought forward so that drivers can see any traffic coming up Dominc Street before they pull out.

The parking on the bridge itself is being moved to the other side. This means that taxis no longer will cross into oncoming traffic when moving up the rank (note; we were told that it was the taxis who requested the rank facing Dominic Street in the first place, but they never adhered to the direction in which it was set up).

Unfortunately they are planning to make this a 24 hour taxi rank and are removing the public parking. In order to make it a 24 hour rank it needs a council vote to change the bylaws. I am personally against this, and would ask everyone to email the members of the city council and ask them to vote against this, as it further reduces parking in the city.

I passed this at several times yesterday, and the taxis were backed up along the bridge. However, there were none in Newcastle, few in either rank in Salthill, and none on the stretch between Richardsons and Garveys in Eyre Square.

The corpo feel that the the public parking is not needed as their revenue shows that Mill Street and Ravens Terrace carparks are empty, despite it being nearly impossible to get a space in either.

City councillor contact details are available on www.galwaycity.ie.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,965 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

flynnlives wrote: »
    there was an existing yield sign there so i disagree that people where not slowing down and looking for traffic coming from dominick street.

I hate to break it to you ... but the presence of a Yield sign does not necessarily mean that cars actually slow down and look for traffice. It just means that they should do so - and when the evidence suggests that they do not do so, alternative measures are needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭jkforde

hey Fey, where abouts on galwaycity.ie did you find the Bridge St. plan? - wouldn't mind seeing it in higher resolution. and do you know if any of the Local Improvement Scheme plans are on there? ta

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Cleahaigh

Where are the bicycle and motorcycle parking spots being relocated to?

And I don't know if they're planning some nice finish to the footpaths or not, but at the moment they look pretty rough and there seems to be a lack of expansion joints and the kerb/carriageway levels look a bit messy in spots. Seems a shame to have to plane out the new SMA road surface outside Supermacs.

@jkforde - I got that plan at the meetig yesterday. I don't know if it's on galwaycity.ie. If you pm me your email I'll send you on the higher res scan; I lowered it so as not to make it too big for some users.

@Cleahaigh - the bicycle spaces are on the plan, just moved slightly. They're also due to replace the Maingurd Street ones in the not too distant future.

I did ask about the motorcycle spaces, and I understood that they will be relocated. I did point out that they were in constant use when not covered by trucks, and that there are very few motorcycle spaces in the city.

I also asked about the number of poles for signage. The old ones will be removed when the signage is transferred to the new ones. I forgot to ask about the footpath surface (despite bringing pictures of it), but I assume (hope) it will be done when the poles are gone and the road is being resurfaced.

I hope that the whole things works out as well as it was explained to us as (aside from the parking) the plan looks very good, and should improve things for pedestrians in the area.

Cheers, Fey. As I say, as long as the final finish is decent and they replace the cycle parking it'll be grand. I have some reservations about the mini roundabout (especially when it's choc-a-bloc on a Saturday), but it'll be easy enough to change it back if it doesn't work I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

I agree that the changes are good for pedestrians. And the taxis needed to be organised better but the exit from mill street really has been messed up imo it has increased the time quite dramatically it takes to get out from mill street and nuns island, at peak times. its a crawl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Cleahaigh wrote: »
    And I don't know if they're planning some nice finish to the footpaths or not, but at the moment they look pretty rough and there seems to be a lack of expansion joints and the kerb/carriageway levels look a bit messy in spots. Seems a shame to have to plane out the new SMA road surface outside Supermacs.

Walked along there today and would have to echo this, I thought the finished parts looked awful, very amateur looking with bits of messy looking bitumen filled in along any gaps and uneven connections between the road and footpath

Hopefully as mentioned they do a proper job of it when resurfacing the road

• Registered Users Posts: 10,463 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I don't drive, but that temporary blue hut thing they have at the bottom of Nuns Island must be very dangerous. You can't see what's coming up from Dominick Street till you get around the corner and have to be watching what's coming from Mill Street at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

With regard to the overall scheme, reducing the amount of parking in the city is a good idea. Parking draws traffic and generates congestion, and if the overall objective is to reduce traffic congestion in the city then parking must be addressed as a matter of priority.

There is a school on Nuns Island, and another one just up the road (Presentation Secondary). In my view it should have been made a controlled crossing, though the new layout perhaps make crossing a bit easier. I haven't walked (or driven) there recently.

I'm not sure whether Lower Dominick Street is included in the scheme, but the crossing there is awful, especially with kids in tow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

maybe one day in the next century they might start working on the henry street /dominick street area - its atrocious.

There's a plan for that, afaik.

Would be a good topic for a separate thread, imho.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    With regard to the overall scheme, reducing the amount of parking in the city is a good idea. Parking draws traffic and generates congestion, and if the overall objective is to reduce traffic congestion in the city then parking must be addressed as a matter of priority.

Reducing parking has the knock on effect of people not coming into the city centre because they can't park, which reduce customers for business', which forces business' to shed staff or close.

Also, the reason for this move is because of there being too many taxis in the city; they're increasing the size of this rank despte other ranks being empty. The taxis were already bullying people out of the parking on the bridge, literally, and now the city has to succumb to them. Over the last 2 years a huge amount of space has been handed over to the taxis.

Galway currently has more taxis per capita than New York. Surely they should be working at reducing the numbers at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Fey! wrote: »
    Reducing parking has the knock on effect of people not coming into the city centre because they can't park, which reduce customers for business', which forces business' to shed staff or close.

Also, the reason for this move is because of there being too many taxis in the city; they're increasing the size of this rank despte other ranks being empty. The taxis were already bullying people out of the parking on the bridge, literally, and now the city has to succumb to them. Over the last 2 years a huge amount of space has been handed over to the taxis.

Galway currently has more taxis per capita than New York. Surely they should be working at reducing the numbers at this stage.

Ok this is just scaremongering now, reducing the amount of spaces in the core of a city does not reduce people shopping in the city. If that was the case Dublin would be empty due to removing parking around grafton street and o connell street.

People were saying the exact same thing when shop street was being pedestrianised too, oh the shops will all close down, nobody will want to walk blah blah, I go into town regularly and I don't bother looking for a space so close to shop street, I go to a bigger car park or some pay and display spaces in newcastle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭45mhrc7evo1d3n

Also, the reason for this move is because of there being too many taxis in the city; they're increasing the size of this rank despte other ranks being empty. The taxis were already bullying people out of the parking on the bridge, literally, and now the city has to succumb to them.

Why does the city have to succumb to them though? It certainly does appear that there are too many taxis in Galway and they all seem to congregate in this area for some reason. Surely there must be a limit on the number of taxi licences allocated to Galway city? The ranks should be policed to ensure that drivers don't queue outside the rank as they currently do on O'Brien's Bridge and on Flood Street/Cross Street. Shutting the street to all traffic just to stop wrongdoing by taxis is completely unfair to residents and business owners who need to access that area.

Shutting the street to all traffic just to stop wrongdoing by taxis is completely unfair to residents and business owners who need to access that area.

Who said anything about closing off a street?

Sorry if I wasn't clear, that reference is to the gate on Flood Street that the Guards use to shut off the street whenever they feel like it. Slightly off-topic but an example of how the powers that be pander to taxi drivers instead of making them obey traffic laws like the rest of us have to.

Ah I see, would I be wrong in saying that these gates are closed on nights that there would be a lot of people around the cross street area making it safer not to have cars cross their path. I always thought it was weird that the gates weren't up near the dail bar. Again this is off topic, sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Have to say thats a load of rubbish, theres tons of parking in and around the city, the Dyke Road is nowhere near as full as in years gone by any day of the week and there are a plethora of multi storey carparks with loads of space.

the Dyke Road is nowhere near as full as in years gone by any day of the week and there are a plethora of multi storey carparks with loads of space.

That may be true but the parking spaces that are being given over to taxis are the short-term "handy" spaces which are cheaper if you need to make a quick stop off in town. Payment in the Dyke Road is by the day and it's not exactly convenient for Shop Street while the minimum period you can pay for in multi-storeys is an hour, plus there's the additional time spent getting in and out of them. Not very helpful if you need to spend literally 15 minutes in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

That may be true but the parking spaces that are being given over to taxis are the short-term "handy" spaces which are cheaper if you need to make a quick stop off in town. Payment in the Dyke Road is by the day and it's not exactly convenient for Shop Street while the minimum period you can pay for in multi-storeys is an hour, plus there's the additional time spent getting in and out of them. Not very helpful if you need to spend literally 15 minutes in town.

By no means does any of that stop someone going into town.

I didn't say it would stop someone going into town but having to pay for a days parking and spending 30 minutes round trip walking to and from a parking space for a 15 minute errand certainly makes it less attractive. And that's what contributes to killing off small, specialised businesses in city centres.

I don't buy into the 'too many taxis' argument. If they weren't making enough money they'd do something else. Presumably they stack at the bottom of Shop Street because that's where most of the business originates. I doubt if they're doing it for the craic.

As someone who remembers the hell of pre-deregulation limited taxi numbers, any attempt to go back to that makes me very nervous. And I thought Frankeen had frozen the issue of any new taxi licences before the Failers got booted out of office?

Have to say thats a load of rubbish, theres tons of parking in and around the city, the Dyke Road is nowhere near as full as in years gone by any day of the week and there are a plethora of multi storey carparks with loads of space.

Correct. For example, the Jurys car-park, or whatever it's called, is frequently empty from Level 3 up. It has seven levels, iirc, and it's only one car-park in the city centre...

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Correct. For example, the Jurys car-park, or whatever it's called, is frequently empty from Level 3 up. It has seven levels, iirc, and it's only one car-park in the city centre...

And every-time you park in it, your car gets progressively smaller, it's a win-win

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

But where will parents park their vehicles when awaiting their precious progeny alighting from schools?