Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Baby Names...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭gidget

Have come across a Nigerian boy called Destiny alright! Some girls names all of whom were Irish that i've come across would be Storm, Treasure & Uisce ( Irish for water)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

My daughters name is Sadhbh. Whats your beef?

It's a very harsh sounding name. Not a pretty name for a little girl at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Boofle wrote: »
    My daughters name is Sadhbh. Whats your beef?

It's a very harsh sounding name. Not a pretty name for a little girl at all.

So long as you don't pronounce it "Soymh" you're ok.

Went to college with a guy called Aonas,the poor cnut.Know another kid called Bonny.

There was a request on TodayFm yesterday morning for someone's child who was called Starling,that's great-name your kid after a noisy bird that shites everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I knew a girl, called "Girl". >.>
    Another was "Usanavy" (the mother saw it on a boat, thought what a lovely name XD )

I've never liked, using months as names, and the name "Skye" >.>
    Also knew a boy called Marian. Poor kid.

I think the biggest problems with names, I guess, is the multi-culture, travelling. A name might seem just fine in one country and be totally off in another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I know of two Nigerians, a girl called jelly and a man called innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I know of two Nigerians, a girl called jelly and a man called innocent.

Half my town is friends with "Brilliant Friend" on facebook.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Shenshen wrote: »
    What's wrong with "Justus"? Perfectly normal name, that? :confused:

That said, I think some parents are either had their brains surgically removed, or they really hate their kids.

I never got over the name "Chardonnay"... why would you name the kid after what helped conceive it?

Richard snr I guess ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

I know one woman who called her child nevaeh... heaven spelled backwards.

I also met one mother who called her daughter Yvonne, but pronounced it wih-vun-ee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Wayne
    Duane/Dwayne
    Warren
    Darren

All future criminals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Wayne
    Duane/Dwayne
    Warren
    Darren

All future criminals

Great names for a cat or dog though. I wanted to call my cat Trevor or Kevin. Hubby said 'NO' :pac:

I like ironic names for animals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,973 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Used to live near an evangelical couple who had twin boys and lumbered them with the names, Genesis and Revelation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

There were two boys near Swansea called Thor and Odin. They would both be in their forties now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭MissMoppet

My cousin called her child Gilbert... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

There were two boys near Swansea called Thor and Odin. They would both be in their forties now.

I now want to get two dogs and call them that..... Not my kids though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I now want to get two dogs and call them that..... Not my kids though!

The Norse God Thor was given the opportunity to visit Earth and mix with mere mortals. Pondering the best place to make his appearance, he chooses London and decides to visit a nightclub. No sooner had he entered the club he meets a nice young lass who suffers with a lisp. Anyway, the two get on together and at the end of the night, the girl invites Thor back to her place. As you can imagine, one thing leads to another and they end up in bed together, and he gives her the ride of her life. Every position, every hole, they go at it hammer and tongs all night.

The next morning after managing to snatch a few hours sleep, Thor jumps from the bed and pronounces, "I am Thor, the God of Thunder!" To which the girl replies "You're Thor! I'm tho thor I can't even pith!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

gidget wrote: »
    Have come across a Nigerian boy called Destiny alright! Some girls names all of whom were Irish that i've come across would be Storm, Treasure & Uisce ( Irish for water)

I went to school with a girl called treasure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭NaNaNa1

Three of Nikki Sixx of Motley Crue's kids are called Gunner, Decker and Storm Sixx. Very rock and roll.

Other horrid names I've heard of include Jerorika, Dystney, Cherry, Princess, Brogan, Bandit and Toolah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Jayden, Kayden, Zayden, Rayden et al. bug the hell out of me. Aidan is lovely though ;)

I have an aunty called Eucharia (pronounced You-care-ee-ah) which I think is pretty awful!

Apart from the obvious ones that I ssociate with skangers (Princess, Courtney Angel, Rihanna, Tyrone, Dwyane, Dean) I have a huge gripe with super common names, especially Irish ones.

When I hear of a new baby Aisling, Aoife, Niamh, Ciara etc. I think "really, another one?!".

Common names don't appeal to me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Babarella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Friend of mine named her son Nicholas. Nothing wrong with that. Except the surname's Knight...:o
    Could be worse, they could have given him Verity as a middle name
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nick_Knight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

highly1111 wrote: »
    I know a Nigerian kid called Success.

And also a friend of a friend recently called their baby Zander.

Beyond bizarre.

Xander, such a normal name where I was living in Melbourne it was their version of Seán or Niamh. Everywhere, not that strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

I know a pair who called the young lads Madison, Autumn, Lukah and Rocko-Dean. All with the second name King.

The father is pure culchie, the mother is a bit of a head-in-the-clouds type :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

out of the top of my head, Jordan (for a male) and any common Irish names already posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

13spanner wrote: »
    I know a pair who called the young lads Madison, Autumn, Lukah and Rocko-Dean. All with the second name King.

The father is pure culchie, the mother is a bit of a head-in-the-clouds type :pac:

Cute when they are little babies, but hate to be them when they hit school....
    Except Luca that's ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I volunteer for community games and was taking their names and placings in the races, had all the usual Conors Cians and Paddys coming in, then Storm. Why?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,620 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

My second name is Lee, the other half was musing about baby names one day and she loves Irish names so she suggested Éanna.

I was like "I might stick that with Rea and Sirius in the maybe pile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭jaxdasher

Being named Jiff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Shaneese (my old next door neighbour called her girl this) had to listen to her giving out to and calling this child loudly about 20 times a day for about 5 years.

Lovely child but sorry parents Shaneese doesn't suit a white pasty skinned Irish girl child, please don't ruin its life by giving her a stupid name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Cooperspale

Met an Australian named Mate Smith, saw his driving licence too so no joke. Awful name because so many Aussies call everyone mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

errlloyd wrote: »
    My second name is Lee, the other half was musing about baby names one day and she loves Irish names so she suggested Éanna.

I was like "I might stick that with Rea and Sirius in the maybe pile"

Chung ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

So I'm still right to go with 8of9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Promac

George Foreman named his sons George Jr., George III, George IV, George V, and George VI - and one of his daughters Georgetta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Promac wrote: »
    George Foreman named his sons George Jr., George III, George IV, George V, and George VI - and one of his daughters Georgetta.

I personally think that was very diplomatic of him :D

Sure Michael Jacksons' sons are both Prince Michael. Well the Prince part is mad, but both are Michael.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Jacinta = future heroin addict.

Howya Jacintaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, come in fer yer evenin tea syringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Jacinta = future heroin addict.

Howya Jacintaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, come in fer yer evenin tea syringe

Horrible name, because it rhymes with "Placenta"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

In the book Freakenomics there's a chapter devoted to the possible outcomes of children related to their given names..and a wonderful little story of a man who called his two boys Winner and Loser...

daithi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

I don't know how it's spelled but I heard 'la-quiche-ah'. So awful, that I think I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

daithi1970 wrote: »
    In the book Freakenomics there's a chapter devoted to the possible outcomes of children related to their given names..and a wonderful little story of a man who called his two boys Winner and Loser...

daithi

I think it's on youtube as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I just saw a birthday wish for little "Deacon" pop up on my FB.

#vom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ban skangers and mickey money hunnies from naming their kids after things they can't afford, eg

- Mercedes
    - Chanel
    - Chardonay
    - baby gaga

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

mickey money hunnies

That's a new phrase on me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

Rhianna come in for your tea just don't sound right in an Irish accent

i heard a traveller woman in spain shout at her daughter to come and eat her dinner once.

"Rihanna, come an ate yer burgers!"

im sure all the skangs have babies called Beyonce too, and probably named after any other rough pop stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I was on the hospital a few months back after being bitten by a poisonous spider (different story) and there was an old doll around my age (mid-20s) in with her toddler boy who was called "Thai". The gobsh*te behind the desk was cooing over how lovely a name it was etc. The child was mixed-race black and white like, and the poor little f*cker was named after a South East Asian nationality? I despair sometimes. Other hilarious ones I've heard in London were "D'Shawn" and the like. Putting a capital D in front of a name should be bloody forbidden. Back in Ireland I know a "Jay-Mee", a "Batsheeba", an "Eimhin" (I think it's supposed to be Evan?) and believe it or not, a "Sepharim".

And to be fair, the concept of retarded names isn't limited to Jeremy Kyle guests or crusty new-agers. Abbreviations are now all the rage amongst the upper-middle classes in England with a plethora of Jakes, Harrys, Joes and Joshs springing up all over the place. These are shortened nicknames like, they shouldn't be put on kids' birth certs.

Also the middle classes are murder for picking European names like Gabriella or Isabella etc to appear more sophisticated.

Whatever happened to Brian and Mary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Great names for a cat or dog though. I wanted to call my cat Trevor or Kevin. Hubby said 'NO' :pac:

I like ironic names for animals...

Male cat, has to be Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Damo :pac:

• emzolita wrote: »
    I knew a girl growing up with the name Rhianna, always thought it was a lovely name. Now I feel sorry for her, she's in her 20s now.

Same. That's an issue with names, you can pick the nicest name in the world, but you don't know what knackery pop star is going to come along and ruin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

NFL does bring quite a lot to the party.
    Jamarcus
    DeShaun
    Demichael.

Noe of my favourites at the minute is in baseball.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%81ngel_Pag%C3%A1n

Sadly his surname is pronounced pa gawn
    Really should be good old Angel Pagan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

I know someone who called their baby autumn .. born in April and if you count back conceived in the SUMMER ....

TOTALLY CONFUSING WHEN THE CHILD STARTS SCHOOL AND LEARNS Abouts the seasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Cooper ?

• Hidalgo wrote: »
    NFL does bring quite a lot to the party.
    Jamarcus
    DeShaun
    Demichael.

Noe of my favourites at the minute is in baseball.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%81ngel_Pag%C3%A1n

Sadly his surname is pronounced pa gawn
    Really should be good old Angel Pagan.

It's pronounced Pah-GAN. It's Spanish, not Irish!