Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Sarahsiddons

Larbre34 wrote: »
    For all the trying to avoid the place looking like a commercial spa, that's exactly what they ended up with. They seemed happy however, and as its their cash, thats all that matters. Susie was a creepy individual though.

Bannon's designs are so predictable at this stage, so stark, cold and voidy and the kitchens always looks like a pathology lab. To paraphrase Henry Ford, 'you can have any design you like, so long as its Bauhaus'

I totally agree with you very hotelee and very clinical. Nicest room was the original sitting room in old part of house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,152 ✭✭✭✭Penn

That said I don’t get the “they worked hard for it” claim. He inherited a company that he sold. She married rich.

He worked and managed the company before he sold it. As they said, he spent years constantly travelling for work and being away for days at a time as part of the business.

It's not like the parents just gave him the business and he sold it off, he obviously spent a lot of time working for and managing the company to make it worth so much to sell off. He at the very least worked hard for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Wasn't his families business not just his ?

He was given the business on the retirement of his father and he sold it pretty quickly afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

meeeeh wrote: »
    It might be personal taste but for me someone who gives a gift of Santa underwear to their architect and thinks it is funny is someone best to be avoided.

Also as I said before, if the architect was female and the husband was doing the gift giving, would it still have been funny?
    I think not. The sisterhood in here would have been up in arms.
    It was cringe making and I turned it off there and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Effects wrote: »
    Plenty of people move into their families businesses. Most people benefit from their parents help anyway, just some more than others.

He also didn't just take the business and sell it from day one.

As for his wife, would you prefer if she just lived off a meagre allowance from the husband and lived in a run down one bed apartment, cause, you know, she didn't earn the money herself.

Yeh ok. I was generally defending them but I was also reacting to the “they worked hard for their money” claim. By suggesting that she didn’t I’m not asking that she get thrown out into a one bed apartment. In fact I am one of the few who liked her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

pilly wrote: »
    I didn't hear anyone say the business was inherited. Even if it was it was a very high tech business so he obviously was a very intelligent man and travelled the world selling the product therefore adding value.

Well deserved riches in my opinion.

It was definitely mentioned as a family business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

You know the way a sauna, steam room and treatment room etc was built onto the house - the impression was given that it was going to be for personal use. But she said she worked in the beauty industry. So I'd imagine she is going to do some work there from home. Is that something that would affect the planning application or was it taken into consideration? Maybe it is intended for personal use, grand for pool, sauna etc but a treatment room for your own personal use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,766 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    You know the way a sauna, steam room and treatment room etc was built onto the house - the impression was given that it was going to be for personal use. But she said she worked in the beauty industry. So I'd imagine she is going to do some work there from home. Is that something that would affect the planning application or was it taken into consideration? Maybe it is intended for personal use, grand for pool, sauna etc but a treatment room for your own personal use?

I'm not a millions miles from the area. Most people who run things out of the house generally advertise in the local paper. If this happens I'll let ye know.

They also seem to have purchased a lot of a tiles/bathrooms locally because businesses started sharing pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

splinter65 wrote: »
    Also as I said before, if the architect was female and the husband was doing the gift giving, would it still have been funny?
    I think not. The sisterhood in here would have been up in arms.
    It was cringe making and I turned it off there and then.
    I don't want to go into the gender issues. In her defense I don't think there was any malice in her actions just lack of taste.

I actually think I criticized them more than I should because they didn't seem to be nasty or unjust, they were just not my type of people. I wish them well in their house, they have some stunning views but I hope the show next time will be a bit more about the build than personalities of clients. I actually watch the show for the builds and not the clients.

One thing jumped out at me from the show last night. And I don't mean to sound bitchy or mean or question their parenting. But they hardly mentioned anything in the house plans, wishes, dreams etc about their children...

Bar the admittedly funky bathroom, there was nothing mentioned about what they would love for their children to have in the house, their home for the next 20 years. I'm a divil for watching Grand Designs, House of the Year, Cowboy Builders and (I can't think of the name of it, they do up a house with the help of local tradespeople for someone who has a sob story, down on their luck etc). Anyway those programs always put a good amount of thought and effort into the kids bedrooms to make them look exciting, interesting, fun etc. The kids bedrooms in this program looked very plain, the girl's room especially. I just found throughout the show it was what the couple wanted for themselves, not what they'd like for their children. Even the bloody dog door, bed and dining arrangements got more airtime.

I hope they have a way of making that pool area child safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

One thing jumped out at me from the show last night. And I don't mean to sound bitchy or mean or question their parenting. But they hardly mentioned anything in the house plans, wishes, dreams etc about their children...

Bar the admittedly funky bathroom, there was nothing mentioned about what they would love for their children to have in the house, their home for the next 20 years. I'm a divil for watching Grand Designs, House of the Year, Cowboy Builders and (I can't think of the name of it, they do up a house with the help of local tradespeople for someone who has a sob story, down on their luck etc). Anyway those programs always put a good amount of thought and effort into the kids bedrooms to make them look exciting, interesting, fun etc. The kids bedrooms in this program looked very plain, the girl's room especially. I just found throughout the show it was what the couple wanted for themselves, not what they'd like for their children. Even the bloody dog door, bed and dining arrangements got more airtime.

They absolutely did mention the children plenty of times, you must have been watching a different show.

The pool itself was more for the children and their cousins than it was for adults. Did you not see the children swimming in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,152 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

They absolutely did mention the children plenty of times, you must have been watching a different show.

The pool itself was more for the children and their cousins than it was for adults. Did you not see the children swimming in it?
    I thought the house was very cold and stark and not very child friendy . And he mentioned the pool as an excercise with current to swim against for the adults so it wasn't only for the kids .and at no stage did anyone say it was more for the kids

Yeah I wouldn't mind actually watching it again, I was fairly tired last night to be fair. Oh I know the kids were in the pool, I'm jealous, they were having a ball and it looks like a fab thing to have in your home. But I mean in terms of safety when not in use, presume it can be drained or covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,152 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I think there was a playroom on the top floor of the extension. They only really showed an office over it, I presumed there was also a playroom since the main bedrooms were all in the original house.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

When a show like this is recorded don't forget there will be a lot of unseen footage
    It's all down to the company making the program what is shown in the final edit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

She's a bit annoying considering she is living off the spoils of her husband's work. It mentioned she trained as a masseuse or beauty therapist but no mention of her working.

I fairness the hubby was living off the spoils of business parents started(iirc) and he's give up working too!
    Fair fex

Yeah I wouldn't mind actually watching it again, I was fairly tired last night to be fair. Oh I know the kids were in the pool, I'm jealous, they were having a ball and it looks like a fab thing to have in your home. But I mean in terms of safety when not in use, presume it can be drained or covered.

Just pull the plug.
    You wouldn't be leaving stagnant water for too long without chlorine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

When the show moved from 30 minutes to an hour it seemed like an opportunity to flesh out more how the houses were built and the hope was that it'd be possible to learn more of the process of house building.
    Instead the powers that be decided to spend the extra time on the clients who, for the most part, are pretty boring. Missed opportunity really in making the show more "light entertainment".

Seems like last night's client thought she could be the next Sarah Jane.
    However there's only one Sarah Jane!! :pac:

YBsQIMy.png

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭murt101

It's puzzling how so many posters manage to find offence with it. So what if they didn't tell us in detail about their kids lives, exactly how they earned their money and full details of work experience? How do you know she hasn't given up her own career to start a family?
    I thought she was a bit of craic, she enjoyed a laugh the husband seemed a decent sort too.
    The only thing that annoyed me about it was yet another clinical, sterile kitchen that doesn't look like it belongs in a family home. And the hotel/Spa look going on with the extension. Oh and it annoyed me that Dermot was right about the bloody windows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭tringle

Just watching both of these now. I liked Daniel.and Majellas house but can believe he put in an amazing giant window and then put a staircase against it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,268 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I disagree with the poster who mentioned jealousy.
    For me, the reason I bawked at it was because to 95% of us watching and indeed the week before, it was totally unrelatable.
    Most of us don't have those budgets, design aspirations, needs etc for our homes so therefore those redesigns just seem fanciful LA McMansion property porn.
    I hope the show isn't veering that way in keeping with the American homes he visited last year.
    His target market have medium budgets and tastes to suit an Irish landscape and climate and we definitely want to know the energy costs and systems in a cold country.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,640 ✭✭✭✭ted1

She's a bit annoying considering she is living off the spoils of her husband's work. It mentioned she trained as a masseuse or beauty therapist but no mention of her working.

I fairness the hubby was living off the spoils of business parents started(iirc) and he's give up working too!
    Fair fex
    He seems to have put in the long hours , do you know them personally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,640 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I disagree with the poster who mentioned jealousy.
    For me, the reason I bawked at it was because to 95% of us watching and indeed the week before, it was totally unrelatable.
    Most of us don't have those budgets, design aspirations, needs etc for our homes so therefore those redesigns just seem fanciful LA McMansion property porn.
    I hope the show isn't veering that way in keeping with the American homes he visited last year.
    His target market have medium budgets and tastes to suit an Irish landscape and climate and we definitely want to know the energy costs and systems in a cold country.
    Plenty of the target market have the budget they just chose to spend it on location over size

ted1 wrote: »
    He seems to have put in the long hours , do you know them personally?

No just going by the program.
    She said he was away for most of the time.
    Living the dream alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭tringle

Just watched it and after all I read here was expecting a total b1tch. She seemed fine, nothing OTT at all except the uncomfortable fawning over Dermot. I love red but felt the new red front door was totally wrong and cheapened the house. Dermot's face when he was shown the kids bathroom was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,665 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nice couple but she was a bit full on with Dermot, he looked kinda uncomfortable at times.

The builder seemed like a sound skin.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭murt101

tringle wrote: »
    . Dermot's face when he was shown the kids bathroom was priceless.

That was brilliant alright! 😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

So what if they'd a holiday home in Cork as well? At least they're spending the money they have in the country.

Ardmore is in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,766 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

This is the company that did the kitchen last night
    https://www.facebook.com/Blackwaterwoodfermoy/?ref=profile_intro_card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,670 ✭✭✭Glebee

This is the company that did the kitchen last night
    https://www.facebook.com/Blackwaterwoodfermoy/?ref=profile_intro_card

At least they kept it local.