Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Room to Improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

tringle wrote: »
    Just watched it and after all I read here was expecting a total b1tch. She seemed fine, nothing OTT at all except the uncomfortable fawning over Dermot. I love red but felt the new red front door was totally wrong and cheapened the house. Dermot's face when he was shown the kids bathroom was priceless.
    Begrudgery is strong in this one.

Not worth following the thread after the posts in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,951 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I don't begrudge them their house , they got exactly what they wanted , but it didn't seem like a "home" to me if I'm honest . I preferred the house the way it was originally .

But the focus was mainly on the wife , not the renovation/extension which was a pity imo as I found her to be as annoying as feck .

At the end of the day , once they end up happy with their house that's all that matters and we'll all have different opinions , which is how it should be I think .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,765 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Glebee wrote: »
    At least they kept it local.

I think the tiles, flooring, bathrooms, etc were all local as well.

To be honest the woman might have being herself or tried to put on a show for the TV. It was the editing team that made the program the way it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,152 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

To be honest the woman might have being herself or tried to put on a show for the TV. It was the editing team that made the program the way it was.

An editor works with the footage he has and is in touch with the director as to how he wants it portrayed . You can edit out but you are using footage that happened .

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    An editor works with the footage he has and is in touch with the director as to how he wants it portrayed . You can edit out but you are using footage that happened .

Yes I get this but they clearly edited to be the show about the woman.
    People gave out about the scene in Jacuzzi but Dermot or the production team decided this was the perfect time to her the plans for the kitchen(I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

Was there not something strange about all those 'dam you ' exclamations to Dermot for being late to a meeting. ? I'd be scared of her myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,152 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yes I get this but they clearly edited to be the show about the woman.
    People gave out about the scene in Jacuzzi but Dermot or the production team decided this was the perfect time to her the plans for the kitchen(I think)
    Oh i agree , Dermot wasn't dragged into the jacuzzi by his ears !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,958 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

splinter65 wrote: »
    He was given the business on the retirement of his father and he sold it pretty quickly afterwards

Where are you getting this from?

Just even from the articles posted on him in this thread;
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/features/detecting-a-demand-in-growth-182718.html
    Joined the company back in 2006 as Sales and Operations Director - over his time in that position sales increased 144%

Then:
    https://www.verifymarkets.com/blogs/news-and-interviews/18064451-verify-markets-interviews-david-horan-of-biotector
    Took over the whole company and just in his time as CEO increased sales a further 45% (an increased 45% on top of the already increased figures from the other article).

So rather than "He was given the business on the retirement of his father and he sold it pretty quickly afterwards", it sounds like he went in there, pulled up trees, and himself actually created the value that it sold for.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

I liked them as a couple.

Yeah Dermot's landed himself a right belter there.

Seriously I wonder about people like hers mental state, way too full on,
    seems like a borderline personality disorder going on with her.

E.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,126 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

milehip wrote: »

Think you made your point :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

recipio wrote: »
    Was there not something strange about all those 'dam you ' exclamations to Dermot for being late to a meeting. ? I'd be scared of her myself.

She had been waiting for him for 4 or 5 hours, then had to leave after 30 minutes to pick up the kids. I don't blame her for being annoyed. It was very unprofessional from Dermot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,268 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

ted1 wrote: »
    I disagree with the poster who mentioned jealousy.
    For me, the reason I bawked at it was because to 95% of us watching and indeed the week before, it was totally unrelatable.
    Most of us don't have those budgets, design aspirations, needs etc for our homes so therefore those redesigns just seem fanciful LA McMansion property porn.
    I hope the show isn't veering that way in keeping with the American homes he visited last year.
    His target market have medium budgets and tastes to suit an Irish landscape and climate and we definitely want to know the energy costs and systems in a cold country.
    Plenty of the target market have the budget they just chose to spend it on location over size
    I can safely say that I don't know any person who has 650k for a refurb (final figure could be another few 100k onto that) after spending who knows on the original house and site beside in first place.

To thine own self be true

Think you made your point :pac:[/quote]

Yeah didn't actually mean to quadruple post that(obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,640 ✭✭✭✭ted1

For me, the reason I bawked at it was because to 95% of us watching and indeed the week before, it was totally unrelatable.
    Most of us don't have those budgets, design aspirations, needs etc for our homes so therefore those redesigns just seem fanciful LA McMansion property porn.
    I hope the show isn't veering that way in keeping with the American homes he visited last year.
    His target market have medium budgets and tastes to suit an Irish landscape and climate and we definitely want to know the energy costs and systems in a cold country.
    Plenty of the target market have the budget they just chose to spend it on location over size
    I can safely say that I don't know any person who has 650k for a refurb (final figure could be another few 100k onto that) after spending who knows on the original house and site beside in first place.

Forget about refurb budget, look at the overall budget and I can tell you plenty of my peer group ( mid 30s) have spent that on medium size houses in South Dublin.

I’d say you could have picked up that house for less than 100k in 2012

Here’s an equivalent priced house in dublin

Property: 31 Ballytore Road, Rathfarnham, Dublin 14, D14 XE40 http://myhome.ie/4188738

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Forget about refurb budget, look at the overall budget and I can tell you plenty of my peer group ( mid 30s) have spent that on medium size houses in South Dublin.

Property: 31 Ballytore Road, Rathfarnham, Dublin 14, D14 XE40 http://myhome.ie/4188738

That's not comparable. While bank might give you a 30 year mortgage for a pokey semi-d in a good location, a lot less people can afford to blow that money on build quality, fixtures and fittings. Being able to borrow that kind of amount isn't the same as having the money. Also houses like that did not go for 100k in 2012, especially those with mortgage on them stayed off market until prices went up.

That being said money spent or items doesn't bother me. We self built and while sums involved were smaller you still have design decisions to make or issues around build that I can relate to. I also find that a lot less grating than Celtic Tiger stupidity when the size of the mortgage was important (the higher the better). I can understand though how someone trying to scrape together a deposit for a house while paying high rent could feel a bit aggrieved watching people trying to decide on the type of swimming pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,268 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I am in the same age bracket as you and none of my peers want or have access to that kind of credit to put into a home.
    And I can assure you I have peers and family from all income brackets and situations and I think your peers are the exception not the rule.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,408 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

matrim wrote: »
    She had been waiting for him for 4 or 5 hours, then had to leave after 30 minutes to pick up the kids. I don't blame her for being annoyed. It was very unprofessional from Dermot

It all depends what arrangements were made. Did anyone make an appointment for a specific time? If not, it's not his problem that she had to pick up the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

It all depends what arrangements were made. Did anyone make an appointment for a specific time? If not, it's not his problem that she had to pick up the kids.

Didn't they say he was supposed to be there at 10 or 10.30?
    I doubt they scheduled a site meeting 'some time on Tuesday'.

Effects wrote: »
    Didn't they say he was supposed to be there at 10 or 10.30?
    I doubt they scheduled a site meeting 'some time on Tuesday'.

Sometimes they give the impression that he's brutal for time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

I just rewatched it as husband and kids were here, and I dunno I liked her a lot more and I really think they are a genuinely happy couple. More luck to them.

Dermot’s time keeping is shocking and he seemed to stroll in at 2ish fir a 10/10:30 meeting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

Lisha wrote: »
    I just rewatched it as husband and kids were here, and I dunno I liked her a lot more and I really think they are a genuinely happy couple. More luck to them.

Dermot’s time keeping is shocking and he seemed to stroll in at 2ish fir a 10/10:30 meeting..

Yes, an inexcusable performance from Dermot. However she still seemed a bit OTT to me.:D

Maybe he did contact them to update them on his delayed arrival time. It would make for better TV leaving that out.
    They had probably already made plans around a morning meeting themselves and couldn't adjust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,048 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Effects wrote: »
    Maybe he did contact them to update them on his delayed arrival time. It would make for better TV leaving that out.
    They had probably already made plans around a morning meeting themselves and couldn't adjust.

It's a bit bizarre they are spending over half a million on an extension, and they couldn't throw a childminder an extra 20 to stay an extra half hour for an important meeting

They could have been in a creche that you just can't throw money at to stay open longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭jos28

Hopefully Dermot is back to reality this week with normal budgets to break