Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I love the main living area, I think it's beautiful.
    I'm not too keen on the garden. I appreciate the idea with low maintenance pollinator friendly plants but this is quite literally the most awkward way to get from top to bottom.
    At least you're getting your 10k steps per day in I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,442 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I like it..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,124 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

290k is a tight budget.....ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

€25k +VAT for the garden, jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,301 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The builders did a great job in fairness.

The garden would be great for a family with older kids..but a waste as it is those lads will be playing on a tiny concrete square constantly kicking the ball into Dermots big giant picture windows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

harr wrote: »
    Finished house is ok .. not his worst but I don’t like the different levels in kitchen.
    That garden is shocking..meant to low maintenance the weeds will be a foot high in no time .. they will be weeding it forever and no room for the lads to play a bit of ball

No such things as weeds in that kind of garden.

Unless they actually got rid of the hill I couldn’t see the kids playing rugby there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,523 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    100% agree. Obviously tough site to use with the garden but no way they could have made it practical for the kids.

very easy to put a retaining wall and make a much larger area at the bottom. the gardens either side look a lot lower from the drone shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭prunudo

Client, we want low maintenance and we're not really into the garden.
    Designer, no problem, heres a tiered garden planted with herbaceous planting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

€700,000 house. Hell of a lot of money. Before furnishing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Unless they inherited the site / house I just can't work out why you would choose that with the way the garden / set up is.

Again you have to think what could you have bought in the area for the total sum they spent for including purchase and for a lot less hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,784 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I had to rewind it to hear it again, I now need to lie down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Great job but doesn't seem particularly family friendly with all the different levels and zero grass. I think the concrete island would've been nice but they were right not to go with the pergola.

And not a pergola in site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Sarn

Charlie19 wrote: »

I wasn’t surprised. A bit of gardening is shockingly expensive.

i like the balistrade on the stairs. it blocks the view at an angle but then open up as you look through it.

i like the way the kitchen units transition into the tv stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Big Dermot windows, saw them coming a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,784 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Sarn wrote: »

I know its expensive but look what they got. Zig zag pathway and a few flowers.

Sarn wrote: »
    It does tend to be and it is a huge space in fairness...but still seemed high to me...

I'd say shocking amount of time and effort to move earth out of it.
    I have a small garden they took 40 wheelbarrows out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

The gardens in the houses on either sides look way more low maintenance.

just over 30 k with 23% vat. for a garden that goes nowhere. the top bit is just left bare ground with a hole in it. that will be distroyed in weeds very fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Missed it.... repeat anytime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,112 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Ah look thats nothing ,didnt yer man Gavin charge a fella 100k a few years back for a mound of earth in the shape of a woman covered in grass.

This crowd got value for money .

A low maintenance garden ,a tight budget ,all said with a straight face .
    Its the emperors new clothes syndrome .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭Gavlor

just over 30 k with 23% vat. for a garden that goes nowhere. the top bit is just left bare ground with a hole in it. that will be distroyed in weeds very fast.

The entire garden will be destroyed by weeds very fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Bodhran

RTE Player

That gradient would be fun come a snowy winter I bet for for the kids...... oh wait all that glass for them to slide down into :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Dcmb1984

They wanted a low maintenance garden. Should have grassed it and bought a robot the keep it cut. A high end robot is 3k.
    The amount of weeding they have to do is huge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Dcmb1984 wrote: »
    They wanted a low maintenance garden. Should have grassed it and bought a robot the keep it cut. A high end robot is 3k.
    The amount of weeding they have to do is huge

What exactly would a weed be in that kind of garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭appledrop

I loved what he did with the house. I adored the dark kitchen, bedrooms everything really.

I think people are being a bit harsh about the garden. It was a massive hill. Never going to be a lovely level lawn. I'm baffled as to why anyone would buy a house with a garden like that but they did. I think they did a good job considering the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Even that bit of landscaping, paving and the plants would be easily that. I would have expected it to be that.
    The bloody plants cost a fortune and they needed a truck load of them.