Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Why couldn't that couple know their place and live the life of a couple on the dole for life while also having the decency to pay for the door of others!

On a more serious note why shouldn't people be able to spoil themselves after working hard for it without being ridiculed. If they cannot then why bother working.

Why does it have to be on a station funded by the tax payer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭KaneToad

He basically got axed from RTE and is working in Waterford now!

He wasn't axed. He was the one who decided to leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

Ireland, especially Dublin and it’s surrounds, is full of people earning mega bucks. They earn it and can do what they want with it.
    We’re mortgaged up to our eyeballs, live in a house that needs work that we can’t afford, pay our taxes and license fee, and room to improve is the only programme we watch on rte, or any Irish channel.
    I love it, even when I don’t like it.
    To say room to improve shouldn’t be broadcast as an entertainment show is just bs by begrudgers.

License payer, and as mentioned above, the show ultimately creates income for rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,890 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Ive no issue. More power to them. But is National TV the right place for this kinda thing. What with a homeless crisis etc. I said it here before and got a lot of stick. These people appearing on the show can obviously afford Architect fees what with their huge budgets so why do they feel the need to go on the national broadcaster? Is there an element of narcissism?

They are plenty of program on RTE such as Prime Time, Claire Byrne Live and even the Late Late Show covers these subjects.
    They are also often one off or mini series made on these subjects.
    If these programs pulled in massive numbers RTE would make more of them in my opinion.
    Room to Inprove seems to be what the public want.

Addle wrote: »
    Ireland, especially Dublin and it’s surrounds, is full of people earning mega bucks. They earn it and can do what they want with it.
    We’re mortgaged up to our eyeballs, live in a house that needs work that we can’t afford, pay our taxes and license fee, and room to improve is the only programme we watch on rte, or any Irish channel.
    I love it, even when I don’t like it.
    To say room to improve shouldn’t be broadcast as an entertainment show is just bs by begrudgers.

Just because people think its ****e doesnt mean they are begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

But is it not fair to say that RTE show enough of misery and try to guilt us into feeling at fault for all the woes of the country. I used to listen to Morning Ireland in the mornings on the way to work but got so sick of the hand wringing about migrants, homeless, water charges etc. that I now listen to podcasts. It was actually bringing down my mood.

Yeh i get that. But surely there has to be compromise. Why not put on a family who are getting work done but could really do with Bannons help. More often than not it now seems that budgets are unlimited ,ie half a million quid. Where the challenge. It use to be finding a compromise etc. Now its " well that tile will cost 30k" Feck it Dermot theres 50k for ye '.

License payer, and as mentioned above, the show ultimately creates income for rte.

License is a tax.

Yeh i get that. But surely there has to be compromise. Why not put on a family who are getting work done but could really do with Bannons help. More often than not it now seems that budgets are unlimited ,ie half a million quid. Where the challenge. It use to be finding a compromise etc. Now its " well that tile will cost 30k" Feck it Dermot theres 50k for ye '.
    No point going to any architect with €50k.

Why not?

Why not?

You’ll just spend most of your budget on their fee.

Depends what you are looking for really.

You’re not looking for Dermot anyways.

Correct. Im not a narcissist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

totally agree. totally sick of it! Mostly the shower who bleed this country dry too! Dont want to pay for anything, experts in every field! The irish media bend over backwards for them too :rolleyes: best thing I've done is switch off from the nonsense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

No kidding, why not? It’s a professional service. Although some Architects will agree a fixed fee, generally it’s 8-10% of the build cost for domestic work.

Again it all depends on spec and finish including a multitude of other factors. Access, location site, existing struture etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Ive no issue. More power to them. But is National TV the right place for this kinda thing. What with a homeless crisis etc. I said it here before and got a lot of stick. These people appearing on the show can obviously afford Architect fees what with their huge budgets so why do they feel the need to go on the national broadcaster? Is there an element of narcissism?

It's national television, what kind of programs should be on it ?

Shouldn't national television represent people of all types, I think we have enough poverty porn as is.

Calhoun wrote: »
    It's national television, what kind of programs should be on it ?

Shouldn't national television represent people of all types, I think we have enough poverty porn as is.

We do have enough of that too. But any need for the narcissism?

It’s not necessarily narcissism.
    The O’Donnells went on the show, with their relatively modest home, because they thought tradesmen would be more reliable when on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

We do have enough of that too. But any need for the narcissism?

It's an entertainment program , if we start questioning things like that we may as well go back to a bare bones national broadcast keeping to more serious topics.

There was a program on lastnight about problem teenagers being sent down the country to live with another family to try and teach them to appreciate what they have. Seem to be a combined pity party with how not to be a bad parent rolled into one.

I don't like it so I just don't watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I enjoyed the episode - I thought they were a lovely couple, they were nice and worked well together. They seemed so excited about the project and really seemed to enjoy themselves. Fair play to them, they appear to have worked hard for it. It did feel at times to me that they won the lotto or something, the way they weren't worrying about the finance part of things and couldn't spend it quick enough. I quite liked the kitchen but I didn't like the gold sink, I thought it looked a bit gaudy IMO. One thing I was a bit surprised at was they didn't have like a cinema room or something. I get the open plan aspect and they seem to be a very sociable family. But he said he liked his tv and I thought a tv or cinema room would be included - how can he watch tv in peace if someone is cooking in the kitchen, the kids have friends over and someone is playing pool?
    Did anyone else find that there was a chunk of the program missing? I was distracted by people at home but they showed very little of the actual build - foundations, bike shed, where the kitchen was going - bam! house is done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

For all the whinging about it, Room to Improve is one of the highest rated shows on RTE. It's about the only bit of content they currently show that we watch in our house. I actually found it amusing after RTE's recent whinging about their finances that they showed a "funded by the license fee" message at the end of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭turbbo

RTI is not made by RTE is it? - It could easily move to Netflix? - maybe the moaners would have their way and eventually the homeless can pay the TV licence and everybody else will watch Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Made by CoCo television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Radio5

What interests me in many of these houses is they are designed without an eye to a future where one or more of the occupants may have mobility issues or an older person with such issues may come to live there. I don't see many downstairs bedrooms with en-suites being included (or rooms that could easily enough be converted for this purpose in due course.) If it's your 'forever home' it might be nice to be able to live in it when you're not too agile or able for steps.

Have all the houses this season not had downstairs bedrooms?

Sleepy wrote: »
    For all the whinging about it, Room to Improve is one of the highest rated shows on RTE. It's about the only bit of content they currently show that we watch in our house. I actually found it amusing after RTE's recent whinging about their finances that they showed a "funded by the license fee" message at the end of the show.

The late late also has huge viewership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Ah here,

Maybe we should ban cooking programmes seems there is hungry people in Ireland.

What in God’s name is this country coming too?