Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,520 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

It's a fairly petite house.... and that's coming from someone who lives in an even more petite house.

Fitting an extra, wheelchair accessible, bedroom, as well as all the rest of the stuff, is quite the challenge!

Anyone give me odds on the builder being in tears by the end of the programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,342 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

The lad is a complete and utter legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Thargor wrote: »
    Spending 100k+ remodelling the house around him is pretty serious respite care, wonder what the real story is?
    HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Have to say I agree with this, it's a strange (if nice) story......

Don't underestimate the power of love guys!

I know a single 30 something who did the same for a little boy she was an SNA for. His mother died when he was an infant and his dad was caring for him alone. My friend takes him every weekend to give the dad a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

If hunky builder tears up after meeting Michael I'll be in bits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Anyone give me odds on the builder being in tears by the end of the programme

Lol snap Heidi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I normally hate getting stuck at home visiting the folks watching shows like this, but he's a cracking kid. Could listen to him all day to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭jos28

Lisha wrote: »
    If hunky builder tears up after meeting Michael I'll be in bits :)

Me too, I've already been looking up me sleeve for a tissue :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I love that carbon monoxide ad! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Michael is an absolute legend :)
    Ann and Barry are fantastic people, seriously fair play to them. I can see how they fell for the little guy too, but how many people would have gone to these lengths to make the space right for him? Brilliant stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I'd say Dermot will be double checking the Carbon Monoxide detectors after seeing Tommy McIneary..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

What a great project.

amdublin wrote: »
    I love that carbon monoxide ad! :pac:
    Would you believe that some families of carbon monoxide victims have tried to get the advert pulled as they feel it trivialises their loss? Joe Duffy covered it on his programme for a few days last month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭jos28

I think Dermot is from Malahide originally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,398 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Would you believe that some families of carbon monoxide victims have tried to get the advert pulled as they feel it trivialises their loss? Joe Duffy was covered it on his programme for a few days last month.

It's amazing the amount of people who won't spend the €30 or so on the alarm to save their life. Normally they have an inbuilt 10 year battery so for the grand sum of €3 a year they have peace of mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Would you believe that some families of carbon monoxide victims have tried to get the advert pulled as they feel it trivialises their loss? Joe Duffy was covered it on his programme for a few days last month.

Mrs Browns son Rory had a close shave with carbon monoxide recently

M

I'd love one of those little diggers for messing about digging holes in the back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I missed the Carbon Monoxide ad - which one is it?

It's amazing the amount of people who won't spend the €30 or so on the alarm to save their life. Normally they have an inbuilt 10 year battery so for the grand sum of €3 a year they have peace of mind.
    Every home should have them but I think it should be compulsory for them to be installed in every new build.

M

I missed the Carbon Monoxide ad - which one is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think it should be compulsory for them to be installed in very new build.

It isn't needed in every house.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

We got one free with a boiler service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,402 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I'd love one of those little diggers for messing about digging holes in the back garden.

Move they body, they're on to you .

I really hope Dermot doesn't start bullying the windows he wants on this pair.

But he (the husband) needs to get a bit more involved.

I'm with yer man on the pool.... I think..... shocking waste of productive garden space. Although as a self-confessed water nut I can kind of see his point. But I'd be leaving it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭tskk

I'm not sold on the pool idea?!

Quazzie wrote: »
    It isn't needed in every house.
    Most houses have a fire of some sort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Most house have a fire of some sort?

Not all though. My own house doesn't for example.

A mobile bath?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,402 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

tskk wrote: »
    I'm not sold on the pool idea?!

How it will look when it's done

Amazing+Pool+Old+Lion+Manor+California+USA+%2818%29.jpg

I just can't see that kid turning into a sulky teenager! :)