Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I really like the house. Very good ideas for the renovation of that age and style of house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Being a senator, she'll have plenty of spare time to supervise the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

I love this programme and I like and value architects even though they know how to charge...

Anyone here ever breadth a bit of life into a bungalow? I am the unfortunate owner of one and need to do some major surgery...

I phoned Dermots office and it was going to cost €600 for a visit to have a look around - albeit this is takin off the price of his services if u hired him. I also had two other local architects looking at house and one had just ok ideas and the other didn't have but was more interested in seeing what I was willing to spend...

So can anyone inspire me and offer hope that the humble bungalow can go from being a dull pupil to a star of the class!

What I hate about my house is the long narrow corridor with rooms off its long spine... I didn't build but bought because I love the area and I got to buy a nice field with the purchase and alway hoped to do something with the house...

Anyone else in a similar situation and how did u fix it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

DK man wrote: »
    I love this programme and I like and value architects even though they know how to charge...

Anyone here ever breadth a bit of life into a bungalow? I am the unfortunate owner of one and need to do some major surgery...

I phoned Dermots office and it was going to cost €600 for a visit to have a look around - albeit this is takin off the price of his services if u hired him. I also had two other local architects looking at house and one had just ok ideas and the other didn't have but was more interested in seeing what I was willing to spend...

So can anyone inspire me and offer hope that the humble bungalow can go from being a dull pupil to a star of the class!

What I hate about my house is the long narrow corridor with rooms off its long spine... I didn't build but bought because I love the area and I got to buy a nice field with the purchase and alway hoped to do something with the house...

Where's your bungalow based DKman?

Near dundalk

@ 1800sq foot . Built 2005red brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,953 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'd recommend the construction and planning forum DK man. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=876

Sent you a pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

Can't see how that only cost 180'000 ,we did a single story extension last year and we sent the guts of 40 grand.
    Would that end price include kitchen,floors and the likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I wish they would take you through the rooms in a more indepth way like Grand Designs
    For some reason the program producers seem to think that the viewers are not really interested in details of the build but are more intersested in the owners so they show the ownsers socialising, pictures of them growing up, their wedding photos etc. Like we give a f***. :rolleyes:

Unless of course the owner is Sarah Jane. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,697 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That ones accent would nearly burn the ears off me.

And the mother showing family pics, sure what had that to do with anything.

They must be planning on winning the Lotto if they want to do up the big house in the next few years.

That ones accent would nearly burn the ears off me.

And the mother showing family pics, sure what had that to do with anything.

They must be planning on winning the Lotto if they want to do up the big house in the next few years.

Major delusions of grandeur on their part. Anybody would think they were the landed gentry, and their twins were Little Lords Fauntleroy.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭pjordan

DK man wrote: »

Wait for the project the week after next (8th Dec). Hopefully it'll give you some ideas!

Evening all!

Who's around?!

Ps. If anyone has suggestions for me re. my post in Interior Design forum please feel free to shout out over there:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87791561#post87791561

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

evening am im tuned in

I'd say the senator one will be demanding...

big budget time?
    lezzers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

Looks like a good one tonight and at least the client so far is not burning the ears of me!!!!!!

Wonder when they paid €57k for it?

I'd assume this needs demolishing!

Has quite a rustic feel and the setting is class

Beautiful garden!

It does not look like an Irish house!

Reminds me of swedish house I've stayed in. Plus american houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Too dark? "I'd love to bring some light in here to make it a light, airy space, with a sense of space".

I can only imagine how damp and cold this house is in during the winter

god its awful inside

Beautiful!

Now knock it down.
    (Seriously, it is unliveable in really...)

Rain inside the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Probably a level it job, can't see the able to extend or base anything on it.

Nice to see Katherine Zappone getting Dermot's advice for free. I mean, she's probably on her uppers, seeing as she only earns 60k per year as a Senator :rolleyes:

Ill kill for them mature gardens but the house needs a bulldozer!!!!!!

are they wearing a uniform?same clothes

I think it's cute :)

Ok so, €50k for windows and central courtyard....

€160K.... disappointing.... thought ladies of their era would be able to stomach at least €250K....

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the green jacks must go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the budget is too low..simples

we need eileen from last week to make this budget stretch..

Jaysus no...... could not listen to her again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

At least he seems to be getting away from the cubes in this series.

This design seems to be the same or very similar to many others he has done! Is this his signature design? I've heard people complain the architects simply do the same over and over despite claiming to be super creative people!

Now the same ol kicks the ass off bungalow bliss same ol

So if she wants floors, what's she giving up, or are they upping the budget?

islanderre wrote: »
    NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the green jacks must go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love when they keep those old coloured suites and put them in new houses!

islanderre wrote: »
    €160K.... disappointing.... thought ladies of their era would be able to stomach at least €250K....

I'm sure they could afford it.

their very prim and proper women..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Are these two aul dolls together?

Yes together for about 30 years, married for the last few I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

Stick in some BIG WINDOWS...be grand

I thought they were nuns!

Ah here passremarkable no need for that.

They are gay women, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

amdublin wrote: »
    Yes together for about 30 years, married for the last few I think.

Ah ok, thanks, I just see now she's sen zappone.

amdublin wrote: »
    Ah here passremarkable no need for that.

They are gay women, yes.

sorry am , i couldnt reisist..iv no issue with their kind.
    just had to say it.. no malice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

mod snip [\quote]

I know I shouldn't have but I actually giggled a little when I read this. I'm a bad dog. Seem like very nice ladies actually. Very content.