Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teaching in Alperton, London

Options
  • 05-05-2013 7:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 42

Hi all,

I have been asked to attend an interview for a job teaching general science at GCSE level and physics at A-level in Alperton Community School, Alperton, London.

I have a masters in physics and I have been teaching sailing for almost 10 years every summer and I did a bit of subbing during my undergrad.

Just wondering if people could tell me the pros and cons they found working and living in London?

Where is good to live?

Where to search for accommodation?

The jobs begins in September and is for 1 year but they offer permanent jobs also. I have obtained the Ofsted report from the recruiter and the school ranks fairly high, mostly 1's and 2's.

Any help at all or any advice on things I have missed would be great!

Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Do you have a teaching degree?

London is very expensive although the school may offer money on top of your salary along with the extra allowance for teaching in London.

Sticking it with it at the beginning is the hard bit as a lot of people leave after a few months and more after the year is out from exhaustion.

High Ofsted scores are a positive but also means the school will expect a lot as they will want to attain said scores and better them where possible.

There are a lot of Irish teaching in London at the minute.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 SK101

I do not have a teaching degree and the recruitment agency has not brought this up as a problem yet.