Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living aboard motor cruiser

• 06-05-2013 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, just looking for some thoughts on this.

Background is 12+ years boating & teaching etc. Stayed on a few different boats over the years but not for more than a few nights.

I've a job in the US lined up for the summer in a marina (similar to the job here) and have been offered a 40' motor cruiser on the marina as accommodation for the duration (have to pay for it but its in the heart of the city and an excellent price for that location)

I'm just looking for peoples opinion on whether its a good idea or not. I've been told there is a good community of liveaboards on the marina and that "loneliness" won't be an issue. I'm a people person so no problem trying to make friends.

I can use the marina laundry facilities as well as showers and kitchen etc whenever i want. The berth is about a 5min walk to the facilities.

It seems to have a fridge on board and is plugged in to shore power.

I've sent off a list of questions, basic enough stuff such as is there facilities to refill the fresh water on board (don't think I'll be allowed use the boat so they would need to on the berth, might charm my way into using it ;) ).

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on if its a good idea and other stuff to check before heading into it?

It's being arranged by work (who are brilliant people) so I'm completely happy that it should be ok, just looking for some guidance.
      I have accommodation for the first two weeks so I can check it out for myself without relying on it.
      The owner isn't using it this summer.

Pic Here

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Well if you don't take the job I will :D
      As long as you don't have to share the boat with others "that you don't get on with" you should be fine in a 40 footer, People that live on boats can be some of the nicest people you will ever meet so I'm sure you will have no problem making friends " you might have to give your liver a warning" :D
      Wifi and an iPad would also be a must for me.

Best of luck with the job. Keep us posted on how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Thanks feral! The job has been accepted so apologies on that front :)

The boat will be mine alone. There is wifi in the office building (with the laundry etc) and they are rolling out wifi to all the berths throughout 2013 so I might try to get them to prioritise my berth! I'll have an unlimitted 4G data plan on my phone though so that might help, just need to get around having to pay for tethering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,506 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

You lucky fecker :D

Sounds fantastic. Whereabouts?

Sorry didn't see the question at the end, San Fran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

alexlyons wrote: »
      Thanks feral! The job has been accepted so apologies on that front :)

They call him the wild man of the boating forum :)

Sounds like a nice setup. You can pretend you are Don Johnson in Miami Vice. Hope it goes well for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭DAZP93

Thats sounds Brilliant, Best of luck alexlyons.

A little off topic but Myself and herself are thinking of chartering a yacht in Greece with another couple for the end of July. All in it works out at about €1000 per head inc. flights (we got a nice discount). The trip would include a Bavaria 50, A full tank of Juice, a skipper for the week, and loads of beer..

I think it sounds like a dream come through.. What do you think??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

DAZP93 wrote: »

A little off topic but Myself and herself are thinking of chartering a yacht in Greece with another couple for the end of July. All in it works out at about €1000 per head inc. flights (we got a nice discount). The trip would include a Bavaria 50, A full tank of Juice, a skipper for the week, and loads of beer..

A guy in work did similar last year and really enjoyed it. Though they went as part of a flotilla.

DAZP93 wrote: »

great idea and not a bad price either. My only thing would be that if you were going without a flotilla you'd want a good amount of boating knowledge etc but the skipper is included so I'd say go and have an absolutely brilliant holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

alexlyons wrote: »
        Hi folks, just looking for some thoughts on this.

Background is 12+ years boating & teaching etc. Stayed on a few different boats over the years but not for more than a few nights.

I've a job in the US lined up for the summer in a marina (similar to the job here) and have been offered a 40' motor cruiser on the marina as accommodation for the duration (have to pay for it but its in the heart of the city and an excellent price for that location)

I'm just looking for peoples opinion on whether its a good idea or not. I've been told there is a good community of liveaboards on the marina and that "loneliness" won't be an issue. I'm a people person so no problem trying to make friends.

I can use the marina laundry facilities as well as showers and kitchen etc whenever i want. The berth is about a 5min walk to the facilities.

It seems to have a fridge on board and is plugged in to shore power.

I've sent off a list of questions, basic enough stuff such as is there facilities to refill the fresh water on board (don't think I'll be allowed use the boat so they would need to on the berth, might charm my way into using it ;) ).

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on if its a good idea and other stuff to check before heading into it?

It's being arranged by work (who are brilliant people) so I'm completely happy that it should be ok, just looking for some guidance.
        I have accommodation for the first two weeks so I can check it out for myself without relying on it.
        The owner isn't using it this summer.

Pic Here

Sounds amazing!!! In San Fran might be a bit hot without air con but seeing as you're on the marina there should be s bit of a breeze to keep you chilled. I lived on a boat in Holland for a few months & the cold in the evenings was a big issue ( on canal with icebreakers going by thou!) as was having to drag water containers up for everything -assuming you'll have piped water & LX thou.

Marina office might store your iPad/PAC /tech stuff while you're working if you're going to be away from it all day. Sounds like a dream - v jealous!!

Ok so I'm back!

An incredible summer it must be said, the work was good, physical but good, the staff were incredible, really nice and laid back!
        There were two Tongans, one was my supervisor, and they were built like houses! The could carry 4 times as much stuff as I could, and I'd need a break after, but they kept going. Could have been awkward but they knew I was putting in the same amount of effort as they were, which was amazing!

The boat on the other hand... It was fine for a few months. There was power in the 10 foot by 7 foot wheel house which is where I slept. There was no running water or heads, or power down below in the v berth or broken heads.
        It was habitable, just about.

Bottom line, I'd probably do the job again, but I've learnt a lot about committing to live somewhere before seeing it, although I literally had no other option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭Alkers

Sounds interesting, any pics?

way to many! I'll sort them all out and stick up a few in the coming days.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Welcome back, I look forward to the photos.:D

Ok so I'm seriously sorry about this massive delay. Genuinely forgot to not only put photos up here, but go through them properly at all!

So here are 25 of the best, fire away with any questions!!
        Enjoy!

First we have a very odd fire pit. The guy I stayed with was a bit eccentric and I came home one day and had to help him make this... Good fun at the time, but not my cup of tea at all!!
        IMG_0010.jpg

Next we have the makings of a new sea lion float. We built them from scratch, made 4 this year, then destroyed 4, which was a huge amount of work. Good fun but very physical.
        Two more 4x8's were run down the middle, then we decked the whole float with 2x6's. They're 20x10'. The tongans were hilarious, I'd struggle in the beginning carrying a single 20 foot 2x6 as they carried 5 each. They thought this was brilliant and got a great laugh at me being wrecked! They knew I was working to my ability so there was no issue in me sitting down for a few minutes. As time went on I got much fitter and could keep up a bit better.
        IMG_0003.jpg

I was sent out on the 2003 Oracle America's Cup Yacht for a days "work. Paid and all! Got to helm her for a while, big enough boat, 86'!!
        IMG_0004.jpg

I walked everywhere around the city, 4-6 miles a day generally. Living on my own was lonely so I just got out and about when i wasn't with friends I made. Decent hour walk to the Palace of Fine arts with a book and some music, sit down for an hour and then walk back. Bliss
        IMG_0006.jpg

This is the mosquito that ate me alive for days. I had at least 10 bites every day for two weeks. My sister was living in Berkely for the summer and caught it one evening she was over. I bought her dinner to say thanks :)
        IMG_0005.jpg

4th July fireworks were very impressive. They had perfectly simultaneous displays at Pier 39 and at Aquatic park. We normally worked 9-5 but we split the shift on that day to include people doing 1-11 as the crowds and visitors were huge until late. Those of us living on the marina (which there were a few) worked late. I didn't mind as I was getting paid and still having great fun!
        IMG_0014.jpg

A replica of the first ever America's Cup Yacht. Very impressive ship, and an even more impressive flag. That thing was huge!!!
        IMG_0025.jpg

Low riders...
        IMG_0024.jpg

A company team building day where we had to make anything we wanted out of a range of different materials we were given (a box of paper, tape, stapler, elastic bands etc). I had the idea of a AC72 replica.
        The Pier is one big company, with the marina one section, so it was all inclusive of the Landscaping guys (great fun), maintenance, housekeeping, operations, marketing etc.
        I didn't realise just how huge the company was until 2 weeks in.
        The pier is the 2nd busiest tourist destination in California. Disneyland is 1...
        IMG_0015.jpg

Putting a new gangway to E Dock took all day. Great fun. That's the old wooden one being taken out with the new aluminium (sorry, aluminum!) one on the left still sitting on the truck.
        IMG_0002.jpg

I found heaven on Angel Island on a day off. Free ferry tickets as the companies work together for employees. Hot Dog and a beer in a sun trap after a huge walk around the island. Absolute heaven.
        IMG_0011.jpg

The electric vehicle we used around the pier. We stacked a huge amount of stuff on this guy, great fun.
        IMG_0012.jpg

I'm in the coast guard here, so I went and visited Station Golden Gate. Meant to be shown around for an hour at most, stayed their all evening, absolutely great guys, and we swapped tshirts :) That's me in the middle.
        IMG_0021.jpg

more on the next page....

Taking off for Vegas I looked out the window to see this. A bit odd. I don't scare on planes, but hadn't seen it before.
        I got free tickets through work for the flights, so me and my sister headed off for two nights.
        IMG_0016.jpg

I timed the trip to meet friends from Ireland their. First time at a table ever and I walk away with a profit. Doesn't beet my sisters, who won $50 after betting 1c...
        We didn't spend much on gambling.
        IMG_0017.jpg
        IMG_0018.jpg

Myself and one of the other guys from the marina spotted this fellow just up the coast. This exact picture, which I took, made it onto numerous news channels and web pages. Great fun altogether! They thought it was a baby great white, and that's what we told everyone. But it was later confirmed to be a baby Salmon shark :(
        IMG_0020.jpg

A few AC boats sailing by work. It was great to see Artemis out eventually and thats Emirates sailing past with the pier behind them.
        They were very cool to see, and I saw them almost every single day so the novelty wore off by the time my girlfriend came out!!
        IMG_0007.jpg
        IMG_0001.jpg

This was home....
        IMG_0008.jpg

A radar view of San Francisco Bay. I got to be good friends with a captain of a tour boat (Red & White fleet) and he let me up the bridge for a tour and let me drive :) Big enough ship!
        The horizontal strip is the GG and the largest of the small dots below it(two thirds down the image) is Alcatraz. Angel Island is directly to the right at the edge of the image.
        IMG_0009.jpg

My first ever baseball game. Free tickets from a marina tenant. Not a very flattering photo of me...
        IMG_0019.jpg

My dad came out for a few days and we went up to wine country. It was beautiful.
        I love it up there, went up that direction with the girlfriend and then out to the coast. Having been there with her in 2012 we knew what to expect to a certain degree, but it didn't get old. Added to the fact I got her a convertible mini cooper for the 5 days... She was loving it, as was I :)
        This is a vineyard called Peju in the Napa Valley. Check it out if your every up there, very nice.
        IMG_0023.jpg

And literally on my last day in the country, before flying home 5 days earlier than I told everyone to surprise them (worked brilliantly) I got to visit a major item on my bucket list.
        Air Station San Francisco. Absolutely brilliant guys, have a massive amount of respect for them and with it a goal of mine to get my license sooner rather than later, there were a number of reasons I visited.
        IMG_0013.jpg

So all in all it was an absolutely fantastic trip and I made loads of good friends. I had some incredible times when I was over there and this is a very brief snapshot.
        I also went to Yosemite as I love it there, and managed to get my sister on that trip for free also, as well as going on numerous day trips to different places, over to a guy from works house for a bbq, plenty of evenings socialising with a few drinks on the pier enjoying the location and atmosphere as well as a lot of decent work which allowed me to pay for it all! It was a great job, and the best summer I have ever had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Images not displaying.

Not too sure how dropbox images need to be linked/shared.

Sounds like quite an adventure.

Ye thanks vexorg, as soon as I saw that reply I knew what was wrong...
        Bit of a nightmare, have to redo all the links, is one image working on the second post?

They should all be fixed now.
        Apologies Vexorg, on a borrowed laptop to fix these and with all the messing I thought feral posted that!

They weren't in a public folder and I was using the image address, then I put them in a public folder and still just used the image address, then finally used the public link. Serious lack of intelligence posting this, I should have done it properly the first time, done it loads before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Yup all working now, now that was an adventure.... thanks for sharing and making me just a little bit envious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

What a fantastic trip Alex and very well reported too. Thanks for sharing.
        That's a few months you'll never forget. Your livin the dream lad!
        I know there's no place like home, but it must be tough thinking about it while looking out at this bloody weather.