Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bitter taste off canned chopped tomatoes.

Options
  • 06-05-2013 2:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭

Hi all. I'm new to cooking, so this has probably been answered before. But lately, I've been trying to recreate some pasta dishes that you'd find in Italian restaurants, but I always find that cans of chopped tomatoes taste very bitter. How can you get them to taste sweeter? Today I put half a kilo of sugar in the pan with 2 400g cans of tomatoes to try and balance out the taste, and it still wasn't enough! Surely there must be another way, surely restaurants and takeaways don't put that much sugar in their food?

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

You're exaggerating the half kilo of sugar, right?

Tinned tomatoes are always more acidic than fresh, and you'd usually add one teaspoon per tin. The alternative is just to use fresh tomatoes.

What else did you use in the sauce?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

No I am not exaggerating! I used flora cooking oil, then I chopped up about 4 scallions and 2 cloves of garlic and threw them into the pan, then I put in a 10 meatballs, let them cook, then I put in the 2 cans of tomatoes. Everything was going grand until then, you could smell the flavours etc., but the canned tomatoes killed everything. A few minutes later, I tasted it, it just tasted like bitter tomatoes. I gradually kept adding sugar until it got half-decent, and by that stage, half a 1 kilo bag was gone in. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?