Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to suck it up (Total novice)

Options
13»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭john kinsella

LSR done this morning and longest distance to date

Run 15.00km

Didn't pay much attention to the pace at all as I brought herself along for the first 10k then she stopped for a coffee whilst I continued on for a further 5k.

I really really enjoyed this. The first 2-3k were tough with a bit of calf pain but that quickly subsided after I kept going.

The first 10k was slow enough but after I was left on my own I decided to put the foot down slightly and the last 5 was notably quicker.

The whole thing was done in around the 1:30 hour mark which I know is slow but I'm really not bothered about that for the moment. I was actually surprised how well I felt after it and I was sure I could have gone for at least another 5k but I don't want to push it too early.

The 15k is now my base for my LSRs which I will increase by 10% or so per week from now on.

This running lark is seriously addictive!

Run 5.00km – Pace 5.24 min/km – Time 27:01

Nice and handy first 2.5k with the wind at my back and I was in record pace (without intending it to be)

Second half was a totally different story running into a serious headwind.

I couldn't wait until pay day until I bought a foam roller so I took the plunge tonight buying one off Amazon.

I really can't wait for it to arrive as my calves need some serious attention. Any time I run even slightly quicker or uphill they start to tighten up on me.