Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heterosexual Pride Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So dressing up in drag, camping it up, and attempting to salsa dance (...badly) is all about raising awareness of homophobic murders in far flung countries??
    I saw a photo of a participant (scorned butch, lesbian, angry feminist type)at the Belfast Pride Rally with a placard saying "Jesus was a FAG!!"
    Do you see that as conducive to preventing homophobia in traditional Christian or Muslim communities??

By jaysus thats some skill ye have at the photoanalysis. You should get a job with the FBI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

scorned butch, lesbian, angry feminist type

Has the OP's question been answered yet...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Do people even stop to think before making such enormous, sweeping generalisations based on photos? Seriously. It's happened multiple times now, and it's laughable in the most depressing way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Has the OP's question been answered yet...?

Which question? The OP asked about 30 questions

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I dont know if it's a man or a woman tbh.

See, the thing is, you can't tell, while others don't care. That's the main difference here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I dont know if it's a man or a woman tbh.

Jaysus, sure some of them gays'd confuse ya, with their women's voices and their drag and their flamboyance and ya wouldn't even know if they're men or women sure!

Don't be confusin' me feelins!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

So dressing up in drag, camping it up, and attempting to salsa dance (...badly) is all about raising awareness of homophobic murders in far flung countries??
    I saw a photo of a participant (scorned butch, lesbian, angry feminist type)at the Belfast Pride Rally with a placard saying "Jesus was a FAG!!"
    Do you see that as conducive to preventing homophobia in traditional Christian or Muslim communities??

Jesus went around spreading the message of love in the sole company of 12 other dudes. That's pretty gay in fairness

1ZRed wrote: »
    Jesus went around spreading the message of love in the sole company of 12 other dudes. That's pretty gay in fairness

He got whipped and then nailed by a few different guys on a Friday night as well.

Kinkeh!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

And he had two Dads and a Mother. According to the Iona institute he was not raised in the best way possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Which question? The OP asked about 30 questions

Ha, true enough.

What I'm getting at is that we've had a bunch of posters insisting in different ways that the need for Pride style stuff was done. Ie - that the day when gay people were treated as, basically, "broken straight people" was done, and that it was time for the homos to pack up their campaignin' tack and shut up.

And then we have that prince of a poster thinking that describing somebody as a "scorned butch, lesbian, angry feminist type" without any even distant, academic sense of self-awareness whatsoever.

I don't know if "Irony" is the word for it, but there's definitely something just marvellous happening in that right there.

Yes, lets call Jesus a faggo-t.
    That'll win respect.
    That placard and the thing holding it is simply obnoxious attention whoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Corkfeen wrote: »
    I think you entirely missed his point. You're making judgements on entire community of people based on random pictures.
    Thank you! Clearly the point is still being missed though...
    That'll win respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Wrong thread, you're looking for the Pro-life thread.

That'll win respect.

And you brought up those photos because......??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

That'll win respect.

Your search was 'belfast gay pride jesus was a fag' yet you still only got one result that was in any way like that. In fact all the other images had nothing to do with it. Surprised that you didn't manage to find this lovely protest at the event that strikes me as a lot more serious than one woman with a controversial sign.

http://www.demotix.com/news/400629/free-presbyterian-protesters-demonstrate-against-belfast-gay-pride#media-400333

That'll win respect.

So you can mock the person in the photo, but people can't joke about Jesus in an obviously non-serious way? I'm sure he's big enough to take it (oo-er missus!).

Anyway, I've never made jokes for respect.

I make them for thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

That'll win respect.

What's your point?

I don't get why in discussions of LGBT issues, people are insistent on pointing out a photo of someone with a stupid placard, or an old news article of one gay man in some country somewhere who did something bad. Therefore waheeeey this justifies not providing for LGBT rights :confused:

It would be like me posting a thread on why I feel straight people shouldn't have rights to marriage and post up a bunch of divorce statistics or links to celebrity cheating stories. Or why straight people shouldn't have basic rights at all, based on the amount of wars started by straight people, murders, rapes etc.

The onus is not on me as a bisexual woman, or as 1ZRed as a gay man or anybody else to babysit anybody who is LGBT and make sure they act 100% according to you. If they're dícks, they're dícks. Doesn't mean we don't deserve equal rights.

Corkfeen wrote: »
    I think you entirely missed his point. You're making judgements on entire community of people based on random pictures.

I made no such judgement on the gays.
    Simply questioning the merit of some of them continuing to separate and pigeon hole themselves sexually, rather than just live day to day lives like us regular saps.
    I've spoken to several gays who agree with me regarding the Pride rallies etc.
    Pretty sure, if I was gay, I'd still hold the same views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Simply questioning the merit of some of them continuing to separate and pigeon hole themselves sexually, rather than just live day to day lives like us regular saps.

My god, you know several people that agree with you........ That doesn't give your argument greater strength. :rolleyes: For the most part, pride festivals are in perfectly good taste but you're trying to paint them in an entirely way by selecting images that suit your agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Considering it was basically illegal here in Ireland until the 90s and there are still many places where being gay could get you killed, I think gay rights is still a very live issue!

Anyway, what's the big deal about pride marches?

They're a bit of a day out, great for tourism and generally a good laugh whether you're gay, straight or anything else!

Ireland needs as many festivals as it can get!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

You mean apart from referring to at least one as "The THING holding the placard"
    Sure sounds pretty judgemental to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

There's a whole group of gay people who don't think gay people can raise a children. People have different views. We are not "the gays".

There are even aspects of Pride that I dislike and would even agree with you on some point.

You mean apart from referring to at least one as "The THING holding the placard"
    Sure sounds pretty judgemental to me!

Did you miss his other description earlier?

He could narrate for the blind it was that detailed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Can I have a panda pride march though?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Uh huh

Can I have a panda pride march though?

*known flasher*

Sorry brah

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    I don't mean to ask in an offending manner, i just have no one else to ask.

Ok. Simply, because some do and some don't. I don't know why it bothers people so much - different voices/pitches/accents - but apparently it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'm glad I'm not straight

I don't hate straight people, but just look at those weirdos and freaks! the kind of **** straight people get up to on a night out, falling over drunk and vomitting everywhere, straight guys fighting and belting it out of each other. someone got attacked in the street? you can bet some straight person was responsible. and don't get me started on straight relationships, they're ****ed up beyond belief, look at Chris Brown! what a ****ing disgusting human being, and he's straight. nice straight "morals" there, beating up your partner. think of the kids growing up thinking that kind of straight behaviour is the norm. like I said, I don't hate straight people, but I just think the straight lifestyle shouldn't be promoted or encouraged.

plus, here's a random picture of an ugly straight person, look how ugly they are!

old hippy wrote: »
    Ok. Simply, because some do and some don't. I don't know why it bothers people so much - different voices/pitches/accents - but apparently it does.
    I think some of those who speak quite camp and feminine are playing up.
    If you compare Graham Nortons voice and mannerisms, for example today and compare it to his earlier work, it's clear he was camping it up before.

However , there are others who are genuine. There was one guy in my primary school who went through Hell due to his campness and femininity.
    You don't "act" camp in a 1970s school playground.

Links234 wrote: »

I don't hate straight people, but just look at those weirdos and freaks! the kind of **** straight people get up to on a night out, falling over drunk and vomitting everywhere, straight guys fighting and belting it out of each other. someone got attacked in the street? you can bet some straight person was responsible. and don't get me started on straight relationships, they're ****ed up beyond belief, look at Chris Brown! what a ****ing disgusting human being, and he's straight. nice straight "morals" there, beating up your partner. think of the kids growing up thinking that kind of straight behaviour is the norm. like I said, I don't hate straight people, but I just think the straight lifestyle shouldn't be promoted or encouraged.

plus, here's a random picture of an ugly straight person, look how ugly they are!
    If that's directed at me, you're talking out your arse, and seriously distorting my viewpont. I think there are positive gay role models (Johnny Mathis, Richard Chamberlain, David Starkey) and downright repugnant ones (Peter Tatchell and the hysterical whingers for example).

I think some of those who speak quite camp and feminine are playing up.
    If you compare Graham Nortons voice and mannerisms, for example today and compare it to his earlier work, it's clear he was camping it up before.

However , there are others who are genuine. There was one guy in my primary school who went through Hell due to his campness and femininity.
    You don't "act" camp in a 1970s school playground.

Did he deserve the grief, in your view?

I went through hell having a hybrid accent in the 70s at school, nothing I could do about it - just the way I spoke. Did I deserve it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

What do gay posters here think about the way TV airs the campest gays they can find? X-Factor would have you believe that all gays are extremely camp! Why cant they pick out a gay teddy bear for a change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

If that's directed at me, you're talking out your arse, and seriously distorting my viewpont. I think there are positive gay role models (Johnny Mathis, Richard Chamberlain, David Starkey) and downright repugnant ones (Peter Tatchell and the hysterical whingers for example).

it wasn't directed at you, it was a general point to show up how stupid stereotyping all LGBT people based on cherry picked examples.

I've nothing against them, and whatever they get up to in their own homes is their business, but you would think they would have a bit of decency when they're out in public instead of flaunting what they are in front of everyone, they're just looking for attention at this point, whingy straight bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

Quoted for truth!! I'm not heterophobic, what a man and a woman do to each other behind closed doors is entirely up to them, but what the fook am I supposed to tell the kids if they see a parade with that kind of carry on. It's unnatural!

It's bad enough we see them on TV and in magazines and stuff, but we don't need them flaunting it in front of us. They should be happy with what we've given then.

Now before anyone gets all huffy and politically correct, I'm not heterophobic. But there's a time and a place for this kind of carry on, and in broad daylight in the middle of the street is not it!! FACT!!!

Big Bottom wrote: »
    I have nothing against gays or whatever but how can anyone be attracted to the creature holding that sign?

Jesus fukking christ.

kfk wrote: »
    What do gay posters here think about the way TV airs the campest gays they can find? X-Factor would have you believe that all gays are extremely camp! Why cant they pick out a gay teddy bear for a change?

You need to get OUT more, kfk.

before I head to the land of nod, another question. What do gay posters here think about trolls? Should we indulge them or what? ;)

Night night, all.

I don't like how it's exaggerated a lot of the time in the media. The new normal being an example of having one very stereotypical gay guy, but there are examples of more normal everyday lads like max in happy endings.

Fact is though that there are camp gay men so they shouldn't all be taken off the TV because it wouldn't be so realistic. A fair mix would do well. There's also a heap of straight camp men also. Take a stroll into a few shops and you'll se a load of them, but you'd assume they were gay just because they were camp.

And here, you're talking about camp gay men and how annoying the flamboyant ones yet who's the lad sitting in watching the xfactor on a staturdat night, because it's not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

orestes wrote: »
    Jesus fukking christ.

Whats wrong with what I said?

old hippy wrote: »
    You need to get OUT more, kfk.

Not much happening around here. There's only one gay in my village! That's the rumor anyway! The neighbours said a novena when they heard the news.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Norwestener banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

I think anyone who believes that X-Factor is a true and accurate representation of anything has bigger issues to worry about.

Big Bottom wrote: »
    Whats wrong with what I said?

You see nothing wrong with making a horrible and insulting comment like that about another person? Seriously?

1ZRed wrote: »
    I don't like how it's exaggerated a lot of the time in the media. The new normal being an example of having one very stereotypical gay guy, but there are examples of more normal everyday lads like max in happy endings.

Fact is though that there are camp gay men so they shouldn't all be taken off the TV because it wouldn't be so realistic. A fair mix would do well. There's also a heap of straight camp men also. Take a stroll into a few shops and you'll se a load of them, but you'd assume they were gay just because they were camp.

And here, you're talking about camp gay men and how annoying the flamboyant ones yet who's the lad sitting in watching the xfactor on a staturdat night, because it's not me.

I never said flamboyant gays were annoying. You must be getting me mixed up with someone else?

NuMarvel wrote: »
    I think anyone who believes that X-Factor is a true and accurate representation of anything has bigger issues to worry about.

Read my post again. I never said that I believed it. I said X-factor would have you believe. Do posters on here just pick out words and fill in the blanks with whatever suits them?