Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fergie's Retirement Confirmed, Moyes confirmed as Man Utd Manager

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Manuel Pellegrini
    On the official website now. Will become a director.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Jürgen Klopp
    On the official website now. Will become a director.

it just gets better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jürgen Klopp
    Theres a statement being read out on sky sports news right this moment bit unreal......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Jürgen Klopp
    okay now it's official. You need to login to man utd website to read it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I have a problem with Mourinho, I think he could bring us success but you could never expect him to stay more then 5 years.

I'd like another dynasty please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Jürgen Klopp
    Greatest manager of all time. Thank you Sir Alex.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Well my skepticism was misplaced it seems. Bit of an upheaval in in the premier league ahead, especially if they get the next appointment wrong.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

The Greatest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

There's a strong chance I'll turn in to an emotional wreck if someone branches the subject with me today.

Crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Jürgen Klopp
    Internet meltdown in 5.......4.........3........2........1..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I've a pain in my chest rather then a lump in my throat. Hopefully just throw up soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Benitez or Redknapp? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,843 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Agent Rafa to finish off the job he started at chelsea?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

keith16 wrote: »
    Greatest manager of all time. Thank you Sir Alex.

By far. There will never be another one like him unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Mars Bar wrote: »
    There's a strong chance I'll turn in to an emotional wreck if someone branches the subject with me today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

dobsdave wrote: »
    Benitez or Redknapp? :P

I might put a fiver on Souness just to see the odds fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

On the official website now. Will become a dictator.

Fixed that for you.

With the greatest respect in the world, this is very good news.

Fingers crossed for Moyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Jürgen Klopp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Fair play to him for staying in the role for so long, hopefully their new manager lasts as long as a manager at Chelsea:D

Jürgen Klopp
    Losing to Rafa at Old Traffordmust have pushed him over the edge. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

Jürgen Klopp
    At last!!! 11 years too late, but I'm still smiling. Welcome to the real world Man Utd supporters :-)

BTW, hats off. His achievements will never be matched. He deserves the opportunity to spend the rest of his life basking in the glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jürgen Klopp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Amazing. Delighted!!

Ferguson has loomed large in my footballing experience. Always there, always winning things, always making the right moves regarding buying and selling of players. You could argue that he should have won another CL or two, but that's a minor point regarding his legacy. Probably the GOAT and I'm over the moon that his reign of terror is at an end!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

kona wrote: »
    Be hilarious if they appointed Mourinho! Seriously though I hope it's bollix.

I would ****ing love it if they did.

Big loss to the game, but it was to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

the best thing I can say is I can't wait to see the back of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Manuel Pellegrini
    Fergie to City.

Heard it here first.

Been waiting for this moment since before I was born.

Bye bye Fergie, you leg end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Can't believe it. Football will be strange without him, considering he has been in charge since before I was born.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I have a problem with Mourinho, I think he could bring us success but you could never expect him to stay more then 5 years.

I'd like another dynasty please!

Yeah right. Get ready to join the rest of us and our non super human, mere mortal managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Fergie to City.

Heard it here first.

Been waiting for this moment since before I was born.

Bye bye Fergie, you leg end.

You've been doing other stuff too, right...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Manuel Pellegrini
    Who will all the refs answer to now?

Jürgen Klopp
    Next season is going to be brilliant.

No matter who goes in there will have impossible shoes to fill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Like others here I'm delighted to see him go.

The ultimate compliment really, showed what an impact he has had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

The barren spell begins now!!

Wonder if José Mourinho was talking about the EPL last week, and not just Chelsea with his comments.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Jürgen Klopp
    Glad to have witnessed Alex Ferguson and what he has done with Manchester United, I dont ever think we will witness his type of greatness and achievements ever again,

As a Chelsea fan Im happy but as a football fan Im very sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Jürgen Klopp
    with fergie staying on at the club it must mean its moyes taking over with ferguson in the background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭klose

Big dave whealan called it last season. WE DIDNT LISTEN

On a serious note it was a pleasure to see some of his teams and is undoubtedly the greatest to date, he cannot be replaced in my opinion. End of an era stuff today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Delighted he's gone! :D
    But the best manager of all time, how he was successful for so long is amazing. Constantly building new United teams and seeing off new clubs challenging for the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Manuel Pellegrini
    My 2 cents...

If FERGIE didn't act now . Mourinho would be lost to chelsea.....

Thank you Fergie for so so many memories............

A true legend............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

Jürgen Klopp
    Skysports news is going to be yellow all feckin day now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

Jürgen Klopp
    Mourinho at evens with most bookies now.
    Would be a very poor appointment in my eyes, from stability to a 3 season melt-down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Cannot believe it, shocking news. Thought it was just gossip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Manuel Pellegrini
    Dave! wrote: »
    You've been doing other stuff too, right...?

Ehh, sure, maybe, yeah, yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Is that 10am press conference a goer or what? Has it been confirmed?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Would take Mourinho for sure - proven pedigree. Other than that the only other man on that list that could bring us in is Michael Laudrup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

jaysus :O

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Maybe Im looking for some comfort, but 'King' Kenny had a few stints - if finding a suitable, longterm manager proves difficult could Fergie come back? Health permitting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

bhamsteve wrote: »
    Mourinho at evens with most bookies now.
    Would be a very poor appointment in my eyes, from stability to a 3 season melt-down.

That's complete bollocks IMO. He's a proven manager at this level.

Some poor wishful thinking here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

sick to my stomach, exam in 3 hours, great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Apparently, he's been appointed the new chief executive of the Referee's Association.

This is on the basis that he knows more about the rules than all the current members put together.