Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did I do the right thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I don't think any decent person would have got the guards involved in this to be honest.

I don't think anyone but an amoral scumbag would NOT call the Gardai

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    I don't anyone but an amoral scumbag would NOT call the Gardai

I can guarantee you the vast majority of people would not call the guards.
    So you ARE saying drunk driving is ok?

No but I wouldn't land someone in trouble in this situation either. Do you sit in your local pub and ring the guards every time you see someone driving home after a few pints?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

No but I wouldn't land someone in trouble in this situation either. Do you sit in your local pub and ring the guards every time you see someone driving home after a few pints?
    If they are breaking the law, why shouldn't someone do that?

You have obviously never been in a country local, you would be ran out of town if it was known you were reporting people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

I agree with that. But also think that the vast majority of people would not go out of their way to help the scumbag out either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

People should report drink drivers, that way maybe there'd be fewer of them. If you are honestly saying that they shouldn't be reported then, well, I hope no-one in your family gets killed by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Then the vast majority are cowardly scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

OP was there a bang of drink off this chap or could he possibly have been on heavy medication?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    OP was there a bang of drink off this chap or could he possibly have been on heavy medication?

I bet he was on medication and had a few jars which messed him up even more, a friend of mine is on medication and when he drinks he gets so messed up he fights with his own shadow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Odysseus wrote: »
    Please re-read post, I stated he did the right thing by seeing if anyone needed medical attention. As for the report I left that to his own morals.

However, neither person would be going to jail and no one will be, no matter how strong your personal opinion is.

But that's the point of the thread, was he right from a moral point of view? Nobody is saying he shouldn't have checked if people were okay. C'mon now, mister mod of the psychology forum....? :)

I agree with that. But also think that the vast majority of people would not go out of their way to help the scumbag out either

Agreed, I would probably have checked that he was ok and gone on my way rather than helping him as much as the op did, If he was badly injured I would have called an ambulance otherwise I just leave him alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

But NOT reporting is the same as saying that it's perfectly ok and acceptable behaviour.
    These people are putting themselves AND others at serious risk and deserve any legal repercussions they get.
    And if you know someone is in that situation, AND they do end up injuring someone, than YOU are as much to blame as they are, for you could have stopped it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Ush1 wrote: »
    But that's the point of the thread, was he right from a moral point of view? Nobody is saying he shouldn't have checked if people were okay. C'mon now, mister mod of the psychology forum....? :)

Look at the post I quoted, and see how that poster quoted me, then you may understand my post.

I refused to judge the right or wrong of the situation for the OP than is up to him and his personal morals.

I did in another post give my personal experience of reporting crimes in the past and also of not reporting others. If I see a person leave my clinic I cannot report them as a staff member, I can report them as a concerned member of the public.

I don'tknow if I would have reported this person, I think not, but then again I think have if I experienced. However, each incident is different and as I was not there I don't think Ican give an honest answer on it.

As to the OP, I don't see his action as wrong, but it is up to him to decide whether he was right or wrong I cannot and will not do that for him.

That ok Mr poster...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Look at the post I quoted, and see how that poster quoted me, then you may understand my post.

I refused to judge the right or wrong of the situation for the OP than is up to him and his personal morals.

I did in another post give my personal experience of reporting crimes in the past and also of not reporting others. If I see a person leave my clinic I cannot report them as a staff member, I can report them as a concerned member of the public.

I don'tknow if I would have reported this person, I think not, but then again I think have if I experienced. However, each incident is different and as I was not there I don't think Ican give an honest answer on it.

As to the OP, I don't see his action as wrong, but it is up to him to decide whether he was right or wrong I cannot and will not do that for him.

That ok Mr poster...?

Not really. Maybe I'm talking to the wrong person, does morality come under psychology or philosophy?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Same thing happened to me a few years ago, except the guy nearly hit us but swerved at the last second and ended up in the ditch. He got out and tried to pull the car out......by hand. Called the guards and waited until they brought the POS away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Everyone is giving the guy who bothered to stop at the scene of an accident & help a stranger a really hard time. Bothering to help someone is not a normal reaction for people these days
    & I'll bet after The Hammering he's been getting here that he never stops again. People are Human. The OP was in an unusual position to help with a tow truck and so he did. The car was a specially modified one for a one armed disabled driver. It's not as thou he could have borrowed someone else's and drove back the next day.

The OP was showing a bit of compassion & helping a stranger . Yes - on reflection the OP thought he should or could have done things differently and may yet . But maybe you all could give him for credit for being a good Samaritan & bothering . As for the next time he sees a car in a ditch - you can be sure hell probably remember all this and just drive on by. And THAT could be somebody's child or daughter or husband - dying in a ditch with no-one bothered.

Give him a break.
    No doubt this being Ireland the keyboard warriors that really care can ring around all the wheelchair modification certified garages & make inquiries as to whether a one armed man towed his car in this morning with a big bruise on his head & track him Down & report him to the gAurds themselves.

( wasn't there a long running TV series & subsequent film with Harrison Ford made on a similar theme?)

National manhunt .over .

Ush1 wrote: »
    Not really. Maybe I'm talking to the wrong person, does morality come under psychology or philosophy?

Under both really, but then it depends as to which school of moral philosphy you subscribe to. None has been shown to have the ultimate say on personal ethics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭bren50c

Everyone is giving the guy who bothered to stop at the scene of an accident & help a stranger a really hard time. Bothering to help someone is not a normal reaction for people these days
    & I'll bet after The Hammering he's been getting here that he never stops again. People are Human. The OP was in an unusual position to help with a tow truck and so he did. The car was a specially modified one for a one armed disabled driver. It's not as thou he could have borrowed someone else's and drove back the next day.

The OP was showing a bit of compassion & helping a stranger . Yes - on reflection the OP thought he should or could have done things differently and may yet . But maybe you all could give him for credit for being a good Samaritan & bothering . As for the next time he sees a car in a ditch - you can be sure hell probably remember all this and just drive on by. And THAT could be somebody's child or daughter or husband - dying in a ditch with no-one bothered.

Give him a break.
    No doubt this being Ireland the keyboard warriors that really care can ring around all the wheelchair modification certified garages & make inquiries as to whether a one armed man towed his car in this morning with a big bruise on his head & track him Down & report him to the gAurds themselves.

( wasn't there a long running TV series & subsequent film with Harrison Ford made on a similar theme?)

National manhunt .over .

People are shocked by the fact that some take the view that "oh he just helped the poor guy that got smashed and then proceeded to drive into a wall" . This is not just some guy who happened to crash his car. I think when driving drunk is no longer socially acceptable that will be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Well, this is rather melodramatic.

If in this instance, or your hypothetical, the OP just called the guards to say that there appears to be an accident and there is a dazed-looking man next to his car in a ditch, gave the location, and then kept it moving, that would have been sufficient. Stopping to help is nice, but helping a drunk driver cover up his crime is shocking, frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

And that could be somebody's child or daughter or husband that the drunk driver kills next time he gets into a car too drunk to stand. The OP reporting him may sound harsh, but it's by far the better option in the long run; for the driver, and for society in general. No-one is lambasting the OP for stopping to help, just saying that when he realised that the driver was drunk he should have called the authorities; it could have taken this driver off the road and potentially saved someone's life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭vagabond2013

Definately should of called the Guards.. Why ?? because you dont know what happened previously to the accident he could of already knocked someone down further back along the road or hit another car etc..
    if you had of ranf the gardai youd be doing him a favour by making him cop the fck on and probably just the wake up call he needs...

so i say SHAME ON YOU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Why don't you ring and report to the Gardai?

I don't understand why you would start this thread when you already know the answer.

Cop on OP and get onto the station or go down and report you may actually save someones life.

He absolutely did not do the right thing, the man was so drunk he could barely speak or walk, he should go to jail. Frankly I think the OP should also go to jail for not reporting a serious crime
    What I don't get is WHY calling the police/ambulance isn't an automatic response?

It certainly is for me. And should be for everyone. Otherwise we're trying to exempt ourselves from blame. But we're not exempt. Not reporting the crime, makes us as much at fault as he who did the crime.
    I'm shocked that somebody falls onto the scene of a accident and can see somebody is injured and doesn't call the emergency services. Never mind the over the limit . This man could have had internal injury's.

The op has shown really bad judgment in all this. If the man then goes on to hurt or kill somebody in the future the op can hold himself/herself partly responsible.
    S28382 wrote: »
    Well if you feel the need to get opinions from people on Boards on a topic like this then fu*k me you really need to check yourself, i would of called the cops on the fu*ker and prayed that he got banned for life off the road. I would of thrown him back into the ditch.
    I don't think anyone but an amoral scumbag would NOT call the Gardai
    Then the vast majority are cowardly scumbags
    kylith wrote: »
    And that could be somebody's child or daughter or husband that the drunk driver kills next time he gets into a car too drunk to stand. The OP reporting him may sound harsh, but it's by far the better option in the long run; for the driver, and for society in general. No-one is lambasting the OP for stopping to help, just saying that when he realised that the driver was drunk he should have called the authorities; it could have taken this driver off the road and potentially saved someone's life.

Be fair, have a lot at the above posts and tell me nobody has lambasted the OP,

He should go to jail for not reporting it.
    He is just as much to blame for not reporting it.
    If the driver kills someone in the future he is just as responsible.
    He needs to get checked????
    He is an amoral scumbag.
    He is also a cowardly scumbag.

That is a lot of not lambasting anyone.

I was stating truth, and I didn't attack him for helping, just said not reporting a crime makes you as much responsible for it as those that committed the crime.

This is something most people avoid, and often why crimes go on for so long before anything is done.

I was stating truth, and I didn't attack him for helping, just said not reporting a crime makes you as much responsible for it as those that committed the crime.

This is something most people avoid, and often why crimes go on for so long before anything is done.

In you opinion it may be the truth, but I don't think that is a generally accepted opinion.

Many people see the responsibity lying totally with the person who commits the act.

Do you report every crime you see? I'm sure you seen someone buy drugsat some point did you report them? Did you ever meet anyone who drove whilst their tax was out; if so did you report them? You must be aware of a certain amount of illegal acts, have you reported them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Rezident

Could have lost his licence and had to pay a fine? Boo hoo he could have killed someone and ruined a family's life. You could have pout one of these menaces off the road. Thanks for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Its grand. Im not the snitching type. Sorry. Not even for highly emotive things like drink driving and even for example paedophilia. He got his car stuck in a field, i hope that will be enough to learn him not to do it in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Even though reporting him would have been the right thing to do I'd have done exactly what the OP did.

To be honest I don't think I'd ever call the guards on anyone bar I had knowledge of a sexual assault or something on those lines.

I know it's not a great attitude to have, but I don't think I'll ever change it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭bacon n eggs

Must look pretty good up there on high horses ... cause a lot of folk up there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

9 pages of people trying to out-do each other with the strength of their outrage and condemnation. Pathetic really.
    You dealt with a stressful situation as came naturally at the time, and now on reflection may act differently if faced with a similar scenario. You live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

This is pretty ridiculous.
    OP may not have done the right thing but some people are taking it way too far.
    Saying the OP should be going to jail too etc, thats just ridiculous. Its hard to know how you would act in that situation. If i was put in that situation i dont know what i would have done to be honest, its all well and good to say you should do this and that but unless youre in the situation you dont know whats going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭bren50c

bhamsteve wrote: »
    9 pages of people trying to out-do each other with the strength of their outrage and condemnation. Pathetic really.
    You dealt with a stressful situation as came naturally at the time, and now on reflection may act differently if faced with a similar scenario. You live and learn.

Aren't people just answering the op's question - did i do the right thing & what would you have done.
    And probably fair to say he knew the kind of answers he'd get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

To be honest I think this thread is a bit of a witch-hunt with more than a little bit of hypocrisy going on. Anyone growing up in Ireland would have encountered drink-driving at some stage; whether it be their family, neighbour or friends. At the very least they would have knowledge of such an event occurring but yet something tells me they didn't immediately pick up the phone and ring the cops. By some hysterical reasonings made on this thread, that makes them accessory to crime or some other nonsense.

People are jumping on the bandwagon to have a go at a man who did exactly what most of them would have done at some stage or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

bren50c wrote: »
    Aren't people just answering the op's question - did i do the right thing & what would you have done.
    And probably fair to say he knew the kind of answers he'd get?

Some people have offered polite, thought out opinions. Others have formed a long line of nauseating egos trying to out-do each other with their moralising.

Very brave thread for the OP to start, and difficult situation to find ones self in.
    As usual the posts begin to look like something from the front page of the Sun or Dailly Mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Lots of different comments and views:

The title of the thread is fairly rhetorical. I know I didn't to the right thing.
    I know my actions or lack of them lacked the integrity others would have shown but I'm sure I'm not the only one who would have acted in a similar way.

I know I should have called an ambulance but had I done so they would have advised the guards who would also have attended the scene and the driver would have been done and that was the situation I had decided to help him avoid.

A lot of posters have mentioned the stress etc involved To be fair I didn't feel stressed or panic at the scene. It was fairly obvious what had happened and I made the decision I did. No-one else was involved and it was easy to assess what had happened.

As for his call today was genuine but like I say I don't know the guy.

For those worried about the field; there was very minor damage, a couple of square feet of grass in a fairly big field was all that was damaged, It'll grow back.

gramar wrote: »
    Lots of different comments and views:

The title of the thread is fairly rhetorical. I know I didn't to the right thing.
    I know my actions or lack of them lacked the integrity others would have shown but I'm sure I'm not the only one who would have acted in a similar way.

I know I should have called an ambulance but had I done so they would have advised the guards who would also have attended the scene and the driver would have been done and that was the situation I had decided to help him avoid.

A lot of posters have mentioned the stress etc involved To be fair I didn't feel stressed or panic at the scene. It was fairly obvious what had happened and I made the decision I did. No-one else was involved and it was easy to assess what had happened.

As for his call today was genuine but like I say I don't know the guy.

For those worried about the field; there was very minor damage, a couple of square feet of grass in a fairly big field was all that was damaged, It'll grow back.

Did any of the posts changed your opinion? Do you think you learned anything from the various opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Did any of the posts changed your opinion? Do you think you learned anything from the various opinions?

I learned that there is some fairly high moral ground being held by some of the posters.:P Honestly I don't know if the same thing happened tomorrow whether I would do anything differently. You don't know until it happens. One thing I do agree with is calling the ambulance. The guy could have been hurt even if not visibly. I would like to pose the following scenario however:

Some of the posters think I should have rang the cops without question or hesitation. If it was one of you who had been in the situation and it was your brother or sister who had been driving. Would you have called then?
    What if it was your old man who had a few pints down the local and stuck the car into a tree 20 yards from pulling into the drive? Would you be out helping to get the car in off the road or telling him not to leave the scene until the guards arrived? We’re all subject to the same laws but would you treat these people differently or are some high horses to high to climb down from? I’m sure it would be easier to call if it was a stranger but if it was a loved one in which direction would your moral compass be pointing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

should you grass : no
    does the man deserve being grassed on : yes

irish men dont't grass
    also we drink a lot fight well and sunburn easily

next question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

I’m sure it would be easier to call if it was a stranger but if it was a loved one in which direction would your moral compass be pointing?

I'd be more likely to call the guards on a loved one drink driving. Because i don't want them (because i love them) to get hurt/die in an accident - and there's probably a good chance that they'll have someone else I love in the car with them in the future who could also be hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I learned that there is some fairly high moral ground being held by some of the posters.:P Honestly I don't know if the same thing happened tomorrow whether I would do anything differently. You don't know until it happens. One thing I do agree with is calling the ambulance. The guy could have been hurt even if not visibly. I would like to pose the following scenario however:

Some of the posters think I should have rang the cops without question or hesitation. If it was one of you who had been in the situation and it was your brother or sister who had been driving. Would you have called then?
    What if it was your old man who had a few pints down the local and stuck the car into a tree 20 yards from pulling into the drive? Would you be out helping to get the car in off the road or telling him not to leave the scene until the guards arrived? We’re all subject to the same laws but would you treat these people differently or are some high horses to high to climb down from? I’m sure it would be easier to call if it was a stranger but if it was a loved one in which direction would your moral compass be pointing?

its a difficult situation i dont think i would not have called the guards either i would have called one of his loved ones and let them make the decision.then feck off as soon as they arrived. lets hope it was a one off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

As someone close to me died because of a drink driver....I have to say you should have called the gardai.

You did a good thing helping him, making sure he was alright, but you've got to think of the safety of others also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭DECEiFER

Some of the posts here are simply unreal. Seriously...

1. The OP does not deserve to go to jail;
    2. The OP did the best he could inside of a stressful situation that he isn't trained to handle;
    3. The OP felt at odds with his actions enough to come on here and ask for opinions and it's clear that he's not here fishing for sympathy.

So on the third point, some of you were good enough to offer you opinions in a civilized manner. The rest of you need to cop on. Plus, if he goes out and does it again and hurts or kills someone, I'm sure the OP has a conscience of his own and will beat himself up about it; there's no need for all of you to do it for him in advance of even the possibility of it happening.

Remember also that the drunk guy is at the end of the day responsible for his actions last night and any subsequent actions since then. He's an adult, that's how it works. The OP did not shove gallons of booze down his gullet and afterward put the keys into his hand. Even if the cops arrested him and he was later banned in the court from driving for 2 years, it's not like there'd be a force field or electronic fence preventing him from taking a spin to the pub and back in his or another car. Some people still continue drive when they're banned, albeit more discreetly, but the booze can change that fairly quickly.

Personally, I'd have called an ambulance and let them take care of it and I'd stayed with the guy until the paramedics arrived. I also believe that you shouldn't have assisted him in retrieving his vehicle as that makes you an accessory in part, though, again, you did what you thought was right at the time and in that situation, everyone reacts differently.

I saw one poster here referring to the drunk guy as a "fugitive" and that the OP was "assisting [him]." You might want to look that word up in the dictionary. Knowingly assisting a fugitive is a completely different crime. Seriously, try keeping your opinions civilized.

But just so you all know, I despise drink driving. I've been in a car with people after drinking an entire brewery when I was younger and it was damn scary. I've never driven after drinking more than half a pint and even then I didn't get behind the wheel straight away after drinking it. Also, I've done it so seldom that I can count on one hand how often. I'm also in favor of the fact that we lowed the limit to EU levels. There is no excuse for drink driving. None at all.

OP, well done for posting and sharing your experience, but if there's a next time, don't let the word of a drunk and/or injured person stop you from calling an ambulance. All you need to do is make that call and assist with First Aid, if you can and if required, as even a minor concussion could end up being dangerous. Anything beyond that is where being a good citizen crosses over to becoming too involved.

I'd be sooooooo disappointed in ANY family member that did this. That YES I would call the cops on them and to hell with the "family hate".
    Same for freinds.
    I know my partner wouldn't have though. Which is something I despise.

I think it has alot to the with people not wanting to be the "snitch"(which is ridiculous) or be "hated" by someone.
    Me, to hell with that. If you're doing something dangerous that could harm others, you deserve and legal hell you get with it. And deserve and should be "snitched" on

I'd be sooooooo disappointed in ANY family member that did this. That YES I would call the cops on them and to hell with the "family hate".
    Same for freinds.
    I know my partner wouldn't have though. Which is something I despise.

I think it has alot to the with people not wanting to be the "snitch"(which is ridiculous) or be "hated" by someone.
    Me, to hell with that. If you're doing something dangerous that could harm others, you deserve and legal hell you get with it. And deserve and should be "snitched" on

Well I wouldn't want anything to do with a person who would land family and friends in trouble, neither would anyone I know. On the contrary I would go out of my way to help a friend or family member avoid getting in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

The only person responsible for the family member being landed in trouble is that same family member for getting themselves into trouble.

Frankly, I wouldn't want anything to do with someone who'd so casually pervert the course of justice.

twinQuins wrote: »
    The only person responsible for the family member being landed in trouble is that same family member for getting themselves into trouble.

Frankly, I wouldn't want anything to do with someone who'd so casually pervert the course of justice.

So you never for a very simple example send a text around to family and friends who might be travelling a road where you have just passed a speed trap or checkpoint?

Well I wouldn't want anything to do with a person who would land family and friends in trouble, neither would anyone I know. On the contrary I would go out of my way to help a friend or family member avoid getting in trouble.

Well its good then I'm not looking to be friends.

If they're a danger to others, they deserve getting caught & punished for that.

It's not like I don't help family & friends, but IF they're doing something thats both dangerous to them and someone else, I'm not going to encourage that behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

So you never for a very simple example send a text around to family and friends who might be travelling a road where you have just passed a speed trap or checkpoint?

I feel as if this is a trick question somehow...

I've never even thought of doing something like that, not out of any morality, the idea just never occurred to me.

Maybe? I mean, if it gets them to slow down and possibly avoid an accident I suppose it might be worth it but I don't know. Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭sesswhat

If I rang the guards every time I saw a driver on the mobile, or with kids not belted in, or speeding, or overtaking on a continuous white line, then:
    1. They would ignore me after the first few calls
    2. I wouldn't have time to do anything else

This incident may fall on the serious end of the scale, and it may have been a good thing for the driver to be flagged up to the guards, but in the real world the OP would certainly not be alone in deciding to help without judging.