Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OTB v3 - Revenge of the Banter Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Angron wrote: »
    I can't really separate the parody of her from Father Ted and the real thing any more.

Gotta love this part:
    O'Connor added: “Got it done at Zulu Tattoos in Dublin about two weeks ago. I don’t believe in explaining tattoos so even he doesn’t know what it means."

This while she's in the middle of explaining what it means...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Angron wrote: »
    Redskins, that's one of the American football teams?

Yeah they're Washington's NFL franchise, always generate a slight controversy about their name. Great match, shame it was a bet-killer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

P_1 wrote: »
    Yeah they're Washington's NFL franchise, always generate a slight controversy about their name. Great match, shame it was a bet-killer

it was a terrible match. Chip kellys offence is very high risk high reward in the nfl. in college its a lot quicker than in the nfl so he could storm ahed so much getting tired doesn matter as much

Arawn wrote: »
    it was a terrible match. Chip kellys offence is very high risk high reward in the nfl. in college its a lot quicker than in the nfl so he could storm ahed so much getting tired doesn matter as much

Ah I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭Killer_banana

Ugh Sinead O'Connor just loves attention and will do anything for it. As for a reminder to y'man what he did if anything it shows him he's still got power over her and he's still in her head, even if she has a negative view of him. Personally I think it does the exact opposite of what she claims. Bet you she'll end up getting them lasered off in a few years.

Just bought my stuff for college today. It may seem unorganised buying it the day before I start back but every other year I've bought it in the SU shop on my first day back so actually I'm very organised this year. :D Still terrified that I'm a final year. I've decided to aim for 1:1 for some reason so need to pull my socks up a good bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭innad

Good on you for aiming for a 1:1, I wish I had aimed for one for my undergrad. It remains to be seen whether I've managed to pull it off for my masters. Can't believe the two years are over already, I loved being back at college :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

One of my local tattoo palours (Swords Ink) are doing a donation drive for Pieta House and are offering free-ish tats of the number 13 on Friday the 13th if you make a minimum donation of €5. I'd love to get a small tat of the Roman numerals for 13 but 1: I don't know where to place it and 2: My folks think it's a stupid idea even if it is for charity. :p
    Truth be told, I'm getting very impatient waiting to get the money together for my planned Eeyore tattoo. My mother owes me €100 and keeps fobbing me off with the line "I'll give it to you when I have it". She's normally good with repaying loans but I'm going crazy waiting. ARGH!

innad wrote: »
    Good on you for aiming for a 1:1, I wish I had aimed for one for my undergrad. It remains to be seen whether I've managed to pull it off for my masters. Can't believe the two years are over already, I loved being back at college :(

Thanks. I feel like I've been coasting the last few years and not doing as well as I could be. I'm sick of being disappointed with my results and having no-one to blame but myself. I can't see myself getting a 1:1 but I'd rather try and fail then not get one from not trying. I've always regretted not working to get the grades I deserved in the leaving (even if it means **** all) so I'm not going to repeat it.

I just saw what looked like a hanglider pass over my house... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭innad

Thanks. I feel like I've been coasting the last few years and not doing as well as I could be. I'm sick of being disappointed with my results and having no-one to blame but myself. I can't see myself getting a 1:1 but I'd rather try and fail then not get one from not trying. I've always regretted not working to get the grades I deserved in the leaving (even if it means **** all) so I'm not going to repeat it.

Yeah, I hear ya. I feel that way about both my leaving and my undergrad! You get what you aim for.. or at least, it gives you a much better chance!
    I think I was always afraid of trying and failing, so I only tried for what I knew I could definitely achieve.
    But there's no reason to think that you can't achieve a 1:1, and it will definitely be worth the hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Evening everyone :), Sinead O Connor what a whack ball really.

Just home from work and a run, first run I've done in months really since before Hell & Back, chest, back, arms and legs were all hurting from Sunday and Monday in the gym :), so figured fcuk it I want to do something Ill go for a run done 7k in 35 minutes happy enough with that :).

11 more sleeps till my tattoo :).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Sitting in the viewing room at my friends graduation and my arse is numb already!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

McChubbin wrote: »
    One of my local tattoo palours (Swords Ink) are doing a donation drive for Pieta House and are offering free-ish tats of the number 13 on Friday the 13th if you make a minimum donation of €5. I'd love to get a small tat of the Roman numerals for 13 but 1: I don't know where to place it and 2: My folks think it's a stupid idea even if it is for charity. :p
    Truth be told, I'm getting very impatient waiting to get the money together for my planned Eeyore tattoo. My mother owes me €100 and keeps fobbing me off with the line "I'll give it to you when I have it". She's normally good with repaying loans but I'm going crazy waiting. ARGH!

Is this Stigmata in Swords?

Thinking of supporting this aswell since Mrs Hellrazer is working for Pieta now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Hellrazer wrote: »

Thinking of supporting this aswell since Mrs Hellrazer is working for Pieta now.

Nice, it's one of the few charities I really admire. Would have loving to have taken part in there walk into light last year. Say it's a real rewarding job at times and at other times crazy hard to take.

On a seperate note FCUK I shouldn't be awake this early day shift yesterday passed out about 11 lat night but I'm back in tonight so have to stay awake all night and being awake this early is a recipe for disaster.

Might go for that myself actually. Whereabouts in Swords are they based?

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭P.K.M.

Might go for that myself actually. Whereabouts in Swords are they based?

Just off the main street. Opposite The Hawthorn Hotel, there's a little shopping alley....they're in there. Got a couple of bits done in there a long time ago.

P.K.M. wrote: »
    Just off the main street. Opposite The Hawthorn Hotel, there's a little shopping alley....they're in there. Got a couple of bits done in there a long time ago.

Think I know the spot, I remember there used to be a Subway in that alley.

Maybe, not sure. I know there's an Outdoor Trek shop and an internet cafe...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

First day back over and done with.

It's hard to have a life when you have kids, in fact it's been over 6 months since myself and herself have been out together without them and over 4 years since we had a weekend away/holiday. A friend of ours said she'd look after the kids for us yesterday so we could get out for a few hours. So we had a "date-day". It was nice to walk around holding hands and chatting, it's been too long.

So first we went for breakfast. I wasn't impressed at the portion size (especially given the price) and when I asked for extra everything, it STILL didn't fill me and cost more than it should have. Here's herself just about to tuck in...(she even managed to find a hat to match her hair! :rolleyes: LOL)

271241.jpg

Then we went to Angel Art (who were admiring my sleeve) and she got a new nose-ring and a couple of new ear-rings...

271242.jpg271243.jpg

And I got a new horse-shoe (bigger than what was in, and got the second hole re-pierced). Then we went to Woddies where I got a couple of drill attachments to polish my exhaust. After exactly a year after the accident, I'm about to start putting the bike back together. I collected my exhaust from my specialist/fabricator and wanted to polish the whole thing up before I put it back on. Bear in mind this is 13 years old and had 40,000 miles worth of tar, rust and crap on them...

So I spent 3 hours yesterday doing this...

271245.jpg

271247.jpg

I was wrecked and manky after it, but it was worth it for the result. The plan is to go to my folks tomorrow and hope to get the bike running, exactly a year to the minute of when the accident happened. :o

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Is this Stigmata in Swords?

No, it's Swords Ink- y'know, the shop over Domino's Pizza?

EDITED FOR CLARITY: If you're in Swords Village, go past Eddie Rockets and Chartbusters until you get to Domino's Pizza. There's a door way next to it leading into a stairwell. Go up the stairs to the second floor and Swords Ink is at the top on the opposite side to the beauty salon.
    Personally, I think the location is perfect- take a break from a long tattooing session and grab a pizza downstairs! :D

EDITED FOR CLARITY: If you're in Swords Village, go past Eddie Rockets and Chartbusters until you get to Domino's Pizza. There's a door way next to it leading into a stairwell. Go up the stairs to the second floor and Swords Ink is at the top on the opposite side to the beauty salon.
    Personally, I think the location is perfect- take a break from a long tattooing session and grab a pizza downstairs! :D

My bad, I thought you were talking about Stigmata. Didn't know there was another place. D'OH!! :o

Pizza and tattoos? Where do I sign up? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Right beside a garage aswell.
    Spotted this place last week while out working. Was waiting on a dominoes and seen the tattoo place right above it.
    Pizza and tattoo.
    Great combo

I reckon I might just go for that 13 tattoo, naturally I'd be giving a tad more than just the fiver though (it is for charity and all that). What's Swords like for parking these days? Haven't been there in years.

First day of college done and actually delighted to be back. Was really anxious this morning, no idea why but my heart was hammering in my chest but as soon as sat down and got back to it was grand. Had no real lectures today at all but just got excited about working again and throwing myself into it. My depression has been really bad lately and I think part of the problem is not having anything to fill my time during the summer. After all I went straight from second year, to a six month work placement in Lanzarote and then straight to third year. To go from that to almost four months where I didn't have so much as a part time job I think messed with my head a bit. I was so scared of being a final year yesterday and now I'm actually raring to go. Feeling properly happy for the first time in a month. Off to do my Spanish homework now. :D

Graaah. The course I was sampling and actually considered doing is full up so now I'm shunted onto another course called Step Forward. Getting sick of constantly being told there are no places left in the courses I've originally applied for. It's not like I left it too late- I applied back in March for crapsake! :mad:
    I've still got 9 more days left to sample Step Forward so I'll see how it goes but if they say to me "Well actually, Chubbs, we think <insert name of course I've never heard of> would be better suited to your needs" I'm throwing in the towel and walking away from the National Learning Network and trying someplace else. I've had enough of being bounced from one centre to another. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

15 more days till My tattoo. If it's not bad enough robert is getting booked out in this country, he's spent the last month guesting stateside. Feck off world, I liked it better when he was a secret and not booked out!

Just made up a nice pasta dinner for meself out of odds and ends in the fridge: Bit of chorizo, half a jar of passata, a chopped onion, mushrooms, 3 cloves of garlic and a feckload of chill flakes. Savage it was. :D
    My folks on the other hand opted for takeaway kebabs from Roxy's Chipper. I'm hiding in my room to avoid the intoxicating scent of bacony cheesy chips. Had an interesting day in college today- tackling the subject of healthy eating and nutrition, hence the fact I cooked for myself instead of loading up on a greasy takeaway.
    I feel proud I've avoided it but then again I have a small chunk of chocolate in the freezer that I might wire into later.
    Damn you Lindt! Bringing out deliscious new varieties when I'm trying to be healthy! *shakes fist*
    I also forgot to mention: I got my new glasses yesterday. Everything is in high definition now! D:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

My sis is moving to Scotland tomorrow and the reality is hitting me!
    Having a big family dinner tonight and just gonna chill out. gonna miss her something fierce but it's not that far away!!
    I'm also doing really well on slimming world! Not far off my first half stone! Woohoo!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Sure 'tis only a stones throw cross the pond Keille. Y'all be grand :)
    I damaged something in me hand tonight in rugby training.
    Got full set of studs on back of me hand and pretty swollen. Gotta love this sport ha.
    Also was in aldi earlier on and got meself a set of insulated hiking boots for when I'm out hunting.
    Wearing them now barefoot because the comfort is so great. Il give it a month enforce they're fcuked