Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving To/Living In London Megathread - ALL QUESTIONS TO GO HERE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Yeah, I'm looking for the quickest way in. I'm staying on Essex Road in Islington, so can get the bus down to accommodation from Angel tube stop. I'd like to drop my bag, then get into the centre for the interview after it.

So which train would I get to the seven sisters? I'll go check it out now....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Most trains from Stanstead to Liverpool St. should go through Seven Sisters.

I haven't had to do that route in a while but I remember seeing that it'd be quicker for me to get from Stanstead to Balham in South London by changing at Seven Sisters than the more obvious route of continuing on the train into Liverpool St. and getting the Northern Line down.

I can't imagine any quicker route for yourself. You'd also be able to get a bus to your accommodation from outside Highbury & Islington or do the 15 minute walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭jessiblah

Hi! I'm looking to move to London for summer 2014, on the assumption that I haven't got a job here. I was just wondering about accommodation - what's considered expensive or a deal? I'd be looking at renting it for three months and think I'll need to start figuring out how to fund it now. I couldn't do it this year (no chance of getting a job I want over there at the moment, and didn't get the internship either) so I want to be prepared for next year now! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

djpbarry wrote: »
    I use it fairly regularly. Exchange rates are pretty good and it rarely takes more than about 24 hours to complete a transfer.

Cheers for currencyfair also. Did a test transfer on it today and all was well. Was not happy paying £25 with Santander back in Jan. Quote was quite good I thought also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Muffinman1 wrote: »
    Hi Everyone,

Writing this on behalf of a friend but he'll be using my account.
    Here's his words.

Hi baically my girlfriend and I are interested in moving to London but have a few queries and would like to be able to get feedback.
    My girlfriend and I are both 25 with decent qualifications. My girlfriend has a degree in Office Management and experience in a factory while I have a Higher Certificate in Business and Computing and 5 years experience in Accounts Assistand and Administration roles. I'd just like to explore what is the realistic version of things in London.

Like what are our chances of finding a job in London and what is job market like over there? We aren't fussy and expecting to be walking in to big paying jobs and know it'll be low paying hard work but that is the type of people we are that want to work hard. Just we have fears that we will go over and find nothing. Also we know we need about £4000 starting over and can save that but can anyone recommend the best value areas to rent and places to be aware of. Also any other info would be great.
    We'd be prepared also I should note to take jobs outside our field and any additional info people may have would be great such as where to stay when first moving over, good recruitment agencies etc to apply and any info that is beneficial. The Irih Centre had a good booklet and it helps but its much more assuring hearing stories from people who have experienced it first hand and are aware of what the economy, job situation and other aspects are like in UK (which I know is only slightly better than here) but more importantly London.

1. what are our chances of finding a job in London and what is job market like over there?
    In my opinion it is excellent relative to Ireland. Lots of opportunities with international companies. Progression within these compansies also seems to be easier and more straightforward if you are willing to work hard and be ambitious.

2. Also we know we need about £4000 starting over and can save that but can anyone recommend the best value areas to rent and places to be aware of. Also any other info would be great.
    I think £4,000 for two people isnt very much to be honest. A one bedroom place will likely set you back £800 pcm. They will look for 1 month upfront and usually 6 weeks deposit. That doesnt leave very much money for travel, food, bills and other expenses. Re where to live there is huge variety and it depends on how important being in a nice area is to you and how much you are prepared to communte. Zone 3 is a decent commuting distance and you can get a decent one bed in certain parts for £800 pcm.

3. good recruitment agencies

Lots of recruitment agencies and some are better than others for particular industries. I have found Hays, Michael Page, Investigo, Alexander Mann, and RSG to be good

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Muffinman1

Cheers,

Can I ask roughly what is the amount you'd recommend?
    And what types of jobs are over and would you say it it is possible to pick up work quick. (We are hard working, ambitious and good workers).

Also when first moving can anyone suggest areas where to stay ie hostels etc when starting off.

• Does anyone have experience of living in Blackheath? I've seen some gorgeous flats there. I've visited Blackheath village and thought it was lovely, but didn't get to see a lot. I'm a bit put off by the proximity to Woolwich and other areas with a 'reputation' but I guess in London, you're never far away from a dodgy area.

ETA - what about the surrounding areas - Westcombe Park, Charlton, Maze Hill, Kidbrooke? I've seen quite a few places around there but have never heard of any of them, tbh! Not familar with that area at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Muffinman1 wrote: »
    Cheers,

Can I ask roughly what is the amount you'd recommend?
    And what types of jobs are over and would you say it it is possible to pick up work quick. (We are hard working, ambitious and good workers).

Also when first moving can anyone suggest areas where to stay ie hostels etc when starting off.

It depends entirely on how quickly you find work. Remember in most permenent jobs with a mothly salary you will be required to work a month in lieu so it will be a couple of months before you get paid. If it were me I would have enough to live on for 3 months plus the deposit for an apartment.

I cant give advice on specific jobs but have a look at some of the big job sites like Monster etc. I would imagine there are a huge amount of office managment, administration and accounts assitant type roles available on a temp and perm basis.

It may take you a while to find something that fits as the market is competitive but there is nothing stopping you picking up a part time job in a cafe to keep some income coming in in the meantime. Places like Pret A Manger are always hiring, pay about £7 ph and have shifts that finish at 2 pm which would give you time to get to an interview. They have an office in Victoria station where you walk in and fill out a form and you could be working within a couple of days. Just be mindful that in Pret a Manger case the actual staff working in the cafe make the decision on if they want to hire you or not. You work for one day and if you are hardworking and get on well with everyone then there wont be an issue. I'm sure Starbucks, Costa, Nero etc are similar

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Here's an unusual alternative to short-term cheap accommodation in London

http://guardiansoflondon.com/view-available-properties/

You act as a 'guardian' in a vacant property to prevent squatters moving in.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

A group have moved into an old church a hundred metres down the road from me here and I've been tempted to call in to ask could I have a look around.

It's been occupied by guardians for the past 6 months or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Muffinman1

S.M.B. wrote: »
    A group have moved into an old church a hundred metres down the road from me here and I've been tempted to call in to ask could I have a look around.

It's been occupied by guardians for the past 6 months or so.
    Are you in London?What the work possibilities life and is it hard to find good accommodation as in looking online it seems they all very poor condition homes

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭83ste

Henceforth all replies in this thread will be supplanted with this image:

902925_10151550053731043_1085304947_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Hi guys,

I'm thinking of moving to London for the summer (June to September).

I'm in college at the minute in Dublin. I'm 21. Next year will be my final year. I want to challenge myself and explore the world a little.

I've been to London a couple of times (a few days here, a few days there) and loved it. :)

I'm kind of looking for advice, experiences from those who've done it. critique of my plan.

In terms of my budget I think I'll need around €3,000/£2500 going over.

I plan on finding a house share or flat share with a room for between £400-500 pcm.

So two months rent and deposit (for worst case scenario can't find a job for ages) is £1500. Another £500 for living expenses for the first month (transport, food etc... keeping things as frugal as possible) and a £500 emergency fund (if I don't 'mind the gap' on tube platforms or have to abort mission and fly home :o).

I've been looking on Gumtree and this forum and from what I can tell my numbers seem relatively okay. Although I'll need a hotel (or hostel) for the first week (cheapest one available) until I get a room.

Few questions:

Are rooms available for 3 months? A lot of ads seem to have a minimum of one year.

I'll be moving over alone. Part of the reason I'm not asking any of my friends if they want to go is because I want a new experience for a summer, as opposed to a long holiday. How have you found it making new friends over there? Do they arise from flatmates, work etc... ??? This is also kind of a trail so-to-speak. When I graduate next year it looks like going abroad will be a very likely scenario and I want to see if London would suit.

What are jobs like for students atm? I'd be willing to work at anything from retail, to data entry jobs I see on Gumtree or anything else that pays the rent really.

I'll need to get a PPS number (National security number or whatever the uK equivalent is) and a bank a/c (I've seen people speak fondly of HSBC on this site). Is there any other little tasks like this I'll need to take care of?

I've zero landlord references as I live at home. Will this be a big problem for private flat shares? :confused:

Thanks for any replies guys!

I mentioned I might be leaving to my boss the other day. One of the main things stopping me was that I'd have quit my current part time job. He said it'd be hear for me when I get back. No P45 or anything :D So looks like its all systems go :D

Cheers,
    Dean

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Alright mate, I think you've your head well screwed on anyway regards how to go about this. Fair play.
    Are rooms available for 3 months? A lot of ads seem to have a minimum of one year.

Short lets are handily available in some places.
    I'll be moving over alone. Part of the reason I'm not asking any of my friends if they want to go is because I want a new experience for a summer, as opposed to a long holiday. How have you found it making new friends over there? Do they arise from flatmates, work etc... ???

You're right too. I moved over on my tod at the age of 19 but I had a job lined up and immediately took over the rent from my aunt's flat so I very much landed on my feet so to speak. I was living above a pub with a contingent of other young people who drank and worked there so I naturally fell in with the barman one night and that's how I got to know people. Similarly I also met people through work. You know yourself, for most people making friends is an organic process. However, don't be afraid to put yourself out there. Work is often a great starting point, depending on the job. Secondly you could also join a sports club (the GAA is great for this) or look at the many meet-up groups that are going on via the net. (Not for me but might be handy for you.)
    What are jobs like for students atm? I'd be willing to work at anything from retail, to data entry jobs I see on Gumtree or anything else that pays the rent really.

It depends on what you want from your trip really. Chances are you're not going to save anything working in low paid jobs in London, if that suits you then fair enough. If you're all about just having an experience then there are plenty of jobs available that will keep a roof over your head. Bar work is anti-social hours but great craic if you get the right place with the right people. I worked in a large chain pub with absolute legends for managers and the soundest people you could meet. The drinking and general craic was unreal. You could also look into construction if you've any experience there but it's a tough trade and a labourers wage isn't great. You should have no bother getting a retail, pub, restaurant type job. I did stage building for a while which helped with extra cash. PM me if you want more details.
    I'll need to get a PPS number (National security number or whatever the uK equivalent is) and a bank a/c (I've seen people speak fondly of HSBC on this site). Is there any other little tasks like this I'll need to take care of?

You need a national insurance number and a bank account. To get the bank account you need proof of address. There are stickies in the forum about this.
    I've zero landlord references as I live at home. Will this be a big problem for private flat shares?

Make one up. F*ck them like, how are they going to know? Recruit a sympathetic aunt or uncle to act as your landlord reference. Fill them full of sh*t in other words, you're only there for three months.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Try Gumtree short-let section for the 3 month house-share. You should find something there but obviously be careful.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Alright mate, I think you've your head well screwed on anyway regards how to go about this. Fair play.

Short lets are handily available in some places.

You're right too. I moved over on my tod at the age of 19 but I had a job lined up and immediately took over the rent from my aunt's flat so I very much landed on my feet so to speak. I was living above a pub with a contingent of other young people who drank and worked there so I naturally fell in with the barman one night and that's how I got to know people. Similarly I also met people through work. You know yourself, for most people making friends is an organic process. However, don't be afraid to put yourself out there. Work is often a great starting point, depending on the job. Secondly you could also join a sports club (the GAA is great for this) or look at the many meet-up groups that are going on via the net. (Not for me but might be handy for you.)

It depends on what you want from your trip really. Chances are you're not going to save anything working in low paid jobs in London, if that suits you then fair enough. If you're all about just having an experience then there are plenty of jobs available that will keep a roof over your head. Bar work is anti-social hours but great craic if you get the right place with the right people. I worked in a large chain pub with absolute legends for managers and the soundest people you could meet. The drinking and general craic was unreal. You could also look into construction if you've any experience there but it's a tough trade and a labourers wage isn't great. You should have no bother getting a retail, pub, restaurant type job. I did stage building for a while which helped with extra cash. PM me if you want more details.

You need a national insurance number and a bank account. To get the bank account you need proof of address. There are stickies in the forum about this.

Make one up. F*ck them like, how are they going to know? Recruit a sympathetic aunt or uncle to act as your landlord reference. Fill them full of sh*t in other words, you're only there for three months.

Cheers! Thanks for the help. You say you went over at 19. Aside from the practical stuff like finding a flat etc... what's your experience of moving to London. I'm not really worried about shakeups in my life but I am a little anxious I'll get over there and at the two week mark have a 'holy **** I'm totally alone in a foreign land' type spaz attack or something. :o

Try Gumtree short-let section for the 3 month house-share. You should find something there but obviously be careful.

Thanks. Just had a look and that seems to be more what I'm looking for! Cheers.

Cheers! Thanks for the help. You say you went over at 19. Aside from the practical stuff like finding a flat etc... what's your experience of moving to London. I'm not really worried about shakeups in my life but I am a little anxious I'll get over there and at the two week mark have a 'holy **** I'm totally alone in a foreign land' type spaz attack or something.

Well as I said above the practical stuff was sorted before I went over. I knew I would be taking over a flat my aunt was renting as she was moving in with her boyfriend and I had also arranged a job so that made the move a whole lot easier.

I found it fantastic to be honest and I found London initially to be an assault on the senses. I always had an interest in other countries, peoples and cultures and I found it very interesting to be working with and socialising with people from all over the world. I still do to be honest. I remember getting off the Tube in Oxford Circus for the first time and being in awe of the architecture and general hustle and bustle. I remember being entranced with the likes of Chinatown and Brick Lane (Bangladeshi area in East London); the sights, the smells and the sounds. I was delighted to have so much variety at my doorstep. If I wanted to go and eat Ethiopian food on a Tuesday afternoon, I could. I loved getting off at random tube stops and finding new pubs, new shops, new clubs, new people and new experience in general. You really are at the centre of it all.

Don't get me wrong, it wasn't a holiday either like. I worked as a machine operative in an industrial waste disposal complex. It was hard work, 60 hours per week and I was working with absolute lunatics whether they be Albanian nutters, Jamaican drug dealers on the run, eastern European headers who would drink a bottle of vodka at 8am etc etc. Half the lads in my yard were either coming out of jail or going into it. You need to work hard in London, there's no doubt about that. Of course I got homesick, and of course you sh*t yourself occasionally. Especially when you're so wrecked from work you wake up at the end of the tube line and don't know where the f*ck you are. That's all natural.

If I was you mate I'd give it a bash. It's three months of your life, and it's certainly better than scratching about at home waiting for college to start.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Well as I said above the practical stuff was sorted before I went over. I knew I would be taking over a flat my aunt was renting as she was moving in with her boyfriend and I had also arranged a job so that made the move a whole lot easier.

I found it fantastic to be honest and I found London initially to be an assault on the senses. I always had an interest in other countries, peoples and cultures and I found it very interesting to be working with and socialising with people from all over the world. I still do to be honest. I remember getting off the Tube in Oxford Circus for the first time and being in awe of the architecture and general hustle and bustle. I remember being entranced with the likes of Chinatown and Brick Lane (Bangladeshi area in East London); the sights, the smells and the sounds. I was delighted to have so much variety at my doorstep. If I wanted to go and eat Ethiopian food on a Tuesday afternoon, I could. I loved getting off at random tube stops and finding new pubs, new shops, new clubs, new people and new experience in general. You really are at the centre of it all.

Don't get me wrong, it wasn't a holiday either like. I worked as a machine operative in an industrial waste disposal complex. It was hard work, 60 hours per week and I was working with absolute lunatics whether they be Albanian nutters, Jamaican drug dealers on the run, eastern European headers who would drink a bottle of vodka at 8am etc etc. Half the lads in my yard were either coming out of jail or going into it. You need to work hard in London, there's no doubt about that. Of course I got homesick, and of course you sh*t yourself occasionally. Especially when you're so wrecked from work you wake up at the end of the tube line and don't know where the f*ck you are. That's all natural.

If I was you mate I'd give it a bash. It's three months of your life, and it's certainly better than scratching about at home waiting for college to start.

Ahhh!!! Just booked my flight there! :eek::D:D:eek: E26.99. Not to shabby.

No turning back now :p

Thanks man. I know what you mean about the hustle and bustle. I visited my friends in NYC last summer for a month. They were on J1s. The first night I found myself in Times Square at 1am. Could barely keep my jaw from dropping I was that amazed by it.

Was raging when I was leaving that I didn't to a J1 :mad: This summer going it alone in London should make for adrenaline filled moments, sheer panic and hopefully some good times too :).

I think whatever fears I have are overshadowed by the fear of never challenging myself or experiencing the world independently with only myself to fall back on.

I think I'll be glad of the work keeping me busy tbh. I'm anticipating a much reduced social circle over there. 3 months isnt a lot of time to form an active, bustling group of friends.

Meetup.com has been recommended to me though. Might give it a whirl.

One last question. Can someone explain the process and timescale I should expect to get set up. First and foremost I'll have to get an address before I can even apply for a National Insurance number or bank account (I think so anyway??). I'll land in Stanstead on Tuesday the 4th of June. Will probably spend the first night in a Travellodge or something. Wednesday 5th I'm going to go like the clappers to get myself a room somewhere.

Assuming I'm not being picky, how long would it on average take to get set up in a flatshare? Staying for days or weeks on end in a hotel would annihilate my bank balance.

Cheers

- Dean

Ahhh!!! Just booked my flight there! E26.99. Not to shabby.

Bastard, I had to fork out £150 for a flight home for the bank holiday weekend.
    I think whatever fears I have are overshadowed by the fear of never challenging myself or experiencing the world independently with only myself to fall back on.

If it goes completely tits up (and it probably won't) you're only a few hours from home. You'll be grand lad. Just don't spend all your coin on booze before you're set up and you'll be fine.
    I think I'll be glad of the work keeping me busy tbh. I'm anticipating a much reduced social circle over there. 3 months isnt a lot of time to form an active, bustling group of friends.

That's why I suggested trying to get into a good pub with a young staff, you'll be straight in to a social scene. Due to the sh*t hours they work they often end up boozing together. I've been on some legendary sessions while working in a pub. I couldn't think of a better set up for someone here for only three months.
    One last question. Can someone explain the process and timescale I should expect to get set up. First and foremost I'll have to get an address before I can even apply for a National Insurance number or bank account (I think so anyway??). I'll land in Stanstead on Tuesday the 4th of June. Will probably spend the first night in a Travellodge or something. Wednesday 5th I'm going to go like the clappers to get myself a room somewhere.

Assuming I'm not being picky, how long would it on average take to get set up in a flatshare? Staying for days or weeks on end in a hotel would annihilate my bank balance.

This is tricky enough. Perhaps ring the various landlords and arrange viewings before you head over? Try and arrange a load of viewings for the 5th and 6th from Ireland if you can. If you see a gaff you want, say you'll take it there and then. It's not a renter's market in London and it's a balls to get somewhere. Also prepare to have your deposit and first month's rent ready. There are a few stickies here already on that subject. Also don't shy away from the cheaper areas. They may be rough as a badgers arse but a lot of them are fierce close to transport links. Have a look at Turnpike Lane or Wood Green for instance.

(Also south London sucks balls!)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 THEBOSS46

:cool::cool::cool:Hi Mate, worked on and off in London since early eighties. Do you play any GAA games? Football or hurling? Head up to North London if you do. Go to RUYSLIP and contact the London GAA Club. You dont have to be great, just standard. Sign on, and them people will help you.
    Good Luck.

THEBOSS46 wrote: »
    :cool::cool::cool:Hi Mate, worked on and off in London since early eighties. Do you play any GAA games? Football or hurling? Head up to North London if you do. Go to RUYSLIP and contact the London GAA Club. You dont have to be great, just standard. Sign on, and them people will help you.
    Good Luck.

I played a bit of Gaelic football until I was 15 or so. Gave it up. I believe the GAA are fierce active abroad. Fair play. Not really for me I'm afraid. Thanks for the suggestion though! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I've been looking on Gumtree and this forum and from what I can tell my numbers seem relatively okay.
    Yep, I'd say so - looks like you've done your homework.
    It isn't, no, so you'll just have to dive right in. Of course, it all depends on what you're looking for. If you just want a general "life experience", then the suggestion of working in a bar might be a good one. However, maybe it's also worth considering looking for a job that might be in some way relevant to what you want to do post-uni? You might be able to get a job temping somewhere that could be useful to you - relevant work experience is gold dust on your CV. Just a suggestion.
    Assuming I'm not being picky, how long would it on average take to get set up in a flatshare?
    You could literally get sorted the day you start looking - the rental market in London moves very, very quickly. And I would take FTA69's advice - don't rule out areas close to the centre of London that have bad reputations, because chances are they're fine. There's no point in you coming over for a few months and you really want to experience as much as possible, then there's no point in you being based way out on the end of a tube line - apart from anything else, you'll spend a fortune on transport. There are some exceptions, but generally speaking, what's considered dodgy/trendy seems to change on an almost monthly basis.

All in all, it looks like you've got your head screwed on, so I think you'll be fine. As has been said already, at the end of the day, if things don't work out, you can chalk it down to experience and you haven't got far to go to get home.

djpbarry wrote: »
    However, maybe it's also worth considering looking for a job that might be in some way relevant to what you want to do post-uni? You might be able to get a job temping somewhere that could be useful to you - relevant work experience is gold dust on your CV. Just a suggestion.

Was thinking of this today. An unpaid internship crossed my mind but finances would run out rapidly.

Anyone any good UK jobs websites that'd be along the lines of their version of Jobs.ie. Google throws up a lot but I'm unsure as to which one is the most popular. I'd take anything in business/marketing/finance sectors.

I may also email a few SMEs and see if they'd take me on. Even as an office donkey for a day a week :o

But I'm mostly going away for life experience/challenge myelf. Work experience would be the icing on the cake.

Was thinking of this today. An unpaid internship crossed my mind but finances would run out rapidly.
    Jaysus no - don't be doing unpaid work!
    I'd take anything in business/marketing/finance sectors.
    In that case, I would definitely suggest you get in touch with temping agencies - I can't imagine you'd have too much trouble getting something in one/all of the above.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Any ideas of where we can start looking for a job before we go over? Thinking about going for the Summer. Real reason is to make money for college next year. This thread has been very informative.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭kelledy

i done somthn similar ... but my choice was edinburgh and i was going over to a girl . what i will say is its going to take roughly 4 weeks to organise a NI number. bank ac will vary from bank to bank. from my experience most places want a NI number before hiring . the second u have an address book ur NI num interview... the waiting time varies but as i said ..expect to wait roughly 3/4 weeks

Any ideas of where we can start looking for a job before we go over? Thinking about going for the Summer. Real reason is to make money for college next year. This thread has been very informative.
    If it's money you're after then you're probably better off staying in Ireland - living costs in London are just too high to make such a plan viable.

kelledy wrote: »
    i done somthn similar ... but my choice was edinburgh and i was going over to a girl . what i will say is its going to take roughly 4 weeks to organise a NI number. bank ac will vary from bank to bank. from my experience most places want a NI number before hiring . the second u have an address book ur NI num interview... the waiting time varies but as i said ..expect to wait roughly 3/4 weeks

Crap, really?!? :eek:

For a bank account I'm going to get a HSBC Passport account. You can start the process from Ireland and can use foreign address verification/ ID etc... They charge you £8 every month in charges. For the saving in hassle, and the fact that I'll only be there for three months, it's worth it.

I plan on staying in a travel lodge or something similar for a few days when I land and organize a flatshare pronto. No taking in the sights until I've a roof over my head.

The Gumtree short-term sharing section seem to have a lot of ads offering 3 month rooms available right away. I can't stay in a hotel for too longs as itd destroy my budget.

The National Insurance Number thing seems like it'd be a pain in the ass. I'm going to start the process ASAP but you're right, AFAIK I'll need an address first. Sigh. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭kelledy

Crap, really?!? :eek:

For a bank account I'm going to get a HSBC Passport account. You can start the process from Ireland and can use foreign address verification/ ID etc... They charge you £8 every month in charges. For the saving in hassle, and the fact that I'll only be there for three months, it's worth it.

I plan on staying in a travel lodge or something similar for a few days when I land and organize a flatshare pronto. No taking in the sights until I've a roof over my head.

The Gumtree short-term sharing section seem to have a lot of ads offering 3 month rooms available right away. I can't stay in a hotel for too longs as itd destroy my budget.

The National Insurance Number thing seems like it'd be a pain in the ass. I'm going to start the process ASAP but you're right, AFAIK I'll need an address first. Sigh. :(
    once u have an address u will get it handy. like wait for appointment will be 3 weeks r so . gives u time t look. i have a bank of scotland ac and it caused d most hassle of all

For a bank account I'm going to get a HSBC Passport account. You can start the process from Ireland and can use foreign address verification/ ID etc... They charge you £8 every month in charges.
    Balls to that - Lloyds don't charge anything:

http://www.lloydstsb.com/current_accounts/new_to_the_uk.asp
    The National Insurance Number thing seems like it'd be a pain in the ass.
    It's really not that big a deal - I wouldn't be worrying about it too much.