Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert Honours Irish

• 14-05-2013 11:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 16

Hi Guys,

Can anyone help me out with how long should b spent in each section of irish paper 2 exam? I'm an external student teaching myself so any help on this would b great!

Thanks!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

You have 185 minutes, and there is 200 marks available on the paper.

My advice would be to spend 50 minutes on each of the comprehensions, 30 minutes on the story, 25 minutes on the poem, and 30 minutes on the litríocht breise.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭hitchcock

Also, my teacher advised us to work backwards through paper 2 as the reading comprehensions can really absorb all of your time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭opticalillusion

hitchcock wrote: »
    Also, my teacher advised us to work backwards through paper 2 as the reading comprehensions can really absorb all of your time :)

This.

Reading them first fooked me over last year. You spend so long trying to paraphrase them too so your not quoting word for word, that you don't notice the time slipping away.

I'm an external candidate also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

hitchcock wrote: »

I don't think I'd advise this as the conprehensions are worth 100 marks! The poems and stories are worth roughly 30/40 each. Instead of working backwards I'd stick to a time limit. Once you hit a certain time, move on.