Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Golf Betting MegaThread *** See Mod warning in post #2 & 214***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭benny79

Jesus the odds really dropped when the lads gave their predictions last night on sky! I take it Paddy was watching :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

This talk of Rahm as a chance is nuts - I'll never bet again on the Masters if Rahm wins - if he makes the cut fair play - top 20 outstanding.

I have him as an each way bet.....

....along with Fowler, Leishman, Westwood and Fleetwood.

....with Leishman to be leading after round #1

....currently mulling over Pieters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

I have 18 golfers backed at a total cost of €135.

I also have a bet from last year on Thomas Pieters winning a major this year at 50/1. Have €20 on that.

So a Pieters win and 6 of my lads in the top 7 and I'm getting double quilted andrex rather than SuperValu own brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

A few small longshot bets: Leishman & Oosthuizen outright, Haas top American, Kjeldsen top 5.

I have Ross Fisher e/w @110/1 and Fowler to win @20/1. I really think its Rory's year though but theirs no valve at 7/1 unless you are going to lump on.. But his odds might go up when he's a couple of shots behind after round 1 or 2 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭paintitblack

Went for
    Day(18/1) and Scott(35/1) to win.
    Knox(200/1) Reed(80/1) and Haas(80/1) e/w
    Looking forward to it now, will probably place a couple more bets after the second round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

i don't like mcilroy, but backed him after dj injured himself,
    still fancy pieters to do well and have him backed too though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

AnneFrank wrote: »
    i don't like mcilroy, but backed him after dj injured himself,

One minute you reckon McIlroy will miss the cut then because DJ is injured he not only has a chance of making the cut, but he is in the hunt to win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Put a decent amount on Rory .
    I think you are well insured each way on him .
    So sort of a free bet on win.

Probably too much heart in above bet .

Spieth all day over Rory here you'd imagine ?

Small bets on (all each way)
    Spieth again imagine your well covered with a place
    Schwarztel
    Phil

Seve OB wrote: »
    One minute you reckon McIlroy will miss the cut then because DJ is injured he not only has a chance of making the cut, but he is in the hunt to win!

Well not a minute, i think it's a day or so but thanks for the voyeurism !
    But yes i do, i think Mcilroys issues are mental, never technique he's the most talented out there.

I've backed Schwartzel E/W and Fitzpartick on the exchange to win and will look to cash out at some stage on him to leave me with a free bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

Well not a minute, i think it's a day or so but thanks for the voyeurism !
    But yes i do, i think Mcilroys issues are mental, never technique he's the most talented out there.

Ouch !!!!
    Called out !!!
    Unlucky !!!!

Can you get a good signal from that Attic ?

claiva wrote: »
    Ouch !!!!
    Called out !!!
    Unlucky !!!!

Can you get a good signal from that Attic ?

haha yes that's stephen my troll,
    I bloody hope so, i see sullivan had a good start, i have him at 200 to 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Have speith, fowler, Rahm, lowry and garcia various amounts e/w

looking good so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Judging by all your bets am I the only one that was mad enough to do a 15 euro each way bet on garcia last week? he was 50/1 skybet.

Put 10 win on jay day i always do at the masters and an outside 10 win on Bubba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

looking good so far...

Banker.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Judging by all your bets am I the only one that was mad enough to do a 15 euro each way bet on garcia last week? he was 50/1 skybet.

Put 10 win on jay day i always do at the masters and an outside 10 win on Bubba.

Yes - he is just not good enough on the greens here. Sure he ruled himself out of ever winning here himself a few years ago.

Rory 9/1 after his start.

Get on it e/w

Well the e/w is probably down big time to x places now ?

Jaysus - amazing how odds are changing with paddy power - after a player has a bad hole.

Spieth 10/1

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭tbayers

It was a quadruple bogey in fariness

tbayers wrote: »
    It was a quadruple bogey in fariness

he went to 22/1 after that.

But that was a great bet at that time - so dropped quick , got a bird now back to 14/1

John Rahm - Fav for masters.

As 5 time major champ posts 1 under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Goona do Spieth today.

If the wind is the same as yesterday, the guys out early should have a chance to get a good number up,
    Mcilroy did well to fight back in fairness to him, but what a round from hoffman, westwood too on the back nine in that wind, i don't have sky, what was harrington like as a commentator ?

Only good value there at the moment is Phil 14/1 (E/W) - IMO ?

Willet 100/1 is interesting.

Jaysus - amazing how odds are changing with paddy power - after a player has a bad hole.

Spieth 10/1

Agree... hence was I was waiting for odds to go up on Mcilroy today,but no they went down he's 7 shots behind and still favourite at 11/2! No flies on our paddy! :rolleyes:

what was harrington like as a commentator ?

if he was on, I didn't hear him

benny79 wrote: »
    Agree... hence was I was waiting for odds to go up on Mcilroy today,but no they went down he's 7 shots behind and still favourite at 11/2! No flies on our paddy! :rolleyes:

I've money on Rory.

But when his odds went up - he was a great bet on front 9.

I've money on Rory.

But when his odds went up - he was a great bet on front 9.

Oh I agree totally.. I was watching them all Night :D but unfortunately Paddys was closed and I dont have an online account (Thank god ..lol..)

But 7 shots behind I was expecting at least 10/1+ even this morning..

Only good value there at the moment is Phil 14/1 (E/W) - IMO ?

Willet 100/1 is interesting.

I just had a look there even though i already have a load of bets !
    Ernie Els is 200 to 1 at level par, i know his putting is shocking at the moment
    but still, with the conditions it could be an old head that prevails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭martinkop

Ernie Els is 200 to 1 at level par, i know his putting is shocking at the moment

Conditions improving for weekend, some wind today but not like Thursday. Sat and Sun are sunny and calm. Expect serious movement on the leaderboard and greens to get very fast!!!:D

I know Ernie is not that old.

But part of these events is stamina - you find many of the older guys fade as the holes go up.

Fella said to me yesterday that they throw a few quid in a pot together and put a load of bets on. Personally I don't get that, just stick with your own bets and that way you can't be blamed for anything or pass the blame to anyone.

Anyway, he goes on to tell me they saw Woosnam in at 2,500/1 so he was worth a €5 e/w. I told him he may as well of chucked the tenner in the bin and his logic was to compare it to Leicester!

Some people just shouldn't be allowed near a bookie!

Seve OB wrote: »
    Fella said to me yesterday that they throw a few quid in a pot together and put a load of bets on. Personally I don't get that, just stick with your own bets and that way you can't be blamed for anything or pass the blame to anyone.

Anyway, he goes on to tell me they saw Woosnam in at 2,500/1 so he was worth a €5 e/w. I told him he may as well of chucked the tenner in the bin and his logic was to compare it to Leicester!

Some people just shouldn't be allowed near a bookie!

All these old lads are grand for a day or two,

But just off the top of the head who has held on.

Langer
    Watson
    Ells was great at open..

Has Feddie even lasted till sunday ?

Any others ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I put 20 cent e/w on Sandy lyle ;)

He was my favourite golfer growing up, so I always back him.... small, for sentimentality and you know, maybe, just maybe ;)

Did anyone do Hoffman this morning?.

I was surprised to see he was still 40-1 considering he had a sizeable lead.

Ok I get it, there was 3 rounds left and he could easily have fallen away bu the end of today but even a par today could see him with a few shot lead into the weekend.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

*How to succeed in Master's betting*

Step 1: Allow Slave1 to place his bets

Step 2: Find out Slave1 bets

Step 3: Bet on someone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Fred Couples seems to be having a nice day out so far (-2 on 4th). Not too long ago was 500/1, now around 50/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

-3 on 5th, Joint 3rd. Watch the prices collapse if Fred continues like that. @34/41 starting to appear and just 4places.

I have 3 ponies left but they're all doing good

Garcia, fowler and couples

Rikand wrote: »

I talked myself out of Garcia

Your a loyal soul Rik. :D

How much have you on him

I talked myself out of Garcia

Your a loyal soul Rik. :D

How much have you on him

3€ e\w @40's

I'm not a real gambler. I just like a few interest bets

3 win on Rickie @ 18's

1 e\w on Freddy @ 250/1

Rikand wrote: »

Im on fowler and rose still in contention. had knox, grillo and lowry aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Threw a couple of quid on Justin Thomas E/W at 40 and Kaymer E/W at 150. Liking the look of the latter now though. Excellent round today and has history of grinding out a win in trying conditions.

A few small longshot bets: Leishman & Oosthuizen outright, Haas top American, Kjeldsen top 5.

Well I think they'll all make the cut but 'longshot' is definitely the mot juste...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Threw a couple of quid on Justin Thomas E/W at 40 and Kaymer E/W at 150. Liking the look of the latter now though. Excellent round today and has history of grinding out a win in trying conditions.

He has a horrendous record around Augusta tough. Hence his huge price from the start. Never finished inside the top 30 in the last 10 or so years

Pieters wins this I'm taking €1300 off PP. Make it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

the lawman wrote: »
    Pieters wins this I'm taking €1300 off PP. Make it so.

What odds did you get on him if you don't mind me asking? Best of luck!

NDWC wrote: »
    What odds did you get on him if you don't mind me asking? Best of luck!

Bet on him last year to win a major in 2017. €50 at 25/1