Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Provincial Schools Cups 2013-2014 [MOD NOTE POST 1]

1404142434446»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭15Pete

Ireland could have won that game today in my opinion. The game hinged on a small number of crucial mistakes. An Irish lineout on the English 5 metre line was lost and a few phases later, one of our poor lads tried to keep the ball alive by attempting a risky offload, and an alert English player intercepted for a try.

In the second half, with the Irish defence proving stingy and the game poised at 22-14, Ireland kicked to the corner from a penalty in the English half, and missed touch resulting in an English scrum from which Ireland never recovered.

Nevertheless, Ireland put in a good performance against a clearly bigger team, and can be proud of their achievements.

The players that stood out to me were Stockdale, Power, and the captain Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Board_man wrote: »
    My expected team to play France in the return U19 fixture. Given the squad announcement last week and the players who played yesterday I can imagine there to be almost a completely new team.
    Michael Lagan
    Steven Weir
    Mike O'Donnell
    Cian Romaine
    Josh Davidson
    Marc Kelly
    Conor Oliver
    Ross Todd
    Conor Young
    Josh Bingham
    Cian O'Donohugh
    Fergal Cleary
    Jack Owens
    Greg O'Shea
    Stephen Fitzgerald

Shenanigans!!

• Registered Users Posts: 958 ✭✭✭ArmchairQB

Hardly a coincidence that Hagz got it spot on must have had the inside info

IRELAND U19 to play France U19 – Tuesday 22nd April.
    15. Stephen Fitzgerald (Ard Scoil Ris – MUNSTER)
    14. Greg O'Shea (Shannon – MUNSTER)
    13. Jack Owens (Campbell College – ULSTER)
    12. Fergal Cleary (Clongowes – LEINSTER)
    11. Cian O'Donoghue (Clongowes – LEINSTER)
    10. Josh Bingham (Methodist College – ULSTER)
    9. Conor Young (Instonians – ULSTER)

1. Michael Lagan (Methodist College – ULSTER)
    2. Steven Weir (Methodist College – ULSTER)
    3. Mike O'Donnell (Crescent College – MUNSTER)
    4. Cian Romaine (Buccaneers – CONNACHT)
    5. Josh Davidson (Sullivan Upper – ULSTER)
    6. Marc Kelly (Cistercian College – CONNACHT)
    7. Conor Oliver (Blackrock College – LEINSTER)
    8. Ross Todd (Sullivan Upper School – ULSTER)

Replacements
    16. Pat O'Toole (Corinthians – CONNACHT)
    17. Liam O'Connor (Christian Brothers – MUNSTER)
    18. Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College – LEINSTER)
    19. Alex Thompson (Methodist College – ULSTER)
    20. Stephen McVeigh (Clongowes – LEINSTER)
    21. Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere – LEINSTER)
    22. Tomas Quinlan (Cork Constitution – MUNSTER)
    23. Steven McMahon (Garryowen – MUNSTER)

Only 3 starting from Leinster has to be some sort of conspiracy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 yuinc

Owens at 13 is interesting.. Ulster are producing some talented big backs.. and a small special one.

ArmchairQB wrote: »
    Hardly a coincidence that Hagz got it spot on must have had the inside info

I didn't get it spot on! Board_man did. Himself and Fellasfellas are in cahoots with one another.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

Hagz wrote: »
    I didn't get it spot on! Board_man did. Himself and Fellasfellas are in cahoots with one another.

I have no idea who this "board_man" is. I actually guessed the first team, had no idea on the second one.

Not at all... it's not like they are playing the strongest team possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Not at all. 7 started the last game and virtually everyone in the squad of 26 has been given a start in 1 of the games so no conspiracy.
    Hopefully we see most of this years schools players continuing in the sport be it at u20s level or j1-5 and we don't see large numbers fall out of participating in the sport as so often occurs..

It was a joke lads.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5 jakedood

Very interesting team... as an ulster man im interested to see how the link up between the ulster players develops. Some of you may be surprised at their effectiveness, conor young being a very good fly half, ross todd provides a lot of grit, hard work and leadership, jack owens is very talented and josh bingham although not the greatest kicker is a very very good controller of the back line, he is exceptionally composed. Alsp Michael lagan at loosehead is a strong prop, and has won the maximum of 3 ulster schools cups, playing every semior year amd winning which is a serious accomplishment

Ireland u19s lose to France 12-8

1 try from the Irish coming from winger Cian O'Donoghue.

Cian O'Donoghue scores a lot of tries.

Strange that they have highlights of the second game and not the first...

• Site Banned Posts: 3 westsdiete

St. Michael's clear favourites for the senior cup next year right?

Rock/Clongowes have a lot to replace but can't be discounted. Especially considering Rock have won the last two JCT's. Belvo will be there abouts too.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Stanza2

Is there any details of the Irish U19 squad being sent to Portugal for the FIRA sevens competition?

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Board_man

Stanza2 wrote: »
    Is there any details of the Irish U19 squad being sent to Portugal for the FIRA sevens competition?

Team last week which won ye carrickfergus 7s consisted of:
    Jack Cullen,Munster,captain
    Steven McMahon,Munster
    Sean McNulty,Munster
    Greg O'shea,Munster
    Sean ohagan,ulster
    Ben Kilkenny, Munster
    Zach McCall, ulster
    Nigel Simpson, ulster
    Jack Milligan, ulster
    And roughly 4 exiles.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Board_man

Harrison brewer set to join the team for Portugal, he missed the camp last week due to McCorry Final with terenure

• Registered Users Posts: 13 lukey967

Any Word on who is getting into academies for next season?

lukey967 wrote: »
    Any Word on who is getting into academies for next season?

For Leinster the word is Peadar Timmins, Nick McCarthy, Ross Byrne, Harrison Brewer, Rory O'Loughlin, Ian Fitzpatrick and Cian Kelleher. Gary Ringrose is being rumoured as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 CinemaScorsese

Snegg wrote: »
    Maybe in the Rock game, but I'll give you my house if Andrews finish within 15 points of Clongowes...

Only realised now but you're quite lucky you're not homeless... (27-15)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 mwdwfo

Leinster under-17, under-18 and under-19 underage squads started training this week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep