Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I'm a woman on my own stop threatening me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

theteal wrote: »
    eh, follow the rules of the road apparently

Well his version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Is it legal to put videos of people in youtube like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Any good ideas of how to handle this guy if I see him?
    start shouting 'I'm a man on my own!HELP!HELP!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blackbird99

throw a carton of sour milk out the passenger window at him

What sort of animal do you think kidchameleon is?carrying around cartons of sour milk with him!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

imagine being a guard these days, id say you would have these knobs coming in the whole time, with their cameras, telling tales on drivers. say they have some laugh about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

No need for vengence, he probably has leathery balls from all the cycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Is it legal to put videos of people in youtube like that?
    Yes, anything filmed in a public place can be published, once it doesn't contain any personal information (names or addresses etc)
    Jester252 wrote: »
    Well his version.
    I'm pretty sure the Rules of the Road says that drivers should generally stay on their own side of the road. Or have you a different version?
    Try driving on your own side of the road.
    She may very well have been afraid and was trying to get someone to come to her aid.
    Nonsense - no fear there. If there was fear, she wouldn't have opened the door. She'd have locked the door and started phoning for help. But no, she decided it was time to teach the insignificant cyclist that he's supposed to bow down and give way to cars on his side of the road. Bad decision, lady.
    Zyzz wrote: »
    No I understood your point. But submit the video footage from the 'little helmet cam' to the Gards and they will learn when they get stung for dangerous driving or whatever they deem suitable.
    Again you're implying I said something I didn't. I've no issues with somebody who wears a cam, I'll be picking one up for my car at some stage. But rest assured if I see dangerous driving I'm not going to ram up the other driver's hole, beep and flash them, get them to pull over so I can give them a right bollocking. I'll simply report it.
    Nice theory lads. Try it out and see how far you get with the Gardai.
    You can tell by his rapid head movements he's pissed because nobody is angering him and giving him a chance to rant.
    Perhaps it's news to you, but cyclists need to observe what is happening all around them, to make sure that they don't suddenly meet idiots in SUVs driving on the wrong side of the road. The 'rapid head movements' are for observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

imagine being a guard these days, id say you would have these knobs coming in the whole time, with their cameras, telling tales on drivers. say they have some laugh about them.

Well thats great,
    How do they decide when its a genuine?

I had a guy cut me up before, it can happen but I gave him a blast of the horn, next lights he was out and walked back giving it loads, threatening me and demanding I fight him on the road, talk of a baseball bat around my head I believe.
    I told him to piss off, but even a s bloke I was concerned, I took his number and went to the nearest station, I felt that how he went on was a step too far, if he got out and said whats your problem, Id have engaged with him.

I went to the nearest Garda station to report (not something I do) it as it was too much to go mental like that, but found he had followed me there, i reported him and the guy was comletely different, the gardai treated it like it was handbags at dawn and suggested we shake hands, I declined and left but was pissed off about their attitude, he was the kind of guy that goes around threatening people, but when you stand up to them in some way they are different about it.

If I had taken him up on his offer for a fight at the side of the road, for all I know Id have ended up with a screwdriver in my chest.

At the best it might have made him think twice about threatening people.

Compared to that in this thread, the guy on the bike, while confrontational, from what I could see and my experience not aggressive, I think he was right, but that is not going to win any points being right, but he could have been more polite.
    But from the clip, the woman is accusing him of being in the middle of the road, and this insistance that she is in the right, when she really should have given way to him, as she is taking up the wrong side.

The whole purpose of the thread is based on her taking the "you're attacking me, Im a woman" approach, which I find sickening. As Im sure even though there was no threat, the Gardai would take that matter exceptionally seriously, in contrast to my experience above.
    She wasn't under threat of assault to me, she opened the door, it was said she had the keys out, she held up traffic when she could have just driven off.

Its better off just accepting that people will be jackasses at times (everyone at some time is I think) and just keep going to avoid it when we aren't being one ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

RainyDay wrote: »
    Yes, anything filmed in a public place can be published, once it doesn't contain any personal information (names or addresses etc)

Doesn't he call out and film her car registration number? Isn't that personal information that can lead to that person being identified?

So what is her name?

i

the reg is in the public domain and the information of the ownership of the car isnt freely available

So what is her name?

I don't know. I was asking the question;Can't a reg. number lead to the identity of a person? Can that in turn be interpreted as identifying a person. Legally speaking. I don't know, I'm asking you as you seem to have some knowledge on this. Maybe you're a legal expert?

I'm pretty sure the Rules of the Road says that drivers should generally stay on their own side of the road. Or have you a different version?

Look at his videos. In one he fails to pull over to let a guards escort past and in most he cycles on the right hand side of the road. He has almost caused an accident for another cyclist by stopping to give out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

Oh look, another cyclist v. driver thread. What's it been this time, 4 weeks?

Its dickhead v. crazy this time.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Its dickhead v. crazy this time.
    Yes, I agree. Well partially....it's dickhead v. "crazy and in the wrong" in my opinion. It probably won't take long to turn into cyclist v. driver though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Cant we all just agree to hate everybody?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Can that in turn be interpreted as identifying a person. Legally speaking.

Why do you think you cannot identify someone? The press do it all the time. He didn't write a story or a article about the woman he just posted a video of her having a meltdown in public. If someone wants to misbehave in public then they face the consequences.
    If your logic was correct then every car should drive around with their number plate covered.

imagine if the lads who fought in 1916 saw this video and that people go around with cameras on their heads to film incidents like this, then bitch and moan to the cops about it and put it on youtube, what a pathetic way to carry on, someone pulls out in front of you, wow, its a mistake, get on with it and get a life.the cyclist needs to get a girlfriend fast.

Thats a virtual facsimile of your previous post, what the hell have the lads from 1916 got to do with it?
    What if the lads on the Somme saw it? like when, back in 1916 or do you mean if they travelled forward in time or the last remaining people alive, doubt there are many/any.
    So these lads from 1916, Id say they'd be a bit more concerned about the state the nation has taken or the astonishment,awe,shock of travelling in time and the state of the nation, they might back out of the fighting and take a pledge to King and Country, hurrah for the Union! long live the King.

And whats this requirement to have a girlfriend too?

edit, shes a bitch he's an idiot, shes in the wrong regarding driving, doesnt have a clue and will probably try to have someone strung uo at some stage if not already, he should just get on with it because he cycles a lot and he's only getting himself stressed out when he's going to face this all the time, just get a car and mow everyone down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Zulu wrote: »
    Check out his gem if you have the time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWnlsQwzBZI

He's a spanner.

he's not one for cycle lanes.. then making it obvious he was taking about Audi man hoping for a bit of confrontation..
    spanner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

432,000 hits. At this rate he will soon be a rich man! I suggest he buys a tranquilliser gun & straps that to his helmet too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Yes, I agree. Well partially....it's dickhead v. "crazy and in the wrong" in my opinion. It probably won't take long to turn into cyclist v. driver though.

but of a self fulfilling prophesy there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Apart from her being completely in the wrong what is with "I'm a woman on my own.." line ?

It's not all about cyclist -v- Driver thread as their are portions dedicated to her insufferable attitude (I'm a woman on my own and throwing a tantrum...)!
    It's women like her with that mental attitude that you'd find in offices crying when things don't go their way; or they are called on their crap. Tears flow, followed by some line about gender inequality & is usually pulled in-front of naive male superiors too. Disgusting Attitude had my more than a few females working in a male dominated environment in this country!

Looking at his videos makes me glad to not be commuting in city traffic though. I'm happy out down here in the country thanks much :)
    Will give him a well done in his video below though

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Why do you think you cannot identify someone? The press do it all the time. He didn't write a story or a article about the woman he just posted a video of her having a meltdown in public. If someone wants to misbehave in public then they face the consequences.
    If your logic was correct then every car should drive around with their number plate covered.

:D I never said you can't identify someone Somebody else asked the question about the legality of filming someone and RainyDay said it was legal providing the person wasn't identifiable.
    All I was doing was clarifying it with RainyDay.

It's not my 'logic' as you say.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

What a tool.....seems he just cycles the streets looking for drama or an excuse to get stuck in some one.

Merch wrote: »
    Thats a virtual facsimile of your previous post, what the hell have the lads from 1916 got to do with it?
    What if the lads on the Somme saw it? like when, back in 1916 or do you mean if they travelled forward in time or the last remaining people alive, doubt there are many/any.
    So these lads from 1916, Id say they'd be a bit more concerned about the state the nation has taken or the astonishment,awe,shock of travelling in time and the state of the nation, they might back out of the fighting and take a pledge to King and Country, hurrah for the Union! long live the King.

And whats this requirement to have a girlfriend too?

edit, shes a bitch he's an idiot, shes in the wrong regarding driving, doesnt have a clue and will probably try to have someone strung uo at some stage if not already, he should just get on with it because he cycles a lot and he's only getting himself stressed out when he's going to face this all the time, just get a car and mow everyone down.

b

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

He was spoiling for a row with his camera. Being in the right doesn't give you a right to be a dick. He was hindering the traffic behind that woman as much as that woman was hindering him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Hmmm, from looking at that video, couldn't he have just cycled on the footpath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I don't know why but I've watched it a couple of times this morning (I ignored it as nothing yesterday but it appears to have caught on like a candle to a cheap christmas tree) and it has inspired a few thoughts:

1 - damn, that guys voice is very annoying. where did he pick up that accent from? it's somewhere between Ken Early and somebody trying to do a pi$$-take of a Chinese accent

2 - she is some piece of work, militant in her ignorance of the rules of the road, she clearly thinks bikes should not be on the road. Obstruction on her side and she thinks that she has right of way??? Or is it just because it was a bike that was oncoming? She mentions "road tax" :confused:, him being "in the middle of the road" (is he supposed to go on the path?). Her conniving side really shone through with her "don't threaten me" line delivered in calm and calculated fashion in between the bouts of faux victimised wolf crying.

3 - am I the only one who thinks he might have actually walked by the car with a grumble until she opened the door and made it interesting? also, it would have been over at the 1 minute mark had she actually driven off like he told her instead of commencing her screams

4 - the guy is clearly a tool but he's not wrong (even with his ever so punch inducing voice)

5 - what would you, as the driver, do in the same situation? so the road was initially clear and you started your maneuver to pass the parked car a bit early - crap, here comes traffic around the corner, a bike no less. I'm too far out into the road to allow him to pass. There's still plenty of room on my left before the parked car. Do you:

A) Put your hand up, acknowledge your mistake, pull in to the ample space on your left, allow traffic to pass and wait for your opening?
    B) Sit there, don't move, make the bloke get off his bike and walk/cycle on the footpath?

Seriously, who opts for option B?

6 - I doff my cap to whomever planned the layout of that road!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

:D I never said you can't identify someone Somebody else asked the question about the legality of filming someone and RainyDay said it was legal providing the person wasn't identifiable.
    All I was doing was clarifying it with RainyDay.

It's not my 'logic' as you say.

Ah right too many posts to keep up with on this thread so apologies if I misquoted you.
    Noone has a right to privacy in a public place. There are data protection limits on what can be done with things like cctv but for someone melting down in publiclike this woman I would argue it is in the public interest to know that people like this are out there

squod wrote: »
    432,000 hits. At this rate he will soon be a rich man! I suggest he buys a tranquilliser gun & straps that to his helmet too.

h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

What a tool.....seems he just cycles the streets looking for drama or an excuse to get stuck in some one.

Have to agree. Seems like there is something wrong with him. But I can confidently say he will be found in a heap at some stage with his camera and bike rammed up his ass.

he probably still wont be able to afford a car:D
    The strange thing is, the majority of people who have bicycles also have cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

This is absolute internet gold !

Everyday i check the most thanked posts of the day and usually its a mish-mash of you laugh you lose etc but seeing the top 12 / nearly every thanked post belonging to this thread i knew i was in for a treat. Right from the "whats the story here buddy" to "good on ya lad" was absolute magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

She's in the wrong. Don't care about his attitude. It doesn't matter. What would she have done, if he were driving a car. Invited him to use the path? Over take on the right, into oncoming traffic? Hope her friends, family and work colleagues see it and rip the piss out of her.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Oran17

Reminds me of this video .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Hmmm, from looking at that video, couldn't he have just cycled on the footpath?
    Why should he commit a road traffic offence by doing that?

because they would be laughing at how much of a pussy this guy is. if he had a girlfriend to hang out with,even a friend (likely he has none) then he might have better things to do than go around looking for trouble on his little bike being jealous of people with nice cars.
    he probably still wont be able to afford a car:D

How much of a pussy he is?? ok, well Ive come across worse I can tell you, Id prefer how he is than the sort who'd smash my car window in to get a radio they will flog for a quick fix.
    Im interested in cars myself, but having used a bicylcle and motorbikes and driven some other stuff, I can tell you there are a lot of douchebags on the road and you see them more when you are close up or have to pay more attention than just oblivious morons.
    I dont see how him having a girlfriend/friends or not would change why he would do what he does or not, personally I think he could do with rowing back a bit, but the last clip showing him noticing a kid and I think someone else nearly getting run over shows he is a at least conscientious and aware of whats going on, I think a bit more of him for that.

Also, its seems to be by choice that he cycles, so whether someone can afford a car or not seems a bit irrelevant for a start, Im sure there are plenty of people that cant afford to run a car, not sure why you are cutting them down, maybe they agree with you, maybe they dont. Id be more supportive of a person that doesnt/cant afford to drive but is conscientious, than the majority of people who do drive and can presumably afford it but that have their heads up their arses when they do so.

Now, Im still confused about how you got "the lads from 1916" into this?
    where do they fit into all this? I'd be all for supporting you, I'll consider supporting the underdog and against the mainstream of thought if need be if I think there is something decent about them. So if you can help me with this 1916 thing, Id be grateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭McNulty737

This guy seems like the biggest drama queen on the planet. You might give him a tiny shred of credibility if the video was a once off, but looking at all his other videos he is clearly just a dickhead going around looking for confrontations. He can stick his righteous indignation up his ass as far as im concerned.

Also, while the woman sounded ridiculous with her 'im a woman on my own' gimmick, if you compare it to the other video when he confronted the guys parked in the bus lane - notice how quick he cycles off when the guy squares up to him. Of course when it's a woman in her car he stands his ground all day long. Coward....man I would love to see him getting a slap.

Merch wrote: »
    How much of a pussy he is?? ok, well Ive come across worse I can tell you, Id prefer how he is than the sort who'd smash my car window in to get a radio they will flog for a quick fix.
    Im interested in cars myself, but having used a bicylcle and motorbikes and driven some other stuff, I can tell you there are a lot of douchebags on the road and you see them more when you are close up or have to pay more attention than just oblivious morons.
    I dont see how him having a girlfriend/friends or not would change why he would do what he does or not, personally I think he could do with rowing back a bit, but the last clip showing him noticing a kid and I think someone else nearly getting run over shows he is a at least conscientious and aware of whats going on, I think a bit more of him for that.

Also, its seems to be by choice that he cycles, so whether someone can afford a car or not seems a bit irrelevant for a start, Im sure there are plenty of people that cant afford to run a car, not sure why you are cutting them down, maybe they agree with you, maybe they dont. Id be more supportive of a person that doesnt/cant afford to drive but is conscientious, than the majority of people who do drive and can presumably afford it but that have their heads up their arses when they do so.

Now, Im still confused about how you got "the lads from 1916" into this?
    where do they fit into all this? I'd be all for supporting you, I'll consider supporting the underdog and against the mainstream of thought if need be if I think there is something decent about them. So if you can help me with this 1916 thing, Id be grateful.

I think you are him.

In hindsight, this situation seems all to convenient and one would also have to wonder has it been manufactured. Perhaps its naivety which has brought me to this conclusion having never experienced driving/cycling around in Dublin City (or any other city for that matter) but you'd have to wonder all the same

I think you are him.

well, if you read the thread, you'd see I l aready stated that as a person that previously cycled for transport many years ago, that I no longer have a bike! I dont think there really is adequete provision made for cyclists and it doesnt benefit cyclists or drivers when cycle lanes are tacked onto the side of a lane and only lip service is paid to it by whoever is responsible, that Id only cycle in a park, its seems likely that your childish retort of not answering my question smacks of distracting the attention away from yourself if you do or say something thats questioned.

So where do the lads from 1916 fit into this, they probably cycled into the GPO that fateful day? is that it?
    That theyd think its a terrible state things have gotten into, when people are going around with cameras strapped to their heads, when the nation they fought for is in bits?
    Im just wondering where they fit in? thats all.
    Is it that they'd think he is a pussy whereas they got into a shooting match? so what should he do, take over the GPO and fire bicycles at people off the roof? form a new state based around the cult of the bicycle?

squod wrote: »

No ads on the vid. He is not making a penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

Apart from her being completely in the wrong what is with "I'm a woman on my own.." line ?

Some always use that excuse to get away from an argument they have clearly lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

What a ****wit.....a self important tit with a camera. His videos paint a self appointed 'iron man' type wannabe who sees himself the authority of whats right and wrong. Yer wan in the OP was wrong but his attitude is going to get him a good slap someday soon.
    Also re his 06DL vid, he is honked while hogging the middle of the roadway with a cycle lane on the side of the road. Why is he not using the cycle lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Cyclist on his high horse, it it was a car facing the jeep they wouldn't kick off in the same way.