Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I'm a woman on my own stop threatening me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Question for the legal heads here...

Lets say the woman in the OP video told him she didn't want to be filmed and that she didn't want any footage of her to be broadcast. Would he still be entitled to put it on YouTube?

Public space, I think they can image anything they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,344 ✭✭✭markpb

He could have easily maneuvered himself around the car without playing up the tough guy with his little camera. Why engage with the woman, it was minor incident?

Where should he gave to go ? Onto the footpath which is illegal or onto the wrong side of the road which is not only illegal but stupid because the traffic behind wouldn't expect him to be there when they pulled off. She was in the wrong, why is it up to him to move around her?

The fact that you describe it a minor incident is exactly why he's filming and uploading those videos. If someone, driving a vehicle much larger than yours, needlessly drove at you on the wrong side of the road and blocked your way, would you still call it a minor incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

PhilMcGee wrote: »
    Jesus i just looked at his other videos.
    He is the worst kind of road user there is,
    Someone who is trying to manufacture incidents so that he can pretend hes nearly being taken out and then pontificate about it.
    In my opinion this guy should be banned from the roads. He is a danger to himself and others.

Hes not even in the cycle lane in most of his videos.
    This one is a perfect example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HLDqFIF5H0

And this one where he stops on a main road instead of getting off the bike and off the road while he is chatting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ht9MKUGBHBQ

Thanks for those. Seems he's only interested in the ROTR when it's other people breaking them.

There's another video with him refusing to move out of the path of a Garda transplant escort. He moans about how all sirens sound the same. Pure tit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UuwBMYHBQU

Here he is, in the middle of the bus lane, refusing to let the taxi get passed. I was initially supportive of him, but I'm changing my mind now. Watch the video from 1:30 onwards, total arsehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheDB

markpb wrote: »
    Where should he gave to go ? Onto the footpath which is illegal or onto the wrong side of the road which is not only illegal but stupid because the traffic behind wouldn't expect him to be there when they pulled off. She was in the wrong, why is it up to him to move around her?

The fact that you describe it a minor incident is exactly why he's filming and uploading those videos. If someone, driving a vehicle much larger than yours, needlessly drove at you on the wrong side of the road and blocked your way, would you still call it a minor incident?

She drove onto the other side of the road to overtake the parked car. She probably didn't see him. Anyway, what should have happened is he should have pulled up to the curb and allowed her to procede. A person driving a car would have done this. Instead, he stopped in the middle of the road, between the parked car and curb and immediatly started cursing at her and acting like a complete dickhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

Links234 wrote: »
    Wow, he's a total dick who seemed to be looking to have a go at someone

I wonder would he have been so vocal if he was cycling through finglas.

Whenever I'm in Dublin, I cycle down this road at least twice a day and on every occasion I have used the cycle path. The road works sign was there for awhile, and may still be but it never stopped me from using the cycle path. Takes all of half a second to maneuver around it. I have never had to resort to cycling on the road and from the video the guy on the bike is the cause of any hassle there.

Watching his videos it's obvious that he goes out looking for trouble. The camera is not there in case he is involved in an accident or witnesses someone breaking the law, it's there so that he can find trouble. He actively searches for motorists to do something wrong so he can get all high and mighty and talk down to them. Notice though, that it's only women that he roars abuse at. When confronted by a man he suddenly gets very meek and defensive but has no problem screaming obscenities at lone women. His youtube channel exists solely for him to preach about the evil of motorists and judge others while like minded people pat him on the back for the great work he's doing.

As for the allegations that a witch hunt is occurring. Well, perhaps a bit of one is but if someone is going around recording people without their knowledge and uploading their images and car registration numbers then it's only fair that his info be shared too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

discus wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UuwBMYHBQU

Here he is, in the middle of the bus lane, refusing to let the taxi get passed. I was initially supportive of him, but I'm changing my mind now. Watch the video from 1:30 onwards, total arsehole.

And at 3:30 when it suits him the prick moves to the left and uses the cycle lane to undertake.

He is totally unaccommodating to other road users, many times placing himself (and others) in danger, and for what?.

A prick of the highest order imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Ryuji_w

TheDB wrote: »
    She drove onto the other side of the road to overtake the parked car. She probably didn't see him. Anyway, what should have happened is he should have pulled up to the curb and allowed her to procede. A person driving a car would have done this. Instead, he stopped in the middle of the road, between the parked car and curb and immediatly started cursing at her and acting like a complete dickhead.

No, what should have happened is that she should have pulled over and let him and the car behind him pass as they have right of way because the parked car is on her side of the road

As for the allegations that a witch hunt is occurring. Well, perhaps a bit of one is but if someone is going around recording people without their knowledge and uploading their images and car registration numbers then it's only fair that his info be shared too.

I didn't see those allegations (I may have glanced over some replies here).. But he's put his hand out to be slapped, so he'd best be ready for whats coming to him.

I'm guessing its a long hard fall from a high horse!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

Whenever I'm in Dublin, I cycle down this road at least twice a day and on every occasion I have used the cycle path. The road works sign was there for awhile, and may still be but it never stopped me from using the cycle path. Takes all of half a second to maneuver around it. I have never had to resort to cycling on the road and from the video the guy on the bike is the cause of any hassle there.

Watching his videos it's obvious that he goes out looking for trouble. The camera is not there in case he is involved in an accident or witnesses someone breaking the law, it's there so that he can find trouble. He actively searches for motorists to do something wrong so he can get all high and mighty and talk down to them. Notice though, that it's only women that he roars abuse at. When confronted by a man he suddenly gets very meek and defensive but has no problem screaming obscenities at lone women. His youtube channel exists solely for him to preach about the evil of motorists and judge others while like minded people pat him on the back for the great work he's doing.

I cycle that road aswell. and I can tell you the cycle path is in tatters, you can even see it in the video . and its not up to scratch. I cycle on the road here just like he does because the cycle path is unusable imo. the car in this case shouldn't have beeped, yeah maybe he was being a pain cycling on the road but hey that his right, yeah he is on a slower vehicle and yeah it means thats cars need to slow down to avoid cyclists, but hey that's part of driving a car.

I didn't see those allegations (I may have glanced over some replies here).. But he's put his hand out to be slapped, so he'd best be ready for whats coming to him.

I'm guessing its a long hard fall from a high horse!.

Was a few pages back and as far as I'm concerned if you are willing to upload video of people you record without their consent as well as their registration number then you should have no issue with your info being shared around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

And at 3:30 when it suits him the prick moves to the left and uses the cycle lane to undertake.

He is totally unaccommodating to other road users, many times placing himself (and others) in danger, and for what?.

A prick of the highest order imo.

You're just looking for things to be annoyed about. He was entitled to be where he was in that video and the taxi was being the prick, what did he want him to do? Go onto the footpath?

I say this as a driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

He seems to try and provoke a response from people and when he gets what he wants he acts like a victim, The camera is a great tool as he can use it to his advantage, If he messes up there's no way it's going on YouTube but God help you if he gets you on tape making a slight blunder.
    The woman talked rubbish but how would anybody else act with a fella fcukin and blinding up in your face with a camera strapped to his head saying I'm reporting you to the guards. If I was in the woman's position I would of acknowledged any error on my part but when someone comes at you spouting ****e like this guy I don't think anyone would just sit there and listen to it.

I cycle that road aswell. and I can tell you the cycle path is in tatters, you can even see it in the video . and its not up to scratch. I cycle on the road here just like he does because the cycle path is unusable imo. the car in this case shouldn't have beeped, yeah maybe he was being a pain cycling on the road but hey that his right, yeah he is on a slower vehicle and yeah it means thats cars need to slow down to avoid cyclists, but hey that's part of driving a car.

Granted it's not the best surface around but on a decent bike it's no issue. Even if he feels the need to cycle on the road then he doesn't need to be so far over. He could cycle much closer to the curb and make life easier and safer for both him and any motorists.

yeah he is on a slower vehicle and yeah it means thats cars need to slow down to avoid cyclists, but hey that's part of driving a car.

He also has an obligation to show due care and consideration to other road users, he displays a complete lack of both.

As for his choice language and general demeanor;
    The Criminal Justice Public Order Act 1994 in the majority of his videos.

Quote:

It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to use or engage in any threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour with intent to provoke a breach of the peace or being reckless as to whether a breach of the peace may be occasioned.

karma_ wrote: »
    You're just looking for things to be annoyed about. He was entitled to be where he was in that video and the taxi was being the prick, what did he want him to do? Go onto the footpath?

I say this as a driver.

I'm amused not annoyed.

If I was annoyed I'd get off this thing and go for a cycle or motorbike ride to chill out.

The taxi wasn't right and well you know it. Another slower cyclist undertook the fool while he was out in the lane blocking the taxi.

He does this in almost all his clips, he does it to taxi's, buses, cars, vans, emergency vehicles ~ everyone except cyclists because they're too busy minding their own business and under taking him.

I'm amused not annoyed.

If I was annoyed I'd get off this thing and go for a cycle or motorbike ride to chill out.

The taxi wasn't right and well you know it. Another slower cyclist undertook the fool while he was out in the lane blocking the taxi.

He does this in almost all his clips, he does it to taxi's, buses, cars, vans, emergency vehicles ~ everyone except cyclists because they're too busy minding their own business and under taking him.

You're doing a great impression of an annoyed person I have to say.

Nah, I wouldn't use boards.ie if anything on it annoyed me tbh.

Ain't that the truth!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

I cannot understand the mentality to take up a full lane and hold dozens of people up, especially if there are cycle lanes provided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I say this as a driver.

Watch all his videos, he's quite happy holding up cars by cycling in the middle of the road. Yes, he's entitled to it, but a bit of consideration goes a long way to winning people over. He has numerous online entities set up with the goal of raising cycling awareness but tbh, he's doing nothing for the cause.

I say this as a cyclist.

Ain't that the truth!

But I do find how the tide has turned on the guy the craic.

And I'm dead with hey fever so I'm stuck in out of the lovely weather with nothing else to do :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Am1UBptmqBc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

holding up a gard convoy, says he could not comply? Many a time I have mounted a footpath in my car to let emergency services by, how can he not just pull over??? Complete ****.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Yea if I can pull my car over to allow emergency vehicles pass he can pull his bike over, of all the videos that one is the least credible, and that's saying a whole lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,151 ✭✭✭✭JRant

What's the legal ramifacations of a driver opening their car door or getting out of their car to confront a cyclist or other road user?

I never really put much thought to it before but judging by some peoples attitudes here I'd seriously consider using my kryptonite lock first and ask questions later.

Who knows what they might do and surely it would be a simple case of self-defense if someone was to do such a thing. In my mind opening your car door or getting out is the very definition of road rage and I wouldn't stand around waiting for them to assault me.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Joe Duffy should be well sorted for tomorrow's show at any rate.

JRant wrote: »
    What's the legal ramifacations of a driver opening their car door or getting out of their car to confront a cyclist or other road user?

I never really put much thought to it before but judging by some peoples attitudes here I'd seriously consider using my kryptonite lock first and ask questions later.

Who knows what they might do and surely it would be a simple case of self-defense if someone was to do such a thing. In my mind opening your car door or getting out is the very definition of road rage and I wouldn't stand around waiting for them to assault me.

I wouldn't imagine a Krytonite lock would be a good weapon in the hands of an untrained person.. It would probably be better not to annoy people in the first place, but if someone did get out of their vehicle use your bike as a shield/weapon first, or leg it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

archive.org search on deadlyspot.com reveals some interesting details....:pac:

gallag wrote: »

holding up a gard convoy, says he could not comply? Many a time I have mounted a footpath in my car to let emergency services by, how can he not just pull over??? Complete ****.

That could very easily have been a dying child that they were transporting yet his ego and sense of self importance wouldn't allow him to pull over and let them pass. Says all you need to know about the git.

His comments about how they turn into the private hospital imply that he thinks it was some big shot or something just make him out to be a tosser. Could very easily be a seriously ill patient and the doctor or treatment was only available there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I wouldn't imagine a Krytonite lock would be a good weapon in the hands of an untrained person.. It would probably be better not to annoy people in the first place, but if someone did get out of their vehicle use your bike as a shield/weapon first.

Or better yet just cycle away out of harms reach?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

STFU bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

woejus wrote: »
    archive.org search on deadlyspot.com reveals some interesting details....:pac:

All I see is an old blog by some Yank on sports.
    What do you see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheDB

gallag wrote: »

Yeah he looks around about 5 times at the emergency vehicles, yet still maintains his road position (the centre of the bus lane).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

mikom wrote: »
    All I see is an old blog by some Yank on sports.
    What do you see.

could be wrong here... apologies.

I wouldn't imagine a Krytonite lock would be a good weapon in the hands of an untrained person.. It would probably be better not to annoy people in the first place, but if someone did get out of their vehicle use your bike as a shield/weapon first, or leg it.

Yeah, like I said I never put much thought in to it before and have never had someone get out of their car to me. I know it best practice to remove yourself from any such situation but I never thought so many people would be willing to lamp someone else for a bit of verbal on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jesus 57 pages of discussion about a lad who's clearly just spoiling for confrontation and attention.

When I first saw the video, I thought they were both making fools of themselves, herself more so. But this woman only lost the head once (that we've seen). The guy seems determined to have rows with all and sundry like some kind of officious cycling vigilante. With a stupid camera on his head. Lost all sympathy when I saw the video of him refusing to pull over for an emergency siren. Idiot.

Yeah, like I said I never put much thought in to it before and have never had someone get out of their car to me. I know it best practice to remove yourself from any such situation but I never thought so many people would be willing to lamp someone else for a bit of verbal on the road.

Most probably wouldn't, I don't think it would be a worry for you.

To be fair to most cyclists I think this guy is the exception rather than the rule, he's a complete bollox where as most I find are happy enough to enjoy their cycle/commute without looking for confrontation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Cycling Village Idiot?

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

I wouldn't imagine a Krytonite lock would be a good weapon in the hands of an untrained person.

is there weapon training with Kryptonite locks?

VEN wrote: »
    is there weapon training with Kryptonite locks?

Maybe in Superman school.. I prefer joint locks :pac:

didn't think so :rolleyes:

VEN wrote: »
    didn't think so :rolleyes:

Ya get little balls of rolly eyes and post them at people, no one has a chance once you can do that.

Most probably wouldn't, I don't think it would be a worry for you.

To be fair to most cyclists I think this guy is the exception rather than the rule, he's a complete bollox where as most I find are happy enough to enjoy their cycle/commute without looking for confrontation.

I'd have to agree somewhat, while his ideals are to be applauded I don't like his confrontational attitude.

The fact he gets himself into so many scrapes would indicate to me that while he may be correct in what he's going about it the wrong way.

Still, that much stress every day can't be good for your mental health or your ticker IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Joe Duffy should be well sorted for tomorrow's show at any rate.

Finian McGrath already had a rant about this on Thurs? On the radio. Dunno if he made reference to this incident or not. But he's shure that there's evil cyclists out there threatening wimmin.

As an aside. That lad only had like 200 hits per video before now. The one in the OP will be passed a million before Monday and will likely pass 10 million by the end of summer. With those royalties he'll easily afford a bit of ''helmet enhancement'' ,a decent ride and/or a trip to somewhere more gobshíte friendly.

I'd have to agree somewhat, while his ideals are to be applauded I don't like his confrontational attitude.

The fact he gets himself into so many scrapes would indicate to me that while he may be correct in what he's going about it the wrong way.

Still, that much stress every day can't be good for your mental health or your ticker IMO.

I think we should all strive for better road safety and awareness.

As a peddle & motor cyclist myself I'm all too aware of the dangers posed by other road users.. But I'm also mindful of my obligations to pay due care and consideration to other road users and not unduly impede on their commute.

I'm far from an angel, I regularly speed, I've poxy lane discipline, I wheelie on public roads.. It pisses me off too when I see car drivers using their phones or putting on make up whilst driving.. Cyclists riding through red lights really wobble my tits too.

But I leave the high horse tied up on the ranch and just get on with my commute, although cycling these days (for me) is mostly done for training but I'm just as vulnerable on the motorbike.

Right, I'm off to wash that motorbike.

Ltr

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Ryu Hayabusa

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Id love to see some footage of him being taken out, nothing too serious but enough to give me a giggle, perhaps being clipped by a car or something.

Absolute clown.

Ya get little balls of rolly eyes and post them at people, no one has a chance once you can do that.

you could always :pac: and walk away before you get little balls thrown.
    got to take it when you've got to give it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ok, bollicky Bill has now made the original video private on Youtube.
    So here is a back up copy.......