Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm a woman on my own stop threatening me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Only thing that annoy me was her voice raising louder "don't threaten me",hoping some bloke behind would hear and come and have a dig at the cyclist when he was not threatening her.
    Those hat/dash cams are good, might get me one of those.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I'm surprised at the amount of people saying "fair play". If he had approached her and explained her mistake to her without resorting to shouting, insults or cursing then I'd be saying fair play too. He didn't act like a normal, rational person though, he was verbally attacking her before the woman in question probably fully understood what the hell his problem was.

As for the woman, I find her "woman on my own" line absolutely reprehensible. If she felt threatened then she should have closed her door. That's what anyone would have done. Thank you, high-vis jacket wearing, ignorant jeep-driving woman for being a poor representative of my gender.

I think they're both horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I like how one of his videos is titled "No need to be so aggressive".. while he's overly aggressive himself in most of his other videos. Trying to take the high-ground because yer man called him an asswipe!

Man, people are a lot more polite in Britain!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 trieditonce

I like how one of his videos is titled "No need to be so aggressive".. while he's overly aggressive himself in most of his other videos. Trying to take the high-ground because yer man called him an asswipe!

nice to see him using the cycle lane.... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Well that was him being polite and pointing out their mistake in a courteous manner, which everyone here thinks he should have done (and what they think he never does).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Jaxxy wrote: »
    I'm surprised at the amount of people saying "fair play". If he had approached her and explained her mistake to her without resorting to shouting, insults or cursing then I'd be saying fair play too. He didn't act like a normal, rational person though, he was verbally attacking her before the woman in question probably fully understood what the hell his problem was.

As for the woman, I find her "woman on my own" line absolutely reprehensible. If she felt threatened then she should have closed her door. That's what anyone would have done. Thank you, high-vis jacket wearing, ignorant jeep-driving woman for being a poor representative of my gender.

I think they're both horrible.

I agree, I would have had more time for him I'd he calmly explained how she was wrong, then if she reacted he could blow his top.

I do agree with him in standing up to crap driving, but a bit of manners goes a long way.

While I think he is wrong in overreacting she is a total muppet, on all counts according to her behaviour on the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    The guy was a bit out of order but the woman, on the other hand, was screaming 'Help!' and accusing the guy of threatening her, that is frankly sick and evil
    She seems to do the hysterics bit and then claim down and say "don't threaten me" as a threat that if the cyclist does threaten her she'll use the damsel in distress act to make him look like a bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

The cyclist did overreact but was not threatening nor violent. I can understand why he would be frustrated given behaviour of bully by cars. He seems militant but not wrong.

She on the other hand tried a complete scumbag thing. Unlikely she has only ever done it this once. I think it is akin to shouting fire in a cinema and should be an offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Ah the passive aggressive camera wielding cyclist, we meet again...

I like when he got confused by the woman saying that stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

what a ****ing knob end (the cyclist)
    Take a look at his youtube channel. All he does is go around recording stuff LOOKING for conflicts.

take a look at this video:

rather than simply cycle 10 inches to the right he stops and asks the guys to "move the car" :rolleyes: who the fuck does he think he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

:D I love the look on the driver's face when the cyclist says, "Why didn't you just back off and let me through if you knew I was there?"
    It's the sudden realisation that he's in the wrong and he's just admitted it. :D
    Take a look at his youtube channel. All he does is go around recording stuff LOOKING for conflicts.
    take a look at this video:
    rather than simply cycle 10 inches to the right he stops and asks the guys to "move the car" who the **** does he think he is?
    While I agree that the guy is generally a bit of a windbag, this is actually a good example of the mixed and often hypocritical messages that cyclists get.

On this thread you have a bunch of people lambasting him for not cycling in the cycle lane in one video, then in another video he's being lambasted for complaining about a car parked in the cycle lane rather than just going around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

Was waiting for the usual women can't drive nonsense to rear it's head. You have to laugh at people reacting to someone playing the sexist card by being sexist themselves...

Sure wasn't I just fishing for a reaction ;)

Oh yes ,you would never get that sort of behavior in Britain!

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

seamus wrote: »
    :D I love the look on the driver's face when the cyclist says, "Why didn't you just back off and let me through if you knew I was there?"
    It's the sudden realisation that he's in the wrong and he's just admitted it. :D

While I agree that the guy is generally a bit of a windbag, this is actually a good example of the mixed and often hypocritical messages that cyclists get.

On this thread you have a bunch of people lambasting him for not cycling in the cycle lane in one video, then in another video he's being lambasted for complaining about a car parked in the cycle lane rather than just going around it.

If you look at her youtube channel though, it's just her flying around on the wrongside of the road mowing down cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Love when people use the "my friend" form of address. Screams passive aggression. :D

Also, the ending really needed an irate bus driver shouting "out of the fcuking bus lane, you pair of *****". :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Yeah was a classic 'oh balls' moment there. Very interesting to see nobody kicking off though.

The driver in the irish video annoyed me by instantly playing the 'I'm a helpless woman' card though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Wasnt there a poll that showed about 75pc of AA is male?

I have no idea. It's sexist as you think the fact that the majority are male makes sexism unsurprising.

You're kind of implying that women can't be sexist towards women, which is totally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Well, what I mean to say is when you look at his youtube channel you just know this guy is a knob end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

If you guys want to see an aggressive helmet cammer, this is the guy you want. "Cycling Warrior"

Cycling Village is a saint compared to this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Well, what I mean to say is when you look at his youtube channel you just know this guy is a knob end.

I'm assuming he's waiting for the day he gets a "slap" so he can get a tonne of views or bring someone to court...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

With a face like hers its no wonder she had to point out that shes a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    I have no idea. It's sexist as you think the fact that the majority are male makes sexism unsurprising.

You're kind of implying that women can't be sexist towards women, which is totally wrong.

This thread is not about female v female sexism. And the attitude prevalent in the thread is not atypical of AA. I was making a point that of course we will hear the old "women cant drive" in a thread like this when its from a majority male forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

PucaMama wrote: »
    This thread is not about female v female sexism. And the attitude prevalent in the thread is not atypical of AA. I was making a point that of course we will hear the old "women cant drive" in a thread like this when its from a majority male forum.

"I'm a lone woman.. in a male dominate forum" ???

What is AA?

That "Cycling Warrior" riding a bike London brave or suicidal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Wasn't there a kind of similar incident a couple of years ago?
    Irish woman in the UK gets into a bit of verbal with a guy over where she parked her car.
    At one stage she says to him "I'll say you assulted me".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABZ7ttODAmM&feature=related

Is this a common tactic used by particular women?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

crap - now i have the horn after watching that :o
    any one else getting that ?
    hi vis jackets and shouting .........mmmmmm NURSE NURSE, Its happened again

all horneyness aside , that cow needs a kick in the undercarriage for using that line , you could have had some well meaning passer by, thumping the head off yer man for " assaulting " little miss has the painters in :mad:

Talk about the unstoppable force meeting immovable object.

A cyclist Vs a woman, both claim to know it all and will let you know any opportunity they get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

it seems his choice of wether to use the cyclelane or not is based on where he can get the conflict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Well that was him being polite and pointing out their mistake in a courteous manner, which everyone here thinks he should have done (and what they think he never does).

Cos he thought he would get a smack. He is only aggressive when its women it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

If you guys want to see an aggressive helmet cammer, this is the guy you want. "Cycling Warrior"

Cycling Village is a saint compared to this guy.

darwins, get your darwin awards, 2 for 50 this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

An asshole meets a dick... and it's not a porn video! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

This lad is some Muppet, check out his other videos. He thinks hes some kind of bike riding super hero lol. Some of his videos hes cycling along and shouting out registration numbers of cars passing by, or talking to motor cyclists to watch out cause you man in the car over there was driving awful fast.

What a fecking numpty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    He's an ass, she's hysterical.

/thread
    One way road. The nut is entitled to be where she was.

Oh and amazing cycling skills to be able to to cycle like that with such a large chip on your shoulder (as in he was obviously out looking to have a pop at motorists).
    Mr.S wrote: »
    Look at the cyclists other videos, he's a total knob.

The women is in the wrong yeah, but Jesus the cyclist should just stfu.
    AdamD wrote: »
    Absolutely no need for the cyclist to stop. He was completely looking for drama.
    Links234 wrote: »
    Wow, he's a total dick who seemed to be looking to have a go at someone

I don't understand these comments. That woman was a complete bint and in his other videos he points out a lot of the wrongs motorists AND cyclists get up to.

She is 100% completely in the wrong, why didn't the aul ghoul move over?

In Ireland, you're a díckhead for standing up for your rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

I don't understand these comments. That woman was a complete bint and in his other videos he points out a lot of the wrongs motorists AND cyclists get up to.

No, just for doing so in as confrontational manner as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭RebelSoul

Wrong, in Ireland you're a díckhead if you act like a díckhead.

I'm Sacramento, and I have a drink problem too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

no. In Ireland, you're a dickhead for showing this level of pedanticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

And just to illustrate your point....
    dj jarvis wrote: »
    crap - now i have the horn after watching that :o
    any one else getting that ?
    hi vis jackets and shouting .........mmmmmm NURSE NURSE, Its happened again

all horneyness aside , that cow needs a kick in the undercarriage for using that line , you could have had some well meaning passer by, thumping the head off yer man for " assaulting " little miss has the painters in :mad:

Woman overreacts to getting sworn at = on her period.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

And just to illustrate your point..

stop trying to derail the thread. We know there is sexism in AH. Just like there are hints of every other political/social incorrectness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

FatherLen wrote: »
    stop trying to derail the thread. We know there is sexism in AH. Just like there are hints of every other political/social incorrectness.

Doesn't mean it should be tolerated, especially in a thread giving out about a woman pulling the sexist card.

What makes her sexism any worse than the sexism displayed by some on this thread?

Anyway, I'll leave it at that as I genuinely don't wish to derail the thread any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

She doesn't seem mentally stable to be behind the wheel of a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

She was in the wrong but it's not something I, as a cyclist, would even get slightly annoyed about - it's a narrow road; there's cars parked on the other side of the road. Her positioning in the road is wrong but again not THAT big a deal - slow down and/or cycle up the ramp on the footpath - it's clearly not the most ideal road for cyclists and motorists to live in harmony :rolleyes: Don't fúcking get your knickers in a twist and go apesh1t at the woman - so stupid. The man is a complete díck.

And then the "I'm a woman stop threatening me" line. Wtf???!

Both absolute idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

This will be all our lives soon if google glass and the like even become remotely popular. Fairly innocuous daily events being blown out of all proportion and posted on the internet for judgement by the masses, should be good!

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭bluesteel

She was in the wrong but it's not something I, as a cyclist, would even get slightly annoyed about - it's a narrow road; there's cars parked on the other side of the road. Her positioning in the road is wrong but again not THAT big a deal - slow down and/or cycle up the ramp on the footpath - it's clearly not the most ideal road for cyclists and motorists to live in harmony :rolleyes: Don't fúcking get your knickers in a twist and go apesh1t at the woman - so stupid. The man is a complete díck.

And then the "I'm a woman stop threatening me" line. Wtf???!

Both absolute idiots.

It's a narrow road, but all the other cars left enough room for the cyclists - and other cars that are entitled to use that road; the point is that she wouldn't back down.

The guy is a dick in his other videos, but he's right in this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I wonder would that guy be quite so forward and aggressive if it was a 6ft 2inch well built man behind the wheel? Something to think about, I personally dont think he would stop and row, maybe a little gesture but then move on. They are both in their own way a bit over the top but I get the strong vibe that the man wouldnt have confronted another man like that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I feel sorry of the husband/boyfriend/partner of that woman, Imagine it.

Over all though i thought it was an entertaining video. The cyclist seems like a funny fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I wonder would that guy be quite so forward and aggressive if it was a 6ft 2inch well built man behind the wheel? Something to think about, I personally dont think he would stop and row, maybe a little gesture but then move on. They are both in their own way a bit over the top but I get the strong vibe that the man wouldnt have confronted another man like that..

I agree, and would he swear as much?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I can see where the cyclist is coming from, but right away his attitude was childish and seemed to be looking for confrontation off the bat. He could have approached it better without looking like a knob. Her response was comical tho, grab a hold of yourself!

Either way, its a good example of how not to deal with such a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

That cyclist is a complete c*nt imo. And who gives him the right to go putting people like this poor lady on youtube for public ridicule and he himself hides behind his camera and a youtube username?.

I hope she reports him for a road rage incident, and he's provided her with enough video evidence too.

Furthermore if that lady has an angry partner, brother or male friends he won't be too hard to find a cyclist on the Merrion Road on a racing bike and Contour Roam (he provides this info on his other vids), he won't be feeling too f*cking smart about himself then.

If she was one of my female friends I'd clip that c*nts wings for him fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

One way road. The nut is entitled to be where she was.

Oh and amazing cycling skills to be able to to cycle like that with such a large chip on your shoulder (as in he was obviously out looking to have a pop at motorists).

not a one way road . both acted childish but she was in the wrong