Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Politics MEGATHREAD

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Hijpo wrote: »
    Fill it with independants, they might get preoccupied with bickering amongst themselves and forget to screw us :pac:

Yeah but then they'll never get anything else done either,

And as we saw with Mick Wallce, it was hard for independents to even condemn a person who had acted illegally and this was proven beyond doubt and still refused to resign.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Guys, I don't yet want to see any discussion of a recent death which has apparently happened and is being reported on social media.

Unless this can be confirmed by the media and you can provide a link to back this up then your post will be deleted and you will receive an infraction.

Its important at this time that people remember that family members etc must be notified if this has happened,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Damien Tiernan of RTE has now tweeted it.
    https://twitter.com/damienrte/status/392692313346310144

RIP Gary.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

AdMMM wrote: »
    Damien Tiernan of RTE has now tweeted it.
    https://twitter.com/damienrte/status/392692313346310144

RIP Gary.

May he Rest In Peace. Condolences to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Gardner wrote: »
    I absolutely can’t wait for the next LE. FF are going to be on my hit list. Everyone will be out to get FG and LAB but we cannot forget these frauds!

People like Gary Wyse on Facebook make my blood boil. Coming out and attacking FG and LAB when his party drove us into this mess.

I have Wyse’s voting records and a lot of his publications and going to setup a Facebook page for everyone to see. We all remember his famous photo with the dummy Kenneally outside John Roberts Square at the last GE. Nice few captions could be added to this.

Roll On!

Maybe someone should delete this under the tragic circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,870 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Terrible news altogether, condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

Heard of the passing of a well known Waterford councillor today
    Rip

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭waterford

RIP Gary,very sad news
    Can that post by Gardiner be deleted please

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Gardner

nothing wrong with the post. it was a political attack and not a personal attack. his replacement on the council will be getting the same.

very saddened to hear the news of this death. did some good work in Ward 2 and will be missed on the council. i think FF have just lost there only council seat in the next LE.

R.I.P Gary

nothing wrong with the post. it was a political attack and not a personal attack. his replacement on the council will be getting the same.

very saddened to hear the news of this death. did some good work in Ward 2 and will be missed on the council. i think FF have just lost there only council seat in the next LE.

R.I.P Gary

It would be simple manners to remove it TBH. And a mark of respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭notfromhere

waterford wrote: »
    RIP Gary,very sad news
    Can that post by Gardiner be deleted please

Why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

RIP gary.

Why ?

If you have to ask there is no point in explaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

wellboytoo wrote: »
    If you have to ask there is no point in explaining.

That post was made before he passed away so if you were to delete it would you not have to delete every post here that said something about him?

I too offer my condolences to his family i didnt know him personally but he was a true Waterford man,RIP.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

In other political news, Direct Democracy Ireland are going through a tough awl period. There is a split in the newly formed party with more questions over Ben Gilroy, who hasn't attended the meetings.

One of the chairpersons didn't know who his members were and the 'party' dodged giving out their constitution despite repeated requests. In the end, it was obtained from Leinster House and on receiving it, resignations were handed in due to its apparent undemocratic nature.
    The walkout occurred after delegates from Cork and Offaly expressed dismay at the articles of the party’s constitution, which they had just had sight of after failed attempts to access it since the summer. In particular, the delegates cited the undemocratic appointment of members to the party’s governing body and the failure of the party to create the structures set out in the constitution.

Some of the delegates also questioned the activities of Ben Gilroy, a leading light in the party and the candidate in the Meath by-election. Mr Gilroy is also involved in a group called ‘People for Economic Justice’ which has engaged in disputes with county sheriffs and gardaí over proposed repossessions of properties.

Chairman of the Cork branch Noel Maguire resigned his position on Sunday. “I’ve never even seen a list of the members in Cork and I was the chairman.

“We had concern when we had to keep asking for a copy of the constitution. In the end, we had to get it from Leinster House. When I saw it, I said this is the polar opposite of democracy. This is a dictatorship.”

Mr Maguire’s concerns were echoed by a delegate from Offaly, Ken Smollen. Outlining the events that led to the walkout, he wrote: “On reading our party constitution, which we received from Leinster House, there were a number of questions that needed urgent answers, ie, the fact that the DDI ‘council’ is a permanent council with complete control of DDI.

“None of the five members of this ‘council’ are selected by party members but co-opted onto the ‘council’ by council members themselves [a nice little cartel].”

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/direct-democracy-splits-as-rebels-say-its-undemocratic-247454.html

As usual in Irish politics, when the going gets tough the party supporters deny, deny and well, deny. Plus the usual 'Its media & political establishment spin to damage us, as we are a threat' type comments you usually see associated with Sinn Fein and negative news.
    In case anyone is wondering, there are some unfounded rumours circulating regarding DDI. YES (of course!) DDI is alive and well, and whilst we expected a few to try to knock what we are doing, especially from the establishment parties, we were sad to see some get personal. The good news is that we had a very productive national meeting despite the actions of a few, and we really are making progress Watch this space....

and
    I personally know some of the people who walked out. they are not belonging to any other eatablished party, and have no other agenda other than pure direct democracy. But for some reason this line is being taken and good people tarnished. I have been watching the so called rumours and the counter responses to those so called rumours, and cannot say I am impressed. Have seen the 'spin' in action myself personally at another meeting, and see it is just continuing now.

I am well intentioned but more importantly fair. I have taken the time to look at both sides and do some research. And I am not seeing openess, accountability or transparency.[/QUOTE

Source: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057066488

So if Direct Democracy Ireland can't even be stable and agree on some basic stuff at this level, how they they expect to be able to make progress if they actually got any sort of power?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Cabaal wrote: »
    So if Direct Democracy Ireland can't even be stable and agree on some basic stuff at this level, how they they expect to be able to make progress if they actually got any sort of power?

Change has to start somewhere. FF/FG/Lab are essentially the same shower of gombeens. That's long established. Run and supported by educated people who really should know better.

I'd almost be tempted to give the Shinners a run at this stage. For all the shouts of "terrorists" the aforementioned three are merely economic terrorists.
    Again a point that has been proven over and over. More so in the past fortnight.

I hope DDI recover. I reaaly do. Because ANYTHING would be better than the so-called "system"gravy train that exists.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

7upfree wrote: »
    For all the shouts of "terrorists" the aforementioned three are merely economic terrorists.
    Again a point that has been proven over and over. More so in the past fortnight.

The latest budget was pretty well received overall both at home and abroad. There are certainly a couple of flaws in it, and some people will undoubtedly suffer, but there are a lot of positive aspects to it. We must remember that the budget is just that though, you've got to balance your books.

SF's economic policies are really off the wall though. A number of them literally don't add up. In the North, they've been dishing out plenty of cuts. I think they've signaled that they will be reducing their deficit by 3% a year for the next four years.

Cabaal wrote: »

Stability comes with transparency at the top, apparently a constitution was created by a number of people before they were established and grew to the numbers they have now. After numerous requests were sent by committees to view the document there was no sign of it being released. One committee got a copy from leinster house and saw that it included provisions for a self appointed 5 person executive committee that could veto any decisions made by its members and that the 5 people would recieve renumeration for there work. DDI's defence is that it has an executive committee to stop a group of people diverting the party away from its main goals, i havent heard anything defending the renumeration.

So it wasnt really "basic stuff" at any level, it was the dishonesty and attempt to keep members in the dark over issues in a constitution that were not democratic etc

Thats only stuff iv been told, so i cant say if any of it is true or false.

The idea of Direct Democracy is still alive and well within the group that has split (how many people that is is unkown also, it maye only be a handful of the entire membership) so Direct Democracy is far from dead, the issue is with the leaders of DDI and not the concept of it.

Im interested to see where this goes.

hardybuck wrote: »
    The latest budget was pretty well received overall both at home and abroad. There are certainly a couple of flaws in it, and some people will undoubtedly suffer, but there are a lot of positive aspects to it. We must remember that the budget is just that though, you've got to balance your books.

SF's economic policies are really off the wall though. A number of them literally don't add up. In the North, they've been dishing out plenty of cuts. I think they've signaled that they will be reducing their deficit by 3% a year for the next four years.

The sad realty is that a select group of senior civil servants actually run the country. Governments come, governments go. These people remain in place.
    Regarding the flaws, I'm sure those on maternity, the young unemployed, and those bereaved would have a lot more to say about it.

And all - unbelievably - propped up by an alleged 'Socialist" party!

And as for how it was received, I'm presuming you're talking about the bastards who have this country by the short and cur lies. Courtesy of FG/Lab?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Gardner

There seems to be progress been made between several members of the technical group in the Dail regarding a new party. Very interesting and some very good politicians.
    Stephen Donnelly, Shane Ross, John Halligan, Finian McGrath, Catherine Murphy, Roisin Shortall, Thomas Pringle.

To me that has the making of a great foundation of a new movement. This number may increase to allow more speaking rights in the Dail. Wouldn’t be surprised if its called “The Peoples Party of Ireland”

Shane Ross wrote in the independent about this in early October and I wouldn’t be surprised if there is a deal done over the Mid Term break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

DDI will recover.

There seems to be progress been made between several members of the technical group in the Dail regarding a new party. Very interesting and some very good politicians.
    Stephen Donnelly, Shane Ross, John Halligan, Finian McGrath, Catherine Murphy, Roisin Shortall, Thomas Pringle.

It's very easy to be in opposition.

How would these people fix our economy? How would they foster a society that would lead to increased productivity and therefore job creation? How would they balance our budget?

The problem we have in this country is that the majority of people think politicians have all the answers and can set us all to right. They can't.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    It's very easy to be in opposition.

How would these people fix our economy? How would they foster a society that would lead to increased productivity and therefore job creation? How would they balance our budget?

The problem we have in this country is that the majority of people think politicians have all the answers and can set us all to right. They can't.

Possibly.

But nowadays the problem for politicians is that some have been recognised for the bandwagon-jumping opportunists that they are. This says it better than any of us can.

Until the flagrant disrespect across parties for people is rectified than nothing can change. The sheer neck of those two defies belief actually.

7upfree wrote: »
    Possibly.

But nowadays the problem for politicians is that some have been recognised for the bandwagon-jumping opportunists that they are. This says it better than any of us can.

Until the flagrant disrespect across parties for people is rectified than nothing can change. The sheer neck of those two defies belief actually.

Possibly?

No.

Looks like discussions on political matters has ceased .
    Mods what is the timescale for this temporary little arrangement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Deise67

debate was not exactly encouraged on this side forum, particularly if you don't toe the line. dissenters either banned or closed accounts , probably be banned again for posting this !

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭revisionist

>>No political party is willing to touch this with a bargepole, I have criticised her a lot but in fairness, our lady TD (Ciara ???) from Dungarvan area whose name escapes me has talked it up in last year or so only for the politcians to strike down the proposed bill. In the mean time our politicians are happy to have women who were raped travel long distances to another country adding to a stressful situation again for the procedure. Women who have had the tragedy of fetal fatality are also made travel, it must be devastating. re: the posters, they shouldnt be disturbing, if they want to protest, fair enough I suppose, even if i dont agree>>

So the inconvenience of travel outweighs the right of the unborn foetus to life?

I think they were saying it adds to the weight of an already awful situation not that travel is the worst part of the ordeal.