Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AN225 At SNN (21st-22nd May 2013)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Where is she parked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 michaelk744

vulcan57 wrote: »
    Where is she parked?

H2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Scone190

I caught it today heres a link to it on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21mkFbph4NI

For any one else interested I got the B727-30 and C130 also from today :

B727-30:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYfp2Vuby3s&feature=youtu.be

United States Navy C130:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4OELS-wOic&feature=youtu.be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

It has a Ryanair type colour scheme......anyone knacky out there who could paste the Ryanair paint scheme onto it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

Heres my video from today http://youtu.be/xigr38Out2Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Ilyushin76

Is there anywhere around the runway to see this fly over head you on takeoff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Bsal

Having a look at google maps this looks like a good spot if RWY24 is in use

Capture2_zps8758d6f4.png

Capture1_zpse1db71ee.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Killinator

Bsal wrote: »
    Having a look at google maps this looks like a good spot if RWY24 is in use

Capture2_zps8758d6f4.png

Capture1_zpse1db71ee.png

It's a fantastic spot especially for heavy aircraft using plenty of runway;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Razor44

@Scone190 that 727-30 you got on cam, would i be right in saying that its only 1 of 2 727's that got winglets? or are they now common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭merisi

Razor44 wrote: »
    @Scone190 that 727-30 you got on cam, would i be right in saying that its only 1 of 2 727's that got winglets? or are they now common

Quite common, especially on -100's.

merisi wrote: »

Anyone any updates or is it still due out @10 tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Razor44

merisi wrote: »

was wondering that i know very little of the 100's got them.

cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭de biz

Killinator wrote: »
    Anyone any updates or is it still due out @10 tonight?

Scheduled to taxi at 10pm for it's home base Kyiv,Ukraine.

Departure may not necessarily be on time.

It's a fantastic spot especially for heavy aircraft using plenty of runway;)

Just letting ye know we went to that spot yesterday and security where not having it and has us out of it within 5/10 minutes, due to previous events where people jumped the fence and damaged aircraft on other occasions. Just giving ye a heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

Cheers for that Scone190,

Do you know if the area close @ the Runway end close to Shannon Aerospace is okay to see the aircraft from????
    Will be heading down this eveing from Loughrea and dont want a wasted journey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭JamieIsGod

Door's open now still on stand and crew have entered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 leeballs

can some1 please let me no wat time i should get up off my ass and go over to watch takeoff?

Scone190 wrote: »
    Just letting ye know we went to that spot yesterday and security where not having it and has us out of it within 5/10 minutes, due to previous events where people jumped the fence and damaged aircraft on other occasions. Just giving ye a heads up

Odd,
    I've gone there dozens of times and only been asked once why I was there, and they let me be after I explained.

Odd,
    I've gone there dozens of times and only been asked once why I was there, and they let me be after I explained.

Yes , we where with people going there for 40 years and who work in atc and we still had to move even after ringing duty manager... I think the idea is there is so many people spotting they want to keep everyone in the one place . I have also never been asked to move only ffor the first time yesterday!!

Bummer, my plan was to head down there if it was going via 24

Lads try it by all means im not saying not to !! Im just letting you know what happened to us yesterday !!He even mentioned he d get the gardai involved if we didnt move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Well I just arrived down and was going to head there about 21:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Pretty full here now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭MoeJay

Whose is the white 757 with winglets that's parked up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

How much of a crew does it have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Stealthirl wrote: »
    Pretty full here now

Standing room only haha , Jaysus tis packed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Does anyone know where it is flying to or what path it will take? Will it be visible on FR24?

Its not visible on FR24. People in Dublin might get to see it soon if the sky is clear enough, as it will be passing to the south over head as it is routeing to waypoint LIFFY.

Direct Liffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Kiev apparently - it has just left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robclay26

It was visible on FR24 yesterday over the USA and Canada it then vanished over the Atlantic and failed to reappear over Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Bsal wrote: »
    Its not visible on FR24. People in Dublin might get to see it soon passing over head as it is routeing to waypoint LIFFY.

Cool, skies are clearish, would love to get a glimpse. Any idea what time it might even be visible over Dublin? Stupid question I know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robclay26

what is it flight number ADB????

It departed at 2200, so I would say about 20 past 10.

Flight No. ADB2918

You can listen in on the Shannon ATC feed

http://www.liveatc.net/flisten.php?mount=einn2&icao=einn

Too cloudy in Dublin to see anything :(, now for all the photo's and videos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭rainbowdash

I went down there about 10 years ago maybe, and the army stuck a gun in my face. That was at the height of the peace camps in Shannon and bush coming for a summit etc. but in recent years I never heard of security out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

robclay26 wrote: »
    It was visible on FR24 yesterday over the USA and Canada it then vanished over the Atlantic and failed to reappear over Ireland.

It must not have mode S (or ADS-B or whatever)- it showed over USA because FR24 also uses FAA data but uses ADS-B elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

Two video clips of her coming in on a local paper website. Don't mind the wind noise in the second, wait for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭steve french

5cREvk_thumb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭steve french

5UK66H_thumb.jpg

You'd swear there was an all Ireland on with the queue of people and cars,

Beautiful machine, quieter than I expected but unnaturally big, I have HD footage to work on, will post

I did notice a couple of security jeeps driving around the 06 side of the runway, I'm guessing people were being given the heave ho from that spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

RadioRetro wrote: »
    Two video clips of her coming in on a local paper website. Don't mind the wind noise in the second, wait for it...

One of those is mine! Never thought I'd get over 2000 views for it! I mainly concentrate on pictures with the occasional video. Feel very privileged to have seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Does anyone know if it's coming to Dublin any time soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭merisi

Zyzz wrote: »
    Does anyone know if it's coming to Dublin any time soon?

I think the main runway at Shannon is the only one in Ireland that will accommodate it. Perhaps it could land at Dublin when empty. In fact, I don't recall an An-124 visiting Dublin either, though perhaps someone else might know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭urajoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

I was down there too last night....was great to see it for real and yes it is very big. Was kinda disappointed with the lack of noise.....damn them high bypass turbines!!!!!

Impressive crowd considering it was a school night and relatively late.

I remember the AN 124 visiting Dublin with a Irish Rail 201 class locomotive engine on board....... seen it for real in Dublin and also on a discovery channel documentary about the AN 124.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

1369254814003.jpg

And that was 21:30
    And cars all the way out to the road too