Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

The current leader of fianna fail seems to have a soft spot for the politican in question

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

cosanostra wrote: »
    Yes this is where Mary lived but she went missing from her Mother's home house in the south of the county near bundoran

http://donegal.maps.arcgis.com/apps/MapTour/index.html?appid=c642f51592294d999ae6ad0ee0c49987#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

The current leader of fianna fail seems to have a soft spot for the politican in question

He is known as the sugar Daddy to FF hierarchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    oranbhoy67 - has the suspect been involved in any sexual deviance before and after this event ??
    oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    not that I'm aware of but then again if the gards couldn't arrest him for a murder I've no faith they'd arrest him for anything else neither

so why is a sexual motive being suggested ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 r4110

what age is gerry boyle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

When a child is killed/disappeared in that manner, the vast majority of the time the motive is sexual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

FF, you are rotten to the core...

I hadn't heard that being suggested until recently.

But the theory that she was killed to eliminate the threat of her reporting something else seems remote to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

TOR :confused:

TOR, the deep/dark web where anonymity is nearly guaranteed with public and private keys that would take 25 million years at 1 trillion guesses per second to decrypt, the fella in the pic is a paedo from wexford who use's foster care as a way of obtaining children.

https://www.torproject.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

stuar wrote: »
    TOR, the deep/dark web where anonymity is nearly guaranteed with public and private keys that would take 25 million years at 1 trillion guesses per second to decrypt, the fella in the pic is a paedo from wexford who use's foster care as a way of obtaining children.

Uses or used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

I'm not saying she should do anything differently. Sometimes you have to cross the line to get the result and I understand that.

I am just empathising with Ann Boyle. A mother would like their family to stick together when it comes to horrible situations like this. Her daughter has chosen to go another way and Margo has taken her under her wing. That would be hurtful to most mothers I am sure.

Since I read that Ann Jr. had a daughter whom she called Mary and whom her mother helped to raise, and more recently, since
    Mary Jr. had a daughter whom she called Charley, after her grandfather, I am experiencing some empathy for Ann Boyle. Her great-granddaughter would now be about eleven years old. I presume she is also living with her. It is the way of life to move on and concentrate on providing for the children's future.

Who can deny the trauma she must have endured when her little daughter disappeared all those years ago, never to be found. She has had to come to terms with that in her own way. Surely, no one would have suffered more than she and her husband did at the loss of Mary? Her grief would have been undoubtedly compounded at the discovery that her child might have died at the hands of her own flesh and blood. Somehow, she has managed to live with it. In that film, it was remarked that she is regularly seen at the memorial to Mary which was erected close to the church. She often walks the fields where Mary disappeared. I can't imagine how agonising her thoughts must be. Having navigated her own way through the horrors she has experienced, she could be forgiven for not wanting to stir it all up again.

I would be curious as to what caused the estrangement between her and her namesake, Ann. I can't get over the feeling that Ann Doherty might be manipulated. I don't doubt the veracity of her statements regarding how much she missed her 'feisty' twin while she was growing up. But, thankfully, she was also able to move on - have her daughter Mary, who seems to have brought joy to her parents, get married and have her own family. Perhaps, now that her family are that bit older, she can revisit the case of her sister's disappearance. The fact is that Mary's killer is still walking free. He is living in the same community as Ann Boyle, no doubt having reared his own family there. Making him account for his crime would undoubtedly rip that community apart, but, doesn't little Mary Boyle deserve justice, even after almost forty years? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

Eh has this person been tried and found guilty in a court of law? If not maybe you should take down his pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Well, Séamus Ó Dómhnaill looks too young to have been the FF politician
    in question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

r4110 wrote: »
    what age is gerry boyle?

no such named person involved

groovyg wrote: »
    I wasn't judging them I don't care what age they had their kids, thats what was in the RTE bio. I just thought it was odd that she left her own kid with her own mother when she got married but then another poster mentioned it was era of Magdalene laundries so makes sense really. That programme was shown in 2007 so obviously a lot has gone on since between Ann and her mother as now they are no longer speaking. Gemma tweeted earlier that Ann was asking for her mother to be arrested https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/751172129064882176

fair enough

I think Gemma was naive for Tweeting that at this time, whilst i do agree with the sentiment we have another Aunt who died yesterday who we are burying on Sunday and lives on the same road as the mother Ann

not as if the Gards are going to act anyways I suppose so no odds

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Since I read that Ann Jr. had a daughter whom she called Mary and whom her mother helped to raise, and more recently, since
    Mary Jr. had a daughter whom she called Charley, after her grandfather, I am experiencing some empathy for Ann Boyle. Her great-granddaughter would now be about eleven years old. I presume she is also living with her. It is the way of life to move on and concentrate on providing for the children's future.

Who can deny the trauma she must have endured when her little daughter disappeared all those years ago, never to be found. She has had to come to terms with that in her own way. Surely, no one would have suffered more than she and her husband did at the loss of Mary? Her grief would have been undoubtedly compounded at the discovery that her child might have died at the hands of her own flesh and blood. Somehow, she has managed to live with it. In that film, it was remarked that she is regularly seen at the memorial to Mary which was erected close to the church. She often walks the fields where Mary disappeared. I can't imagine how agonising her thoughts must be. Having navigated her own way through the horrors she has experienced, she could be forgiven for not wanting to stir it all up again.

I would be curious as to what caused the estrangement between her and her namesake, Ann. I can't get over the feeling that Ann Doherty might be manipulated. I don't doubt the veracity of her statements regarding how much she missed her 'feisty' twin while she was growing up. But, thankfully, she was also able to move on - have her daughter Mary, who seems to have brought joy to her parents, get married and have her own family. Perhaps, now that her family are that bit older, she can revisit the case of her sister's disappearance. The fact is that Mary's killer is still walking free. He is living in the same community as Ann Boyle, no doubt having reared his own family there. Making him account for his crime would undoubtedly rip that community apart, but, doesn't little Mary Boyle deserve justice, even after almost forty years? :(

Im sorry but you are way off the mark with this and i think overthinking things a little bit , it never mentioned anything in the documentary about the mother visiting the shrine it was me who said it here .

As I've said earlier we are burying another member of our family this weekend who is going to the grave without knowing where her niece is, something that could be sorted out in days ecades ago should certain people you have mentioned here face facts like they did the last 3 decades until recently (albeit in private) and come public to the gards and relevant authorities about what they know.

Personally i have zero sympathy for her now and if all this does come out as i think then I would like to see her punished accordingly

If anyone was to lay a finger on my child no matter how close they were to me id see fit that they were punished. no 2 ways about it

I hadn't heard that being suggested until recently.

But the theory that she was killed to eliminate the threat of her reporting something else seems remote to me.

why?

he hasn't been convicted of any "sexual deviance" that doesn't mean he isn't one

he also has never been formally interrogated,never mind convicted, of this crime we believe he is responsible for

why?

There is talk of paedo rings.

There is talk of a widescale cover up and reluctance to properly investigate this case.

It's is a leap but not a huge one to suggest that there was a fear that Mary may have known something.

Something that someone thought that she would disclose.

If the general feeling is that the "official explanation" which has been left hanging for the last 39 years, which was that she disappeared into thin air for no reason is now being rubbished, this might be a reason for someone doing what they did.

And then there's the talk of the truth destroying the family.

But it's all speculation.

The case is mentioned in the Journal today.

Comments closed.

Sorry they're open. For the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Emmadilema123

The case is mentioned in the Journal today.

Comments closed.

Sorry they're open. For the moment.

I'm glad it's being brought back up in Irish media. It's clearly something that everyone wants answers on. Even if opinions do differ, at the heart of this, there is a little girl and her family who never got justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

cosanostra wrote: »
    He is known as the sugar Daddy to FF hierarchy

According to one online article I read he claims to be the Irish Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 r4110

no such named person involved

sorry Gerry Gallagher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

r4110 wrote: »
    sorry Gerry Gallagher

I heard somewhere he was like 74 or something like that!

RE the sexual deviant history of suspect , there has been potential breakthroughs since the documentary on that front from people who have watched it and are coming forward .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

RE the sexual deviant history of suspect , there has been potential breakthroughs since the documentary on that front from people who have watched it and are coming forward .
    How many people.? Did they ever complain to the gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

That is good news, with fresh allegations the Gardai will have to investigate. It puts the focus back on it. Also I see the documentary is up to 60,000 views now.

How many people.? Did they ever complain to the gardai?

at very early stages yet but the suspect also lived in the UK for a time and we have been contacted by people there

Great - maybe UK police involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Muahahaha wrote: »
    According to one online article I read he claims to be the Irish Donald Trump

Again before jumping to conclusions, this is not the politician but a relative in the article in question.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

https://www.facebook.com/events/1726597707580640/1726924314214646/?notif_t=like&notif_id=1468074838726585
    Peaceful March in Ballyshannon next week to the Garda station for a short silent vigil.. non political and not organised by me but i will be there .. please share on your social media sites and attend if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Just watched the documentary.

I wouldn't have known much about the case.

I feel so sorry for her sister and especially her father.

Shame on those who hampered the investigation.

Keep fighting and hopefully one day justice will be got.

Satriale wrote: »
    FF, you are rotten to the core...

And the rest.

As a rule I'd heartily agree, but it takes a special breed of cúnt to protect the murderer of a six year old girl.

I hope Michael Martin does something about cleaning up. BTW, there's a fine picture of him on Gemma O Dohertys twitter feed in case anyone has forgotten what he looks like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

gOkmosb.gif

Overheal wrote: »
    gOkmosb.gif

Thanks....xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Michael O Toole

yep they are far from lazy , they are very, very active on twitter!

one replied to me

"meh , who even said she was murdered?"

another who calls himself a campaigner for victims rights & is also a journalist Tweeted something along the lines of

" its funny to see people changing their avatars to Mary Boyle who previously didnt have any problem with people getting murdered and buried in a ditch "

he would rather have a dig at shinners than do anything to expose this case

Actually, I didn't say: ""meh , who even said she was murdered?" And I didn't reply to you, either. You blocked me rather than listen to my explanation, which is your right. But, for the sake of clarity, here is the relevant conversation:

"john burns ‏@JohnBurnsST Apr 30
    Sunday Times News: Fianna Fail declines to to say whether a man accused of murdering Mary Boyle was a member of the party, by @marktigheST

Michael O'Toole ‏@mickthehack Apr 30
    @JohnBurnsST @marktigheST Accused? Come on, lads. Nobody has been accused of anything. Suspect, perhaps.

john burns ‏@JohnBurnsST Apr 30
    @mickthehack @marktigheST not accused in the formal, legal sense, but in the every-day sense of the word

Michael O'TooleVerified account
    @mickthehack
    @JohnBurnsST @marktigheST Meh. By whom? And murder? Is there evidence?"

This was an exchange between one journalist and another. I was picking up on John using the word "accused" when no-one has been. Also, as should really be clear, the "meh" was a reference to John's reply. I found his reply weak. You weren't even mentioned, so I really don't know where you got the idea that I was replying to you. And, in fairness, it was a journalist calling out another journalist on the use of the word murder.

https://www.fiannafail.ie/contact-us/

Any of the 1,000's of lookers can contact FF for justice and drop the cover-up.

Actually, I didn't say: ""meh , who even said she was murdered?" And I didn't reply to you, either. You blocked me rather than listen to my explanation, which is your right. But, for the sake of clarity, here is the relevant conversation:

Sunday Times News: Fianna Fail declines to to say whether a man accused of murdering Mary Boyle was a member of the party, by @marktigheST

@JohnBurnsST @marktigheST Accused? Come on, lads. Nobody has been accused of anything. Suspect, perhaps.

@mickthehack @marktigheST not accused in the formal, legal sense, but in the every-day sense of the word

@mickthehack

This was an exchange between one journalist and another. I was picking up on John using the word "accused" when no-one has been. Also, as should really be clear, the "meh" was a reference to John's reply. I found his reply weak. You weren't even mentioned, so I really don't know where you got the idea that I was replying to you. And, in fairness, it was a journalist calling out another journalist on the use of the word murder.

This was from my first week on twitter and I had so called Journalist Donal O Keefe trying to get me to say on twitter who the murder suspect was and calling all supporters of Marys case "provo supporting loons" etc , there was Nicola Tallant Arguing that there was still investigative journalism going on contrary to Roy Greenslades article in the Guardian asking why the mainstream in Ireland where by and large ignoring the case - she tried to prove that they werent ignoring the case by posting a link to a 5-year-old article

so in the context of all that i saw your comment , twitter isnt the easiest site to work your way around when new to it ..so I could very well have took your comment out of context and if I did I apologise but it was my gut reaction to seeing someone from the Irish Media commenting "Meh, who even said she was murdered?" Meh to me equals "who gives a sh1t"

Maybe if you spent less time scouring forums and more time out trying to do some journalism and investigating why the almost complete silence around the case? then maybe we wouldn't be debating this on here, but meh what do i know

I find it interesting you didnt quote the meh Tweet in the above replies,

this was from my first week on twitter and I had so called Journalist Donal O Keefe trying to get me to say on twitter who the murder suspect was and calling ll supporters of Marys case provo supporting loons etc , there was Gemma Tallant Arguing that there was still investigative journalism going on contrary to Roy Greenslades article in the Guardian asking why the mainstream in Ireland were by and large ignoring the case, she tried to prove that they werent ignoring the case by posting a link to a 5-year-old article

so in the context of that i saw your comment , twitter isnt the easiest site to work your way around when new to it ..so I could very well have took your comment out of context and if I did I apologise but it was my gut reaction to seeing someone from the Irish Media commenting "Meh, who even said she was murdered?" Meh to me equals "who gives a sh1t"

Maybe if you spent less time scouring forums and more time out trying to do some journalism and investigating why the almost complete silence around the case? then maybe we wouldn't be debating this on here, but meh what do i know

I actually did quote the meh tweet. And it certainly was not, ""Meh, who even said she was murdered?" It was - as can be seen, it was: "Michael O'TooleVerified account
    @mickthehack

Howdy Mick, i see you had the exclusive picture of Brian Macmahon on the Irish Daily Star that was discussed in the documentary. Do ye still think he is a suspect? Are ye going to run any more stories on the case in light of the publicity it's getting online?
    IMHO few mainstream reporters could do with asking some questions and rattling some cages.

I actually did quote the meh tweet. And it certainly was not, ""Meh, who even said she was murdered?" It was - as can be seen, it was: "Michael O'TooleVerified account
    @mickthehack

well now you and your colleagues know who is saying she was murdered are you ever going to do anything about it? or continually feed us news about kim kardashians arse and the likes instead ?

Howdy Mick, i see you had the exclusive picture of Brian Macmahon on the Irish Daily Star that was discussed in the documentary. Do ye still think he is a suspect? Are ye going to run any more stories on the case in light of the publicity it's getting online?
    IMHO few mainstream reporters could do with asking some questions and rattling some cages.

I have been away on leave, so haven't had the chance to watch the doc. I messaged Gemma when I saw the trailer at the end of April to say I thought it was hugely compelling and wanted to do a story on it, but she didn't reply.
    Someone mentioned the McMahon angle in the doc to me on Twitter; he seemed to say the allegation was we were somehow fed the fella. Is that accurate?

well now you and your colleagues know who is saying she was murdered are you ever going to do anything about it? or continually feed us news about kim kardashians arse and the likes instead ?

I'm a crime reporter. I don't know why you are linking me to celebrity stuff. But that's your choice.

If anyone involved in this had a business wouldn't it be decent thing to boycott their business or businesses

thats all the 'journalism' you see in ireland. what some air head celebrity did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

thats all the 'journalism' you see in ireland. what some air head celebrity did

Do you not think it's important for the world to know if Kim got a manicure no????????

I have been away on leave, so haven't had the chance to watch the doc. I messaged Gemma when I saw the trailer at the end of April to say I thought it was hugely compelling and wanted to do a story on it, but she didn't reply.
    Someone mentioned the McMahon angle in the doc to me on Twitter; he seemed to say the allegation was we were somehow fed the fella. Is that accurate?

That was what i took from it (not necessarily agreeing with that but i doubt it's unheard of either). There's probably nothing new in it that you havent heard, but do watch it and contact her again. I think it needs more coverage on newspaper.

If that is the claim, it's just bollox. All Gemma had to do was contact me and ask me what happened and I would have told her. I'm not the hardest person to find.

This is what happened: I was in Mullingar for the press briefing when he was arrested. I knew that he was held under certain legislation that meant he had to be released after 24 hours. Back in Dublin the next day we were discussing what to do and it was suggested that one of us should go back and confront him if, or when, he was released back into the custody of the prison service. I said that the cops would probably drive him out and we wouldn't get near him, so we just sent a photographer instead. He waited there all day as we had no idea if he was getting out. Then a car was driven out and he got one frame. He had no idea if it was McMahon as we didn't know he had been released. It was only when the cops said the man they had in custody had been released that we figured it was him. We then spent several hours trying to contact people back out west who could ID him. Eventually we got people who knew him form way back. No conspiracy.

do you mean the accusations about him were fed to the gardai by the suspect

If that's the case I have never heard that before,

McMahons original abuse case is also very suspect and hopefully something that can be covered another time

I am saddened but not shocked to hear that Gemma never replied to you , I would hope that was is contained in the documentary and even what I and others have wrote on here would give any other criminal reporter enough to start their own investigations , im not sure how it works with Journalists but surely no one should have a monopoly on investigating the case? the more the merrier in my opinion.