Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2013: Round 6 - Monaco Grand Prix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mattser

Off track I know, but anyone seen Peter Dempsey in the Indy freedom 100 today, ? Great stuff.

Grosjean has been given a 10-place grid penalty to be served at the next race in Canada following his clash with Toro Rosso’s Daniel Ricciardo in Sunday’s race in Monaco.
    http://www.formula1.com/news/headlines/2013/5/14609.html?utm_source=Twitterfeed&utm_medium=Twitter-F1Official&utm_campaign=Latest+Headlines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭krieture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭_rebelkid

Result has just been made Official. No changes after protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭EireIceMan

EJ sayin on BBC that Grojean up for renewal every three races. Whats that about? Do lotus renew his contract every 3 races or wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Interesting.

Just watching the highlights now and Coulthard has mentioned something about Grosjean's licence being under review every 3 races and this is race 6 - so will he even be on the grid for the next race?

Chilton got a drive-through for causing Maldonado's 9G impact - fairly weak punishment in fairness for a stupid mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Stewards sending a report to FIA who may refer it to a tribunal. It's like the 90's all over again - all the big wigs in Paris arguing it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I was very impressed with Sutil today. Great overtaking on Button and Alonso.

FIA dropping Merc and Pirelli in "it".

Claims they were not properly informed as to the nature of what was happening. More than likely going to go to the WMSC.

FIA note via Adam Cooper

BLNog5yCIAA70BB.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Jon Noble ‏@NobleF1

"The FIA says it only sanctioned Merc 2013 tyre test if Pirelli ran car - and all teams were given same opportunity to test. Story soon"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Top Dog wrote: »
    Interesting.

Just watching the highlights now and Coulthard has mentioned something about Grosjean's licence being under review every 3 races and this is race 6 - so will he even be on the grid for the next race?

Chilton got a drive-through for causing Maldonado's 9G impact - fairly weak punishment in fairness for a stupid mistake.

Well, it's not like a 10-place penalty will hurt Chilton much. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Well if that's right Merc are screwed. Can't see an easy way out, unless Pirelli try to take the blame but I'd doubt that'd cut it.

If Merc are found guilty, what are the FIA likely to do, a big fine?

Rascasse wrote: »
    Well if that's right Merc are screwed. Can't see an easy way out, unless Pirelli try to take the blame but I'd doubt that'd cut it.

Merc may get a big fine (that's what Sky's Ted Kravitz said if it turns bad), but Pirelli can threaten to pull out, so may have some leverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

So who will be providing tyres next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Well, it's not like a 10-place penalty will hurt Chilton much. :pac:
    Sad but true. Same could probably be said for a decent fine. :rolleyes:

decisions wrote: »
    So who will be providing tyres next year?

Hopefully more than one manufacturer;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Just thinking of setting up a tyre company: astrofluff super-hards lasts for 19 races. Incredibly fuel efficient too to make your car less laden with fuel.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

I don't think Bridgestone would come back.

Michelin might give it a go, try and reinvent their F1 history.

"The F1 Times" on twitter hinting at Hankook to come in.

I for one would love to see an old Cooper Cross-Ply on the cars, see who the proper racers are.

Firestone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Firestone?

Owned by Bridgestone I think.

Firestone?

Going by success, Goodyear would be the best to come back. But to hear people talking about an "Controversy in F1 with Engelbert" would be epic.

1 Goodyear
    2 Bridgestone
    3 Michelin
    4 Pirelli
    5 Dunlop
    6 Firestone
    7 Continental
    8 Englebert
    9 Avon

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Once they have the E mark on them they should be ok :pac:

_rebelkid wrote: »
    I don't think Bridgestone would come back.

Michelin might give it a go, try and reinvent their F1 history.

"The F1 Times" on twitter hinting at Hankook to come in.

I for one would love to see an old Cooper Cross-Ply on the cars, see who the proper racers are.

Michelin are only interested in competition, so unless the FIA are interested in letting two tyre makers into F1, I can't see Michelin getting involved.

I wouldn't mind a Korean tyre make such as Hankook or Kuhmo getting involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind a Korean tyre make such as Hankook or Kuhmo getting involved.

Hankook are a potential supplier BUT don't forget Pirelli are making the Tyres they were requested to make AND if a new supplier is required the teams will probably have to cough up more money - at a time when the teams are kicking up about how much CVC are taking out of the sport - FOM preferential coverage of their advertisers........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

I love the name of these guys
    logo.png
    next race = Canada. They are Canadian but also available in all good local stockists! Shouldn't be a problem changing the F1 cars over to 205/55 r16's.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Sort of hard to believe both Pirelli and Mercedes would ignore the conditions for a test laid out in that statement. Somebody has definitely fecked up somewhere along the line

What happened to Kimi, did he keep his top 10? Or was there a penalty for speeding under the safety car?

Or was there a penalty for speeding under the safety car?

Where did you hear this??

EireIceMan wrote: »

Ted mentioned it, his name was up on he board outside the stewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

EireIceMan wrote: »

One of the notices on the official board that Ted Kravitz pointed out after the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭edgy

What happened to Kimi, did he keep his top 10? Or was there a penalty for speeding under the safety car?

Kimi got a reprimand but he got to keep his 1 point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

krieture wrote: »
    About time. The chap is a liability

If only I had have put a fiver on that.

I told you he would wipe himself and others out fo the race.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

Here's some pictures from the race:
    983774_523912440998742_935903912_n.jpg

429818_523912554332064_1434617485_n.jpg

931203_523912770998709_1067257738_n.jpg

[IMG][/img]923286_523912394332080_237658879_n.jpg

943354_523912824332037_1998260727_n.jpg

933919_523912260998760_1117666607_n.jpg

292468_523912334332086_1122147410_n.jpg

935604_523924414330878_490075052_n.jpg

This was the photo that I was proably going to use as the prize in the competition so with no winners can anyone make a compelling case to win it? I've got a couple of extras from the weekend too...
    292449_523912840998702_1469781118_n.jpg

I'll be sorting out all my photos tonight so I'll upload them to my gallery tomorrow and post a link for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

frostie500 wrote: »
    This was the photo that I was proably going to use as the prize in the competition so with no winners can anyone make a compelling case to win it?

Just roll it over to the next competition, so whoever wins the next photo gets this aswell?

My 1-2-3 finished 1-2-4 so I don't think it would be unfair to give me the photo. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

My 1-2-3 finished 1-2-4 so I don't think it would be unfair to give me the photo. :pac:

Tell you what....I'm thinking of a number between one and four if you can pick it you've got the prize! I think I'll definitely give away the photo from this weekend anyway, I had way too much fun down there so should probably balance things out by doing something nice! I'll try and figure out if I there's something I can do instead but either that or else a random generator with everyone's name in the hat is probably the option i'll do

frostie500 wrote: »
    Tell you what....I'm thinking of a number between one and four if you can pick it you've got the prize! I think I'll definitely give away the photo from this weekend anyway, I had way too much fun down there so should probably balance things out by doing something nice! I'll try and figure out if I there's something I can do instead but either that or else a random generator with everyone's name in the hat is probably the option i'll do

I'll say 3. :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

5!

2?

Keke Rosberg won at Monaco 30 years ago in 1983 so that makes him and Nico the first father and son pair to win at Monaco.

128983537_kekerosbe_416898c.jpg

It's incredible to think that even at the helm of the FW14, FW17 and FW18 Damon Hill couldn't emulate his dad's success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    Keke Rosberg won at Monaco 30 years ago in 1983 so that makes him and Nico the first father and son pair to win at Monaco.

128983537_kekerosbe_416898c.jpg

great pic here

BLSabzqCQAAnL4o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭lolie

It's incredible to think that even at the helm of the FW14, FW17 and FW18 Damon Hill couldn't emulate his dad's success.

He was unlucky in 96 with the engine failure and was just no match for schumi/benneton before that.

Grim. wrote: »
    great pic here

BLSabzqCQAAnL4o.jpg

Hopefully in a few more years we could be talkin about mick and mika jnr battling it out trying to do the same as nico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

He was pretty unlucky, during his 4 years at Williams he retired from Monaco twice and finished second twice. He should have had it in 96, was in the lead with a 30 second gap when his engine blew. His relatively short career didn't help his cause either, getting to F1 at 31 would be pretty crazy nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭lolie

Seen this earlier

BLS4AwuCIAADDVc.jpg

Though it was funny when Daft Punk walked the lotus drivers to the grid, thats my new nickname for Grosean.

Ferrari have confirmed that Massa crash was caused by suspension failure:
    Having carried out an initial investigation based on telemetry data, the team studied components from Massa’s car back at their Maranello base on Monday before reaching their conclusion.

“The findings validated the first impressions of the engineers, confirming that the accident was caused by an element of the front left suspension breaking,”
    http://www.formula1.com/news/headlines/2013/5/14615.html?utm_source=Twitterfeed&utm_medium=Twitter-F1Official&utm_campaign=Latest+Headlines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

And they confirmed on saturday that there was no issue with the car. Id be fairly pissed if I was massa.