Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good pair of wellies.

• 22-05-2013 5:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭

I am looking for a good pair of wellies that won't split,tear,lose grip easily or slip of my foot.
    Had a great pair a few years back but they had an accident with a pup getting bigger teeth. :rolleyes: Never got a pair as good again.
    I came to this section to ask people who use wellies for the same purpose i will be using them for.
    Last season I was plagued with all of the wet weather in a pair of Dunlop wellies which had no grip whatsoever and slipped of my feet in deep mud. The grip thing is a big factor as I do a lot of walking for pheasants and having no grip makes walking very hard on the calves.
    Don't want to have to rob a bank either so under €50 if possible if you would suggest a pair over €50 I may consider if you actually own a pair and swear by them.
    Thanks.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

I have a pair of hunter balmorals, I was waring them every day till the ground started to dry out and I love them, €80 but I'd highly recommend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭T338

There was a guy at a cattle mart selling boots from a stall 45 or 50 euro can't remember the make,had never heard of it, looked really good quality. Quite thick and durable but light, might be worth trying random places like that sometimes you get better deals than in shops or online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Buy the best pair of Dunlops your 50 quid will get you.

I have an expensive pair of Dunlops, Hunter waders and Salomon boots but the Dunlop are the best all rounders.

http://www.tackledirectireland.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=436
    Have a pair of these, really really light, good waterproofing in them and have a removable sock so you can hose them down without them staying soaking for ages, very warm boot. Got mine at a market but found them online at this place.
    Weight is the most important thing for me, may aswell be in your bare feet with the weight of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Dunlop purofort are meant to be great value for money and recommended by plenty of farmers.

I have a cheap pair of dunlops at the moment and they're real loose up the top and bang off my legs walking..Could be the same pair you have. Grip aint great on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

garv123 wrote: »
    Dunlop purofort are meant to be great value for money and recommended by plenty of farmers.

I have a cheap pair of dunlops at the moment and they're real loose up the top and bang off my legs walking..Could be the same pair you have. Grip aint great on them.

Aigle +1

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Theshooter2012

http://www.tackledirectireland.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=436
    Have a pair of these, really really light, good waterproofing in them and have a removable sock so you can hose them down without them staying soaking for ages, very warm boot. Got mine at a market but found them online at this place.
    Weight is the most important thing for me, may aswell be in your bare feet with the weight of them.

What height are they? Are they the normal height.They look a little low but might just be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I bought a pair of the Dunlop boots for the ploughing match last year I tthink there great yokes haven said that I haven't been out hunting I. Them yet but have wore them all day. I'm gonna try them this season and see how they to. I never wore wellies for all the reasons mention here but these are grand for what I do. Haven said that I'd out on a pair of boots quicker.

Thise hunters wellies look like the job. You know my biggest problem with wellies is in some ones I can feel the stones up threw the soles of them any one else ever find this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Another vote for Hunter.

They are comfortable, tough wearing, solid, not too expensive, and above all warm. The one draw back i have with rubber boots is my feet get cold quickly. I used to prefer a normal pair of high ankle boots, and risk the wet foot. Got a pair of Hunters, and have't looked back. So good were they my Father bought a pair, and like myself he wouldn't be a fan of rubber boots.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

algi re brilliant most comfortable set of footware i own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

Yet another vote for the hunters.

I have the Hunter Balmoral classics. find them great, good grip and durable. Nice and snug around the calves with an adjustable gusset so accomodating size wise also.

I would be a leather boots and gaiters fan mostly but theres just some places I go that wellies are my only option. Happy out with them, cant really find fault, they're far stronger than the hunter originals and definetely more hard wearing. I have both.

Keep an eye out on www.johnnorris.co.uk

Periodically they do Hunter 'seconds'. Basically a 100% functional boot which may have aesthetic flaws (misaligned hunter logo, slight colouration difference etc.) I normally pick them up when that offer comes around. Think the last ones were around £35 GBP which is there or thereabouts your €50 mark.

Hope that helps.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Good to know.

Just another point i found with the hunter. When driving in normal boots or rubber boots you tend to have to work harder to "flex" your foot to use the accelerator or clutch/brake. With the hunter you don't have this. I've often driven around all day with them on, and no sore or tired foot after.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I've been saying this for a year now hunter balmorals , if ya do a lot of water fowling get the neoprene ones

What height are they? Are they the normal height.They look a little low but might just be me.

I'm 5'9'' and they come up to 3'' under my knee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

dunlop purefoot are hard bet 50 euro this is my 3rd session with them and i wear everyday.go into ncf try them on and see what you think.hunter are hard bet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Hunter Balmorals most definately. Very comfy,but INMHO two faults
    The "leather grain" type texture is a pain to keep clean properly.Micro dirt particles get into the texture and they start to look scruffy really quick,unless you get the Hunter boot polish kit with it as well.:rolleyes:
    Second I find the tread pattern terrible if you are walking in certain conditions.Brilliant on wet grass fields,mud etc.Horrible if you are walking on ploughed or tilled fields.It gathers mud and holds it so you end up with about 4lbs of mud on your feet:( The bog standard Hunter IMO does a better job in those conditions.
    French Baudaou Co op wellies are even better in those conditions and 30 quid cheaper..100 thousand Irish farmers cant be wrong either.;):P

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

http://www.irishsetterboots.com/

These wellies are starting to pop up ere and there and hearing very gud reports , very well made .

Any one got a pair

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭goss101

i have the seeland allrounders, great boot, i use them for pheasants, decoying ducks and fishing, find them brilliant, comfortable for walking and good warmth, i get free dunlops with work and won't wear them, they don't compare to the seeland, the dunlops do for washing out the dogs run!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

lots hunters from usa recommend muckboots but i don't think they are available here
    http://www.muckbootsonline.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Midnight Diamond

Hi

Try this website for wellies www.activehuntingireland.ie
    They have a huge range of products available. I know this from personal experience and their service is 1st class
    Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

I have some green wellies called 'Job Master' with steel toecaps. A bit agricultural but I feel curiously safer wearing them. !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Aigle are the best boots i have own, Hunter were a brilliant boot when they use to make them in Scotland , but now they are made in china and are not of the same build quality, i have never owned a pair of Le Chameau wellies but they are meant to be unbelievable.
    I had a pair of them muck boots ,they are alright for walking the dog but when your out rough shooting the barb wire and briers rip the boot to bits on the leg as it is too soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I always wore hunters,but when they left scotland for china the quality definately went with them. I've been wearing aigle parcours vario for the last couple of years and they are brilliant. Nice and light,very comfy and easy to keep. However,regardless of whether you pay 20 quid or 200,if you don't wash the cow ****e off them after you wear them,any wellie will fall to bits fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

I never bought a pair of the Chinese made Hunters but I purchased a pair of Scottish made Hunter Crowns off a bloke on here for good money a few months ago. What a pair of boots they are, that are up there with the best boots I've ever owned, although I'm glad I'm used to wearing steel capped boots all day otherwise the sheer weight of them would drain you after a 3 hour walk in them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Kerryman1973

Has anyone ever bought hunter wellies with the adjustable rim?? suitable for people with wider calves? what did you think of them? pricey at 100 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Has anyone ever bought hunter wellies with the adjustable rim?? suitable for people with wider calves? what did you think of them? pricey at 100 euro

I had the aigle with the adjustable rim,fecking nusance,got caught in everything walking through cover,on your trousers, got rid of them and bought another pair of aigle without it, brilliant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

I have a pair of these but do you find they start squeak when walking for a good distance???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Make sure to keep away from Blimey willies.Bought a pair for 90 euros.Lasted only 3 months.Nice crack came on the side of each wellie.And very uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Brazzill wrote: »
    I have a pair of these but do you find they start squeak when walking for a good distance???
    are them geese still following ya around brazzil,,,:D:D they are seriously light though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

snipe02 wrote: »
    are them geese still following ya around brazzil,,,:D:D they are seriously light though

Ya haha I can call ducks while walking down the field sure, multi-tasking Wellies boy!