Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

full time work & 'side projects'

Options
  • 28-05-2013 1:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi There,

Im a designer & I am currently employed full time by a company, but I am currently putting together an app for release (and at some point down the line i would imagine I might need to hire extra help for certain areas) and I also occasionally do freelance work so I want to start putting a business frame together for this.

What would be the best business type for this - sole trader or a limited company? Given that I would be intending on keeping my full time job for the foreseeable future.

I am obviously hoping my little venture will work out, but certainly not banking on it and one of my main concerns is if I lost my full time job down the line not being able to claim any benefits because of being registered as a sole trader, can anyone shed any light on this?

Apologies about my complete lack of business knowledge..
    and on that note if anyone knows any websites / people / companies that could help me, recommendations would be greatly appreciated and I would have no problem paying as i really just want to focus on the development of the products but also want to make sure im dotting my i's crossing my t's!

Thanks in advance for help

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3 floydowen

Don't know much about which business set up would be better but as I said in a previous thread; your local enterprise board offer allot of guidance and even offer a mentoring service. You should look into it. Probably very cheap or free also