Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bigger Girls: Are They More Popular than We Think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Id be overweight by about 2 stone now. I carry it well though, Ive a tiny waist and huge hips, fairly flat stomach. Im also tall so that helps. Ive no problem finding guys, Id say if I was 5 inches shorter it would a bigger problem for me though!

Well I don't think too many people would complain about that. That's a good example of being in proportion. A lot of people aren't though.
    Dizzicizzi wrote: »
    It is for sure true. I am a bigger girl and I have had some crazy experiences in my time. Like the time I dated this guy for a while. Every time we were out together and someone he knew came along, he'd stop holding my hand and step faaaaar away from me... Obviously didn't date him for long after that lol. Though I've never had a problem getting guys if I am honest, they can be a bit weird around other men when with their chubby women!

There is no body type that is better than the others, we all have our preferences and that's fine. I don't like how a guy feels being with a "big girl" will have him looked down on by his mates, but maybe its the same for a guy who like chicks with small boobs, or girls with big teeth, or girls who wear glasses or whatever... Different strokes for different folks! My BF loves me and that is all I give a damn about lol.

Like I said in an earlier post - I think that's mainly a male trait. Guys tend to be worried about what other men think of their woman's appearance. I don't think women are like this. A woman could go out with an overweight man, a nerd, or just someone who looks a bit strange but she'd only be worried if he was socially awkward I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

So when are people going to start posting pics that panda can rub his belly to in a leering manner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Its like everything really moderation is the key. Curves are attractive obesity is not. I stay roughly the same size 10 -12 and have curves but have been bigger14-16 at times but never felt attractive heavier (personally speaking each to their own). I think a more mature man likes a bit of a curve though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

...but women that carry weight on their hips definitely appeals to me alot. Yes please!
    :eek: Do NOT want. People differ and that's a good thing. Makes room for us all.
    Mariasofia wrote: »
    I think a more mature man likes a bit of a curve though.
    Which is (IMHO of course) just as discriminatory towards slim women, by suggesting "mature men" whatever that means will be automatically into what some might see as women who are just too heavy, because otherwise it's shallow. I call shenanigans on that myself. Preferring a lean woman doesn't change with age IME. Not unless the bloke involved has chunked out himself. And as I've said earlier I have far less time for a bloke who has gone porky over time.

Actually one thing that would turn me off(physically and TBH mentally) about a woman is one who has a yoyo size over time. The ones whose wardrobe is filled with different sizes depending on her mood/life stage. Maybe it's my OCD talking but I prefer consistency. I'd much prefer a size 14 woman who remained that size over a decade than a size 8 woman who was a 14 two years ago, a 10 3 years before that and has stuff in size 16, just in case.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    They all have lovely bottoms.

Some of them just need planing permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

What are peoples definition of bigger girls? are you talking curvy like Kim Kardashian, Beyonce , Jennifer Lopez etc . I wouldn't consider these to be bigger girls at all ..

Or when you say bigger girls are you talking Adele, Oprah etc.. thats what I'd consider to be a "bigger" girl personally.

Don't men like both skinny/curvy it all depends on the girl as long as they are their healthy weight. Even look at celebrities there are many pretty women both skinny and curvy that I'm sure guys wouldn't turn down. I'm not a guy but I'm guessing men will have either as long as they find the person attractive and like their personality even though they may have a preference. I think as long as the person is confident in their own skin or appears to thats all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Id be overweight by about 2 stone now. I carry it well though, Ive a tiny waist and huge hips, fairly flat stomach. Im also tall so that helps. Ive no problem finding guys, Id say if I was 5 inches shorter it would a bigger problem for me though!

You had me at huge hips :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I know men who find bigger women attractive. I used to have a friend here who'd come out with me and only go for larger women on a night out and he told me that was simply what he liked. They're out there and there's more of them then you think. I think a bigger woman with their fat in the "right" places is extremely attractive imo and would get a lot of attention from fellas. I can totally see the appeal, so I'm not sure why some men are denying that many men have a taste for that. I'd say it's pretty evident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I know men who find bigger women attractive. I used to have a friend here who'd come out with me and only go for larger women on a night out and he told me that was simply what he liked. They're out there and there's more of them then you think. I think a bigger woman with their fat in the right places is extremely attractive imo and would get a lot of attention from fellas. I can totally see the appeal, so I'm not sure why some men are denying that many men have a taste for that. I'd say it's pretty evident.

A cynic would suggest though that on a night out, bigger women are seen as easier to acquire and therefore more appealing when you're just out for a quick shag.

Not saying that's a good/correct attitude to have or that every guy thinks that way but the mentality definitely exists and can explain a percentage of "chubby chasers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Xavi6 wrote: »
    A cynic would suggest though that on a night out, bigger women are seen as easier to acquire and therefore more appealing when you're just out for a quick shag.

Not saying that's a good/correct attitude to have or that every guy thinks that way but the mentality definitely exists and can explain a percentage of "chubby chasers".

It can certainly explain some of them but also many would presume that's the reason a guy would go for a bigger woman just because they wouldn't be into it themselves. Plus many men would pretend they were their reasons.

That wasn't the case with my old friend. He was a very good-looking Spanish guy who got a lot of attention from women. I remember there was one slim, hot chick mad into him and they went out for a few weeks. He told me he had to end it because she wasn't big enough and didn't enjoy sleeping with her.. He'd almost exclusively go for foreign chicks (as in not Spanish) as he found Spanish women too slim.

Cynics can think all they like but there are many genuine cases of men who like large women and more than we think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

twinytwo wrote: »
    While some could agree with that statement.... im of the opinion that you can manage with small boobs.... cant do anything with a bad bum.

No hips, no ass = no thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Wibbs wrote: »

Actually one thing that would turn me off(physically and TBH mentally) about a woman is one who has a yoyo size over time. The ones whose wardrobe is filled with different sizes depending on her mood/life stage. Maybe it's my OCD talking but I prefer consistency. I'd much prefer a size 14 woman who remained that size over a decade than a size 8 woman who was a 14 two years ago, a 10 3 years before that and has stuff in size 16, just in case.

I wouldn't hold that against anyone, personally.
    All that is is a sign that the person is trying to achieve a certain size/weight, but is really really struggling to reach and maintain it.

In a way, I've been there myself, I've been trying to lose weight for so long and have tried so many different approaches, if you looked back over the last 20 years of my life you'd find clothes of at least 6 different sizes. It ain't easy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cynics can think all they like but there are many genuine cases of men who like large women and more than we think.
    Yep and I know two such guys. One in particular always went for big women just like your friend. Never had a girlfriend for long who wasn't large. Adele size and up. He actually lost interest in one of his exes when she lost a lot of weight. Now I take Xavi6's point, there are some men who go for what they see as the "easier"(not sexually) woman because of a confidence issue, but guys liking bigger women because they're bigger isn't rare at all. Just look at the interweb. Porn tells you far more about men's desires than fashion ever will and you get far more Big Beautiful Women(BBW) porn than skinny/anorexic porn, by some order of magnitude. It's so not my bag because I prefer slightly built women, but like I said I'd be unusual enough in this, certainly in Irish culture. I fit in far more with LE's Spanish vibe. Then again I'd be an oddball anyway, don't see the deal with big boobs, small ones are more juicy as far as I'm concerned(and stay in the same place over time gravity wise). IME Irish ladies are particularly well endowed on that score, when even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

IME Irish ladies are particularly well endowed on that score, when even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. smile.png

I have actually no idea what that saying means:o

Shenshen wrote: »
    I wouldn't hold that against anyone, personally.
    All that is is a sign that the person is trying to achieve a certain size/weight, but is really really struggling to reach and maintain it.
    Oh true and fair play, but I have found personally that this struggle itself can be an obsessive one and can impact the relationship. The emotions can yoyo with the dress size. These days I prefer the quiet life as it were. I'm done with drama. I've had too much of it. TBH S I couldn't deal with a foodie person anyway big or small, nor they with me. My relationship to food is as fuel, little more so that's a lot of it I reckon.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    I have actually no idea what that saying means:o
    Think about it... :) Imagine two zeppelins, or hot air balloons if you prefer and what part of a ladies anatomy would a dead heat/tie in a race of them look like? :D

even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. :)

Brilliant. True as well, I've seen many an Irish girl who look like they could topple over at any minute

Ok, are we talking about boobs or belly here :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Dizzicizzi wrote: »
    ... maybe its the same for a guy who like chicks with small boobs, or girls with big teeth, or girls who wear glasses or whatever... Different strokes for different folks! My BF loves me and that is all I give a damn about lol.

The difference here is small boobs, big teeth, glasses etc - all those things are genetic.

Being fat is, for 99.99% of the population, a choice of laziness and laziness is not a trait which I am attracted to.

Great that your BF loves you :)

Ok, are we talking about boobs or belly here :o

Boobs!
    Bellies rarely look like zeppelins....

Naos wrote: »
    The difference here is small boobs, big teeth, glasses etc - all those things are genetic.

Being fat is, for 99.99% of the population, a choice of laziness and laziness is not a trait which I am attracted to.

Great that your BF loves you :)

It's not really quite that simple I'm afraid. I'm one of the least laziest people you'll ever meet. I never stop, I'm always on the go. I go to the gym at 6.30am twice a week and 7.30pm twice a week and work seriously hard while I'm there. I will always have a fat ass. One of my best friends is beautifully slim and is bone lazy, wouldn't work to warm herself. Another friend mine is what would be described as skinny - she's absolutely tiny (it suits her, she's gorgeous), she wouldn't be lazy, but she wouldn't ever go to a gym, or do any "exercise", she is full of nervous energy though so is naturally "skinny".

Now I know that's all anecdotal but the truth is that while there are absolutely a good chunk (no pun intended) of people who are overweight because they just won't do anything about it, your 99.99% figure is way off the mark IMO.

It is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right kind/right amount of food for their body, it's just that some people have to work a hell of a lot harder at keeping in shape than others just because of the hand nature dealt them.

Oh true and fair play, but I have found personally that this struggle itself can be an obsessive one and can impact the relationship. The emotions can yoyo with the dress size. These days I prefer the quiet life as it were. I'm done with drama. I've had too much of it. TBH S I couldn't deal with a foodie person anyway big or small, nor they with me. My relationship to food is as fuel, little more so that's a lot of it I reckon.

I know what you mean, there can be quite a lot of hysterics in such a process.

I find myself to be occasionally quite touchy about it myself, even though I try not to be - as I said, it ain't easy.

And I can understand perfectly why the idea of someone obsessive about anything (be it food or diet) can be quite off-putting. ;)

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Boobs!

Surely boobs haven't looked like zeppelins since the 1950s either?

Boobs!

I saw hot air balloon and immediately pictured an apple shaped lady, and I got very confused thinking how a slight person would also be apple shaped :o

It is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right kind/right amount of food for their body, it's just that some people have to work a hell of a lot harder at keeping in shape than others just because of the hand nature dealt them.

So you agree with me then?

No. I don't. Read the rest of my post.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Whoopsadaisydoodles, I totally agree with what you're saying. I have a healthy diet but tend to put weight on easily if I don't stay active to very active.
    There are some as you mention who do little or no excerise, have bad diets and manage to retain a "healthy" weight.
    There are many slim people who are lazy and it's not fair to equate laziness to someone who's overweight (I don't mean obese). Yes of course there are overweight people who are lazy but there are just as many slim lazy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Originally Posted by Deleted User viewpost.gif

I think if everybody ate well and kept active, they'd have the body that suits them, but it may not be slim and slender. :P

I doubt I'll ever get a slim six pack. I have this little bit of saggy belly that no amount of weight loss, or workouts get rid of. :o
    Think about it... smile.png Imagine two zeppelins, or hot air balloons if you prefer and what part of a ladies anatomy would a dead heat/tie in a race of them look like? biggrin.png

I have kind of noticed that as well. I'd never say it out loud in case someone called me a pervert though :P

No. I don't. Read the rest of my post.

I did read your post.

You are saying and correct me if I'm wrong - that it is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right food for their body. It's just that some people have to work harder.

How is that different to what I said? I never said it was easy or difficult.
    blacklilly wrote: »
    Whoopsadaisydoodles, I totally agree with what you're saying. I have a healthy diet but tend to put weight on easily if I don't stay active to very active.

So if you are lazy and don't do any exercise, you put on weight.
    There are many slim people who are lazy and it's not fair to equate laziness to someone who's overweight (I don't mean obese).

Why is it not fair? It's generally correct.
    Yes of course there are overweight people who are lazy but there are just as many slim lazy people.

True however, for me, someone who is slim is more aesthetically pleasing than someone who's fat.

For the record - I put on weight very easy. Although in saying that, when I have gotten fat it's when I ate crap food and didn't exercise.

I saw hot air balloon and immediately pictured an apple shaped lady, and I got very confused thinking how a slight person would also be apple shaped :o

This is a zeppelin
    http://silodrome.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/1929-Packard-and-the-Graf-Zeppelin.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I think what whoops is saying is that it's more to do with metabolism than it is exercise or genetics or any of the other fuzzy facts that are put about around the whole "fat because they want to be" way of thinking.

While I personally would be all for being proud of your body, being proud of being fat is something else entirely!

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I think what whoops is saying is that it's more to do with metabolism than it is exercise or genetics or any of the other fuzzy facts that are put about around the whole "fat because they want to be" way of thinking.

While I personally would be all for being proud of your body, being proud of being fat is something else entirely!

Saying it's due to metabolism is the same as saying it's due to genetics. Exercise and diet affects your metabolism. If you went back even 50 years ago would you see as many overweight and obese people? You certainly wouldn't

TBH, I'm not even trying to get into the metabolism/genetics debate because it never ends well.

The only point I was trying to make was that bigger does not mean lazier.

Like I said, I'm extremely unlazy - but have a fat ass (which I'm a lot happier about after reading this thread :P)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

So if you are lazy and don't do any exercise, you put on weight.

Why is it not fair? It's generally correct.

Yes but I was using it as a comparasion to some of my friends who do little or no excerise and have bad diets yet remain slim, I am rarely lazy and I excerise regulary. Just because someone is slim does not automatically mean they are healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

In a modern western society where there is much more awareness of a healthy lifestyle, then of course you're going to notice it more when people stand out for being over (or under!) the average weight. But to back 50 years- the world wasn't as "small" as it is now thanks to the internet and the proliferation of the mass media and celebrity lifestyles in out daily lives, so people just weren't as aware of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, and therefore people didn't care as much for a start when they knew somebody that was overweight, but that's not to say it wasn't as prevalent as it is now.

It's just nowadays- the issue is being put under the microscope, and we have discussions about obesity in children that wasn't an issue 50 years ago. I'm only 36 myself, but there were a good many, no, I won't say a good many, maybe four or five that were definitely overweight, another ten maybe that were "in danger of becoming" overweight (I personally hate the use of that phrase, in danger of anything, hysteria level defcon 5 type stuff), out of a class of 20 in primary school. These guys ten years later grew up to be strapping hooers that used lob square bales 20 foot into the air and they were WELL built! No pilates or atkins diets necessary, or what's the newest celebrity fad? Atkins was the low carbs, oh yeah, the Paleo diet (I read far too many women's magazines! :(), but what I'm saying is that nowadays, those lads would have been herded off to fat camps and put on nutritional supplements, etc, when there was no need of any of that stuff.

I know even from my own eight year old they do this food dudes program in school now and it's all about getting the children to focus on healthy eating etc, before they're even begun to develop into teenagers, let alone adults! It puts children under tremendous stress and pressure, far far more harmful in some cases than actually encouraging them, because the children then start noticing "who's looking a little curvy round the sides?". I know of two eleven year old boys who when the class goes swimming, they want to wear tee shirts, whereas the girls don't seem bothered at all! Why? Because the two lads are already body conscious whereas the girls who you would think would be more conscious, are actually there to enjoy swimming!

What I'm saying is that there are a number of factors involved, but instead of focussing on the person's physical size, focus more on their mental state, because that's where any real change has to come from. It's easy lose weight, but it's a lot harder to get the motivation to do so and keep the motivation going. So for some people the game isn't worth the candle as they don't have any motivation, but you teach them about respecting their bodies and not changing themselves to what they think other people find attractive, that goes a long way towards obesity prevention and self confidence than all the other factors and all the other methods of tackling the issue.

It's like I said- I like fat women, but if they don't like themselves, then I'll always encourage and support them in doing whatever they feel is necessary for them to feel good about themselves. Nine times out of ten they want to lose weight, and as much as I might personally think "but you're sexy as fcuk just the way you are!", what I think doesn't matter unfortunately! :D

In a modern western society where there is much more awareness of a healthy lifestyle, then of course you're going to notice it more when people stand out for being over (or under!) the average weight. But to back 50 years- the world wasn't as "small" as it is now thanks to the internet and the proliferation of the mass media and celebrity lifestyles in out daily lives, so people just weren't as aware of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, and therefore people didn't care as much for a start when they knew somebody that was overweight, but that's not to say it wasn't as prevalent as it is now.

It's just nowadays- the issue is being put under the microscope, and we have discussions about obesity in children that wasn't an issue 50 years ago. I'm only 36 myself, but there were a good many, no, I won't say a good many, maybe four or five that were definitely overweight, another ten maybe that were "in danger of becoming" overweight (I personally hate the use of that phrase, in danger of anything, hysteria level defcon 5 type stuff), out of a class of 20 in primary school. These guys ten years later grew up to be strapping hooers that used lob square bales 20 foot into the air and they were WELL built! No pilates or atkins diets necessary, or what's the newest celebrity fad? Atkins was the low carbs, oh yeah, the Paleo diet (I read far too many women's magazines! :(), but what I'm saying is that nowadays, those lads would have been herded off to fat camps and put on nutritional supplements, etc, when there was no need of any of that stuff.

I know even from my own eight year old they do this food dudes program in school now and it's all about getting the children to focus on healthy eating etc, before they're even begun to develop into teenagers, let alone adults! It puts children under tremendous stress and pressure, far far more harmful in some cases than actually encouraging them, because the children then start noticing "who's looking a little curvy round the sides?". I know of two eleven year old boys who when the class goes swimming, they want to wear tee shirts, whereas the girls don't seem bothered at all! Why? Because the two lads are already body conscious whereas the girls who you would think would be more conscious, are actually there to enjoy swimming!

What I'm saying is that there are a number of factors involved, but instead of focussing on the person's physical size, focus more on their mental state, because that's where any real change has to come from. It's easy lose weight, but it's a lot harder to get the motivation to do so and keep the motivation going. So for some people the game isn't worth the candle as they don't have any motivation, but you teach them about respecting their bodies and not changing themselves to what they think other people find attractive, that goes a long way towards obesity prevention and self confidence than all the other factors and all the other methods of tackling the issue.

It's like I said- I like fat women, but if they don't like themselves, then I'll always encourage and support them in doing whatever they feel is necessary for them to feel good about themselves. Nine times out of ten they want to lose weight, and as much as I might personally think "but you're sexy as fcuk just the way you are!", what I think doesn't matter unfortunately! :D

I couldn't really find any point in your long rambling post but are you disputing that obesity is much more prevalent now than 50 years ago?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭BlimpGaz

We'd ride it, but hide it.

/thread.

BlimpGaz wrote: »
    We'd ride it, but hide it.

/thread.

another epic username and post combination

I couldn't really find any point in your long rambling post but are you disputing that obesity is much more prevalent now than 50 years ago?

Yes. Because there's been so much goalpost shifting going on and lack of any common understanding that depending on who you talk to, Rita Hayworth was either a cracker, or she was overweight-

http://fatfeministfitnessblog.blogspot.ie/2010/05/vintage-beauties-rita-hayworth.html

And here- NSFW but worth a read (I only look at the pictures :D) and a quick browse through the comments anyway to see what I mean about goalpost shifting and lack of any common understanding about what's fat, what's obese, and what's, well, morbidly obese!

http://www.cracked.com/funny-3113-fat-girls/

Yes. Because there's been so much goalpost shifting going on and lack of any common understanding that depending on who you talk to, Rita Hayworth was either a cracker, or she was overweight-

http://fatfeministfitnessblog.blogspot.ie/2010/05/vintage-beauties-rita-hayworth.html

And here- NSFW but worth a read (I only look at the pictures :D) and a quick browse through the comments anyway to see what I mean about goalpost shifting and lack of any common understanding about what's fat, what's obese, and what's, well, morbidly obese!

http://www.cracked.com/funny-3113-fat-girls/

Well then, here some statistics, off with you and your silly notions.
    http://graphics8.nytimes.com/packages/pdf/business/20061202money4.pdf

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs311/en/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epidemiology_of_obesity

Edit: that Cracked article is describing Marilyn Monroe as fat, you really are away with the fairies

Well, that's me told! *waddles off* :pac:

No but seriously Kaiser I know where you're coming from and I will read those links when I'm back on the laptop, but it's just a thing with me that when a person starts introducing stats to a discussion, I tune out. I can read and understand statistics perfectly well, I just don't like them when we're talking about a human condition because they can be used to prove or disprove anything, and then they take no account of numerous other factors pertaining to the individual that could be considered relevant, but are discarded because they don't jig well with the hypothesis being put forward.

And yes, while I agree with you that describing Marilyn as fat is in our opinion just crazy talk, there are indeed people who would describe her as overweight, but again statistics take no account of personal opinion or perception, that's why discussion is important in reaching a common understanding.

That's clearly not going to happen here.

Well, that's me told! *waddles off* :pac:

No but seriously Kaiser I know where you're coming from and I will read those links when I'm back on the laptop, but it's just a thing with me that when a person starts introducing stats to a discussion, I tune out. I can read and understand statistics perfectly well, I just don't like them when we're talking about a human condition because they can be used to prove or disprove anything, and then they take no account of numerous other factors pertaining to the individual that could be considered relevant, but are discarded because they don't jig well with the hypothesis being put forward.

And yes, while I agree with you that describing Marilyn as fat is in our opinion just crazy talk, there are indeed people who would describe her as overweight, but again statistics take no account of personal opinion or perception, that's why discussion is important in reaching a common understanding.

That's clearly not going to happen here.

People (in general) have been getting fatter for the last 100 years or so. It's scientifically verifiable, heck, you can talk to your parents and grandparents and ask them how many people were back in the day if you don't trust in statistics (thought these particular ones aren't complicated).

Ah yes 'statistics can prove anything', a commonly used (and totally false BTW) statement by people who have clearly lost a debate.

The whole 'Marilyn was overweight' thing annoys me, it's just a lie. A lie propagated by people who want to think that being overweight is normal and sexy when (in general etc..) when it's not.

http://www.snopes.com/movies/actors/mmdress.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Very true. Studies have shown that people are fatter today largely due to the increase in sugar consumption, fructose to be exact. The increase in consumption of bad sugar not only adds to the total number of calories consumed per annum per person but chronic fructose consumption also causes metabolic syndrome which is basically a conglomerate of obesity, type II diabetes etc. In addition to that, fructose does not suppress the hunger hormone ghrelin and it doesn't stimulate insulin which means people end up eating more. And because more is more readily available and often advertised as healthy, the result is an obesity epidemic around the world.

So, not only do we eat more today because food is more available and move a lot less because we have so many modern conveniences but so many people are overweight and in some cases obese despite exercising and 'eating healthy' because a considerable proportion of the food that is advertised as healthy is deadly.
    IM0 wrote: »

I had never actually paid attention to the lyrics. They cracked me up!! :pac::pac:

There's no need to be rude.

Unless you're some crosseyed loon working in Parisienne high fashion, no one would suggest Rita or Marilyn were fat. To be fair MM got a bit of a chunk on in Some like it hot, but that was about the biggest she ever got and was hardly "fat". Her dress size has been mentioned before, but when they were auctioning off some of her clothes it turned out she was nowhere near a size latterly suggested. Very petite in frame for most of her days.

People (in general) have been getting fatter for the last 100 years or so. It's scientifically verifiable, heck, you can talk to your parents and grandparents and ask them how many people were back in the day if you don't trust in statistics (thought these particular ones aren't complicated).

So one minute you'll quote statistics when it suits you, and then revert back to making generalisations as if they were fact, you see no issue with putting forward personal opinion as if it were fact?

I have no need to ask my grandparents, they're worm food at this stage but the one grandmother who was alive when I was growing up would be considered by todays societys standards as morbidly obese. She was 87 when she died. My father played rugby all his life, fit as fcuk, 26 stone and 6ft 7ins of muscle, he'd a huge belly though, and when he was told he'd to lose weight for a hip operation, my mother had him eat dry ryvita for months, while he still had to work in his engineering business which was incredibly demanding physically.

His waist measurement was a lot more than the 32 inches commonly referred to today as the standard for obesity. I don't know what his BMI was, but he'd a fair size belly, all muscle, and doctors were frustrated because he physically could not lose any more weight, so they had to go ahead with the operation anyway.

He had a quad bypass done about five years later after a massive heart attack (he was sitting up in the bed with a black and blue chest when the ambulance arrived, found out later his rib cage had split open), then about two years after that again he died of yet another massive heart attack while out walking his dog at 62 years of age!

I'm 36 and I've already got steel pins in my hip, due a replacement once doctors get the finger out because they say I'm still too young for a replacement, I'd a mild heart attack about four years ago now, and I'm a 34 waist at 5ft 10ins. I wouldn't be considered obese to look at either.

But statistically, it ain't looking too good for me, is it? :pac:

Ah yes 'statistics can prove anything', a commonly used (and totally false BTW) statement by people who have clearly lost a debate.

See? We can't even agree on what we're doing here; for me Boards is a discussion site, a discussion isn't about winners and losers, it's about exchange of ideas and opinions with the aim of reaching a common understanding. If we can't even agree on that much, that's why I said earlier that a discussion clearly isn't going to happen here when all you're concerned with is winning what you see as a debate.

Why do I even bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

32" is the waist measurement for women, it's 36" for men.

What's really struck me reading this thread has been the apparent lack of middle ground between "skinny" and "curvy". You can be slim and a healthy weight and still have curves, it's not one or the other. I'm 5' 7", a size 8-10 depending on the shop but I have a 34D chest and a decent (imo) bum. I'm not quite sure when curvy became a euphemism for fat, but it's one of my bug-bears.

To me, curvy is someone like Scarlett Johannsen. Someone like Christina Hendricks, on the other hand, while undoubtedly curvy, looks overweight to me. She always looks like she's wearing industrial-strength underwear.

Likewise, to me, skinny is someone like Cara Delevingne.

The whole 'Marilyn was overweight' thing annoys me, it's just a lie. A lie propagated by people who want to think that being overweight is normal and sexy when (in general etc..) when it's not.

http://www.snopes.com/movies/actors/mmdress.asp

there is so much **** in that post I dont know where to start :confused:

mm was and always will be a sex goddess pinup in popular culture, the definition of at least what a real womans shape should begin to resemble

where this facination with women who look more masculine shaped Ill never know, must be a serious amount of bisexual guys out there or closet gays :pac:

IM0 wrote: »
    there is so much **** in that post I dont know where to start :confused:

mm was and always will be a sex goddess pinup in popular culture, the definition of at least what a real womans shape should begin to resemble

where this facination with women who look more masculine shaped Ill never know, must be a serious amount of bisexual guys out there or closet gays :pac:

I'm not sure what you disagreed with in my post but perhaps you misread it