Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Scary Photographer

• 31-05-2013 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up to people out there who work with models - tell them to avoid this lad.

Having had images of his 'newest face' to the model agency he works with removed last night (it was Dita Von Teese, incidentally), along with another batch of odd photos (of pornstars), he was asking and contacting models to pose naked at his studio. I know one model who was in contact with him and to be honest, this is pretty worrying.

His images have gone from standard lads in the pub to glamour car shots, to pornstars in their knickers and despite a number of models contacting facebook, he's still at it. He's using a picture of Pixie Geldof by Alasdair McLellan as his own and another of Ji Hyde Park outisde his offices at Vogue.

Just a heads up if you know any models or people looking for photos - this is scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

mehfesto wrote: »
    Just a heads up to people out there who work with models - tell them to avoid this scumbag.

Having had images of his 'newest face' to the model agency he works with removed last night (it was Dita Von Teese, incidentally), along with another batch of odd photos (of pornstars), he was asking and contacting models to pose naked at his studio. I know one model who was in contact with him and to be honest, this is pretty worrying.

His images have gone from standard lads in the pub to glamour car shots, to pornstars in their knickers and despite a number of models contacting facebook, he's still at it. He's using a picture of Pixie Geldof by Alasdair McLellan as his own and another of Ji Hyde Park outisde his offices at Vogue.

Just a heads up if you know any models or people looking for photos - this is scary stuff.

Struggling to follow your post, is it the fact he is doing nude photoshoots that is the issue or am I missing something? Also I'm pretty sure calling someone a scumbag is against the charter

M5 wrote: »
    Struggling to follow your post, is it the fact he is doing nude photoshoots that is the issue or am I missing something? Also I'm pretty sure calling someone a scumbag is against the charter

I would imagine the problem is that he is pretending to have some sort of "nude photo credibility" by stealing other peoples photos - with the goal of getting naive girls naked in his studio.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I would imagine the problem is that he is pretending to have some sort of "nude photo credibility" by stealing other peoples photos - with the goal of getting naive girls naked in his studio.

Surely the if the model does not want to do nude shots, they don't have to? If a photographer wants to do nude shots and so does the model and everything is professional, and the photos are being used as intended, then whats the issue? I don't see the issue with asking someone if they are interested TBH. How else are you going to get nude credibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

From the link you provided, I can't see what you are so worried about? :confused:

Can you substantiate the allegations that he is a 'scumbag' or that he is acting with intent to do something other than just photograph nude models?

If you can't then it would seem only fair and reasonable to withdraw your remarks.

It would also be deemed legally to be very wise for you to withdraw them too. If you made some of those allegations on a public forum about me and couldn't prove them or back them up with examples then my solicitor would definitely be meeting your solicitor for a chat.

Just sayin'.

Surely the if the model does not want to do nude shots, they don't have to? If a photographer wants to do nude shots and so does the model and everything is professional, and the photos are being used as intended, then whats the issue? I don't see the issue with asking someone if they are interested TBH. How else are you going to get nude credibility?

I know there'll be plenty of people around here who find this behavior appropriate... but just imagine if you had a young daughter talking to a guy like this, naively, only to end up with crude and amateurish nude photos of them all over facebook.

Lets face it, any girl who does a nude for someone like this has essentially been tricked, because they most certainly will not gain anything from it. A 35-45 year old man attempting to be a photographer should stick to photographing professional nude models if he wants to get "nude credibility," rather than girls who don't know any better because they are young and inexperienced.

If you think this is cool, then fair play to you. I think it's disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Splinters

I think the point is being missed here. It has nothing to do with whether or not a model will pose nude. Theres a level of trust that has to exist between the model and photographers (especially with nude work) which can be built up from a few factors, a main one being the photographers past experience and portfolio.

This guy is trying to pass off fake glamour images as his own in an effort to convince models to pose nude for him....if that doesn't ring alarm bells with you I don't know what will.

All I can see is hearsay and assumptions

What if the lad just wants to get into glamour photography? How does one go about it? Are you born one?

There has been no evidence of any wrong doing. So he has some risque shots? That does not mean that the "poor model has been used and lied to"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Just a heads up to people out there who work with models - tell them to avoid this scumbag.

Confused about what I'm supposed to be seeing here?

Any link to your claims?

I know there'll be plenty of people around here who find this behavior appropriate... but just imagine if you had a young daughter talking to a guy like this, naively, only to end up with crude and amateurish nude photos of them all over facebook.

Lets face it, any girl who does a nude for someone like this has essentially been tricked, because they most certainly will not gain anything from it. A 35-45 year old man attempting to be a photographer should stick to photographing professional nude models if he wants to get "nude credibility," rather than girls who don't know any better because they are young and inexperienced. If you think this is cool, then fair play to you. I think it's disgusting.

Whoa there....Whoa. ! :eek:

Why do you feel that his request for models is somehow a 'trick'?
    Seriously, to infer something improper or illegal is going on you (and the OP) would need to be backing it up with solid evidence. To just come out and imply that this guy is up to something 'disgusting' is blatantly unfair and unwise.

What exactly do you find disgusting about his photos by the way?

Ok, he is just starting out on the road to being a glamour or nude photographer and he lacks experience, but he has to start somewhere.

Janey...give the guy a break. :rolleyes:

From the link you provided, I can't see what you are so worried about? :confused:

Can you substantiate the allegations that he is a 'scumbag' or that he is acting with intent to do something other than just photograph nude models?

So you think its acceptable to deceive a model into thinking you have a professional body of work behind you in order to convince them to pose nude?

The fact that he's proven to have falsified his portfolio should be all the proof needed.

Even completely disregarding the possible implications for the models. The fact that he stole another photographers work and put his own watermark on it is enough to justfy calling him a scumbag.

Have you read the first post.

THEY'RE NOT HIS PHOTOS.

Thats the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

If I claimed to be a wedding photographer and posted images taken by another photographer, claiming them as my own, and tried to drum up business using them, would you object?

Seems all anyone saw was the word 'naked' and went off on a tangent.

Splinters wrote: »
    Have you read the first post.

THEY'RE NOT HIS PHOTOS.

Thats the problem.

Ah
    Ben D Bus wrote: »
    If I claimed to be a wedding photographer and posted images taken by another photographer, claiming them as my own, and tried to drum up business using them, would you object?

Seems all anyone saw was the word 'naked' and went off on a tangent.

The OP was difficult to understand

Reversed searched the first set of nude images and it does look like they are not his. In fact most of the decent photos are not his by the looks of it

Whoa there....Whoa. ! :eek:

Why do you feel that his request for models is somehow a 'trick'?
    Seriously, to infer something improper or illegal is going on you (and the OP) would need to be backing it up with solid evidence. To just come out and imply that this guy is up to something 'disgusting' is blatantly unfair and unwise.

Ok, he is just starting out on the road to being a glamour or nude photographer and he lacks experience, but he has to start somewhere.

Janey...give the guy a break. :rolleyes:

Illegal? Who said anything about breaking the law?! Being a creep isn't against the law in itself.

Seems like some people are really taking this to heart, I wonder why...

Illegal? Who said anything about breaking the law?! Being a creep isn't against the law in itself.

Easy tiger!

look familiar (possibly NSFW no nudity)

http://etchotphotos.blogspot.ie/2013/04/sunny-leone-exclusive-sexy-photoshoot.html

The second nude shoot with the blonde girl is NSFW and i cant link to it

and here's more http://cn.fotolia.com/id/39282146

Seems like some people are really taking this to heart, I wonder why... QUOTE]

What do you mean by wonder why?

Please explain.

A.P.

pretty much every decent photo turns up somewhere else (sans watermark of course)

http://www.motortorque.com/ford-focus-hatchback-(2011-on)-st-20t-st-5dr-car-review-20202.aspx

Post retracted as I had read Rojomcdojo's comment out of context.

Well seeing as you asked....because maybe some of us would prefer not to turn on the news and hear of an Irish model being assulted or raped during a "photoshoot" arranged under false pretenses.

Also some of us photographers take great offense to people stealing somebody elses work.

Does it need any further explanation?

I said exactly the opposite of what you think I've said.

There have been creeps using art and offers of fame to get girls naked since art - and girls - were invented. Hardly shocking that these tactics have found their way onto the internet.

I'm surprised at people reacting to this news as if it's, well, news.

It's really only the theft of images that's an issue here as far as I'm concerned. And it's a bit of a leap to start talking about assault & rape. Far more likely to be a fantasist or maybe a just a guy with a camera who want's to see a girl with no clothes on. And there are plenty of models happy to take that work for the appropriate fee.

So just flag the individual & move on.

Just re read your previous posts there, my apologies ;)

It looks like the guy has ripped off some photos to use on his own facebook page. Not seeing any evidence of further wrongdoing. Plenty of accusations and assumptions though.

OP do you know of someone who was approached?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

He's got communion and nude photos on the same Facebook page. Pure class :cool:

Even the so called "decent" photos he stole are fairly ****e. So, not only can he not create a decent image, he can't even steal one. His creative vision goes from crap to mediocre.

Also, from ModelMayhem:
    About me
    i have been doing Photostats now since november 2011 and loving it and willing to travel to any assailment (< WTF) here or abroad . i have been doing photography now 8 years and loving this part and would love to work with the big names so give me an email or ring and we could helpe you out and make you feel like a star for a day u can also find us on facebook and twitter

pauric mcginley
    elitemodelphotography

Has himself listed as... Very Experienced.

I guess his experience doesn't stretch to the use of the English language.

There have been creeps using art and offers of fame to get girls naked since art - and girls - were invented. Hardly shocking that these tactics have found their way onto the internet.

I'm surprised at people reacting to this news as if it's, well, news.

I can only speak for myself, but Id imagine Mehfesto would be in much the same position too. The type of girls hes likely to be targetting are the kind of models I frequently work with and am friends with.

I really don't want to hear a few months down the line that somebody had an unpleasant experience with this guy, when I could have made an effort to make it known that he seems incredibly dodgy.

For all I know this guy could be the best photographer on the planet with no alterior motives whatsoever, but the fact is that he has falsified his portfolio in an effort to get girls to pose for him. That much is proven and warrants raising awareness.

I can only speak for myself, but Id imagine Mehfesto would be in much the same position too. The type of girls hes likely to be targetting are the kind of models I frequently work with and am friends with.

I really don't want to hear a few months down the line that somebody had an unpleasant experience with this guy, when I could have made an effort to make it known that he seems incredibly dodgy.

For all I know this guy could be the best photographer on the planet with no alterior motives whatsoever, but the fact is that he has falsified his portfolio in an effort to get girls to pose for him. That much is proven and warrants raising awareness.

The car and wedding shots look like they were falsified too. Not sure why the scantily clad ladies warrant any more investigation. To assume there is anything more to is it a little much TBH
    gloobag wrote: »
    He's got communion and nude photos on the same Facebook page. Pure class :cool:

Even the so called "decent" photos he stole are fairly ****e. So, not only can he not create a decent image, he can't even steal one. His creative vision goes from crap to mediocre.

Also, from ModelMayhem:

Has himself listed as... Very Experienced.

I guess his experience doesn't stretch to the use of the English language.

So he's an amateurish photographer who nicked some photos and bigged himself up, does not mean he's anything else surely?

You're right it doesn't mean he has any alterior motives. But it does warrant raising awareness that he has behaved suspiciously.

If a model is still happy to work with him, then its their own informed decision.

You're right it doesn't mean he has any alterior motives. But it does warrant raising awareness that he has behaved suspiciously.

If a model is still happy to work with him, then its their own informed decision.

I would have thought that models who do nudes would be somewhat clued in as far as figuring out what a photographer it like. Seems like we are dealing with someone who is clueless a opposed to dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

It's possible he just wants some experience and has used someone else's work to make himself look better and attract more models. It's still copyright infrigement though, so if the models he's working with find out about it, then he will lose any credibility. He may not be a creep, but he's still a fraud and I'm not sure many people would want to work with either.

Absolutely. Which is why I said flag the photographer. Its the 3 page thread that has ensued that intrigues me!

I've worked with loads of local models and I dont think Ive met one naive enough to fall for this guys efforts.

Absolutely. Which is why I said flag the photographer. Its the 3 page thread that has ensued that intrigues me!

I've worked with loads of local models and I dont think Ive met one naive enough to fall for this guys efforts.

Neither have I, but that's not to say there aren't any girls who would fall for it.

I wonder has anybody confronted him about it yet? The wise thing to do would be to take down the photos that aren't his after he has built up a decent portfolio of his own. Everyone needs to start somewhere, but its better to be honest about your level of experience.

Some models will do the same; claiming they have plenty of experience even though they only have a few self portraits taken in front of the mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

Just to clarify everything.

-Stealing images is wrong. Stealing images to get young girls to pose naked for you, because you give the impression that this is your work for Vogue and other international magazines is disgusting and to me. Young models would leap at the chance to be in a magazine of that calibre - taking advantage of this to get them into his studio is wrong.

-I have one model friends who were approached by him. She was asked to do a test shoot in his studio. There's not necessarily a ulterior motive, but he's doing himself no favors by using pornstar images.

-A lot of his content has been removed since it kicked off on Facebook last night, most notably all the criticism, and 'art nude' sets that he was advertising (again using other people's images).

What I'm saying in a nutshell, is that a photographer who claims to work for a magazine that he doesn't - and who is looking to do naked photoshoots with girls shouldn't be trusted and should be made to remove all this content immediately and clarify his situation.

Just to clarify everything.

-Stealing images is wrong. Stealing images to get young girls to pose naked for you, because you give the impression that this is your work for Vogue and other international magazines is disgusting and to me. Young models would leap at the chance to be in a magazine of that calibre - taking advantage of this to get them into his studio is wrong.

-I have one model friends who were approached by him. She was asked to do a test shoot in his studio. There's not necessarily a ulterior motive, but he's doing himself no favors by using pornstar images.

-A lot of his content has been removed since it kicked off on Facebook last night, most notably all the criticism, and 'art nude' sets that he was advertising (again using other people's images).

What I'm saying in a nutshell, is that a photographer who claims to work for a magazine that he doesn't - and who is looking to do naked photoshoots with girls shouldn't be trusted and should be made to remove all this content immediately and clarify his situation.

I think given the evidence you are providing that the term "scumbag" is without justification.

Agreed. And ammended

I think given the evidence you are providing that the term "scumbag" is without justification.

Just wondering, what would you call it?

Your standards obviously aren't very high if this is what you view as a legitimate way of doing business. Scary stuff.

Just wondering, what would you call it?

Your standards obviously aren't very high if this is what you view as a legitimate way of doing business. Scary stuff.

I don't regard it as acceptable at all. What i find highly objectionable is the quantum leap from someone stealing photos and someone taking advantage of women/girls.

If this had just been about someone stealing photos I would have been in the front row of the lynch mob. Its not though, the allegations are much more serious

Yeah, I should retract that.
    I just saw what was on Facebook, that is now gone, and joined in with the lynch mob there. There's no hard evidence, but I will maintain that it's disturbing and deceitful.

Yeah, I should retract that.
    I just saw what was on Facebook, that is now gone, and joined in with the lynch mob there. There's no hard evidence, but I will maintain that it's disturbing and deceitful.

Its definitely unprofessional and morally wrong!

Yeah, if he's stealing photos of burgers in an attempt to get work shooting more food photos. That's wrong, indeed. What's worse is when it isn't some inanimate object, or even just someone shooting people at a party or whatever - it's an attempt to get young girls to pose naked for him.

That is where I get spooked.

What looks dodgy to me is that his facebook fan page is called "elite model photography" yet most of his photos are from parties, football matches and other events, and then in the middle of all that he has photos of nude and lingerie models. Needless to say none of the models photos have been tagged. He's obviously chancing his arm.

Yeah, if he's stealing photos of burgers in an attempt to get work shooting more food photos. That's wrong, indeed. What's worse is when it isn't some inanimate object, or even just someone shooting people at a party or whatever - it's an attempt to get young girls to pose naked for him.

That is where I get spooked.

That was my point exactly. This isnt just a guy stealing images. The context is very important here and makes it all the more worrying.

This thread is starting to remind me of this

ApftSg4I1ih8f34g8oaxuA5f

This thread is starting to remind me of this

ApftSg4I1ih8f34g8oaxuA5f

Believe it or not, for some people, common human decency trumps sexual gratification. Sure why don't you offer to pose nude for him? 'Help him build up his portfolio :rolleyes:

Relax. I'm not being entirely serious. Not entirely.

But I will be serious on one point. Don't judge a photographers creepiness on the quality of their images. I'm sure there are some really genuine & nice photographers who's work is utter rubbish, and some fantastic photographers who are utter creeps. Some alleged creeps have had their images grace the front pages of Vogue, Harpers, etc.

None of this of course takes away from the fact that the subject of this thread is being dishonest by stealing and using images created by other people. With the possible intent of taking advantage of very naive girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Telchak

Page seems to have been deactivated :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

No suprise, I contacted one of the photographers that had pictures copied on his page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Borderfox wrote: »
    No suprise, I contacted one of the photographers that had pictures copied on his page

That had nothing to do with it, apparently. It's just that he's too cool for Facebook now… :cool:

256427.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

That had nothing to do with it, apparently. It's just that he's too cool for Facebook now… :cool:

256427.png

Had a look through some of his tweets there. He is definitely a creep. He seems to be randomly tweeting weirdness to a few girls who have no idea who he is, in between desperately tweeting celebs.