Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting sticks.

• 31-05-2013 8:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭

Ill need to pick up a paid of these soon enough.

Now I've looked at making a set very cheap and very handy.

My question is doe can I buy sticks that are adjustable in height for say standing and kneeling positions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Ill need to pick up a paid of these soon enough.

Now I've looked at making a set very cheap and very handy.

My question is doe can I buy sticks that are adjustable in height for say standing and kneeling positions.
    bog pods

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

What's bog pods.

Edit!!!!!!!!

Just googled them there they look like savage yokes infairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭clivej

Pick up a pair or tri-poles on e-bay for 'bout £35.
    Look through the hunting tips section for what I use.

I also made up a set using garden tree sticks from Homebase or B&Q. Green covered aluminum and come in different lengths. I use the 1m long for kneeling for stalking.

Made up a 2m set, four sticks, using cycle inner tube to couple the legs together.
    I used these in the Phoenix comp. last weekend to shoot @200m standing where I got a second place silver medal.

256389.jpg
    Practise at HH for Bisley 03.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

clivej wrote: »
    Pick up a pair or tri-poles on e-bay for 'bout £35.
    Look through the hunting tips section for what I use.

I also made up a set using garden tree sticks from Homebase or B&Q. Green covered aluminum and come in different lengths. I use the 1m long for kneeling for stalking.

Made up a 2m set, four sticks, using cycle inner tube to couple the legs together.
    I used these in the Phoenix comp. last weekend to shoot @200m standing where I got a second place silver medal.

256389.jpg
    Practise at HH for Bisley 03.jpg
    I have a set of these rock steady fantastic

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Paul O'Halloran in Drangan has adjustable height shooting sticks for 35 euro. I only bought a pair last week. Ill post a pic a soon a I'm finished feeding this baby.

Jasus I hope the baby still isn't eating.

Take your time lad no bother thanks. How do you find them. Can you adjust them from say kneeling to standing.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

ha ha sorry, hes full to the neck now. :)

I think these are great. Got them because shot placement is so important with the new PCP. Second image shows what I did at 45yds with my Airarms.s410
    Still miss the CZ452 though.
    20130601_192333.jpg

20130504_193945.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

clivej wrote: »

Clive,any chance you could throw up something on how you actually put these together?............. please!

There grand an simple looking alright. Are they quality made.

In Clive's first post I think he said you can see what he done in the hunting tips section.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭clivej

There grand an simple looking alright. Are they quality made.

In Clive's first post I think he said you can see what he done in the hunting tips section.

That's for the tri-sticks with fishing rest attached.

So I was at feck all this evening so I flew over to b&q and picked up a couple of bits. To make a set. I seen a video on YouTube so I said ill give its go.

Here's a picture of everything you need to make a set the way I did.
    6 pieces of half inch pipe insulation about 5-6 inches long , role of insulating tape , a piece of hydra glare water pipe also half inch light guage pipe. I had 5 rubber o rings and decided to use them all. I also had a coping saw just to cut the two stick to the same lengh. And of coarse to sticks out of b&q I used the 6ft ones.

DCC478EC-BD45-4E89-B2BF-99E120723C72-1969-0000033464C33671_zps9a8e24a0.jpg

Then I put 4 o rings over one stick the slid them through the piece of half inch pipe I had and then put the other stick through them on the other side. Keep them about 8 inches down from the top. It should look something like this

89100A32-3FB7-48AF-986F-C91BF8B7FE97-1969-00000334B2FBC8AE_zps36915cbc.jpg

Then you put the 6 pieces of pipe insulation over the sticks. On each stick you will have one over the o ring fitting then two under it. One in the middle of the sticks then one about 6 inchs up from the bottom. Then tape them on well with the insulating tape. These stop them banging off one another and also tighten everything up.

5E72E0FE-5A15-4AA7-8F69-1789DCBD32BB-1969-0000033592BF6297_zps13b5ba2e.jpg
    16F82DB6-8A6B-4D37-B871-61CAC5DD9620-1969-000003352373DD39_zpsaae504fa.jpg

When the 6 of them are all taped on they look like this and are ready for use I put the 5th o ring over the ends to hold them closed but I will change this for some sort of a Velcro strap.

FAE39947-2287-4CA0-BCB9-A57B195ECA27-1969-00000335B17CE4AE_zps28382e5b.jpg
    3F27CD96-A0C2-4BB1-8879-036D62E5EB96-1995-0000033677EEC923_zpsa3015d61.jpg

It's surprising enough how steady it is and with the rubber o rings instead of a nut and bolt it gives great flexability for following moving targets etc. I also cut the insulating tape with the knife when I was finished each piece. Because if you pull it and stretch it, it will start to peel of so I just cut it square and it will be grand for a long time.