Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Wrasslin' thoughts.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

I wonder is the family connection between Snoop and Sasha Banks going to be played up more.
    I could see it happen at one point or another, mixed tag match at a PPV maybe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I wonder is the family connection between Snoop and Sasha Banks going to be played up more.

I don't see any reason why they wouldn't eventually. Snoop (or Snoop's management) always instagram's an advertisement for Sasha's match at a Takeover.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,179 ✭✭✭Ridley

I'm a fan of the Young Bucks. I think they have talent in spades and a lot of charisma but I see people moan about their use of superkicks because it's a finisher and about how since HBK retired everyone does Superkicks as a regular move.

Personally I believe there is a difference between a HBK Superkick and a super kick from someone else and that is the fact that Shawn didn't do a Superkick later in his career. He performed sweet chin music.

The difference being the "tuning of the band". In my head the use of a Superkick can only be considered a finishing maneuver if you "tune up the band" prior to hitting the move.

Therefore, Superkick parties and throwing out superkicks left and right are okay because it's not a finisher its like hitting a ddt

Kayfabe-wise I've always just considered wrestlers using others' finishers as regular moves as their not being as proficient in their execution.

I can happily pretend that Randy Savage trained to perfect an elbow drop that would put someone down for a three-count whereas CM Punk, for example, wielded it as part of the set up for a GTS, the move he knows inside and out. I can pretend that a Ric Flair figure four is more effective than a Miz one if through experience alone.

Similar reason why a wrestler doing an opponent's finisher on them rarely gets a win. They just can't apply it the way the other guy does.

----

Can't imagine people moaning about punches being used while it's Big Show's finisher. pacman.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Interesting. It's also that a billion kicks smashes kayfabe that it's a fake ineffective gimmick move. Actually - Would you be cool if Baron Corbin started using the stone cold stunner?

Used to love in the 80s when the commentators would talk about patented maneuvers.

Like they went to the patents office in town with diagrams of how to apply to move to something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Interesting. It's also that a billion kicks smashes kayfabe that it's a fake ineffective gimmick move. Actually - Would you be cool if Baron Corbin started using the stone cold stunner?

It's grand in a multi man setting with the Bucks because they can take out three or more guys and then you have a "superkick party" but if you break out a super kick every two minutes in a singles match you're going overboard. But as a finisher I like the Kayfabe idea that somehow stomping your foot gives you more power to kick the guy and end the match and that's my distinction in my own mind between Shawn and a dolph kick for example

The only thing I'd have against Corbin using the stunner is that he would be a bit too tall to do it so he'd essentially do more damage to himself having to crouch and land on his arse. That being said if you were to give it to a smaller wrestler than him.

I like the idea of finishers being passed down to younger talent if they can execute it correctly and actually build it as a finisher.

Austin hits a stunner, it's sold like death and is a three count. Cena does a stunner and springboards too, gets a kick out at two. If you want a finisher build it as such, don't have it as a signature. There's more intrigue to a match if you're waiting to see who hits their finisher first and if they're able to kick out or make the ropes, rather than an X7 finisher battle every Raw or PPV

• Registered Users Posts: 3,179 ✭✭✭Ridley

jaykhunter wrote: »

I was perfectly fine with Eugene using it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭veganrun

Have stopped watching Raw and cancelled my WWE network subscription. I no longer have Sky Sports and trying to watch Raw on YouTube was a pain and tbh I've kind of lost interest in the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

It happens. Sometimes I fade in and out. Keeping up on the goings on via podcasts hasn't bored me yet.

If it wasn't for Lesnar I don't think I'd watch anything current. I find Ryback very entertaining, Owens was great until they took him down a peg. Not feeling anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭billion dollar baby

Should've waited til Monday mate. This weekend is going to be a big one for the Network. NXT and Summerslam both look pretty good to me.

Honestly I haven't watched Raw or Smackdown since Extreme Rules. I check the results if something big happens or maybe watch clips on YouTube of the big stuff. Between that and the wrestling news sites it keeps me up to date without having to watch the actual shows.

I keep my Network sub for PPVs, NXT, Podcasts and historical content. Assuming they can sort out the buffering issue it's still good value for money

• Registered Users Posts: 39,912 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

My two cents on finishers being kicked of. I think they've devalued the finishing move by not making them the end of the matches.

I mean when jake Roberts hit the DDT on a guy that was all she wrote, and it was sold as a devastating move and macho man made his look great and the guy taking it made it real.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Its not just the kicking out of the moves that's killing the matches, it's also the lack of selling. Nothing is sold anymore. Work or injure a leg in a match, and they're running around on the same leg 2 minutes later.

I was watching Nakamura vs Okada last night from the G1 tourney last night. Okada did a spot where he did a draping ddt off the ringside barrier to the mat below.

Nakamura sold his head and neck like he was dying. Everything had this man in real, trouble. He screamed in pain when Okada applied the simplist of submissions. That's selling like it should be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,912 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Its not just the kicking out of the moves that's killing the matches, it's also the lack of selling. Nothing is sold anymore. Work or injure a leg in a match, and they're running around on the same leg 2 minutes later.

I was watching Nakamura vs Okada last night from the G1 tourney last night. Okada did a spot where he did a draping ddt off the ringside barrier to the mat below.

Nakamura sold his head and neck like he was dying. Everything had this man in real, trouble. He screamed in pain when Okada applied the simplist of submissions. That's selling like it should be done.

Good point. I just watched the 94 rumble and bret hart had a tag match with Owen and they lost and Owen worked on his knee post match.

End of the rumble match bret was still selling it. That's probably an extreme example but hopefully you get my point.

Cena is an utter disaster at it. He doesn't sell well if at all. And I'm begging someone to take him to one side and show him how to apply the STF properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

After watching last night's NXT Takeover: Brooklyn and it being so damn good, i have my doubts about Summerslam tonight..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Andy_rse

I hate Michael Coles stuttering thing he does when he's trying to act shocked or surprised. He was doing plenty of it last night. "Nnnnn no" "lllllll look"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

I hate when my mum walks in when I'm watching wrestling. Always during the feckin divas match, she thinks I am some perv

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Cianan2 wrote: »
    I hate when my mum walks in when I'm watching wrestling. Always during the feckin divas match, she thinks I am some perv

I swear Mum it's actually porn not wrestling

• Registered Users Posts: 29,080 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I think we need to get more Heath Slater

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Scavenger XIII

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I think we need to get more Heath Slater

I do miss him. Hell I miss 3MB in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

rovert wrote: »
    I don't see any reason why they wouldn't eventually. Snoop (or Snoop's management) always instagram's an advertisement for Sasha's match at a Takeover.
    I wasn't aware of that. It's a wonder they aren't playing on it more for publicity though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Cianan2 wrote: »

Dang, maybe she can walk in on you during the NXT Takeover match

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Think this has been WWEs best year in a long long time , consistently putting on good to great shows, I must say I generally only watch the ppvs though, and read up results for raw, but I have really really enjoyed the ppvs.

After the debacle that was the rumble I was seriously doubting the year ahead and only NXT was keeping me interested. But the influx of NXT stars an their style to the roster has been a breathe of fresh air. Especially Owens and Rollins.

If you look at most of the cards nowadays try are littered with ex NXT guys with the exception of the odd partimer match. Really good to see and makes me hopefull for guys like Zayn, Balor, Itami etc when they get brought up.

Who can thy then pluck from the indies to carry the brand?

Sirsok wrote: »
    Think this has been WWEs best year in a long long time , consistently putting on good to great shows, I must say I generally only watch the ppvs though, and read up results for raw, but I have really really enjoyed the ppvs.

After the debacle that was the rumble I was seriously doubting the year ahead and only NXT was keeping me interested. But the influx of NXT stars an their style to the roster has been a breathe of fresh air. Especially Owens and Rollins.

If you look at most of the cards nowadays try are littered with ex NXT guys with the exception of the odd partimer match. Really good to see and makes me hopefull for guys like Zayn, Balor, Itami etc when they get brought up.

Who can thy then pluck from the indies to carry the brand?

That's a very good question the last 2-3 years was made of a lot of wrestlers WWE dropped the ball on hiring sooner. The cream of the crop the last say 8 years. Of that ilk left there's Austin Aries, AJ Styles, Young Bucks and Adam Cole.

In terms of newer names this weekend is PWG's Battle of Los Angeles. A 24 man tournament with most of the best wrestlers on the indies. It is a fair gauge what is out there. What is out there is a lot of really good in ring wrestlers but not many character wise that could hit the crowd running character wise like Zayn and Owens did.
    Will Ospreay
    Marty Scurll
    Timothy Thatcher
    Mike Bailey
    Chris Hero
    Biff Busick
    Mark Andrews
    Brian Cage
    Ricochet (Prince Puma)
    Trevor Lee
    Tommy End
    Pentagon Jr.
    Drew Gulak
    Angelico
    Trent?
    Andrew Everett
    Fenix
    Rich Swann
    Jack Evans
    Drago
    Matt Sydal
    Aero Star
    Zack Sabre Jr.
    Drew Galloway

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I'd love to see Chris Hero, Drew Galloway, Trent? & Matt Sydal return.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

After his appearance at Takeover I think Uhaa Nation / Apollo Crews could be one of the guys to bring NXT forward in the next year or so

Would love if they picked up some Bullet club guys and debuted them all at the same time with Finn Balor. Think a group like that, in much the way The Shield did for say Rollins, could really help Devitt on the main roster... or maybe I just wanna see what the bullet club could offer in the WWE cos I generally only watch the WWE. I mean people like Karl Anderson, Bad luck Fale and Tama Tonga though as for some reason The young bucks feel too Indy for NXT even, Kenny Omega is a good fit in Japan & Cody Hall is just too green and would be better off learning in Japan more. Gallows could return though.

After his appearance at Takeover I think Uhaa Nation / Apollo Crews could be one of the guys to bring NXT forward in the next year or so

He has everything except that he's a very poor promo it is almost like he's too nice and smiley to be ever be one.

His height could be too depending who he is Wrestling although that means less these days, his physique & style overcomes that and Neville is far shorter than Crews and he's doing fine on the main roster. Crews is around 6ft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Why does it bother you??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Is it because Sasha broke character? Because that kind've bothers me since she's supposed to be a heel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sirsok

I liked Pentagon Jnrs match with Vampiro I must say. Didn't realise Jack Evan was still going! Used to love watching him on TWC. Briscoes, Aries, some of the GFW/TNA guys maybe, would love beer money to come into it, but it's a sin Bobby Roode hasn't got a shot there. JR seems to be shouting praises for Nakamura nearly every podcast I listen to! Ibushi would also be a big get for them. Realistically all these Guys could carry the brand!

Eventually they will have to have a developmental for developmental!