Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Wrasslin' thoughts.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,853 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I often wonder is another attitude era inevitable or are WWE at a stage where they have found a happy medium between appealing to adults and kids. With inviting sponsor opportunity.

It has been stated the circular nature of the business but as I've quizzed are middle-fingers, bra & panties and beer swigging superstars things that are confined to the history books.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

ShagNastii wrote: »
    I often wonder is another attitude era inevitable or are WWE at a stage where they have found a happy medium between appealing to adults and kids. With inviting sponsor opportunity.

It has been stated the circular nature of the business but as I've quizzed are middle-fingers, bra & panties and beer swigging superstars things that are confined to the history books.

Something I wonder as well. Looking back at it now Vince was really pushed into the attitude era in order to respond to WCW...without competition like that I doubt we'll ever see it again. Probably the worst thing to ever happen wrestling was Bischoff's deal to buy it falling through.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,876 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

All confined to the history books.

NXT has changed the women's division with the likes of Bailey, Becky, Charlotte and Sasha so the gimmick matches like bra & panties are a thing of the past and I doubt you'll get another beer swigging superstar again. Even though wrestlers take gimmicks and moves from other guys before them the beer drinking would be too Stone Cold to rip off among WWE fans for someone new (even though Austin took it from the Sandman).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Vince McMahon has the worst case of old man ears I've seen in a long time.

He looked like Dumbo in that Raw segment with Shane and Steph

• Registered Users Posts: 4,853 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

An internal monologue which probably should stay internal :D But having looked at Sunny's most recent efforts behind the camera. It's not THAT bad.

I know with herself and Chyna people are judging the whole trainwreak-ness of the whole affair but going by it porno wise it could be a million times worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Pentecost

An internal monologue which probably should stay internal :D But having looked at Sunny's most recent efforts behind the camera. It's not THAT bad.

I know with herself and Chyna people are judging the whole trainwreak-ness of the whole affair but going by it porno wise it could be a million times worse.

Saw a couple of mins of "highlights" and to be honest it just felt so wrong. She seems to have got nothing left except trading on her name and how she used to look 20 years ago. Hand on heart considering how much I used to want her I'm actually kind of surprised at how turned off I was!

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Ye poor feckers checking out Sunny's porno, ye do realise that's time you'll never get back...

But hey, I ain't judging..

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Ye poor feckers checking out Sunny's porno, ye do realise that's time you'll never get back...

But hey, I ain't judging..

Oh I know but 15 year old me made me at least see a couple of mins!

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Pentecost wrote: »
    Oh I know but 15 year old me made me at least see a couple of mins!

Was it worth it though, just to satisfy your 15 year old self??

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Was it worth it though, just to satisfy your 15 year old self??

No, as I said above I was pretty disgusted tbh. But part of me still wanted to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,390 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Not sure where to leave this, so feel free to move it to a more appropriate thread mods, but I was doing a bit of reading about Shinsuke Nakamura and I stumbled across this brilliant article about how he makes the Bomaye knee so convincing, as well as the art of striking in pro-wrestling in general:

http://fightland.vice.com/blog/pro-wrestlings-shinsuke-nakamura-and-the-bomaye-knee

Most of it we all know already but there are a few bits and pieces in there that were news to me and genuinely interesting. Well worth a read, even just for the section on the Nakamura's finisher.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,363 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

did they ever explain who and what caused this. one of those moments where you think its real but they would not of filmed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭LeeJM

Wasnt that the week before Benoit did what he did? Therefore the angle was quickly and quietly dropped

LeeJM wrote: »
    Wasnt that the week before Benoit did what he did? Therefore the angle was quickly and quietly dropped

Nah that was the limo incident you're thinking of IIRC.

What I want to know is, did they really give away all that money or were all the winners fake?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

martyos121 wrote: »

What I want to know is, did they really give away all that money or were all the winners fake?
    I'm pretty certain it was all real.

Any idea what the reason for it was? To increase viewership of some sort of charitable tax break?

Right you are! Damn for an immortal, Vince really has died alot! Was it explained that Vince "faked" his death to see who really cared about him or something like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Any idea what the reason for it was? To increase viewership of some sort of charitable tax break?
    I think it was the former, but I wouldn't be surprised if the latter was also involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

Ratings were going down the toilet at the time iirc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

When has there not been concern about ratings in the WWE? It's all I hear some people report.

The year 2001. Ever since then its been going down. Sure 3 million WcW fans just disappeared totally once Nitro finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I hate the superplex. So predictable, never looks impressive and never wins a match. Especially in WWE it's an extremely overdone spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,171 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I hate the superplex. So predictable, never looks impressive and never wins a match. Especially in WWE it's an extremely overdone spot.

Agree, but I used to love Angle's belly to belly superplex.

Bret Hart was the best at the superplex I always thought. It was always done at the right time.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,920 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

J. Marston wrote: »
    Agree, but I used to love Angle's belly to belly superplex.

Speaking of angle. I'm making my way through wrestlemania 20 (it's over four hours long FFS) Jesus that angle Guerrero title match is a glorious bit of stuff.

Does Eddie Guerrero use a boot to turn the match in his favour in that one? I can't remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,920 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Does Eddie Guerrero use a boot to turn the match in his favour in that one? I can't remember.

Yep. He pretends his ankle is injured after an ankle lock. It's perfectly done.That whole match is brilliant though.

I've got to the main event and I actually don't know if I want to watch it.

I know what you mean. Not from personal experience, mind, I have no problem watching any of his matches and enjoying them as much as I always did. I know many people don't though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭kksaints

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Yep. He pretends his ankle is injured after an ankle lock. It's perfectly done.That whole match is brilliant though.

I've got to the main event and I actually don't know if I want to watch it.

Watch it its an excellent match. Just dont watch the celebrations at the end.

The celebration was and still is an amazing moment for me. They both worked so hard for it.