Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Wrasslin' thoughts.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

Does anyone else think Royal Rumble is 2nd biggest event of the year instead of Summerslam nowadays?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

mxph3 wrote: »
    Does anyone else think Royal Rumble is 2nd biggest event of the year instead of Summerslam nowadays?

No, but I do think MITB is high on the list of important shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Summerslam will always be the next thing to wrestlemania, always has a big fight feel to it after a longer than usual build up. Rumble and MITB will be next in line for me for sure though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

I'm no sure that it is a matter of opinion tbh because as far as I am aware, the numbers show Rumble to be the 2nd biggest show ie. PPV buys.

In terms of personal taste I prefer SummerSlam as I feel Rumble is a bit overrated due to the number 1 contender Rumble winner match at Mania being overshadowed for a number of years (with exception of Rock vs Cena II which was booked front and centre as important).

Royal Rumble has been a bigger draw than Summerslam for at least the last couple of years now. People would always buy Royal Rumble PPV just to see Royal Rumble match including people who don't watch wrestling regularly anymore.

WM >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Summerslam = RR > MITB >>>>> Survivor Series > Everything else

Hell i'd probably have Extreme Rules ahead of SS now. It's usually a good show while SS has stank the place out for a few years now.

The last good Survivor Series was 2002.

Buy rates would suggest casual fans will flock to the Rumble over Summerslam but its just my preference in where I think Summerslam has a bigger feel to it. Like Ape said, the Rumble, though always a must see, has been tarnished by winners not automaticly being in the main event at Mania or being teh focus of the main event feud. Hopefully with 1 belt this trend will not continue.

I think the 40 man Rumble and Del Rio winning it(and then losing at WM) really hurt the prestige of the Rumble and not much has helped it recover since.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭bobby_says_hi

I'd consider Night of Champions one of the big ones too. TLC also always has a habit of being when WWE really picks up steam after the yearly slump. I'd consider it the best of the gimmicked PPVs

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

I'd rather watch one Royal Rumble than ten Summerslams. Personally the Rumble is my favourite WWE moment of the year though so I'm clearly out of kilter with the norm. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Rumble is easily the second biggest. Summerslam is only slightly more important than any other PPV.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I do tbh, always been Mania, Rumble, Summerslam, Survivor Series for me in terms of the big events. the Rumble is on in Philly next year and I'm gonna try and get to it, its like a 2hr flight from Toronto so easily done the tickets should be on sale during the summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

European uppercuts should be banned in Us title matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    'Edge' was the last great name in WWE.

I'm still waiting for a Bono.

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    European uppercuts should be banned in Us title matches.

Heh! Would love to see some kind of rules implemented so the heels can get heat.

Becky Lynch had some weird ruled 'straight wrestling' match in Shimmer once with convulted stuff like a limited number of rope breaks. A few months ago a US indie put on a Brittish rules match with World of Sport style rounds. All that kinda stuff would be nice to see on a regular basis. Unlikely in WWE however.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Rumble sells more most years...and I also look forward to it more so I would consider it number 2. Last year the Rumble trounced Summerslam; helped by The Rock and Punk's long title reign.

http://www.wrestlingforum.com/general-wwe/577133-wwe-ppv-buyrates-history-3.html

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

FWIW interest we get for the parties for the Rumble is 2-3 times bigger than SummerSlam (which still gets a lot of interest, I've been pleasantly surprised to find). The casual fans are the big difference, a lot of older fans will even watch the Rumble and can give or take Mania.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Heh! Would love to see some kind of rules implemented so the heels can get heat.

Becky Lynch had some weird ruled 'straight wrestling' match in Shimmer once with convulted stuff like a limited number of rope breaks. A few months ago a US indie put on a Brittish rules match with World of Sport style rounds. All that kinda stuff would be nice to see on a regular basis. Unlikely in WWE however.

That's what made me think of it an American heel who brings in these rules to keep the title. So he won't fight any foreigners. Someone beats him but he keeps the title because they used an irish whip.

For a nothing title it would make it interesting and get that little bit of heat over it. Picture the person being managed by zeb would be brilliant. Could even get a comedy stick in that someone like Santino trying to get a match but cause he is Italian they won't let him compete. Then for a few weeks we have Santino playing baseball and basketball and eating at hooters. Being a tourist and visiting American landmarks proving that he is American then he passes a citizenship test and wins the title. Be great craic sure

Becky Lynch had some weird ruled 'straight wrestling' match in Shimmer once with convulted stuff like a limited number of rope breaks.

Sounds like ROH's Pure title. Some great matches but a fairly limited amount of ways you can book a match before it is just repeating the same thing over and over.

Nigel McGuinness was brilliant in them. He would provoke his opponent into using a closed fist twice and losing a rope break. He would apply submission holds right beside the rope so they are forced to use a rope break. It's a shame how little variety is available though.

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    That's what made me think of it an American heel who brings in these rules to keep the title. So he won't fight any foreigners. Someone beats him but he keeps the title because they used an irish whip.

For a nothing title it would make it interesting and get that little bit of heat over it. Picture the person being managed by zeb would be brilliant. Could even get a comedy stick in that someone like Santino trying to get a match but cause he is Italian they won't let him compete. Then for a few weeks we have Santino playing baseball and basketball and eating at hooters. Being a tourist and visiting American landmarks proving that he is American then he passes a citizenship test and wins the title. Be great craic sure

William Regal brought in a "Duchess of Queensbury Rules" match for his Jericho feud in 2001 but iirc it didn't work so well as Regal was a comedy piece (must rewatch that one as memory is shady).

The Ring of Honour handshake thing was a good idea too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Sounds like ROH's Pure title. Some great matches but a fairly limited amount of ways you can book a match before it is just repeating the same thing over and over.

Nigel McGuinness was brilliant in them. He would provoke his opponent into using a closed fist twice and losing a rope break. He would apply submission holds right beside the rope so they are forced to use a rope break. It's a shame how little variety is available though.

Yeah Becky even called it an ROH Pure Wrestling rules match. Her opponent requested it as Becky kept cheating. SHIMMER was more or less ROH's sister promotion but without the ownership ties. ROH's announcer owned SHIMMER and SHIMMER matches were on ROH cards as filler.

Agree about Nigel. ROH unified the ROH Pure belt with the main title at the right time.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    'Edge' was the last great name in WWE.

It's annoying that they don't use one word names anymore :p
    There is nothing wrong with wrestlers having a first and last name. Just not them all (or vast majority I should say)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

It's annoying that they don't use one word names anymore :p
    There is nothing wrong with wrestlers having a first and last name. Just not them all (or vast majority I should say)

Hornswoggle!

Then we have the guys who had to drop a name like Cesaro

• Registered Users Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Hornswoggle!

Then we have the guys who had to drop a name like Cesaro

still think they should have let him call himself Tony!

Tony Cesaro sounds badass - admittedly a bit close to soprano for HBO's liking probably!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,165 ✭✭✭✭CSF

There is Ryback too but he is ****

Reminds me of Father Ted when they are discussing UHT Milk

"Theres no demand for that because its ****e"

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭duuuaaaane

Got my computer repaired today - collected it and was greeted with a smile from the lad behind the counter as he approved of the PWG files on my desktop. We're not alone lads.

uwwedoogie wrote: »
    Got my computer repaired today - collected it and was greeted with a smile from the lad behind the counter as he approved of the PWG files on my desktop. We're not alone lads.

Just hope he didnt see your folder of furry midget porn :pac:

Everyone has that, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

What's the craic with Kurt Angles Facebook page and his #MyComeback thing? Is he returning to be TNA (I don't watch, so I dont know if he's away or not) or is it some healing thing? I only ask because loads of the comments are suggesting a wwe return.