Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Info on Blessington

Options
  • 02-06-2013 10:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19

Hellooo,

I'm a newbie to Boards.ie (although have read people's valuable opinions on many things for years) and I need some advice. My wife and I have lived in Dublin for a good number of years and am in a position where my wife and I want to puchase a home to raise a family in.

For what we're looking for, there is no real value to be had in Dublin and we've narrowed our focus on a few areas, one being Blessington and more specifically the areas around the lakes. Could I ask advice on life in Blessington?

I work in the Smithfield area and I know the commute would be a pain but am willing to sacrifice 2 hours a day to come back to a nice home in a beautiful part of the country. We're wondering if there are social issues, crime, shopping and if there is a good standard of education in the area. I know this seems like a vague thread but any advice on the area would be most appreciated.

Cheerio!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Hi there!

I lived in Blessington for 9 years and I was quite happy there.
    We lived in Downshire and it was really nice and quiet. Plenty of families there but not noisy or boisterous.

I did have the unfortunate luck to have my car stolen twice and my tyres slashed a few times, but I can't say that was BECAUSE I lived in Blessington-this will happen in many places and I *did* live on a dark-ish street.