Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Am I the only one who does not find this funny??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Czarcasm wrote: »
    He's NOT a legal adult though, that's an important distinction. Other than that, he's hardly suffering, his problem was that he just couldn't be arsed.

Meanwhile other students who worked hard have aspirations to work for NASA, become doctors and study medicine, while Robert is still pulling the plums off himself to his posters of Holly Hagan.

The point is though why work hard at something so entirely pointless and irrelevant as Irish? Unless the driving instructions on the spacecraft are written in Irish I don't know how it will help him to be an astronaut.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

I approve of this. For a start, it's lulzy. For another thing, the possibility that you might be being recorded encourages a culture in which being a complete knob carries its risks. She strikes me as immensely annoying, and just as in the case of the KPMG incident, anything which encourages people to think about how ridiculous they look/sound before they act is a welcome change.

If this was applied to boardrooms and cabinet offices around the world we'd have far less neglect and corruption.

I disagree, there's something unbarably smug and self reighteous about such iPhone paparazzi. Often subjective editing is involved, in the case of KPMG girl it was pretty clear that the video cuts in to her response to whatever the little skobie had said to prevoke her, you never got to see what he's said first.
    That said, his mum should burst in on the little scrote spanking the monkey and post it on his facebook page, that'd learn him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭donegal_man

I think it's sad that a soon to be legal adult believes the way to deal with a family row is to post it on youtube. If he expects to be treated as an adult he has to act like one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I didn't hear about this until I saw this thread. I won't watch it either, I hate these things and I think it shows such a lack of respect to put up a video of a person without their consent.

Worst I ever heard was when a man was knocked over by a bus last year at college green a taxi driver had to cover the body as bystanders were filming an taking pictures on their phones. Disgusting

He's NOT a legal adult though, that's an important distinction. Other than that, he's hardly suffering, his problem was that he just couldn't be arsed.

Meanwhile other students who worked hard have aspirations to work for NASA, become doctors and study medicine, while Robert is still pulling the plums off himself to his posters of Holly Hagan.

...........<googles Holly Hagan>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

End of the world stuff...not being able to speak a half-dead language. I understand the mother's anger & frustration!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

So he was on Facebook, yet you can be gauranteed he's not paying for the broadband connection. A right little príck for posting that.

You can be sure the tosspot wouldn't have posted it if the mother said "ah Robert, would you ever give the oul' porn a break"..
    Apart from the swearing a bit wasn't that bad tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

bleg wrote: »
    I just think it's sad that a legal adult (or soon to be) is forced to do a subject he has no interest in and sees no merit in doing. He quite obviously has great disdain for the subject. Yet he is forced by law, societal pressure and even his mother to put up with some sort of song and dance for a couple of months so he can get some arbitrary mark which is assessed over 3 days (oral & 2 papers) in a language he will probably never use again.

Performance in a weaker subject in is often more indicative of a student's potential, rather than a preferred one. There's plenty of subjects I would have given a miss if I had half a chance. However the LC is meant to be an overall test of a student's ability to learn. Would be grand if we could cherry-pick what we did or didn't want to learn - must see if I can try that in work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

rox5 wrote: »
    Did anyone hear about this guy called Robert from Kilkenny who filmed his mother who was giving out to him about his Irish oral and put it up on Youtube?

I mean people were either laughing about it, or saying "Poor woman, it's really frustating when teens don't study" but no one seems to be commenting on the fact that this guy filmed a private family matter and exposed it on the internet for the whole world to see?! And it annoys me to find that the s**t still has not took it down because it's still around on Youtube.

I mean me and a relative of mine were arguing over something the other day, and a cousin of mine was in the other room laughing and was on her phone, and then my relative asked her what she was laughing at and asked her for her phone because she actually thought that she might have been recording us fighting. She said she wasn't, but I am still worried about that because I was on the computer at her house and came across a video recording of a VERY private family matter and it still disgusts me that she could film it. Not sure if she put it on the internet or not, but I deleted it anyway just in case, because she is not exactly miss innocence after what I have seen.

But this is what I mean, that she become very paranoid when she had that phone on her because of this Irish Oral video.

But is this what is had come to? Where a parent can't argue with their child without them recording it and putting it on the internet to have their five seconds of fame, and at the same time humilating them forever? I mean it's bad enough when bullies film their victims or people film eccentric things that happen in public, but to film your own family members is just low altogether.

Maybe parents will be shammed into raising good kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

UCDVet wrote: »
    Maybe parents will be shammed into raising good kids?

Or more likely- idiots will always have their five seconds of fame on the internet, while more intelligent young adults will be too busy discovering more about the universe around us, or discovering more about the human body, contributing to humanity as opposed to contributing to it's demise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Or more likely- idiots will always have their five seconds of fame on the internet, while more intelligent young adults will be too busy discovering more about the universe around us, or discovering more about the human body, contributing to humanity as opposed to contributing to it's demise.

I don't know about you all, but that's why I come to boards.ie - to get my 'discovering more about the universe around us, or discovering more about the human body, contributing to humanity' time in. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

UCDVet wrote: »
    I don't know about you all, but that's why I come to boards.ie - to get my 'discovering more about the universe around us, or discovering more about the human body, contributing to humanity' time in. :)

I don't come to AH for the science either (though you have to admit, that jellyfish thread made for fascinating reading and inspired me to learn more about jellyfish thanks to Bipolar Joe), but I can afford to let my hair down in here having done my leaving cert 20 years ago and laid the foundations for a better future for myself.

What will a person who doesn't want to put in the work ever achieve? Fleeting fame amongst a very fickle audience before they're consigned to the annals of internet meme history and quickly forgotten about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I really couldn't care how mine do in the Irish exams, but if they posted up a video of me ranting at them, the real question would be how many surgeons it would take to extract an android phone from a teenagers jaxie..and I'd post up a video of the extraction, just for revenge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

She ought to cancel the broadband in the house - that'll teach the fecker.