Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have any/many of you done more then 1 masters?

Options
  • 04-06-2013 10:24am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭

I am an archaeology graduate at the moment, and very passionate about my thesis topic, however I know in my heart that there is another area which I are more excited by. After finishing my undergrad I immediately started sniffing out relevant courses in England but when crunch time came it just wasnt affordable and I entered the MA program in UCD where I had completed my undergrad. Due to the nature of the area I'm interested in though, theres really no way to get the necessary skills, or indeed a foot into that area at all, without first having an Msc in it. I was wondering then if any on here might have any advice about taking on another masters. Is it exhausting? or, more importantly, unnecessary? Would it make more sense to go for a PhD instead?

The area is bioarchaeology (biological anthropology) if any here have a background in that.

I know I want to get a background in this area somehow but I really need peoples advice on whether I would be biting off more then I can chew by going this route.

Cheers all!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Where can you do a PhD in that? I've never heard of it. Just curious, I'm afraid I can't really help. Funding wise for PhDs you are a bit late this year, unless a potential supervisor has money themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo